Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Baby Mine

Name: whichone (Signed) · Date: 02/23/17 20:35 · For: Baby Mine
Paige

I can’t believe I’ve never left a review for this yet I’ve read it so many times with the intention of writing it down on paper. Jeez, can’t you tell what’s in my head as I read this, or must I write it down? Watch me draft this and then forget to post it. That’d be me.

I’m not that bright.

The thought that you put into this is incredible. Remarkable, really. What’s made this a joy to read for like what I’m sure is the fifth or sixth time because I have to keep digging to find it. Thank you for mentioning that parenting, like anything else, is a learning experience. I have no children myself, but the stupid mistakes I’ve made with my godson … and then turn him back to his mother, and she does the same thing? And then we laugh our heads off because we are idiots. Most pieces that I’ve read in fan fiction focus on the cute baby.

I’m sure Teddy with his tortoise stupid hair is cute. You know what I’ve realized about Nymphadora Tonks now that I’m on the color changing thing? And for a character who I don’t like, this is a game changer. She’s not magical because she is a Metamorphagus. She wasn’t created like an OC to fit into a puzzle. I thought that for years. She’s magical because she’s universal - she fits into a crowd and uses it in her arsenal because she’s like water, the universal solvent. Nymphadora Tonks adapts. I don’t know if that’s what Rowling meant by putting her in there. She’s different, but she’s not different for a shock and awe factor; she’s there to fit into the puzzle because she’s made for the puzzle.

So many OC imitations try this and fail. Badly. And I know the girl’s canon, I know. What I’m saying is she wasn't just made as a plot device, a convenient one, or indeed simply a love interest for the werewolf who decided to do whatever he did. Tonks is there as a light, sometimes a little funny, sometimes ridiculously clumsy, relief. She survives in the environment, which is an admirable quality. She’s like a jester. Jesters, in Shakespeare’s pieces, and indeed the Tudor period, held the wisdom.

They said what needed to be said because nobody else would. Here, with her honesty, sometimes blatant honesty - because nobody talks about this - she is shown in a realistic light. Depression is crippling, and it leaves you, and it comes back when and where you least expect it. I kept thinking that Tonks has to choose to save herself here. There can be a support system, and perhaps her mother is that for her, and we know Remus is, but she has to choose to control the fear and crawl out of the hole. Lest she bury herself yet again.

Your ability to show Harry Potter magic sprinkled through reality is a gift. Well done. Thank you for writing this.

PS Not that you probably care, but I'm me, your spacing is off. There's a lot of white space on this page.

Jenn


PSS Ummm.... I finally posted this. Watch the server go down. Shit. Ha. Two points to me. :_)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading (and rereading multiple times) this story! If we were still in SPEW, this would be worthy of a SPEW Review Award, but since we're not, I'll just say that it's touching and insightful and helpful (white space is a problem, I'll definitely upload a different version to fix that) and made me smile and grow misty-eyed. I don't know if you're a Phantom of the Opera fan, but if you are, think of the original Phantom, Michael Crawford, singing, "Bravi, bravi, bravissimi." :)


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 07/23/16 20:25 · For: Baby Mine
I never read this story either. I think I believed it would be too sad at the time I was reading your Remus and Tonks stories. I was mistaken. It's only sad because we know how JKR ended their story. Poor Tonks, knowing she's so clumsy. I'm clumsy too but I only fell down once holding a baby. My youngest. She was in a snuggli and I tripped going up some steps. I caught myself going down and was able to roll on my side rather than my front. Everyone around looked horrified but the baby slept through it.:D

Author's Response: Motherly instinct turned you into a ninja! That's an awesome story. Thanks for reading this one! Remus and Tonks had a tragic ending, but at least they shared a love that made the pain worth it. :)


Name: srhittson (Signed) · Date: 10/21/13 10:41 · For: Baby Mine
Cute story but I could feel the darkness behind it

Author's Response: Thank you! Those were dark times lightened by bright moments. :)


Name: Crazy about Draco Malfoy (Signed) · Date: 09/16/12 9:20 · For: Baby Mine
good

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Amelia_Bones (Signed) · Date: 09/10/11 22:54 · For: Baby Mine
Interesting point about the postnatal depression. I guess I never really thought too much about Tonks' motives since I always thought of them as a convenient plot moving couple that didn't really make much sense otherwise. She's an interesting character but I never bought that their relationship. But, that's just me.
You, however, did a nice job. ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading this! Jo said she created Tonks just for Remus, but I have to admit I'm glad she left so much of their relationship up to imagination, because I wouldn't have written a series to try and fill in the gaps otherwise. :D


Name: LuLu94 (Signed) · Date: 03/09/11 0:42 · For: Baby Mine
What ever happened to doing another R/T fic? I was looking forward to it.
Great story by the way. Believe it or not, I've read to other stories on this site with the same title. But yours was by far the best (but don't tell the others that!). Amazing :D

Author's Response:

I got a secret and I won't tell, I won't tell. :D

After writing Dark Angel (link included for anyone who might read this, I know you've read it, reader extraordinaire that you are) I thought about doing a wizarding x men kind of Lupin Institute story, but I haven't been struck by the right idea yet. Thank you for looking forward to it and for the luv-er-ly compliments! 



Name: Eternity27 (Signed) · Date: 09/07/09 0:00 · For: Baby Mine
Thank goodness! I was sooo scared that you would have them die! I always thought that Remus and Tonks were a very special couple that deserved a better ending, so bravo for writing your thoughts on their story! : )

Author's Response:

This happens before the final battle, I was just trying to think of a reason why Tonks would leave Teddy and risk making him an orphan. I agree wholeheartedly that Tonks and Remus deserve a better ending, and I'm finally giving it to them. The first chapter of Dark Angel, my alternate ending R/T romantic suspense story posted recently, and I'd love you to read it if you get the chance. Thank you for reading this story! :)

http://fanfiction.mugglenet.com/viewstory.php?sid=84509&chapter=1



Name: Seer_Witch (Signed) · Date: 04/09/09 19:58 · For: Baby Mine
Aww! I never really thought of Tonks and Remus as a couple. I mean, of course they were, but you brought alive their...romance for me. It only makes me more sad that they're all gone, their love with them, but it's something to evoke that sort of emotion in me, after all.

Author's Response: The books never really showed them as a couple, did they? Harry didn't even know Tonks loved Remus until the hospital scene. He saw them holding hands once and then the next time they met Tonks flashed a ring. Readers had to imagine them as a couple, they were never really shown together the way Molly and Arthur, Bill and Fleur, etc, etc, etc...were. So thank you for the lovely compliment!


Name: Alexarama (Signed) · Date: 12/19/08 3:21 · For: Baby Mine
I really loved your story, you captured Remus and Tonks really well. They are my favourite characters, and I was so upset that they weren't going to have their scene in the HBP hospital wing, so I am now reading every R/T fiction I can get my mitts on! :D

Author's Response:

Yay for you reading Remus and Tonks! I've got a series that starts in GoF (Once in a Blue Moon) and is currently HBP (Waiting for the Moon), so if you want a hospital scene, you'll get one! ^_~

Thank you for making my holiday brighter!



Name: SkylerMalfoy (Signed) · Date: 08/23/08 15:05 · For: Baby Mine
That was cute!!

Author's Response: I like to think there was a reason beyond not being able to stand waiting for Tonks to leave Teddy. I'll always have issues about Jo killing R&T off in order to make Teddy an orphan for Harry to be the godfather Sirius never got to be, but I'll also always be glad she allows fan fiction!


Name: WunderWitch (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 0:03 · For: Baby Mine
*gasp* you're not killing the Lupins in your fic? I think I love you. Just kidding. Though I'm glad you aren't killing them off too.

Author's Response:

There are all kinds of love. I love reviewers in a hug-y way. :D

I'm going to finish the HBP fic and write a DH wedding one shot, but after that, I'm going to disregard the end of book seven to write a story that's a Dark/Angsty romance. I hope you'll read it!



Name: emLILY EVANS (Signed) · Date: 11/30/07 17:17 · For: Baby Mine
love it but i think im chokeing on a ball of fluff

Author's Response: That's because you 'swallowed' without taking time to 'chew' on the deeper issues of the story! :D It isn't about fluff, although that lightens dark times, and loving moments keep a couple together through trials and troubles. :)


Name: Silver Whisper (Signed) · Date: 11/01/07 7:37 · For: Baby Mine
so in your stories , your going to follow the canon in deathly hallows, except for the part where remus and tonks die? hehe, i like your thinking.

Author's Response: Thank you! The DH story will be completely canon....since I'll stop before the battle, lol, but afterwards, I'm only going AU in that R/T live, because I think they should live--at least in my dimension of the Potterverse! :)


Name: DontCallMeNymphadora (Signed) · Date: 10/13/07 12:33 · For: Baby Mine
Oh, I love this story. It is one of my favorites, because you get to see what Remus, Tonks and Teddy's lives could have been like if they had lived. Not to mention, it shows Remus and Tonks just loving being parent to Teddy. It is so sweet.

Author's Response: This story takes place a week before the battle at Hogwarts, but I've written too many Remus and Tonks romances to let a little thing like canon stop true love. After my current, HBP story and a shorter, stop-before-the-battle DH fic, I'm going to write an AU Remus and Tonks so you'll be able to see what their lives are like in an alternate dimension where they live and face new challenges along with haunting memories of the past. :) (yes, I'm hoping you'll read!)


Name: snapefan2007 (Signed) · Date: 09/21/07 20:21 · For: Baby Mine
so cute. i like it, and it is a bit sad. she probably knew bellatrix was after them.

Author's Response: There's no avoiding angst in DH stories. I think Tonks and Remus made the most of the time they had in canon, and in fanfiction, I'm glad there's an AU category! :)


Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 09/07/07 22:01 · For: Baby Mine
That is the sweetest Tonks/Remus I think I've ever read, expecially since it was written post-DH. I'm still not over Tonks and Remus and Fred, it's just so sad.

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^ Just like Jo said George never really got over Fred, I don't think certain readers will ever truly get over the deaths in DH. I really do feel like Luna, saying it was so unfair you died when you were so brave and true!


Name: Pottergirl (Signed) · Date: 08/27/07 20:21 · For: Baby Mine
You won't kill them off? THANK GOD!!!! *hugs author* 10/10

Author's Response: Death is not romantic! I know it's all about Harry in the books, so she had to kill off all the Marauders so Harry could shine brighter, but Harry isn't the center of this dimension of the Potterverse, and he'll have to be content with being the living hero of his own kids, because Teddy Lupin's heroes will be his mum and dad! :)


Name: Luna_Luvs_Potter (Signed) · Date: 08/24/07 15:45 · For: Baby Mine
i would love to be your beta

Author's Response: I may hunt you down and remind you of that if my beta ever quits! ^_~


Name: smart_chick126 (Signed) · Date: 08/23/07 22:56 · For: Baby Mine
Yay!! They are my fave characters!!!! LOL Grrrreat job!!!!
*Haylie*

Author's Response: Thank you, Haylie! I've had a Princess Bride quote stuck in my head since reading DH. Death cannot stop true love.


Name: geminiginny (Signed) · Date: 08/20/07 13:34 · For: Baby Mine
That's a really interesting idea! I never thought about the reason;I just cried about the outcome.*sob*
Sorry about your toe! My friend broke hers and I know how painful it is.

Author's Response: I cried and then I thought of motivation for actions that had such terrible consequences. Sigh.


You must login (register) to review.