Reviewer: Vindictus Viridian
Date: 07/07/07 14:09
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Wow! I genuinely don't remember that comment (are you sure it wasn't ProfPosky's?) but wherever it came from, this was great work with it. There was nothing here that a good half the population hasn't dealt with in one form or another. And plenty of girls have been frightened by it, too, or not known what to do, or not had anyone to ask. Something that seems to be overlooked about Severus is that regardless of his skills, or lack thereof, as a Potions professor, he does seem to be a concerned and excellent Head of House. And sometimes that would mean performing duties that do not seem, at first blush, to suit him.

Author's Response: VV, it could have been but I had thought that the Severus addition was yours? Oh well. Thanks to everyone in that discussion and apologies for forgetting any names. I completely agree with you about the reaction of Severus. Thanks for the review and for all the kind words!

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 07/07/07 11:22
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Oh my god, I cannot believe you actually wrote something like this! The story's good, but it's a little... inappropriate to say the least.

Author's Response: I'm sorry if the story seems inappropriate, however, there are warning lables on it so that you know what your are reading. What Selina is going through is simply a fact of life for every young girl and the saddest part of all is that many of them experiance her situation. If there was a bit more awareness and tolerance about simple facts then many girls will be spared both the embarassment that Selina felt, and the worry and feelings that they are doing something wrong simply because their bodies are changing. And that, I feel, is a very appropriate and needful topic indeed.

Reviewer: bookworm247
Date: 07/07/07 9:13
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

But I would like to say I enjoyed the story... It was funny and dramatic. You characterized Selina very realistically, and I can really believe that she actually exists. And do i see a little something going on with Zabini? ;-) Anyway, despite that strange similarity, I really liked the fic.

Author's Response: Thank you and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Zambini was put in as a friend, to show that she was not truly alone, but they are both still young enough in this fic that I wouldn't count on any romantic plot bunnies hopping around yet.

Reviewer: bookworm247
Date: 07/07/07 9:09
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

This is really weird. Freaky in fact. There is someone in my school whose name is Selina Donahue. I think I am going to faint from the coincedence. She is on year younger to me and incredibly thin. She's like a stick. She has long, long wispy blonde hair that reaches past her hips. How do you picture your Selina? Because this is really scaring me.

Author's Response: I wouldn't worry too much over the coincidence in names. There are only so many combinations and enough people that some overlap is bound to happen. I do not know any Selinas, but mine was short with short brown hair and muddy brown eyes. Again, I wouldn't be too concerned over the coincindence.

Reviewer: moony101
Date: 07/07/07 3:50
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Ok wonderful story making Snape blush- squrim, twitch all the better and I couldn't stop laughing although I knew where the general direction of the story was going. But I see a tiny little flaw in this conversation what exactly makes anyone think he'd actually have that conversation even with a student in his own house he seems more the type to shoo them in the direction of madam Pomfrey saying she's the one who can best explain it- and when has Snape ever asked if anyone was alright even Dumbledore or a member of his own house? Still it's one of the more inventive situations i've seen him in... if your inclined to write another one like this try him being forced to deliver a baby... can anyone say yikes!

Author's Response: Thank you for your critique. I understand your concerns, but also believe that Snape does take his responsabilities towards his students very seriously. I think that if one of his student, particularly one of his house, came to him trusting him with a situation like Selina's, he would not betray that trust by thrusting them on another person. And as for your other concern, I believe Snape actually makes sure that Draco is alright at least once during HBP. He seems prejudiced, but not inhuman.

Reviewer: jenny b
Date: 07/07/07 2:07
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

OMG! That was so funny! Selina seemed too nice to be a Slytherin though, I think you should have made her do a Sirius and end up in another house. You handled the subject really well, it wasn't gross like I was expecting it to be. I've always wondered what happens to girls at Hogwarts when ... you know. That was really good!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I understand your concerns on Selina's house, however, I have always hated the idea that all Slytherins are mean and terrible people. Selina is cunning enough to try to deal with this on her own, and she is very self reliant. I find these to be more important Slytherin traits than simple meanness. Anyway, thanks again!

Reviewer: Schmerg_The_Impaler
Date: 07/06/07 19:54
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Wow, this is a lot better than I thought it would be.

I thought it was going to be in very bad taste and I was prepared to leave a somewhat critical review, but it was nothing like what I thought!

You actually managed to handle the subject rather delicately-- good job for you and for Snape!

I like the character of Selina-- she's rather innocent and I like the dramatic way she thinks she's dying.

I never really thought about if something like that happened to a girl at Hogwarts... though I always did wonder when they get their hair cut at boarding school. Maybe that's why so many wizards have long hair.

ODDLY OFF-TOPIC!

Okay, anyway, I bet it is awkward for male teachers to explain these things, especially ones like Snape! And given how dirty his mind often is in so many fanfictions, it's no surprise he blushed! ^_^

It's odd to imagine him saying the word 'babies,' though, isn't it?

Author's Response: Oops, double post. Well thanks again!

Reviewer: Schmerg_The_Impaler
Date: 07/06/07 19:54
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Wow, this is a lot better than I thought it would be.

I thought it was going to be in very bad taste and I was prepared to leave a somewhat critical review, but it was nothing like what I thought!

You actually managed to handle the subject rather delicately-- good job for you and for Snape!

I like the character of Selina-- she's rather innocent and I like the dramatic way she thinks she's dying.

I never really thought about if something like that happened to a girl at Hogwarts... though I always did wonder when they get their hair cut at boarding school. Maybe that's why so many wizards have long hair.

ODDLY OFF-TOPIC!

Okay, anyway, I bet it is awkward for male teachers to explain these things, especially ones like Snape! And given how dirty his mind often is in so many fanfictions, it's no surprise he blushed! ^_^

It's odd to imagine him saying the word 'babies,' though, isn't it?

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your honesty. I think that while this is a delicate subject for many people it is also one that should be broached more often in reality. We do a great disservice to our children by pretending that ordinary facts of life are things to be shunned and disgusted by. And as for Snape's blush, I believe it was more from dealing with her innocence than from the state of his mind, which I actually regard as cleaner than many choose to write it. And as for babies, well maybe I should have said offspring or progency or the like but I did so want to keep it straightforward. Anyway, thank you again, and I appreciate your good opinion.

Reviewer: misundersnape
Date: 07/06/07 19:53
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Sweet, I love seeing Severus all awkward and a little out of his depth, I don't htink that happens very much. Glad to see he takes his job as Head of Slytherin house seriously, including all the tiny yet important incidents involving the young female population of his domain.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I also agree that whatever else, Severus takes his job very seriously. Although he hides it well, he genuinely cares for the students.

Reviewer: nicholelizabeth1
Date: 07/06/07 19:21
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

very cute

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/06/07 16:27
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

HAHAHA!!! Very cute! I love it when Snape is trying to explain the 'ways of life'! Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: GinnyPotter808
Date: 07/06/07 16:20
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

NO way! Ew!!!!!!! Snape, telling Selina about... EW!!!!!!!!!! That was slightly scarring. =D, JK. That was something I never thought I would read on this site. Poor Selina. ;-)
-Susan

Author's Response: I'm sorry if it was slightly scarring, but it is something that occurs frequently in real life. Whlie Snape is in an amusing predicament, it is also something that many teachers or people in postitions of trust have to find themselves dealing with. I sometimes wish people could be a bit more open about the workings of our bodies just to spare children the sort of embarassment that Selina is going through. Thank you for your opinions and your review.

Reviewer: flyingpizza
Date: 07/06/07 15:26
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

so funny

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: JusticeForMedea
Date: 07/06/07 14:33
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Oh god, I loved it. My parents never talked about it and I remember being scared out of my mind the first time. :))) Great job creating an entirely human character! ---Ananya

Author's Response: Thanks! I had another friend with a similar experiance to yours, and think it is a pity that people are so embarrased by their bodies that they don't always let their child know what is happening until they have already spent needless time worrying about it. Glad to know that Selina seemed real- I wanted the story to feel that way as well as humorus. Thanks again!

Reviewer: samiseriouslyam
Date: 07/06/07 14:13
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

HAHAHAHAHHA! Poor Snape. We authors DO love to tourture (i wish there was spell check for reviews...) him!
*grins* So, Madam Pomfrey is intimidating to Selina?
And I love Traloney's prophecy! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I hadn't hoped to torture Snape too much, it is a part of his job after all. And yeah, I think that a bustling and efficiant Poppy Pomfrey could be quite intimidating when she is in full swing. Especially when she wants you to drink something that looks gross! Anyway, thanks again!

Reviewer: Tallulah
Date: 07/06/07 13:50
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

That was a great story! I pretty much echo what the other reviewers said! Selina is a cute character!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I did like Selina as a character. I started out with her being a little too innocent, but I think the way things turned out with Millicent helped her turn out as a much more satisfactory Slytherin. Thanks again.

Reviewer: Hansolohpfrk
Date: 07/06/07 13:33
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

I was giggling the whole entire time. Really.

--Hanni

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 07/06/07 13:27
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Oh my Salazar, I remember when this was being discussed on the forums! :D I adored this story; it was so cute and awkward. Severus explaining the facts of life. . .priceless.

One tiny nit-pick: Suddenly, clasping a hand over hear mouth, Selina realized to her horror she had spoken her thoughts aloud.

This should be clasping a hand over her mouth. Otherwise, loved it, excellent job! :)


Author's Response: Thanks! I based this fic off ideas from that discussion, so I'm glad to know I got the basic idea right! And I appreciate the nitpick, I'll try to get on that as soon as I can.

Reviewer: gred and feorge
Date: 07/06/07 13:23
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

haha, so funny.
imagine snape talking abt these kinda stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: wishmyhairwasred
Date: 07/06/07 13:17
Chapter: To Make Stone Blush

Wow.
i have not left a review in MONTHS--
but your story made me feel led to do so. what can i say? your story was funny, cute, and slightly uncomfortable. i like seeing this...er...kind of compassionate side of snape, and i really enjoyed how she thought she was bleeding to death and that snape actually EXPLAINED what was wrong with her. there's one conversation i'm glad i wasn't in. And guess what? another first...i added u to my favorites and not just for the instant notification of an updated chapter! u should be proud--your story was great.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks I feel honored. I know that the subject may be an uncomfortable one but it is a large part of life for most girls and it is not always properly introduced or treated, even in the muggle world. Anyway, I'll get off my soapbox, but thanks again for the kind words.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES