MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Illusive Ambitions

Name: BookWorm530 (Signed) · Date: 01/13/12 3:10 · For: Ulterior Motives
Short and sweet, leaving just enough to the imagination. I would like to think all is forgiven between Draco and the trio someday, so Harry inviting Draco to his wedding was a nice touch. The mystery and seduction in this fic was just divine...keep it up!

Name: littlewolf (Signed) · Date: 09/01/10 20:57 · For: Ulterior Motives
awesome. i really like this story a lot! =D can you continue it please? it's so goood!

Name: DragonFlower90 (Signed) · Date: 02/10/10 1:52 · For: Ulterior Motives
you sholdnt give up on your story. its off to a great start. i hope you post soon i look forward to reading more

Name: Quilter (Signed) · Date: 01/26/09 18:34 · For: Ulterior Motives
Inspired, I love this. Thank you for sharing it.

Name: HermioneGrangerfan (Signed) · Date: 08/13/08 16:18 · For: Ulterior Motives
brill story i love love love it

Name: krumseeker15 (Signed) · Date: 04/08/08 14:46 · For: Ulterior Motives
pretty nice story! i think u should add another chapter or two. i wanna know what happens between them!

Name: wishes4everything (Signed) · Date: 02/29/08 14:27 · For: Ulterior Motives
Now that is how you write a good FF! Bravo.

Name: ember (Signed) · Date: 02/18/08 17:31 · For: Ulterior Motives
So sweet! Want to make a fan happy? Make a sequal thats not a one shot?

Name: CowGirlHPFan (Signed) · Date: 02/17/08 16:53 · For: Ulterior Motives
Oooo that was so good!! :) It implied so much and yet didn't....is there a sequel? If there isn't there should be it kinda left me hanging ;) and I liked it;)

Name: Naide (Signed) · Date: 01/01/08 16:21 · For: Ulterior Motives
i loved it but i would like another chapter it would be really good :) still is up to you, im just saying....i really liked it

Name: Gamma Orionis (Signed) · Date: 09/29/07 0:11 · For: Ulterior Motives
She sent him a hard stare, which he returned with equal mysteriousness.

One of the many lines I really relished in your first chapter, this was one of my favorites! "equal mysterious" Ooh, that's just inspiring and and a genius combination of adjectives! I really, really adore that sentence. I also loved the "You'll just have to figure that out by yourself, won't you?" I mean, that's just classic Draco Malfoy. It really is, and I love that he acknowledged the whole ulterior motives thing. You really have his character down!

Anyways, your first chapter is really well-written, and I find the interactions between Draco and Hermione as realistic as they possibly could be, considering their history and all. I can't wait for your next chapter, because this story has kept me captive and I'm going to add it to my favorites. :)

She thought, ‘to love’, and went in pursuit of those ulterior motives.

What a great sentence for the end!! Leave me in suspense too! :)

Name: fuzzypeaches07 (Signed) · Date: 09/20/07 19:02 · For: Ulterior Motives
oh why havnt u written another chapter its sooooooooooooo GUD!

Name: esther407 (Signed) · Date: 08/28/07 20:30 · For: Ulterior Motives
there must be more right?

Author's Response: >_>


As of right now? No. Sorry.

Name: Love_Hope_Freedom (Signed) · Date: 08/22/07 19:30 · For: Ulterior Motives
Very Nice!
I loved this Chapter!
Whens #2 coming out?

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm sorry to say that as of yet, there is no second chapter, seeing as this is just a one-shot! I didn't know people would like it this much, lol. Thanks for teh review!

Name: crazy_purple_hp_freak (Signed) · Date: 08/20/07 13:29 · For: Ulterior Motives
Wow Sarah! And no, well, I didn’t really have a specific type of story in mind, so anything is awesome. Thanks for using my banner for your story, and yay Dramione!

This story really does paint a vivid scene. There’s a very realistic atmosphere about it, and you’ve created the essence of a wedding reception very well! From the very beginning of this story I could feel a sense of formality and elegance, and the feeling in the air, the sounds of soft music and clink of wine glasses really jumped out and made this story seem real.

“If you don’t recall, Harry saved your life twice the same night! He does not owe you anything, Malfoy, and don’t you dare imply that he does.”
I love your characterisation of both Draco and Hermione. It’s very IC for Hermione to turn to the defensive, and it seems almost as if Draco said the former simply for the sole purpose of infuriating her, which is also IC for the Draco that we know. I really like the way that both of them are so calculating, neither wanting to admit that they want to dance with one another.

“one, your grip on my hand is making it numb” — he loosened his grip ever so slightly — “and two, I do not fancy being made a fool, walking off the dance floor during the middle of a song.”
I love this. A bit of sarcasm is always nice! I really like the honesty here; perhaps they realise that any lie would be transparent. I love the way that the two statements from our characters interact – e.g. how Draco loosens his hand when Hermione says that the grip is making her numb. It makes the story a lot more interesting to read and the pace flows so much better too.

“Because,” he drawled, thinking of a good enough reason as to why he asked her to dance, “I… like to dance.”
Again, you’ve created a well defined line between truth and honesty. Both Draco and Hermione are honest enough in their own senses, but neither wants to admit that they perhaps enjoyed the dance, and Draco does not want to admit why he asked Hermione in the first place, though his actions and speech leave us no doubt.

I love the way that this story ends, with the repetition of “to love”. We see the difference that these two words mean for Hermione when she looks at Ron, and when she looks at Draco. I really like your use of “ulterior motives” – it shows Hermione taking the initiative at the end of this story and yet leaves it open to interpretation to an extent.

The one thing that perhaps I would have liked to see more of is an interaction between Hermione and Ron. We hear mentions of their relationship, and how it failed throughout this story and some actual contact or conversation may have been able to emphasise the difference between Hermione/Ron and Hermione/Draco a bit more.

Overall, this is a great one-shot. You’ve created such a realistic interpretation of Hermione/Draco here – I love the formality, the conversations and interaction. Your characterisation is superb, well done Sarah! This is a wonderful “Illusive Ambitions” story.


Author's Response: ZOMGSUZIE!*tackles*

Thank you so much for this trés amazing review! *hugs and squees*

Name: Trueillusions1 (Signed) · Date: 08/16/07 22:54 · For: Ulterior Motives
ooohhhh, that ending sent tingles down my back. I really liked it sarah. I'm going to go read the rest of your storys now. see you in the chat room, Cas.

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks Cass! I'm glad you liked it.

Name: Bookwormy (Signed) · Date: 08/15/07 16:22 · For: Ulterior Motives
yay! it was good. i liked the ending. this is the 1st fic I've read that contains DH spoilers. It was worth reading. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

Name: XhayleeXblackX (Signed) · Date: 08/14/07 18:14 · For: Ulterior Motives
This was very good. You stand a very good chance at placing/winning. This is a wonderful fic. I hope you will continue it. It has so much potential. Amazing as always. ~Haylee

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Haylee! *huggles*

Name: thefunkybubble (Signed) · Date: 08/14/07 10:59 · For: Ulterior Motives
omg!!!! please write a sequel!! i want to know what happens!!!! you couldn't possibly stop like this..right? you like..need to write a sequel. i'm dead serious...need to write a sequel..plllleeeeezzzzzz?????!!!??

Author's Response: *lol*, Thanks for the review. We'll see about a sequel - I'm not ruling it out just quite yet.

Name: padfoot_girl (Signed) · Date: 08/13/07 9:55 · For: Ulterior Motives
Well done! *clap clap clap* Love the suspense! If you do write a sequal, you better tell me :D Anyways, very lovely and you're a great writer! Dramione = Love

Author's Response: Hehehe, thanks so much for the awesome review! And yes, Dramione does = Love. :D

You must login (register) to review.