Reviews For Roses and Thorns
Reviewer: Stubbornly_appeared
Date: 02/18/08 2:18
Chapter: Chapter 9 - New Beginnings

Gah! If only the queue wasn't closed, we could finally figure out what was going on! ;) This fic is... interesting, and I'm waiting for more.

Author's Response: I'm writing Chapter 10, and probably by the time I'm finished, the queue will be open again...fingers crossed!

Reviewer: Wolfie Jojo
Date: 02/16/08 2:00
Chapter: Chapter 9 - New Beginnings

Draco's got a bit angsty here, hasn't he? You really enjoy describing the appearances of women, don't you? I only have two criticisms: "And don't fight anymore than you have to" I think it said. 'anymore' is two separate words. And Draco's a bit OOC, but he could just be living up to his sulky-spoiled-brat reputation.

Author's Response: I dunno why I like describing women more than men. It's just...more interesting (and I like writing about hair, and guys don't exactly have exciting hairdos...except punks I suppose). 'Anymore' is two septerate words? Really? Oops, better go and change that! Draco IS a spoiled brat (in my opinion). I don't even know why I decided to include him. But he is quite fun to write! Glad you enjoyed in, Jojo of the Wolves!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/15/08 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 9 - New Beginnings

Oh damn, I've run out of chapters! I'm loving this. Wonder how Draco will take the news of his true identity, and what will Dumbledore make of the prophecy and why did Hermione need to write the prophecy down, couldn't she just give Dumbledore her memory to view in the pensieve? And who are the six people in the prophecy? I'm wondering if Ron is one because he's brilliant at chess, a game of strategy and Dumbledore said thats an important part of the team. Guess I'll have to wait to find out, hope it's not too long though, so pretty please update sooooooooooooon!!!!!!

Author's Response: She could've givern him her memory? Stupid me, I should've thought of that! But I suppose it's your first reaction to write things down. I can't tell you who the prophecy's talking about. Sorry! You'll have to wait and see.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/15/08 17:52
Chapter: Chapter 9 - New Beginnings

Oh damn, I've run out of chapters! I'm loving this. Wonder how Draco will take the news of his true identity, and what will Dumbledore make of the prophecy and why did Hermione need to write the prophecy down, couldn't she just give Dumbledore her memory to view in the pensieve? And who are the six people in the prophecy? I'm wondering if Ron is one because he's brilliant at chess, a game of strategy and Dumbledore said thats an important part of the team. Guess I'll have to wait to find out, hope it's not too long though, so pretty please update sooooooooooooon!!!!!!

Author's Response: I hate it when you run out of chapters! Just as you're getting really excited, it stops, and you want to scream NOOOOOOOO and bash your head against the wall!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/15/08 17:24
Chapter: Chapter 7 - An Everyday Story

I love the alarm clock only the owner can hear. And Robert seems like an infuriating but likeable personality. I'm guessing Ginny doesn't like Cho because Harry used to fancy her. And I thought it was quite good that you didn't carry straight on with the St Mungo's storyline, kinda keeps you guessing and it'll make you appreciate it much more when it does come up. Oh, and men turning to children in the face of their own injury, how true, but Sirius' leg did sound terrible. I loved the description of the floor rolling up to meet Cho's temple, excellent way to put it.

Author's Response: I hope you like Robert. I was kinda worried everyone would hate him, because I wanted to make him definitely flawed, because I hate perfect/completely lacking in personality type of guys, but you ARE meant to like him, even if you want to puunch him in the face sometimes. Ginny doesn't like Cho, obviously because Harry fancied her, but I also think their personalities clash somewhat, and Ginny may even feel a little threatened by her. I tried to make Sirius' injury as gruesome as possible, but I admit it was kind of fun. [is shamed by lack of sensitivity in self] I've never actually fainted, so I was guessing what it would be like. But I did fall over on the stairs once (it's very scary, don't try it at home) and it did almost feel like the stairs were moving, rather than me. Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/15/08 16:46
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Welcome to St Mungo's

I'm loving this fic! I think this is my favourite chapter so far, just because it's so odd. Dumbledore sends Hermione to St Mungo's unarmed into the waiting hands of 'the most loyal death eater'. I bet Dumbledore knew Barty'd be there. Also, the people waiting to see the welcome witch all had very amusing problems. I was a bit shocked at Harry and Malfoy being switched at birth though. All the rhymes are really well written too. Is there a connection between Cassandra and Lily Evans/Potter? They seem to have similar eyes. Oh, and Cho's chapter was great, I never understand though how people get lost walking the streets of the places they live, it happens in most stories. Is it just that they're upset so can't think straight? Anyway, can't wait to read on so I'm off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I really enjoyed making all the people waiting for the Welcome Witch - I just had absolutely free reign and could do whatever I wanted! I really don't know why I decided to do the baby swapping thing. When I look back at it, it seems a very crazy thing to do. But at least it gives my lots of oppurtunity for drama, angst and family issues in Chap. 10. I've got lost near where I live. [is shamed] But I don't have very good spatial awareness or map skills.And Cho was pretty mad at the time. Hope you like the next chapter!

Reviewer: moonstonesilver
Date: 02/15/08 12:52
Chapter: Chapter 9 - New Beginnings

hmmm... it fits in with the actualy story, somehow - that's one point for you. it's realistic - another score. and it's sad and sort of sweet. i'll throw in two points for that :D so you have four points in all :D update soon, and take care and don't get too depressed!!!! :D :D

Author's Response: Yay, I have loads of points!!!! I'm glad you think it's realistic. I tend to write a bit OTT, so I'm trying to stop it.

Reviewer: Lulu Sugar
Date: 12/21/07 22:06
Chapter: Chapter 8 – The Prophecy of the Six Elements

I have recovered. Deepbreaths. In..Out..
THIS CHAPTER IS SO INCREDIBLY BAFFLING, DELICIOUS AND ENTHRALLING I HAVE BEEN TAKING NOTES! NOTES! Ok, firstly...
1. Earth is definitely Harrry, Water is Hermy and darkness is old dracoboy. I think Cho is either light or air and fire might be BCJ. But those are just guesses...and PLEASE don't let Cho be air!t Of course, Hermy could be light and BCJ could be darkness, because of the black and white roses intertwining (by the way, what king of intertwining is this going to be? I don't mean to be dodgy minded,but still)...AAAAAAAAAHHHHHH!
2. I love the whole polite conversation thing! BCJ is just David Tennant reborn.
3. Ummm....Suddenly i see? I know you like that song but I'm just not seeing the connection
4. You use the word probably too much. That's my only criticism
5. Really, you shouldn't be writing such an interesting story. It's in the interest of my health. I'm just not sure how much longer my nerves can take it.

Author's Response: 1. Can't tell you who the elemets are (obviously). Hey, I like 'old Dracoboy' can I use that? And there won't be any dodginess going on between BCJr and Hermione, mainly becuase I can't write dodgy stuff because I'm scared my parents will find it! (A little phobia of mine) 4. Probably will be EXTERMINATED from my writing. 5. Lucy, I didn't know you had Delicate Senses. Shame on you, girl!

Author's Response: Extra: The song's meant to be what Cassandra used to be. I know this is pretty strange, but I really couldn't find a quote, and I wanted to post the chapter, so I chose that. If I find a better one, I'll change it.

Reviewer: Lulu Sugar
Date: 12/21/07 22:03
Chapter: Chapter 8 – The Prophecy of the Six Elements

I have recovered. Deepbreaths. In..Out..
THIS CHAPTER IS SO INCREDIBLY BAFFLING, DELICIOUS AND ENTHRALLING I HAVE BEEN TAKING NOTES! NOTES! Ok, firstly...
1. Earth is definitely Harrry, Water is Hermy and darkness is old dracoboy. I think Cho is either light or air and fire might be BCJ. But those are just guesses...and PLEASE don't let Cho be air!t then Hermy could be light and BCJ could be darkness...AAAAAAAAAHHHHHH!
2. I love the whole polite conversation thing! BCJ is just David Tennant reborn.
3. Ummm....Suddenly i see? I know you like that song but I'm just not seeing the connection
4. You use the word probably too much. That's my only criticism
5. Really, you shouldn't be writing such an interesting story. It's in the interest of my health. I'm just not sure how much longer my nerves can take it.

Author's Response: ALESHA WON SCD!!!! I WAS SO SURPRISED, BUT VERY PLEASED!!!!! TAKE THAT, MR SMELLY MATT!!!! THE JUDGES ARE NUTS, SHE SHOULD'VE GOT 40/40 FOR BOTH HER WALTZ AND HER CHA CHA CHA!!

Reviewer: Lulu Sugar
Date: 12/21/07 21:45
Chapter: Chapter 8 – The Prophecy of the Six Elements

Omiggiddigod! WAAAAAAAAAAAAA! Too exited to write!

Author's Response: Breathe.

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 12/15/07 14:18
Chapter: Chapter 8 – The Prophecy of the Six Elements

Wow. I was worried how you'd pull of just having Crouch casually in the room with her, but you did it brilliantly - by just not making it seem that remarkable. Of course, it was still strange, but in a believable way! I really enjoyed "talking about the weather," especially! :D I can't wait to read more about Cho, but I was happy to see this plot line progressing! Update soon!

Author's Response: Don't worry, Cho will be back with a bang in chapter eleven. [I may have already said this, so please don't bother reading it again if I have] It's really interesting you like Cho's thread better than Hermione's. I'm much more comfortable writing the Hermy-Crouch-Cassandra-Voldie thread, becuase it's all epic ie battles, quests, magic, prophecies, which I find much easier that Cho's. Her story is more quiet and intimate, and most of it could actually take place in the real world, as it's not too reliant on magic. [the tangent has ended]

Reviewer: Wolfie Jojo
Date: 12/15/07 6:08
Chapter: Chapter 8 – The Prophecy of the Six Elements

Suddenly I See? KT Tunstall may, but I certainly don't. You've confused me. Ooh! I remember you gave me a sneak-preview of the prophecy when it was in its notebook stage on the coach last year. I think that I can remember who the elements are, but then again, I might just be making it up. Why doesn't the nurse recognise Crouch? Is it the hair? (They do say a change in hairstyle can make you look like a new person...) Is it just me, or did it take a long time for this chapter to be validated?

Author's Response: Hiya, have a nice X mas? The nurse doesn't recognise Crouch, because, as he's changed his hair, he's not immidiately recogniseable, unless you think about it. And she's not exactly expecting him to be there. And I also don't think everyone in the wizarding world would be too farmiliar with his face, as he hasn't been not-pretending to be Mad-Eye for very long yet. You think you can remember the Elements? Well tough, because I change plans about a trillion times before things get written so half of them will probably be different now!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/11/07 16:47
Chapter: Chapter 7 - An Everyday Story

Yay! Finally Cho realizes it. And yet, though the reader sees her faults, I still sympathize with her! I really like seeing your characterization of Cho and can't wait to find out more! Update soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you still like Cho! You won't believe how much time I've spent worrying whether she'd seem too superficial or not if she judged very quickly based on too little evidence! (Or actually you might).

Reviewer: Stubbornly_appeared
Date: 11/11/07 2:34
Chapter: Chapter 7 - An Everyday Story

Yippee, a new chapter! I'm on tenterhooks for more.

Author's Response: V. happy you like it. This chapter's given me much grief, but now it's over I think it's one of my favourites!

Reviewer: Lulu Sugar
Date: 11/06/07 15:51
Chapter: Chapter 7 - An Everyday Story

C'est fabulata! I have many points to discuss:
. I agreee with Jo about the colours. And I saw she had pens like yours!
. Nice to seek Sirius flirting with the female population and getting himself dismembered. However, I don't think Ron could've chopped his leg off.
. Hi Lav-Lav (wave)!
. Robert Moore is Mr Rochester but young and sexy. I love him! And he has a flickin' fringe!
. This chapter was really good for Cho because he realising all that about hermy made her way more 3D.
. Just one constructive criticism: sometimes you desbribe her actions a bit too much.
. T'was most entertaining et brilliante, therefore you must get writing quickly...

Author's Response: Heya! The colours and actions=I will fix! Ron didn't chop Sirius' leg off! (He's not an axe murderer!) It got smashed in the battle. You LIKE Rober Moore? It's a miricale!!!!! You find him attracttive? (I'll let you into a little secret...his appearance was slightly based on your favourite guy! But not his personality. Nothing like) You liked the soul-serching? Good. I just felt the chapter would be a little bitsy without it. Thanks for your review. I have an urge to sing: 'Say it's ME that you want to dismember!' Oh and Cho's 3D? Yay!

Reviewer: Lulu Sugar
Date: 11/06/07 15:47
Chapter: Chapter 1-Harry Comes Home

C'est fabulata! I have many points to discuss:
. I agreee with Jo about the colours. And I saw she had pens like yours!
. Nice to seek Sirius flirting with the female population and getting himself dismembered. However, I don't think Ron could've chopped his leg off.
. Hi Lav-Lav (wave)!
. Robert Moore is Mr Rochester but young and sexy. I love him! And he has a flickin' fringe!
. This chapter was really good for Cho because he realising all that about hermy made her way more 3D.
. Just one constructive criticism: sometimes you desbribe her actions a bit too much.
. T'was most entertaining et brilliante, therefore you must get writing quickly...

Author's Response: I get confused with which chapter to post on too! ;)

Reviewer: Wolfie Jojo
Date: 11/05/07 11:59
Chapter: Chapter 7 - An Everyday Story

TADAA! IT'S HERE! Again, I've checked every day, and again, my vigilance has been rewarded. (I didn't use that word on purpose). This is a really cool chapter, and it's not murderously long either. You know I like stuff I can get my teeth into (ha). I only have one little nitpick - you don't need to describe the colours of everthing, you were doing that a lot at the start and it got a bit annoying. But enough of the criticism. I love the alarm clock - I really need one of those. Robert Moore is very Mr Rochestery, isn't he? And Lav-Lav the drama queen, that's perfect, but she can't have Sirius! Me&Lulu won't let her. Ugh, that was so gruesome. Snap, crunch, blood. Ugh. I know I like gore, but, poor Sirius! I'm so glad you included Moody as a cameo, but you didn't hurt him. Good. Y'know, I think I'm going off Sirius a bit. But I still love him. And in honour of the longest chapter, I have written my longest review!
PS: you must teach me how to put pictures on my bio.

Author's Response: He he! Thanks for the thing about colours - I had no idea I did that so much...I'll go back and change it some time! Mr. R and Rob Moore...? I didn't intend for them to be similar, but they have turned out a little like that. No mad wives in the attic, unforetunately. :( I was never intending for Lavender to have Sirius, I just needed someone for Rob to tease! So, don't worry, Sirius will probably come up later to give Harry advice, but the whole Lavender/Sirius thing doesn't develop at all. HA! I thought you'd like the grusome bit! You hypocrite! (Also if it hadn't been grusome, Cho wouldn't have had a good reason to pass out!) Invite me to your house, and I'll teach you how to put pictures on your bio!

Reviewer: red haired mom
Date: 10/01/07 8:43
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Welcome to St Mungo's

There are so many stories being updated that I have been behind lately in reading and reviewing. My sincere apologies, and I am taking the time now, so on to the review.
Having a cozy chat with a Death Eater doesn’t seem like Hermione’s style. But then again what did Dumbledore think he was doing sending her there without making sure she had her wand?
You are doing Crouch very well. He doesn’t seem to be the spineless jellyfish he was in OotP. He did do some things in the book, but they were while in the guise of Moody, but when he was unmasked, he just seemed to shrink. I know he was under the influence of Veritaserum, but still. I like that you have given him opinions that differ from the Pure Blood Mania that pervades the Death Eaters.
Talking about the Sorting was a nice addition. I was laughing while reading Crouch talk about his sorting, and Hermione saying she would be needed in Gryffindor.
Having made a deal with a Death Eater to share the prophecy does seem the prudent action, but since when has Hermione not found another way around logic?
Great chapter and I am looking forward to the next one. I just hope it doesn’t take me so long to read the next one. See you then.


Author's Response: Hi! Good to see you - I was wondering where you had got to! Of course Hermy isn't about to start having a friendly chat with Voldie, but I think it was just the surprise of him obviously not wanting to kill her and not caring about blood. I know how Crouch seemed in GoF. That's why I thought I'd expand him a bit. To me, he seemed like such an intriguing character, and I wanted to build on the few blocks we had of his character (plus a bit of help from the film!) I also think in Fanfiction, people tend to lump all the Death Eaters together, and put them under one category, and I think they deserve a bit of personality and depth too, even if they're the 'bad' guys. I liked the Sorting! I just thought it was something they could both relate to. And Hermione's deal with a Death Eater - yes we know Hermione's not always very calm, but she's not stupid. She doesn't exactly want to end up dead (seeing as she doesn't have a wand) and for him to end up with the prophecy anyway! Thank you for your lovely reviews. People like you make my life!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 09/23/07 15:39
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Welcome to St Mungo's

Hmmm... Crouch seems like he really is a nutcase. I'm not sure if it would really be smart of him to just show up at St. Mungo's, though... Wouldn't the Ministry be looking for him? Oh well, other than that this chapter really gave the reader a lot to think about... I wonder what he's up to... and why he was talking to Hermione like that. ... Update soon!

Author's Response: Of course BCJr is a nutcase...that's why we love him so much! The ministry are completely ineffective when it comes to capturing Death Eaters...they're not expecting for them to turn up in St Mungo's, and so therefore BCJr does!

Reviewer: Wolfie Jojo
Date: 09/23/07 12:40
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Welcome to St Mungo's

I just wrote an epic review that got eaten by cyberspace. Your story was HILARIOUS! It made me laugh, and that's saying something. The people at St.Mungo's are funny, I mean, flashing green and pink when sneezing? Great. The only bit I didn't get is which side is BCJ on? Is it Hermy's, like it said now, or Voldy's like the last story? Me confused. And I like David Tennant with glasses. Delving into BCJ's sorting, how sweet. "I could hear all the Gryffindors conducting a few minor wars, the Slytherins moaning, the Hufflepuffs chatting and the Ravenclaws flicking through books." That's classic. I like the sound of a few minor wars. Well done.

Author's Response: Your review got eaten? I know how you feel! And I am honoured to have made you laugh. I wanted to delve a bit deeper into why BCJr is like he is, and I thought the sorting ceromony was a good place to start. The glasses....swoon! Which side is BCJr on? Well, he's a DE so I'm guessing Lord Voldie, but he's not too bothered as long as he gets to fight people! Minor wars...you know what boys are like!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES