Reviews For Minding the Baby
Reviewer: MissyQuill
Date: 06/26/08 12:54
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Let me start out by saying this that was a very good peace of work. And you chose a really good topic and character to write about. People often overlook Andromda as a victim because she is a mere minor character in the series when in truth; she has probably suffered the most. As a mother, a wife, a mother-in-law, a daughter and a sister.

The way you take the plot and the eventual; feeling of the pain of Remus and Dora’s (as well as Ted’s) death is quite plausible as no matter how much we miss someone, we learn to live without them. Though the life is far from complete.

Harry and Ginny come across quite nicely but (and this is only my completely flawed opinion) not very natural. I understand that the death of the Lupins would leave a deep gash in their lives and all but I don’t think it would turn Harry into a complete nanny. Don’t get me wrong, the caring nature of Harry is very accurate and he would come and see Ted as often as possible. I just don’t think he would do things like changing nappies.

I like how you have shown the Draco redemption. I was always one to give him (and perhaps even Cissy) the benefit of the doubt and it’s nice to see it done so subtly and gracefully.

Overall, a good job. Well done .:)=Sammy

Author's Response: Thanks, Sammy. I value your good opinion.

rnYour point about Harry's behavior is well-taken, but I don't think I agree. A lot of men change their tune when they have (and feel) responsibility for an infant. I speak from experience. But reasonable minds can disagree.

rn~Ken

Reviewer: Cwiddy
Date: 06/21/08 16:59
Chapter: Minding the Baby

This is a very well written story and really shows in depth your vision of Andromeda. You have done great at describing her mourning of Ted, Dora, and Remus...her reconcilliation with raising Teddy, and the transformation of the mourning process...from deep open wounds to scars that will always show but allows the person to move on.

The 3 different scenes also help show the mourning process...the immediate scream out loud pain of loss, the deep hurting depths of pain at the funeral, and then the healing that comes with time at the end.

The way you brought in Andromeda's personality...and even the glimpses that can be seen of the budding relationship with Harry and Ginny are also well done.

This is a very well written story and very imaginative.

Author's Response: Thank you, Chris. I value your good opinion. ~Ken

Reviewer: butter_beer_drinker
Date: 06/20/08 22:05
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Grief is indeed a process and anyone who experienced as much as Andromeda did deserves a medal.  Mother are strong, we can hold it together on the outside while we scream in agony on the inside.  Showing her falling apart while alone is truly a side that most women do not show.  We are strong, we are the rock and we do not bend, well most of us.  The way she stood up to her sister and refused to accept her back into her life was a very good reflection of how strong she was.  It would have been so easy to say I forgive you, come help me but blood is not always thicker than water and the Blacks proved that over and over.  However, when she allowed Draco to enter her house proved that some things can be mended and some people can rise above their lot in life. 

 The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby.

This, to me, was the most poignant thing you wrote.  Once again this is from a mother’s point of view so this line is what touched me, also, when Harry offers to keep Teddy and she reacts like only a mother could.

 Very good fic, I enjoyed it immensely.

Author's Response: Thank you, Kristy. I'm honored.

rnWhile I'm old enough to have experienced my share of grief, I don't know anyone who's ever had to integrate the magnitude of grief that must have smashed into Andromeda. I've read about such people, in natural disasters etc., but I have a hard time imagining what it would be like to survive it. It occurred to me that caring for Teddy would be the thing that would heal her (and maybe that watching young love blossom would heal her too, but that may simply have been sentimentality on my part).

rnA lot of people have said that they don't like the ending with Draco, but at the end I had to believe he was saveable.

rnThe line about the mother and baby crying is actually the first sentence of this story that came to me the rest of it followed from there.

rn~Ken

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 11/12/07 19:21
Chapter: Minding the Baby

to be quite honest i loved this story. I agree with you Andromeda is the real victim. In a way i wish i could hear her answer to what draco just said but at the same time it seems so right that it ended there. this is a magnificent story which i recomend to anyone and everyone that has lost someone or who is simply going through a sad day. and even if htey are cheerful they should read this. it's fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you, Florencia, for that kind review. I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to respond, but for the last several months I've been working on original fiction and not visiting the fanfic sites very much. ~Ken

Reviewer: Meralie
Date: 10/15/07 16:32
Chapter: Minding the Baby

awww,...that's good! You should write another one, even thought this is done, cuz i like to think that Andromeda isn't alone. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you liked it. ~Ken

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 09/30/07 17:41
Chapter: Minding the Baby

I thought this fic was very well done. I agree (with your comment in a review response) that Andromeda is an unsung victim of DH. As a mother myself, I can only imagine her pain at losing not only a husband, but her daughter and son-in-law as well. I loved her internal dialogue about who is sent to tell you that a loved one has died, or if two, or three... I also enjoyed the line about the baby crying and the mother crying. So poignant! Again, well done!

Author's Response: Thanks, Cheryl. I'm pleased you liked it, and more pleased that it rang true to you as a mother. I'm a parent too, but a loss as immense as Andromeda's I can (thankfully) only imagine. ~Ken

Reviewer: Aura_light
Date: 08/21/07 1:54
Chapter: Minding the Baby

it's sad but sweet. Shows that nomatter how great the pain is, we'll somehow manage to move on... good work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked it. ~Ken

Reviewer: Prof_Binns
Date: 08/21/07 0:35
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Wonderful. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks again!

Reviewer: razorfoxe
Date: 08/13/07 13:00
Chapter: Minding the Baby

! i felt i should praise this cos i know someone who went through somethin kinda similar and this conveyed the feelings really well. thanx for makin me realise i should help my cousin more.

Author's Response: You're very welcome, and thank you for those kind words. I'd love to think that my story helped someone in the real world. ~Ken

Reviewer: irishileana
Date: 08/12/07 13:11
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Somewhat bittersweet, I loved how Harry and Ginny looked at each other while one was minding the baby. Very well-written, but then, it's on Mugglenet. Good plot, I'm interested in seeing more of this. Now for a question. Would you mind if I posted the link to your story on a Harry Potter RPG website? I'm a "fic niffler" for the Daily Prophet on the Final Prophecy forums, and my job is to look for the best fanfictions and recommend them to the rest of the community. I would love to advertise "Minding the Baby", but I need your permission first. Could you get back to me as soon as possible? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hi Molly. I'd be happy to let you provide a link to my story, if you'll send me the urls to the site, and to the location of my link. Thanks for thinking of me. ~Ken

Reviewer: Stubbornly_appeared
Date: 08/12/07 11:23
Chapter: Minding the Baby

:)
:(

So very sad, but lots of hope. I was both tearing up and chuckling throughout the story. Great characters and observations.

Also, was it just me, or did you intend the end with Draco to be a reference to when Voldemort says something about Draco babysitting Tonks and Lupin's kids?



Author's Response: Thanks, Roonil. Yes, the echoing of Voldemort's words was very intentional. The idea is that Draco is using it ironically: he's realized how much he's been a slave to the will and ideas of other (his father, LV) and is now trying to think for himself. So his use of the phrase is a response to Voldmort: "You ask me whether I'll 'babysit the cubs?' The answer is yes."

Reviewer: iAMmissdelaney
Date: 08/11/07 0:13
Chapter: Minding the Baby

I really liked this, especially how you described Narcissa's plead with her only living sister to forgive her. It... illustrates the desperation to grab ahold of anything near and dear.

Oh, I flinched everytime you wrote a description of Andromeda biting her knuckles. -shudders-

Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks, Jana. I'm glad you liked it. I occasionally bite my knuckles myself (not as hard as Andromeda) in moments of stress, so I know whereof I speak. ~Ken

Reviewer: Sarah42
Date: 08/09/07 18:54
Chapter: Minding the Baby

I love it. Smiple as that. You are great.

Author's Response: Thank you. You're very kind. ~Ken

Reviewer: Osced
Date: 08/08/07 16:40
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Great Story!!! A Great Piece of Work

Author's Response: Thanks, Samuel. Glad you liked it. ~Ken

Reviewer: arwenevensatr
Date: 08/07/07 11:36
Chapter: Minding the Baby

Outstanding! I mean, I nearly shed a tear. It sounds like something that could possibly and very likel;y, happen. In the last chapter, James called him " Our Teddy" which means Harry and company were in his life. It was great.

Author's Response: Thanks, Julia. Yes, that was my thinking too -- there must have been a close relationship between Teddy and Harry from the start. So I thought, why not have him help out even when the kid was a baby? ~Ken

Reviewer: A Excess of Phlegm
Date: 08/06/07 19:46
Chapter: Minding the Baby

this is amazing! its so emotional! and i think the end is partly awful but mostly sort of sweet... I guess some people just can't change all their ways. but really fantastic story!

Author's Response: And thanks again!

Reviewer: A Excess of Phlegm
Date: 08/06/07 19:46
Chapter: Minding the Baby

this is amazing! its so emotional! and i think the end is partly awful but mostly sort of sweet... I guess some people just can't change all their ways. but really fantastic story!

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathy. I think Draco actually is changing his ways. Think of where he got that line, and what it must mean in this context... ~Ken

Reviewer: maggiequeen
Date: 08/06/07 19:42
Chapter: Minding the Baby

i liked it a lot, especially the final line and the Harry - Ginny thing

Author's Response: Thanks, Magali. I'm glad you liked it. ~Ken

Reviewer: TheBlackSister
Date: 08/06/07 18:39
Chapter: Minding the Baby

I almost cried reading this. Indeed, Andromeda got one of the hardest hits throughout Book 7. Thank you very much for this story.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked the story. ~Ken

Reviewer: Diamond Quill
Date: 08/06/07 17:29
Chapter: Minding the Baby

By the most amazing coincidence ever I found the Sugar Quill for the first time earlier, looked on their 'Most Recent Fics' list and found your story about Harry and Ginny and patience (forgive me, I forgot the name!). I thought it was so excellent I immediately registered to become a member to the site so that I could review it and congratulate you. While waiting for my account to be validated, I browsed the internet and several fanfiction websites for a couple of hours, finally ending up here and again looking for recent post DH fics. I found this one and completely oblivious to the fact that it was written by the same person as before started to read. I didn't realise it was you until I read the line about 'He's all I've got left' and recognised it from earlier. In hindsight I probably should have guessed, you have a very distinctive and well developed style to your writing which makes your stories lead on almost flawlessly from canon.

I've already said how much I loved the other story (I can't believe I've forgotten the name!) but I loved this one even more. It is brilliant, you have encapsulated all the feelings associated with loss and bereavment and woven them into a piece of writing that is both a character study and a story.

I liked the disjointed feeling of Andromeda's thoughts at the beginning and the way she thought about each person she had lost. The bit where she kept biting her knuckle was painfully realistic and made me feel so sympathetic towards her.

This line is beautiful: 'The baby cries for his mother as the mother cries for her baby.'

The standoff between Andromeda and the Malfoys was well handled and I was relieved that you didn't overdo it as that would have upset the balance of the fic. The whole funeral was well written actually as was Harry's offer to look after the baby and the way you showed how he needed to look after it. I really liked Godfather!Harry- it was a nice touch.

I am inspired by your take on Andromeda's character, it fits in perfectly with my own ideas on her and the beginnings of a plot bunny of a story I started pre Deathly Hallows focusing on her before Nymphadora's birth. I think you've persuaded me to dig the bunny out and continue writing!

I loved the 'H/G baby fluff' by the way and the last line made me grin. It added a bit of humour to a story that was really very sad.

So to condense that rambling review into a few lines, I think you are a wonderful writer, this is going on my favourites list and I will leave a review for the other story on Sugar Quill once my account is validated! Very well done.


Author's Response: Hi, Claire,

Wow! That's one of the most thoughtful, detailed reviews I have received in a long time. (Given the short timeout period MNFF employs, you must have had to try posting it multiple times! ;)) What a pleasure to have a reader who thinks so carefully about one's story, and who clearly enjoys it! You've made my day.

I'm thrilled that this story may have inspired you to return to your plot bunny about Andromeda. I really think that the dynamic between the Black sisters is one of the most potentially complex, intricate and fruitful areas that FF has available to it.

At the risk of tooting my own horn, most of my stories are on Phoenix Song. I notice that you have an LJ account; my LJ name is "Rhetoretician," and first drafts of new stories (as well as drabbles and other things that never get posted on the fan sites) can be found there.

Thanks again for your encouraging, heartwarming words.

~Ken

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES