Reviewer: Divess
Date: 03/17/11 17:41
Chapter: Pain and Comfort

Great first chapter. Strong. It seems as though I can see and feel everything George does. I like this pairing and I hope she will help George come back to himself. Thank you. I know this review is way late but I started reading stories MNFF in 2006 and at the time new chapters weren't coming up all that fast. Well now it's 2011 and all the stories that I liked and more are now finished and I can read myself silly. Thanks to all the talented authors.

Author's Response:

As much fun as it is to have readers comment on chapters as the story's being written, I understand the appeal of a completed story, and there's no such thing as a late review. Just because I've written other stories since this one doesn't mean I'm not thrilled you're reading. You're letting me relive the story through your reviews.

Thank you! :)

Reviewer: LuLu94
Date: 02/27/11 23:59
Chapter: Baby Love

That last scene makes me miss Egypt and all my family over there. But this was an amazing story! Great job as always.
P.S. I have now officially read ALL of your stories! Aren't I just the best fan ever?

Author's Response: You are a fan amongst fans, worthy of praise and poetry . . . or at least a character named in your honor! Aalaa. Hmm . . . . ;)

Reviewer: LuLu94
Date: 02/27/11 18:38
Chapter: Interlude

The thought of "anatomically correct" snowmen or -women made me giggle in remembrance of a certain other story I've read as did the mention of a girl named Blaise. As always there's just enough over lap in your stories to not be repetitive but still inspire a you feeling of nostalgia (not to mention I feel like I'm a part of a special joke just shared by a few select people.) I remember reading about sage being for remebrance in Hamlet, I believe, though I hope Gabrielle doesnt go crazy over Harry. Wonderful story as always!

Author's Response: Thank you for liking the nostalgia. Not many people read across all categories, so you are special, and I appreciate your comments . . . and the ideas they inspire. Gabrielle eventually falls for Dennis, but it would be interesting to write how that happened, because I can absolutely see her going crazy (although not in the "too much water hast thou" sort of way) over Harry!

Reviewer: Ghoul In the Attic
Date: 02/16/11 11:26
Chapter: Baby Love

An amazing ending to an amazing story. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! George without Fred is tragic, so I was glad to give him a way to keep his brother close (can't get much closer than the little voice of sarcasm or reason in your head) and give him a love and a son to make life even more worth living.

Reviewer: September December
Date: 07/28/10 21:48
Chapter: Baby Love

Great story! I cried like a baby in some parts. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Working through grief involves tears, and George (and I!) appreciate yours very much.

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/19/10 17:44
Chapter: Baby Love

Wow.... good story! *sigh*

Author's Response: Thank you! I think George deserves to be happy in as many stories as possible, :), and you made me happy by reading this one!

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/13/10 19:22
Chapter: Pain and Comfort

Awww.... I've been reading this story, and I really love it, but I just realized It can't have happened, cause on J.K.Rowling's site, it says that George married Angelina and had 2 kids with her: Fred and Roxanne . :'(

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and loving the story! It could have happened when I started writing it after DH came out, sigh, but even after Jo came out with her family tree, I never wavered in my belief that George and Alicia are a great couple. They might not be canon, but thanks to Jo allowing fan fiction, they love and live happily ever after in this alternate dimension of the Potterverse. :)

Reviewer: cdpenguins
Date: 05/01/10 1:34
Chapter: Baby Love

You had me stuck on this story..it was so good =) I even snuck in some chapters at work haha, can't wait to check out your other stories!

Author's Response:

The guy in the film Office Space just stared at his desk to make it look like he was working. At least you kept your brain active by reading! :D

Thank you for sneaking around to read and double thanks for giving me a smile by telling me! 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/14/09 21:19
Chapter: Baby Love

This is a P.S. to my original review. I love roses--especially red ones. Strangely, when Demelza was an infant, people referred to her as the "little rosebud." And that came from people who weren't at her birth, so I don't know why that was. And, how did you guess--my friend Janet, her husband Diep, Demelza's Daddy, and I made and decorated petit fours in pink and blue frosting. I think that was the first and last time I ever made petit fours from scratch:D I'll see you again soon--maybe in some one shots or another book.

Author's Response:

Demelza probably had rosy cheeks, a little "rosebud" mouth, and skin softer than a rose, bringing to mind the song Yellow Rose of Texas and the lines: She's the sweetest little rosebud that Texas ever knew, her eyes are bright as diamonds, they sparkle like the dew...

"See" you soon! :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/14/09 19:30
Chapter: Baby Love

I sure do wish there was more but at the same time I look forward to starting something new. There were so many wonderful moments in this chapter. The birth of a baby is always special. Demelza was born at home--in a small Cambridge apartment--with a lay midwife and her apprentice in attendance, as well as family and friends. We had a real birthday party with homemade petit fours and champagne. I also gave out red roses to all of the guests. I appreciated all of the Seer comments--they were hilarious. It was also funny when Molly outran Anne and Arthur. It was sad but wonderful when George cleaned out Fred's room--things like that have to happen a little at a time. The trip to Egypt was a nice finishing touch. I loved this book and can't wait to start a new one.

Author's Response: Was there symbolism to the roses? I'd think you'd deserve them for having the baby!  Let me guess, in that burst of energy period before labor you got the urge to make and decorate petit fours. :D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/14/09 18:23
Chapter: A Time to Laugh, a Time to Weep

I think my favorite part of this chapter was when Kingsley came to visit George. The description of all the Aurors coming in like the secret service and the problems they encountered with George's security system was hysterical. Bless Molly for her repeated attempts to help George get over Fred's death. I'm glad George maintained poise at the ceremony because I almost burst into tears. Alicia sure doesn't want to go into labor now does she? Great chapter. Actually, my nephew was in Rapid City and drove all the way back so he could go to the movie with us:D I didn't go to work again today. It was too cold and I couldn't get out of my driveway. If the winter continues like this I'm going to have to figure something out. I hate missing work because of the snow when I could be saving my days for a vacation:P

Author's Response:

Thank you for liking the Auror service! :D

Aw, what a sweet nephew to go out of his way to see a movie. I hope he's getting something nice from Santa (and it doesn't matter how old he is, heh).

You need a snowplow guy! :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/13/09 16:59
Chapter: Rise Above This

I love Au Bon Pain. There used to be one in Harvard Square and they had chess boards outside for people to pick up a chess game. They used to have wonderful croissants and coffee. I think there's one in the Boston airport too. That Zoe's kind of funny--don't you hate it when people read over your shoulder:) I had to smile at Fleur, as always. I'm sure she does look good at any weight. Chocolate covered strawberries sound good. I'll have to make those in the summer again. For a while I didn't know why Alicia was crying. I thought it was because she put the cot in their bedroom and I couldn't figure out what the problem was. I forgot about Fred's stuff still being in his room and that room being needed for a nursery. I think it's been two days since I read this story. I went to Pierre yesterday with one of my sisters and my nephew--we went shopping, out for pizza, and to see "The Men Who Stare at Goats." That was a very strange movie and Wal-Mart was extremely crowded. I wish I could've waited but there was stuff I needed. I got a bit cranky--I don't like crowds. Then I picked up some sort of bug since I've been sick all day. Either that or it's the sinus infection I've been working on--probably that. I just want to be able to go to work for the next two days. Great chapter, but the story's almost over. Most of the time I wish your stories could go on and on:D

Author's Response:

How did I know you were going to mention their croissants! :D I've been to Boston, but not the airport, so I've missed out.

Alicia feels torn. She doesn't want to push George, and yet the baby will need a nursery eventually. 

Let me guess, your nephew wanted to see the movie. It seems a very guy film. :D Such a shock that someone who enjoys living in the peaceful countryside doesn't like crowds. Sinus infections will make a saint, cranky, though, so I hope you get over that soon.

Thank you for wishing they could go on! I really do feel that life goes on for characters even after the story's officially done.  Shakespeare's sonnet is for fan fiction too: So long as men can breathe or eyes can see, so long lives this, and this gives life to thee. :)


Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/11/09 18:53
Chapter: Pictures of You

Now I have to look for my Cure cd:) This was a sad chapter but full of hope in many ways. Of course George became more thoughtful as his birthday approached. I think he's really matured and moved forward because there are so many times when he could've struck out at those who were trying to support him but he didn't. He was kind to his mother; she's grieving too. Going to Stonehenge was a superb idea and I'm happy he let Alicia and Caper come along. He's just more open to accepting support. This was a wonderful chapter. I know I spelled cappucino wrong. I looked at it and couldn't figure out why it didn't look right. I don't want you to hate me but I used to be quite the cook. I don't take the time too often now since I live alone. One of my specialties was a Black Forest cake made from scratch. I soaked the cherries in kirsch and one of the fillings was chocolate mousse. It was frosted with fresh whipped cream and grated chocolate. I used to make everything from scratch. Another favorite was sticky toffee pudding and I made a really good chocolate roll filled with fresh whipped cream. I also made my own croissants and breads. Now I'm making myself hungry. There is support pouring in from all over the state for my brother--from people who know him. Hopefully, we can turn that support into something positive for his appeal. We're all feeling cheerier over the whole thing but we'll feel better when he's home with us again. Now where is that cd:)

Author's Response:

George has come a long way, baby, to use that old slogan aimed at women smokers (equal opportunity cancer, I guess).

I think cappuccino has two p's and two c's, but either way it sounds delicious! I love the smell of coffee, if not the taste. I love the art of cooking, too, so I won't hate you, even though I do envy the people who got to eat your food! I admire chefs the way I admire artists. The show Chopped on Food Network is one of the few shows I watch regularly, I could listen to Alton Brown talk about the science, history, and quirky trivia of food for hours, and I like to read cookbooks. I just don't try many of the recipes. :D

The support for your brother is great and I hope it does change the situation for the positive. If you don't find the Cure CD you can always play Celtic Woman!  

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/11/09 11:31
Chapter: A Little Bit of This, a Little Bit of That

I know, you couldn't resist the reference to Dolores Umbridge. How wonderful of Angelina and Blaise to bring a comfortable dress for Alicia to wear. I can tell she can't wait to be a mother. (I'd better wait and read that chapter at home. I'm liable to cry through it:P) I loved the Quidditch match after the wedding. You know, I'll bet you've written about enough beautiful ceremonies that the real ones are a disappointment for you--or, you could go into the wedding planning business. Wonderful, romantic chapter. Long ago, when Talya and Gabe would request "noggin-egg" I used to make it with raw eggs--that's before raw eggs were considered bad. Now I just buy it in the store. I don't know what brands you have out where you live. However, my favorite is to buy just a quart of the local store brand (that's only a little bit), and I like the "light" variety. The full strength is too thick--but I prefer skim milk too. They have some fancy varieties that are Jack Daniels flavored or Amaretto flavored but I don't care for those as much--too sweet. I don't drink very often, but around Christmas time I like to splash a bit of rum into my egg nog. I've even been known to steam the egg nog with my cappacino maker. Pretty tasty:D

Author's Response:

Wedding planning takes a personality and a type of creativity very different from mine (and most writers...think about it, wouldn't we want to "edit" their vows and generally expect to have creative control like they were characters? :D), but thank you for the lovely compliment!

Wow, you made your own eggnog! If you made your own Christmas pudding or Buche de Noel, I'm going to start wondering if you're a secret Martha Stewart. I'd still like you, like Alicia likes Fleur, hehheh.

Steaming eggnog in a cappuccino maker sounds nice! Not that I drink cappuccino (or any kind of coffee) to have one. It's the visualization of the presentation. Veddy nice. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 19:35
Chapter: Something Borrowed, Something Blue

I just discovered that the first part of my review for this chapter didn't post either. I think I said something about crying at both real and fictional weddings, but more at fictional weddings. Then I commented that the crepes sounded delicious, but that I really loved stuffed croissants. This was such a beautiful wedding. I still love Fleur, even though it usually took me months to lose weight after a baby--but I'm kind of short and show a weight gain really easily:D

Author's Response:

Real wedding kinda go by quickly. When I read about them I absorb what's happening more, especially the vows. Some would say that's because I have selective hearing...or maybe I that I'm mentally rewriting the lines. :P

You are truly a kind hearted soul not to resent the Veela weight loss. :D I think that's what it takes to be friends with Fleur, to accept that she's unfairly gorgeous and never has to watch her weight...and like her anyway!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 19:20
Chapter: Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Somehow my review was cut off. I was about to say I love spinach and feta croissants and ones stuffed with ham and swiss. I was reminded of a time many years ago when I was babysitting a friend's child who was a little over a year old. I didn't have anywhere for a baby to nap at the time so I put Felice down for a nap in one of the big drawers that were under the bunk beds. I stuffed it with quilts and it made a comfy little bed for her. Her parents thought that was pretty funny. Now, people would probably be shocked and think that wasn't safe. It's a wonder my kids or any other kids raised in that time lived to grow up:D I also felt really sad for George and Alicia to be missing Fred and Mr. Spinnet. Who woulda thought George had this much romance in him? Wonderful chapter.

Author's Response:

They sell beds with trundles that are nothing more than a big drawer with a mattress in it. You were ahead of your time! It isn't like she napped in the top drawer of a dresser, heh. I bet she looked adorable. I'd have taken a photo. :D

It's funny, all the things that draw a couple closer. I enjoy writing about that a lot more than what tears them apart. 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 13:01
Chapter: What's in a Name?

I'm really glad that George let Bill know that he didn't want the baby named after Fred. And, I'm really glad that the baby's hair is strawberry blond and not the stereotypical red Weasley hair. I love all of the variations of the Queen for a Day charm and the reminder that Caper always wins "employee of the month" every month:D Speaking of noggin-heads, I smiled remembering that when my kids were little they couldn't remember to say "egg nog" but would say "noggin-egg." I think it's close enough to Christmas to buy some egg nog. There are so many different varieties now. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you for being glad George was open about his feelings! Some people might think he should have been a "bigger" person (or should've pretended to be) and okayed it, but he has to work through that issue in his own time. Noggin egg is so cute! My dad loves egg nog, but I have never tried the stuff. I think it comes from childhood carryover of imagining raw eggs stirred into milk. :D Recommend a favorite variety and I just might try it!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 11:14
Chapter: Celebrations

Finally I got back in. You weren't kidding when you said Mugglenet can be glitchy. I finished this chapter and tried to write a review but I had to log in. When I tried to log in I didn't have the right password so I had to get a new one. Then I decided to change what they gave me and that started the whole mess over again. Oh well, I think they do that just to wake me up and get me outraged at something I can control so I feel empowered:P Anyway, this was a misty-eye producing chapter. Although now when I'm misty-eyed in the office, people think it's because of family problems:) The dancing sounded so fun and I do remember Arthur's love of disco--are you sure they weren't hippies:D Although, I guess disco came after hippies. Wouldn't you know that Bill and Fleur's baby arrived during the reception--just like a miniature toerag:D I had to chuckle at myself. While I was cruising around dealing with my password issue, I ran across the rules for submitting stories. I started to feel intimidated. Then I thought, I can deal with all the rules and regs associated with submitting multi-million dollar federal grant proposals but I get intimidated by Mugglenet. Once again, you're my hero for getting through Mugglenet and for writing such good stuff:D

Author's Response:

You perservere to triumph over glitches, you persuade government officials to use some of the money they'd blow on fraud, waste, and abuse on worthy causes. You definitely have the power to convince a Mugglenet mod that your story meets the site's requirements! :D I think more rejections come from grammar errors and improper dialogue formatting than content. It's easy to get tripped up when you start writing, thinking because you read a lot you must have absorbed all the fiction etiquette. I still think it's unfair that direct address commas are mandatory instead of only used when you want a pause, heh, but I remember to use them now (and sometimes use them in correspondence!).

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/09 19:44
Chapter: Best Laid Plans

George and Alicia are doing their wedding totally backward aren't they:) And who really cares as long as they have a good time. You have written Fleur to be so charming. And I think you're sticking to the original idea of Fleur's character. I know you thought her to be narcissistic but I've never seen her that way. I think she's confident in who she is and accepts others for what they are. And Bill sure knows how to handle her. As always, I love Caper doing all he does. I chuckled when George was upset that others would know he has a house elf and Molly basically telling him to get over himself. Great chapter. My Dad brought over his snowblower and made a path for my car and a path to the car. I was able to go out and run errands, It was cold but I was glad to get out and back. I won't see my kids this Christmas. We've had kind of a family crisis here so I don't know how Christmas will go this year. My support is more needed here although the thought of spending time in LA is tempting. Ah well, some other time.

Author's Response: I think I put in an author note in one of the chapters that I couldn't see George having a traditional courtship or wedding. It just isn't him. :D As long as "first comes love" his mum and dad don't care about the order, either. Weasleys are big on love. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/09 11:43
Chapter: Valentines

I like the "Dog is Cuter" valentine. I was afraid there for a minute that George was going to work and not include Alicia. The castle sounds horribly romantic, as do the Fairlies. My Dad and my oldest daughter were born on Valentine's Day. Mrs. Fairlie getting fireworks on her birthday is so cool. Here, I think it's 2 degrees with wind chills in the -20s. The sun is out though so that helps a little. I don't mind the cold so much but I don't like the snow. I don't want to risk falling again--although what is the statistical probability of that happening? In my lifetime I haven't fallen that many times. I don't have 4WD but I think the snow is light and fluffy. If I need to be shoveled out I'll have help later. And once that's done I should be OK. So it's back to work tomorrow until Christmas break which starts next Wednesday. Yay!! This was such a cute romantic chapter--very appropriate for Valentine's Day.

Author's Response:

You would like that one, ho ho ho! :D Valentine's Day should be horribly romantic, in the loveliest sense when a couple is in love, in the darkest, everyone's blissful but me way when Valentines are fighting...or not Valentines anymore. Writers that skip over the day cheat readers, imho.

I think you dislike ice that comes before snow, or after snow melts. No one can blame you for that after all you went through thanks to an icy walkway!

Huzzah for Christmas Break! Are you the mum that travels to see the kids or the mum that has all the kids come home to see her? :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Story for Charlie by Darkness Enshrouds 3rd-5th Years
A boy. A girl. A budding romance. If only things never got complicated... (Violence...
Scorpius Malfoy and the Salem Witch Trials by Hotrav 3rd-5th Years
The third story in the Scorpius Malfoy and the Sins of the Fathers series. Lucius...
No One Can Ever Know by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"My word, Severus, that I shall never reveal the best of you?"~Dumbledore to...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES