Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 07/14/13 6:55
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

This.... Is.... Amazing! I got all sad at the end. The Phantom of The Opera is one of my favourite musicals! You have to make a parody of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat. Please!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 07/12/08 13:37
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Wow. This rocked! And the ending of the movie made me cry, just like the ending of this did! It was touching!!! But I cried when I found out the Phantom would end up with no-one, but I wanted to know what happened after Christine's blond friend (what was her name?) found the mask. This was really good, almost like the real musical! {BeccA}

Author's Response: The ending of the movie made me cry, too. I THINK THE PHANTOM AND MEG WILL GET MARRIED AND HAVE DEFORMED BABIES.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 07/12/08 13:33
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

I can't believe it! My grandparents had Phantom on DVD, and I borrowed it from them a month ago, and just watched it today to help me get the rhythm of these songs! Some were harder, but I still managed to understand it! (But my mom had to tell me that the Phantom was like Snape so that I could understand his abandonment, anger, and just plain wacko issues) But I still liked it! Some of the song beats were a bit too sinister for HP, I thought, but when they're used for OOTP, it can really work! Great job! {BeccA}

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! Yeah, the movie soundtrack is different from the Broadway show, so some of the spoofs are slightly different. And the Phantom is SO INSANE... I don't know why all of the girls adore him, he's an utter nutter.

Reviewer: x0BOO0x
Date: 06/10/08 15:26
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

She's here... the phantom of the fanfics! Schmerg strikes again, and strikes well. You are doing a phenomenal job of balancing humor and weight in your parodies. Fantastic!
~*BOO*~

Author's Response: BAHAHAH! The phantom of the fanfics... would that make me the fan-tom? (Sorry, lame.) This was actually my VERY FIRST SPOOF EVER, written at the tender age of twelve, so thank you very much! I wrote my "Wicked" and "Sweeney Todd" spoofs four years after this one.

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 06/02/08 18:40
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

Ha remeber when I said I was going to see phantomn of the opera on broadwaay right? Well I literally just got back and it was amazing!! When we were in intermission when my grandpa and my stupid cousin who I hate so much were being all stone faced on the other side of me was this lasdy rachel and her husband steve and I told them about how much I love the musical and how I read a harry potter spoof of it but you and they said at the end of the play that they would read it cause it turns out there both english teachers!!

Author's Response: Hahaha, wow! That would be soooo cool... And congrats on getting to see "Phantom!" I've never seen it live, but I just rewatched the DVD this weekend. Old pathetic me... tell me, was Raoul all pouncy-bootsish and flouncy? ^_^ Oh, by the way, I just found out that a school is performing my "Hogwarts Musical" today! I'm so excited.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/09/08 20:03
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Sirius falls behind the veil

SIRIUS:
*Plop*
^^I read this line about a minute ago & im still laughing my head off.

Ok, it's about 5 minutes later and I'm still laughing about the Sirius *plop* line. Great job! 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000/10 {Becca}

Author's Response: Hahahaha, thank you! I seem to remember that was one of those things that I added in at the last minute before submitting. I actually wrote this spoof when I was in seventh grade, but it was rejected A LOT, and didn't get accepted until I already had like ten stories up (I think when the mods decided to accept "Dark Lord Voldy's Shattered Soul Club Band," they got a little more relaxed on the spoof front.)

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 05/08/08 14:56
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Well, first I must say, I luuuurved Potter Will You Ever Learn! And you were right, Beyond the Veil WAS hard to follow! I got lost so many times. XD

I also really liked The D.A., but I was reading it out loud with the music and it was hard. fastfastfast. Well, kind of...*shrug* Gaaah, now I have Past the Point of No Return stuck in my head! XD Once again, Excellent job!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: Thank you! Oh my gosh, even I get lost with "Beyond the Veil." Maybe I'll rewrite this one day... it was my first spoof, and I hadn't really gotten the hang of the art of Spoofage. Ah yes, "Potter Will You Ever Learn..." that's one of those songs where I always end up singing the spoof version instead of the real one, which is kind of a pity... my friends are rather perplexed by these random Harry Potter songs I keep singing.

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 05/08/08 14:02
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

So with the distraction of Pre-Juiced Plums gone, I actually reached the second page and saw this! A few hours after after I posted that review I remembered you HAD done PotO, so I just deleted that 'review' =p

I think my favorite song here would be The Dreams...it was actually quite creepy. And Ronald Weasley (Prima Donna) made me laugh! =D Unfortunately, the only songs from Phantom I could remember were Angel of Music and Phantom of the Opera, so I had youtube videos playing in the backround. It messed me up a few times, because of the instrumental breaks and stuff, but for the most part I got everything. Wonderful job!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: Bahahaha, thank you very much! I think Ronald Weasley was my favourite as well... I accidentally put a bad recording of me singing it on a CD I made for my friend, and she actually liked it (apart from my bad singing).

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/01/08 15:37
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

Nice story. I'm going to borrow the DVD that my grandparents have of it (i think they own it) and watch it, because I read the lyrics but didnt really get the tune, although I could get some of it down. Anyway I really liked it and plan on reading Act II as soon as I figure out most of the tune. But my favorite parts were:

HARRY:
But Professor, we…

UMBRIDGE:
I'd advise you to be silent, little toad.

GEORGE:
(Muttering) A toad? It's you who looks like a toad!

UMBRIDGE:
You're both banned from now… WHAT WAS THAT?!
^^This was really good. As if she didn't know she looked like a toad.
and the song The Person I Will Bite was really good. It's the only Phantom of the Opera song that I've ever heard the whole thing of (my cousin plays the soundtrack occasionally) and had the David Cook, American Idol version going in my head. So, if that was relative to the point, yay me, if not, oh well it helped me understand this better. So, 100000000/10 and great job! [becca]
P.S. If any of the sounded like criticism, it wasnt. I found nothing wrong with this at all. :)

Author's Response: Hehehe, well, thank you! Wow, I think it's cool to get reviews from someone who's not even familiar with Phantom. It's a pretty awesome show, so I recommend you check it out.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/25/08 20:51
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

I've got the most brilliant idea on the planet! You want to do the Sweeney Todd spoof centered around Voldemort, right? And remember my suggestion of a Hogwarts production of Sweeney Todd? Why not combine the two ideas together and make the ST spoof be a SHOW about voldemort, performed by other characters who are alive by the end of book 7. (Like, Harry play Voldemort, Hermione as Bellatrix, etc. Okay, maybe not like that, but you get the point) You could also write a wizarding name version of Stephen Sondheim as a joke, to indicate the celebration of Voldemort's demise. Think about it as you're parodizing the songs.

Author's Response: Wow, that's a really interesting idea. I don't think that would really work in the context of the spoof, just because I write it in script format and your idea seems better suited to a story (because I'd have to explain stuff about the characters doing it), but that is really, really cool. Actually, I'd like to see you write that story!

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 03/25/08 18:14
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Wow that was amazing as well all amazement!! I absolutely adore Phamtom so much!! Whne I go into the city in a few weeks im going to see it (ive already saw the movie one) My favorite song is your version of all i ask of you. If for some odd reason we ever meet i owe you a trip to see ever musical you have spoofed! You should join the cheesecakians were always looking for amazing people like you!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I'm surprised you liked the "All I Ask Of You" because I thought that was my weakest one... and this whole spoof was my first spoof ever, so I'm a little shy about it.

rnI always read the cheesecakians posts and I really enjoy them... I don't have an account on the MNFF main site, though, and I'm not allowed to get one right now. :(

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/25/08 16:14
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

i'd take it you won't add city on fire either.

Although I like the idea of a Hogwarts production of sweeney Todd, I guess it makes sense if it is centered about Voldemort (Attend the tale of Voldemort...). But no more backstory (you did it twice for Les Mis and Wicked-it's getting a little old). With Bellatrix as Mrs Lovett, that will be hilarious.

If you want some other ideas for musical spoofs, here are some right here-West Side Story, The Producers, Little Shop of Horrors, Hunchback of Notre Dame (okay, a disney musical, but still), Jekyll and Hyde, Into the Woods, Nightmare Before Christmas (Tim Burton-yeh! He also directed the Sweeney Todd movie), Bye Bye Birdie, Joseph and the Magical Technicolor Dreamcoat, CATs, Evita, Rent, Chicago (that would be a hoot!), Annie, Wizard of Oz etc. I probably have more ideas to come, but they are just suggestions, if you know some of them.

Author's Response: No, not the full "City On FIre" song, because I am using my "Sweeney Todd Highlights" album (the original Broadway cast, but not the complete recording) and the film soundtrack, and neither of them has that song or the judge's Johanna.

rnI love a lot of those suggestions... I'm actually doing an Evita spoof right now, but I won't post it on MNFF because it's not a very well-known show; it's for my friend's birthday. I may send it to you when I'm finished. I'm also probably the biggest fan of Cats and Hunchback of Notre Dame on this planet, and it's awesome to see we have some similar tastes in musicals.

rnI do have some backstory, but it's a bit different this time around... the show starts in his seventh year at Hogwarts, and the whole Chamber of Secrets thing happens. (You have to admit, having him sing "My Friends" to Hepzibah Smith's cup and locket, with Hepzibah doing the "I'm your friend, too, Tommy dear" part in the background works.)

rnBut never fear, Bellatrix does get her turn as Mrs. Lovett! Here's an excerpt from her rendition of "By The Sea":

rnWith the sea gushing foam
rnLike a burst aorta
rnLapping up by our home
rnCome on, Voldemort, a
rnCouple nights on a trip
rnJust a short vacation
rnGets your mind off world domination
rnBy the sea...

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 23:48
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

I know this not relevant for this fic, but when you do the Sweeney Todd parody, can you include the Judge's Johanna?

Author's Response: I don't think I'll be able to, but if you review it, I'll write the spoof and put it in my response to your review! ^_^ I did do the other two Johannas, though...

Reviewer: Athenas Quill
Date: 03/24/08 17:14
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

Cool. I like it, you spoof very intelligently and well.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! That is quite a compliment!

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/23/08 13:59
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

I loved this spoof so much I copied and pasted it onto a word document file. I did some slight tweaking with some of the lyric to fit the melodies better. I am still trying to figure out Dumbledore's range for singing (tenor, baritone, or bass).

Author's Response: Thanks! I love reading all of the reviews you've left me! I'm not sure about Dumbledore's range, because in the spoof, he sings a bunch of songs that are written for different characters... for instance, "Learn To Be Lonely" was originally sung by a female alto in the musical!

Reviewer: Gwinna
Date: 02/26/08 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Wow, I remember reading this on the CoS forums ages ago. It must have been one of the first fanfics I ever read. I absolutely loved it of course - sooo clever how you matched the plot of OotP to the PotO songs. I would mention my favorite ones, but that would be, like, all of them, so I won't. I'm looking forward to reading your others, but can't right now because I have yet to read DH or see High School Musical.... *adds to favorites*

Author's Response: Wow,someone who actually read it on CoS! I'm so glad you liked it. Well, I certainly won't force you to watch HSM!

Reviewer: snapeadoodle
Date: 02/18/08 17:51
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

I just might have the technical ability to record me and a friend singing it.... We are both quite obsessed with it and can be found singing it between classes.

Author's Response: GAHSP! That would be the bestest thing in the world. Because I love to sing and do it often, but I am not good at all, and I don't really want to broadcast that fact out to the whole internet.

Reviewer: MaiaMadness
Date: 12/22/07 19:50
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

That was brilliant! I sat singing all the way through it. Doesn't help that I've actually sung most of these songs... Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again is, like, my best number. I really loved the Think of Me thing. Excellent work!

As a small piece of criticism, so as to make this review something but just praise, when writing song lyrics, it's important to think of the flow of the melody, or the phrasing, as one calls it in music lingo. Basically, it means that one has to make sure all the syllables fall in the right place. Voldemort is pronounced VOL-de-MORT, with equal pressure on the first and last syllable, so if you place the pressure on the first and second, but not the third, or on all three, it sounds a little weird. VOL-DE-mort. Especially in musicals and opera is this particularly important, because the song is supposed to be very close to how you'd speak it. Something to remember for the next project like this one. :)

Once again, great work!

Maia

Author's Response: Maia! Thank you!

Hmmm, I tried to pay close attention to the phrasing, but I think I changed the rhythm of some of the lines, and it's not as obvious when you're reading it as it is when you're singing/writing it. ^_^ Like, for example, I might skip the first beat of a line or add an extra beat while still preserving the same basic tune. But I see what you mean. (This was also my first spoof!)

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 11/22/07 17:32
Chapter: Chapter 2: Songs From Act Two

Amazing! I love it! You're so funny! I'm dead Sirius (sorry for the pun--can't contain myself).

Author's Response: Fwahahaha, I love Sirius puns. I'm really glad you thought it was funny! I don't get many readers on this!

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 11/22/07 17:31
Chapter: Chapter 1: Songs From Act One

I LOVE IT! ~MJ

Author's Response: THANK YOU! This was the first spoof I ever did!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES