Reviews For More Than You Know
Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/15/12 16:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was really good!

Reviewer: ginnygirl16
Date: 04/20/09 21:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

Whaaaaaat? Only eight reviews? What's the matter with you people, this is amaaaazing!

Anyway, lovely job. I saw your siggy on the forums, and it was so good that I had to mosey on over here to check it out. Well done! Your plot and characters are amazing, and it is not overly done. Wow....just...wow! Keep up the great writing.

--ginnygirl16

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :D

Reviewer: moonflower 767
Date: 12/31/07 21:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

awww. I luv that movie quote too... very nice fic! Possibilities....

Author's Response: Thanks! And Remus/Lily possibilities are always fun to play with. :)

Reviewer: dancingcarrot21
Date: 12/14/07 19:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

I absolutely love this story. It’s hard to find Lily/Remus fics on MNFF, so I take them where I can get them. And it’s been said by Rowling that Remus had a crush on Lily (so did Severus and James XD), but never did anything about it in respect to James. It’s nice seeing Remus’ side of the story, though.

Although the intellectual part of her knew she should mind her own business, the part of her that had always had a bit of a soft spot where Remus Lupin was concerned began to worry. After watching the boys' stony silence push four weeks, she convinced herself to do something.

I’m glad you kept Lily IC: logical and observant at first, but compassionate and nosey where she just has to help.

“Just wanted to see how he was doing; he’s seemed a little, er, upset lately,” Lily said, twirling a strand of red hair around her finger nervously. “So I was hoping you knew where he was so I could talk to him.”

This is so cute. She’s worried about Remus but feels awkward about addressing it in public. I also thank you for not putting in a love/hate, James/Lily moment here when the two Gryffindors talk.

There was a bit of a pregnant pause following this, and when James didn’t offer any more information, she spoke up again. “It’s just that I noticed you all are having a bit of a row, and I wanted to-”

“Look, I know you just want to help,” James interrupted, “but please, Evans, this is one you should probably stay out of.”

She harrumphed. “Fine, I promise I’ll mind my own business,” she conceded, although she had no intent of keeping that pledge. There was another moment’s pause, and Lily turned to walk away. Almost immediately, James’s voice rang out, effectively stopping her in her tracks.

“Hey, Evans,” James called, “after you talk to him, will you let me know how he is?”

Lily turned to face him and smiled. The look on his face was one of pure exasperation, the kind adults sometimes wore when dealing with a particularly petulant child. “Sure, Potter.”


Again, thanks for not making this thing James-centric. I’m also glad that the James/Lily interaction is more mature, and didn’t end in a cliché scream match. And the ‘look on his face was one of pure exasperation, the kind adults sometimes wore when dealing with a particularly petulant child’ made me giggle. I also love Lily’s persistence in the matter. ;)

“Mind if I sit for a minute?” she asked, suddenly uncomfortable.

He gestured to the grass next to him. “Sure.”

Lily sat down immediately and attempted to avoid eye contact with Remus. It was a moment before she spoke. “Well I noticed you and your friends are in a fight.” She paused and looked at her hands. “So I wanted to make sure you’re okay.”


I’m indulging in her awkwardness right now. Poor girl’s just trying to be friendly, but she doesn’t know how to go about it. And Remus is adorable as always, being welcoming and all.

“I’m fi-”

“Don’t say you’re fine,” Lily cut in, “because I know you’re not.”


This is so Lily: cutting right through his crap.

“All right.” He sighed, looking out at the lake for a long moment before answering. A sardonic smile graced his features when he finally looked back at her. “Well, I wish the four of us weren’t fighting, but I’ll get through this,” Remus said. “So, I’ll be fine. Is that okay to say?”

Lily smiled wanly at his words, but she couldn’t help noticing he hadn’t said we’ll get through this. She wondered if Remus thought he’d never reconcile with his friends. “Can I ask why you’re fighting?”

“You could ask, but I’m not sure I’d tell you.”

“Well it’s just that I- I didn’t know if it was because you- you’re a -” Lily stammered.

Remus raised his eyebrows expectantly.

“Because you’re a werewolf, Remus,” Lily finally burst out.

He stared at her for the longest time, and Lily was unsure of what his reaction would be. Whatever he had thought she was going to say, it wasn’t that. For a moment, she was scared he would just walk away without saying a word.


That is so cute: when Lily burst out what she knew. So much awkwardness there. Also your characterization of Remus is spot on: cordial, yet distant.

Finally, after Lily felt that she couldn’t stand the silence any longer, he spoke.

“No,” Remus said quietly, “but yes.” He smiled sadly at her confused expression. “No, that’s not why we’re fighting, but yes, I am a werewolf. I have been since I was seven.”

“Oh,” she mumbled. Really, Lily, he admits he turns into a full-fledged werewolf every full moon, and that’s the best you can do - oh? She cleared her throat. “I, er, don’t mind.”

Remus’s eyes widened just slightly, and then he smiled. “I’m glad you don’t, Lily. That makes you one of the few.”


Lily is so cute struggling on how to react properly. And I love the subtlety of Remus being appreciative that she doesn’t mind.

“That explains why you aren’t talking to each other, but is there something else?”

Remus opened and closed his mouth a few times before he spoke, as if planning what he was going to say. “It’s a full moon tomorrow, and it’s just that, well, the morning after the transformation always goes better if they’re around me.” Remus’s eyes didn’t quite meet Lily’s as he said this, giving her the distinct impression this wasn’t the entire reason, but she didn’t press him.

“Well,” Lily began, “if it’s any consolation, I just ran into James in the Entrance Hall, and he was worried about you. And I know it’s not the same, but after you change back, I’ll be there to help you. You know, if you want.”

“Thanks, Lily. That’s extraordinarily kind of you.”


Beautiful. I love reading moments like these in stories.

When she was a fair distance away, Lily turned back to face Remus.

“Lily, I mean, if you don’t mind —”

Before he could finish, Lily launched herself at Remus, crushing him in a hug. “I won’t tell anyone,” she whispered fiercely.

Lily let go and smiled, kissing him lightly on the cheek before walking away. She had only taken a few steps when she heard his voice.


I LOVE your characterization of Lily. Lately in Marauder fanfics, people have been writing Lily as this ferocious fire-queen. It’s just nice seeing Lily, like Lily: protective, passionate, and kind, even for people she doesn’t even really know.

And the interaction here is really sweet. ;)


“Lily!” Remus called, and Lily turned back quickly to face him. “Lily, I —” He paused, closing his eyes. “I — I just — Thank you. It means more than you know,” he finished finally.

As Lily looked at his worn face, the scar running down his cheek and deep circles underneath his eyes, she knew that he hadn’t said what he had wanted to at all. And somehow — somehow — she knew he never would.


I love this segment right here the most, because it portrays the Remus/Lily relationship canon-wise perfectly: he loves her, but he can never have her. It’s kind of sad how he never got to say how he felt. Remus never even got a chance.

I love how understanding you made them be and that they respect each other’s stance. Overall, I have to say, wonderful characterization, and the last passage is worth reading.

This presentation has been brought to you by ‘The Order of Ravenclaw House Elves’.

- Carrot


Author's Response: *squee* Thank you, thank you, thank you! You've aboslutely made my day with this review. I'm glad you enjoyed it - I had a lot of fun writing this. Thank you so much again!!! =D

Reviewer: Charisma_tn
Date: 09/13/07 1:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is so sweet. I really like it.

Author's Response: Thanks! =)

Reviewer: FullofLife
Date: 07/18/07 11:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

As Lily looked at his worn face, the scar running down his cheek and deep circles underneath his eyes, she knew that he hadn’t said what he had wanted to at all. And somehow — somehow — she knew he never would.

That was my favorite line... deleted in the last review for reasons I cannot fathom. Anyway, good job again!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that line! And thanks again! ;)

Reviewer: FullofLife
Date: 07/18/07 11:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

Extraordinarily sweet. :) I don't know if I agree with Remus being in love with Lily (that was what he couldn't say, right?) but it still a well-written, swift and smooth story. My favorite line :



Author's Response: That's exactly what he couldn't say. And to be quite honest, I don't really think Remus loved Lily, but the line from the movie just gave me this idea that wouldn't leave me alone. Thanks for reviewing! =)

Reviewer: kehribar
Date: 07/14/07 11:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

I enjoyed it very much, Melissa! Lovely story :)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing. =)

Reviewer: Pussycat123
Date: 07/10/07 16:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

....

....

That was awesome.

....

....

I'm not sure what to say. I'm usually good at this sort of thing.

I loved it. I loved the subtlety. I loved how real it was. I loved the absolutely spot on personalities of your characters. I loved how Remus didn't say what he was going to, but Lily understood anyway, and the sad feeling that left you with once it was over. I loved James's concern for Remus, that let the caring and loyal part of his personality struggle through the front he covers it with for a moment. I loved Lily caring about what was happening, even though she's hardly their bigggest fan, because that's how I see her - she feels sympathy and concern even for the people she doesn't like that much. I loved how it didn't necesarrily have a happy everybody-makes-up-and-has-a-party ending, it was much subtler, much sadder, much more thoughtful.

....

....

I just loved it.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you so much for your lovely review. I keep reading this over and over - I'm really glad you liked it! =)

Reviewer: I Am Peeves
Date: 07/10/07 15:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

Even though I thought that it was a bit cheesey in the movie, you've made a good story out of it.

Author's Response: Haha, thanks. The movie line was a bit over-dramatic, but it sparked a nice plot bunny. :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES