Reviews For A Woman Scorned
Reviewer: juniper
Date: 02/22/12 4:46
Chapter: The Final Act

Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: goddess of light
Date: 09/05/08 15:49
Chapter: As The Starlight Fades

I know you wrote (started, anyway) this before DH, but you got it remarkably close to JK's plot anyway! Just found that notable. Artfully done.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 12/14/07 17:36
Chapter: The Final Act

I like this fic, it shows Sirius mother had some feeling after all. I don't see why it couldn't be true within JKR's world either, just because it wasn't explained within the books, I mean there were a lot of side plots never explored. This is a good thing, because it givens fic writers extra ideas. Great fic!

Reviewer: leahsm2
Date: 10/14/07 20:30
Chapter: The Final Act

I really enjoyed your story. It was very well written and gripping from beginning to end. The subtle way you had your character's acting one way, when they were thinking another way was well done.

"A strange look flashed in Tom’s eyes but was gone before she was able to decipher it. The next moment his flirtatious demeanor had returned. “Lord Riddle, will do. As you can see, it is quite fitting that this lord attend said ball with a fair lady, such as yourself.”"

This was excellent in the way it set up both Tom Riddle's over riding sense of self importance, and foreshadowed his eventual betrayal of "Regina", since he had such limited motivation to care about her.

I liked that "I am Lord Voldemort" was her idea. When she was looking back on that time of her life and it came to her that her locket must be a Horcrux, as she had helped him study how to make them, was eye-opening.

I also liked when she decided to give Regulus the credit for taking the Horcrux so that he would not be forgotten.

My favorite part, though was when Narcissa was planning the funeral and you wrote, "Narcissa briefly imagined their faces if she allowed Draco to organize it and smiled to herself. A dragon themed funeral with cake, balloons, party hats and a round of Quidditch would probably cause such distress amongst the older generation that Narcissa would be stuck planning several more funerals. " It was very funny that the younger generation of Blacks would have more than likely found this way of "honoring" the passing generation infinitely entertaining!

Again, it was a highly enjoyable story to read, and best of luck with the Quicksilver Quills Award!

Author's Response: Wow! I think this must be one of the nicest reviews I've ever received. Thank you very much! :)

Reviewer: solemnlyswear_x
Date: 10/01/07 23:23
Chapter: What's in a Name?

This is really great! The plot is so original, and from the first flashback you had me hooked.

I loved the way you wove in all the characters from the Black family tree, and I can't say I blame Regina for not wanting to be called Walburga.

One of my favorite parts was when Tom and Regina were figuring out I am Lord Voldemort. We already knew he started using it at school, but it was interesting to see how he could have come up with it.

Great first chapter! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your thoughtful review!

Reviewer: Andromeda_T
Date: 09/14/07 20:00
Chapter: The Final Act

I really like this story. It is really well written, and the characterisation is great - I am quite sure that the next time I read Alphard's name or hear Mrs Black's portrait mentioned I will be thinking of them as they are in this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love that I've changed your perception of these two characters. Thank you again for reading and taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Stubbornly_appeared
Date: 08/25/07 1:05
Chapter: The Final Act

A very compelling look at an alternative way R.A.B. could have been explained. Heck, it almost makes sense in canon!

You did a wonderful job at putting more behind a screaming portait.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoyed getting to add some depth to a rather 2-dimensional character. Thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 08/20/07 10:02
Chapter: The Final Act

The idea of a 5 year old's version of a funeral was hilarious. Exactly what I needed today. I like the idea of Kreacher putting flowers on the grave. I feel that Kreacher's story is tragic. Even though he is rather hateful.

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked Draco's version of the funeral, I came perilously close to cutting it out. I just like the idea that he was once a fairly typical five year old, more concerned with balloons than upholding his family's status. I too feel that Kreacher has had a very tragic life. He's not really a good person, but he isn't anywhere near as evil as Harry once thought. I hoped this partially explained his hatred of Sirius, while demonstrating that while Sirius was a fairly decent person, he had his blind spots too. Thanks for your review!

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 08/18/07 16:14
Chapter: The Final Act

Wow, that was so good. I like what you had on her gravestone. Sirius probably wasn't on it. I don't really know what else to say except that this was very very good. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, both for your review and your encouragement!

Reviewer: Katie616
Date: 08/17/07 17:40
Chapter: The Final Act

That was a very touching story (I'm assuming it's over; should I be corrected? I'm sorry if I'm wrong; that just seemed like a pretty good stopping point, although I would love it if it went on a bit more, though there really isn't that much to add.)! I absolutely loved the character of Walburga, and I liked how she was and R. A. B., in a roundabout way. I also like how you added information from D.H; that was a nice touch. I deeply enjoyed this story, and I hope there are many more to come!
Katie

Author's Response: No, you're definitely correct, this was the end, it was intended more or less as an epilogue. After I killed Regina (which I feel rather bad about) I realized that Kreacher was the only being left who cared deeply for her. I sort of wanted to highlight that. I'm hoping to write more about her and Alph's childhood at some point, but that will definitely be a separate story from this one. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this one, thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 08/05/07 5:01
Chapter: As The Starlight Fades

Ok so I really like this fic & your take on how it really could've been Walburga. My comments are actually about your author's note.
-Why Voldemort didn't used a muggle child." I'll be honest before this fic I didn't think twice. I always assumed whoever he brought there was magic. As I pondered your point, I thought: Voldemort planed his Horcruxes since his Hogworts days. It makes sense he would plan & set up the hiding places in advance. He wouldn't have wanted muggles there ever. It seems likely that there would be charms to keep muggles aways & curses to maim or kill those that got close. A dead muggle would be useless for planting a horcrux.
-Why Mrs Black left Grimmauld Place to Sirius. The deed to the house probably stated the the house had to go to a Black. In HBP, Dumbledore states that there could be a problem with a non-pureblood owning the property. Sirius was the last male to carry the Black name regardless of his blood traitor status.
-Why Lupin had the impression that Regulus had been killed a few day after deserting. This is by far the strongest part of your arguement. Which means I find this to be the weakest part of mine. :) Like all evil people Voldemort spreads lies to suit his needs. ie: He claims to be a pureblood. If Regulus' defection was known to Voldemort, It is not beyond Voldmort to lie & say the boy was killed on his orders rather then let people know someone defected sucessfully. Also, if Voldemort were to suspect someone of stealing the Horcrux he might only go see it rather then actually take it out.
I really did apreciate the food for thought.

Author's Response: I had assumed that Voldemort used anti-Muggle charms, but also assumed that he could quickly disable and reenable them, much as Dumbledore did with Hogwarts near then end of HBP. As for Mrs Black's will, I still think it would have made more sense for her to leave it to Narcissa. Sirius' will proved that the house could be passed to a half-blood who wasn't a Black, so I'd assume Mrs Black would have at least tried to leave it to a pure-blood who's maiden name was Black. As for Regulus, if Voldemort were to lie about his death, he may have done better to accuse Aurors of having killed a loyal servant. Either way, it's fun to guess. Thank you for your well thought out arguments and for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: slytherins_queen2
Date: 08/04/07 22:07
Chapter: As The Starlight Fades

Only two chapters and you have me hooked to see what will happen next! I really hope you update soon, this story is so awesome. I love how it has a original plot and idea, one that hasn't been used (at least if it has I haven't seen it). Keep writing!

Author's Response: Well, I'm currently working on an epilogue which will hopefully be ready for submission soon. Thanks for your encouragement!

Reviewer: Katie616
Date: 08/04/07 19:37
Chapter: As The Starlight Fades

I loved this! I ESPECIALLY like the way all the small plot problems were cleared up quite nicely, if I do say so myself. I really like the fact that she was an R.A.B and so was Regulus. (although she was really an W.R.A.B, but still) I thank you very much for a wonderful read.
Katie

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewer: xmusicoftherain
Date: 08/04/07 16:33
Chapter: What's in a Name?

that was really good!! i like the rab part, that was a good way to turn it into a fic...

Author's Response: I must admit, I've had a lot of fun with my R.A.B. theory. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 08/04/07 14:13
Chapter: As The Starlight Fades

Wow, great job. You are an amazing author. I love this chapter, particularly the part about Regina ordering Kreacher to remember something else. And the part about Regulus drawing the portrait was very cute. Amazing story.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: BloodRayne
Date: 07/14/07 17:59
Chapter: What's in a Name?

This story was a wonderful, precise, and believable explanation of a mystery in canon. I also loved the fact that you took a minor character like Walburga and gave her depth.

Tom's character is spectacular. During the middle of the story, before he went to propose, you had me wondering whether it was possible for Voldy to fall in love, but then it was revealed that he only wanted her family for their money and power. So typical and likely of him to charm someone so he could get what he wants. I loved that you used that aspect of him!

As for Walburga being the one to take the locket, that was a stroke of genius. It makes sense that she would want revenge after he scorned her (love the tiel, by the way) like that.

Is this a chaptered story or a one-shot? There are maybe a one or two loose ends, but it's wonderful this way as well.

-Hadeer

Author's Response: Sorry, I guess the Author's note was rather vague. I'm hoping to make this a chaptered fic as I do have a back-story for Alphard. If it doesn't become chaptered I will write a companion piece that does include Alphard's story. I'm sort of waiting to see how Deathly Hallows turns out and try to decide from there since it will likely make this quite AU, however it probably won't affect Alphard's story. Currently, my plan is to wait until after August 1st, (when spoilers are allowed anyway) and then ask the mods what I should do with it (for example if it needs to be moved to the AU category, have a DH disregarded warning added, if this messes up the spoiler policy, etc.) So, to make a long explanation short, Alphard will get his story and the loose ends will be tied up, it just might take a while. Thank you for your lovely and in depth review!

Reviewer: Great Beirniny
Date: 07/13/07 7:04
Chapter: What's in a Name?

I was great I loved the connection on how she gave him the name Lord Voldemort. I hope that you write a companion piece or chapter. I wonder what Alphard did beside giving Sirius gold. Keep it up!

Author's Response: If you ever watched Gargoyles (I was a huge fan years ago) there's an episode where a character says "No her? I named her!" I have to admit that was running through my head when I wrote that. I will definitely write more about Alphard but it won't be submitted until after August 1. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 07/12/07 22:05
Chapter: What's in a Name?

Great job. Everything made a lot of sense. At first I thought Tom would've been a bit of a loner at school, but I suppose he could've charmed the ladies every once in a while. Interesting outlook on how he got his name, and who R.A.B. is. This is so complex that I hope it's the truth. Although the girl's name may not be Regina. :D

Author's Response: I chose Regina because of the similarity to Regulus' name. That and a rough translation of the meaning of the name "Regina Avery" woudl be "queen of the elves" which, considering Kreacher's devotion, seems appropriate. Thanks for your thoughtful review! :)

Reviewer: goGinny_84
Date: 07/12/07 19:07
Chapter: What's in a Name?

Oh dang!!!! I love this. Stupid Tom Riddle, making a woman mad. Nice title, too.

Author's Response: Thanks it was a toss up between that and "What's in a Name?" but my beta convinced me to go with "A Woman Scorned". Thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: Juan Weasley
Date: 07/12/07 17:01
Chapter: What's in a Name?

Wow, I will now be disaponted if it IS Regulus... this story has me convinced. I just think you should have included more about how Regina acualy found the horcrux. All in all I feel that this story iwonderfuly written and a enjoyable read. I hope you write the next chapter/companion piece about Alphard.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm hoping to include more details of Regina finding the Horcrux in what will in all likelihood be the next chapter. I will definitely write it but I won't be submitting it until after August 1 and Alphard will play more of a role in it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES