Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For One Last Goodbye

Name: CrazyAboutShipping (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 18:23 · For: Chapter 1
I never realized before reading this, Petunia never told Harry about Snape.

I liked how Harry came to say goodbye to Dudley, and told him they would keep in touch.

Author's Response: Some day maybe I'll write the fic of Dudley at Harry's wedding, that is if someone else doesn't get there first!


Name: JustLikeHermione77 (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 17:57 · For: Chapter 1
*sniff* yeah that's right, why didn't petunia ever mention snape?!?!?! anyway, good story!

Author's Response: Petunia was weak and scared of what Vernon might say or find out. She chose what was easy over what was right.


Name: Heir of Ravenclaw (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 15:19 · For: Chapter 1
Aww, that's so sweet when Harry and Dudley get along xD Heh, it's hilarious how Harry tells off Vernon.

Author's Response: Vernon deserved it, and frankly I was a little disappointed Harry never got to lay into Vernon properly in the books. I really dislike both the Dursley parents.


Name: SJZuhlsdorf (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 15:05 · For: Chapter 1
Great story!

I love how Dudley and Harry actually appreciate and respect each other now.

Author's Response: It was one of the more unlikely things to come out of DH, but it seemed so fitting, somehow, I felt.


Name: radishearrings3 (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 12:04 · For: Chapter 1
Aww, that was a very sweet Dursley story! You kept all of them very well in character too! You did a great job and good luck writing more!

Author's Response: I hadn't planned to write this, but the idea popped into my head a few days after reading DH and I couldn't shake it! I enjoyed writing it and managed to write it surprisingly quickly for me as well.


Name: LaylaEarth (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 11:38 · For: Chapter 1
Nice story!check my first fanfic out!i hope more people like it....................

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: Prongs92 (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 10:36 · For: Chapter 1
That was REALLY good and believable! It sounded like it came from a Potter book. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you, high praise indeed!


Name: rita_skeeter (Signed) · Date: 08/17/07 9:58 · For: Chapter 1
This is a really impressive follow-on from where JK left us [well, before Nineteeen Years Later]. You've captured her style of writing almost perfectly, which is definitely quite an acheivement!

I guess what struck me most about your story was how accurate Harry's characterisation was: his reproaches of Aunt Petunia were very realistic and of course his arguing with Uncle Vernon.

One of the best parts, I feel, was right after Harry defended Snape: He hadnít even decided if he believed it yet. This live just won me over. Such an appropriate thought for Harry to have!

I have only a slight bit of criticism. Firstly, I think Dudley would be more likely to say 'Think' thank 'Fink', although I can't say for sure whether that's me being inconsistent with canon - I haven't checked all the books to see. Secondly, I find it unlikely that Harry would say goodbye in such a formal way as using Dudley's full name, and vice versa. I know it's potentially a final goodbye, but I feel that it makes it just a bit too dramatic.

Finally, I really liked your ending. It was subtle and really understated, which I think worked well with the rest of the story and with Dudley's character.

Overall, I thought it was an excellent piece of writing, and I'm glad I came across it! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for your positive and detailed review. In my long term project I don't get to write the Dursleys so this was an opportunity not to be missed. As for Snape, I haven't even decided if I believe him a hero yet, so I thought it was an appropriate thought for Harry to have! Harry using Dudley's full name was just my way of Harry finally fully acknowledging Dudley as a person deserving his respect, so I figured Dudley would respond in kind.


You must login (register) to review.