Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 20:59
Chapter: Blue Notes

My last review was submitted before it was finished. I want my desktop back!!! Anyway, Caper seems in his element taking care of a family. I smiled when Percy passed out on George's couch. Fleur was so cute with her apology. Was that an omen? I also smiled when someone (Fred?) commented that Percy was drinking as much as Sirius Black. Great chapter.

Author's Response: You know how in Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer King Moonraker or whatever the lion's name is says, "No toy is truly happy until it is loved by a child"? I think certain house-elves aren't happy unless they have a family to care for. Yep, it was an omen, although the summary pretty much gives that away. :D The suspense is HOW things happen, and what happens afterward!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 20:50
Chapter: Blue Notes

I'm proud of George for basically behaving himself. My favorite part was George imagining what everyone around the table was thinking.

Author's Response: Thank you for liking that! I think everyone's done that at one time or another...at least I hope I'm not the only one, ho ho ho.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 19:50
Chapter: Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?

I guess what I don't like (referring to your A/N) is when you get really involved in a well-written story and the author doesn't update for months. That's why a lot of times I won't read something until it's finished. I do make exceptions though for some really good stuff. Poor George--now he has a girlfriend and a house elf--I guess Fred commented on that. And poor Caper--house elves don't react well to butter beer and it sounds like he was basically homeless. I think he'll be good for George--especially since he now has a girlfriend and needs to keep his place clean:P Is that Molly cooking dinner? Great chapter. I'm glad I stayed home this afternoon too. Would you believe we only have 8 days of school left before we go on Christmas break--and then there's spring to look forward to. Yay.

Author's Response:

I'll read a WIP when it's updated regularly and when the author doesn't have a long list of incomplete stories on his or her author page. The allure of new ideas is something every writer faces, but the unspoken promise to readers--that they will finish what they began and the story journey will be worth the time spent--should be honored above all else. Other stories can wait (like my Scorpius and Rose sequel that I won't start until I give Remus and Tonks a happy ending in their alternate ending fic, ^_~).

Only eight days? Kids here have to go until the 18th. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 16:09
Chapter: Something to Talk About

Wow--a lion patronus. You can see I haven't grown any--I'm still impressed with a big patronus--the fiercer the better. I know, I know, I've received many lectures on patronuses but I am still impressed with some more than others. I shook my head over George finding a way to still spend the night. That was wonderful. I guess they're officially a couple now. Great chapter. I stayed home today and just now got around to reading. I had my car brakes worked on and was so cold and sleepy after that, that I decided to stay home and try to take a nap. I think it's in the single digits now and snowing lightly. I'm still trying to be positive about this winter thing. After falling on the ice last spring I'm still afraid to go out sometimes--but you can't be afraid and get anything done. The fear's gotta go:D

Author's Response: It isn't the size of the Patronus in a fight, it's the size of the fight in the Patronus, heh. Yay for you staying home and taking a nap! After walking in gently falling snow, watching it fall from the warm side of a window pane is my favorite. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/02/09 17:25
Chapter: Breaking the Habit

I'm the oldest in my family so I wouldn't know what it's like to have an older sibling sit me down and give me a lecture. Bill did a very good job with George. I laughed when George thought he was giving Bill the slip only to have Bill grab him when he was trying to exit the pub. I thought it was important that Bill told George that Percy spent a few drunken evenings on his couch. While I know the rest of the family is grieving the loss of Fred I think it's important to realize that his twin brother is going to feel the loss even more. I'm still really liking that George can "hear" Fred. Great chapter. OMG, it's sooo cold out there--close to the single digits--but no ice. Yay!!

Author's Response:

Single digits? With or without a wind chill? (like it really matters, heh) Yay for no ice and I really do see the Weasleys as tiptoeing around George, trying to be understanding and give him room to grieve while wishing they could hug the stuffing out of him and help him through this dark time.

Bill is awesome brother, and even younger sibs can lecture, heh. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/02/09 10:18
Chapter: Motherly Love

We are having light snow flurries, which seems strange because it's been so warm lately. I think winter is upon us. Just don't let it be icy:) Why can't George just explain that when he hears the word "partner" he thinks about Fred, not about Alicia. But then he'd have to talk about his feelings toward the word "girlfriend" and that might be uncomfortable for the big baby too:D I had to chuckle when Molly showed up at George's office door. I have no doubt that she'd blast the door off if she had to. I also had to smile at imaginary Fred encouraging George to win their old bet--it's like Fred is still there. HBP comes out next Tuesday on dvd. I wonder if I'll be able to wait to watch it until we have our marathon or if I'll stay up late Tuesday night watching it. I guess I'll just have to wait to find out. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Snow! Lovely snow! As someone who once flipped a jeep on black ice in Maine, I'll second your plea for no ice.

George is a big baby. He and Fred were like Peter Pans never growing up until the war brought them down to earth. Thanks to Fred's voice taking over as the little voice of reason...or mischief...George will always have "happy thoughts" :). 

I'm guessing you'll crack and stay up watching it. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/02/09 9:16
Chapter: Dance with Me

I'm going to believe that Molly is totally in the dark, so to speak, about George's relationship with Alicia. I think Molly would be very direct if confronting her son's "lover." George is too adorable when he's jealous. I loved the names of the wizard bars. I used to love watching the rowing clubs, and even the lone rowers, from the banks of the River Charles--What's that old song " . . . Down by the river, down by the banks of the River Charles. . . That's where you'll find me. . . " One time I even saw two shells collide and dump people into the river. All I could do was stare in horrified fascination--that river looked so polluted. I am totally entranced with this story. I'm so used to thinking of the twins as pranksters that I don't really think of them being involved in romance. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Kids always believe mom "knows" even when she doesn't. It's their guilty conscience, hehheh.

Whoa, I wondered why the coxswains steering the boat didn't take action to avoid that collision! I'm with you, I'd be like Ahhh...they need antibiotics now! :D

Pranksters need love, too! ;)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/01/09 14:27
Chapter: A Family Affair

I love the Doors (hence Fynn's last name of Morrison). Alicia is pretty tricky--out dancing with her mixed group:D Bill is obviously totally crazy in love with Fleur and the thought of being a father. Did I ever mention I love it when authors do Fleur's French accent--I don't know why. I like it almost as much as when people get Howlers. I loved it at the end when George announced that he was going to see his "lover" and then apparated before anyone could say anything. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

George has a bit of his mum in him--he likes to have the last word!

Thank you for liking Fleur's accent! I do think it's believable that it softens over time, but if she's written without any accent, it seems like someone else, not the real Fleur. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/01/09 11:52
Chapter: Making Love Instead of Misery

I think George is too undecided to actually kiss Alicia and send her home if she made the "wrong" toast. And then Fred is thrown into the mix with his well-meaning comments. The funniest part was when Mrs. Spinnet opened Alicia's bedroom door to find George in bed with her daughter. The funny part was when George greeted Mrs. Spinnet in his most polite tone and she greeted him the same way. Fred's comments were also funny when George felt like canceling. I frowned when Mrs. Spinnet said she heard that George was a disturbed young man. Just because someone's grieving doesn't mean he or she is disturbed. The house elf's reaction was also hilarious--the happiest moment of his life?:D Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Politeness covers lots of awkward situations, :D.

People gossip, and spread the wrong story as easily as the correct one. Mrs. Spinnet isn't going to be won over easily. She's a mother hen with one chick she's afraid is cuckoo over a rooster who crows at midnight, heh. 

I heart house-elves, too!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/01/09 10:41
Chapter: The Morning After

Hmm, are you sure George isn't a vampire? I had visions of Eric Northman outside of Sookie's window--I have a slight crush on Eric so that's why I thought of him. The fact that the two contraceptive potions differed in taste didn't mean anything did it? Wouldn't it be something if the first one was out of date and that's why it tasted sour? Why are men so damn stubborn? George should just admit that he likes Alicia and get it over with. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

Blonde is closer to redhead than Bill's brunette, too, heh. :D

You'll have to wait and see about the potions. ;)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/01/09 10:22
Chapter: Pain and Comfort

You've just gotta feel bad for George. I can't imagine losing a twin. I lost a sibling 20 years ago but we weren't as close as George was to Fred. If you had been here you would've heard me gasp when Percy said he knows George wishes Percy had died instead of Fred--and then when George agreed. I liked how you had Fred talking in George's imagination--I can understand it being like that. And, it was nice that imaginary Fred still had a sense of humor. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I felt awful for George not even being mentioned in the epilogue. I had to give him a happy ending. :D

When you're hurting, there's a temptation to hurt others, and George definitely gave into that. Thank you for gasping! :)

Reviewer: lunaandneville
Date: 10/10/09 18:45
Chapter: Baby Love

Oh my goddess!!!! I LOVES this story!!!!! You wrote amazingly!!!!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I really felt awful for George when he didn't rate a mention in the epilogue, so I was thankful Jo allows fan fiction so I could give him a way to never forget Fred and yet be happy, too. :)

 

Reviewer: olipop10
Date: 09/30/09 12:57
Chapter: Pain and Comfort

i like how this fic started... i wanna read more.
i just finished reading Our Little Secret, amazing story n one of my favorites. i love your style and i hope to see a sequel to OLS :D. this is my first George related fic read.
thanks for all ur stories.
cheers!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading my stories and wanting to read more! That's the loveliest compliment, and I heart you for that. *hugs*

Reviewer: furious_fiendfyre
Date: 07/30/09 14:46
Chapter: Baby Love

Excellent!!

Author's Response: Merci beaucoup!

Reviewer: furious_fiendfyre
Date: 07/30/09 11:29
Chapter: Christmas Eve

I love Calvin and Hobbes! Fred and George always reminded me a bit of them :)

Author's Response: It's the irrepressible naughtiness and wild imagination. :D Thank you!

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/16/09 19:19
Chapter: Baby Love

The very first thing I did at the very first word of this chapter? GASP! "Oh! Nursery!" And jump. Before this chap started, and just after last ended? DANCED INSANELY!

I completely fell in love with this fanfic, and, like always, I'm so sad it's got to end. I love Alicia and I love George. Most important, to me, I loved the little Fred in the back of his twin's head, especially giving him every-day romance advice that escaped George's thoughts. Despite everything, I loved what you gave me. I adored the anger flashes that chilled my spine, the tears that gushed down my cheeks (whether happy or not ;D), the smile that flashed across my face, the frown that settled into place, the shriek of anticipation the pierced the air, the scream of happiness that escaped me...I just loved the emotion pulsing through me at every moment. There wasn't one moment, reading this, that made me bored or wishing for the next chapter. I was eager, sure, for the baby, but I wasn't any less into what was going on right then. You're the most amazing person to ever grace the earth, and I'm so so glad I ever came across you!

Author's Response:

I don't have the words to tell you how blessed I've been to have you as a reader! Without you, a story's just black pixels on a computer screen. You bring it to life. :)

Have you ever seen the film The Four Feathers with Heath Ledger? Heath's character meets an African warrior who tells him "God put you in my path." I'm thankful you were put in my path...or I was put in yours.

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/16/09 18:50
Chapter: A Time to Laugh, a Time to Weep

I don't know, but the whole time I've just been chanting, buy a new house, buy a new house, buy a new house, instead of transforming Fred's room. If I keep running upstairs and locking the bathroom door, and then coming out a few minutes later without any sign of a flush, my mom'll get suspicious, so I'm trying to hold back the tears but sometimes it's harder than others. And then at the very very VERY end, I just took a deep breath and shouted, "Quoi?" in a high-pitched voice, haha. I'm so excited!

Author's Response:

In the "canon" Scorpius/Rose story (where George and Angelina are getting a divorce!) they bought a new house and he's kept the flat above the shop as it was when Fred left. I'm going to do a one shot about George moving back in one day, but in this story I wanted George to deal with his feelings, not try to hide from them.

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/16/09 18:29
Chapter: Rise Above This

I'm overjoyed that the days match XD Is that a little creepy? I just looove matching days. This chapter was happy and sad anyway, but this made it extra, that the fic's and today's date is the sixteenth.

Author's Response: I prefer the word quirky. :)

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/16/09 18:18
Chapter: Pictures of You

Totally crying. I always liked Fred better anyway. Crying, hiding it from my mom...haha.

Author's Response: Everyone liked Fred better. Even George. It had to start to wear on him, poor sweetie. That's why I couldn't bear it if he didn't find a way to keep Fred's memory very much alive and yet still live a happy life.

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/16/09 17:58
Chapter: Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Ditto on the tissue thing.

Author's Response: *hugs*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES