Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: siriusly_insane (Signed) · Date: 08/19/07 17:49 · For: The Nature of Courage
oh my goodness! so sad! poor harry....


Name: siriusly_insane (Signed) · Date: 08/19/07 17:41 · For: Prologue - The Courage of A Hero
oh wow! great intro! can't wait to see more!


Name: Noel Weasley (Signed) · Date: 08/18/07 11:36 · For: Prologue - The Courage of A Hero
oooh, this was a sad chapter, Ash, but it's great! love the description of the surroundings. And Remus' death was *sobs* nicely written. can't wait to read the next chapter, which is conveniently out for me to read....

love this right now. so sad, yet so cool! :D


Name: Noel Weasley (Signed) · Date: 08/18/07 11:31 · For: Prologue - The Courage of A Hero
oooh, this was a sad chapter, Ash, but it's great! love the description of the surroundings. And Remus' death was *sobs* nicely written. can't wait to read the next chapter, which is conveniently out for me to read....

love this right now. so sad, yet so cool! :D


Name: jessip (Signed) · Date: 08/13/07 7:34 · For: The Nature of Courage
you should keep going it's really good.


Name: annie (Signed) · Date: 08/11/07 4:04 · For: The Nature of Courage
Very nice. You write well, and the flow of the story is excellent. The bit with Remus in the prologue was especially touching, as was Ambrine's explanation for her happiest memory. I like how you went along with the theme of family being the most important thing to us that JKR emphasises in the HP series.

The only criticism I have to give is that there were a few minor errors in the prologue, but I think those were all typos you missed. Also, I'm curious -- how old was Harry when he defeated Voldemort? Because you refer to him as a boy in the prologue, but in the fic, Ambrine says she was four years old at the end of the war, which means that the war must've lasted at least five years old and that Lavender and Dean must have been REALLY young when they had Ambrine.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)
As for their ages, I'd say Harry and Co. we're about twenty-one when Harry defeater Voldemort. At that time, Ambrine was about a year old. However, even after Harry defeated Voldemort, there were still Death Eaters to be taken care of. Dean was a member of the Order and he was helping to round up the remaining Death Eaters even three years after Harry defeated Voldemort. Harry came out of hiding two years later.
*whispers* Or I could have just had a continuity error. *blushes*
Either way, I hope that was a satisfactory explanation. :D
Thanks for the review.


Name: hicktib (Signed) · Date: 08/09/07 14:53 · For: The Nature of Courage
Very good story.

Thanks


Name: Merope Gaunt (Signed) · Date: 06/22/07 5:28 · For: The Nature of Courage
Oh my god! That's so sad! I can't believe Harry's patronus would be something as pathetic as a mouse! :( Great story, though!


Name: BloodRayne (Signed) · Date: 06/21/07 19:21 · For: The Nature of Courage
Hmm...well, it was an interesting idea, certainly a heart-breaking story, although I think it could have been more so if you had used more description. You appear to be a dialouge-driven writer, much like me.

My other nitpick is about Patronuses. There is usually lots of confusion between Animagi and Patronuses, but I thought the Animagus was what represented the persona. The Patronus is eomthing you feel protected by, correct? Harry feels protected by his dad, or feels a strong love towards him, but there is a connection. Tonks' Patronus became a werewolf because of the love she felt for Remus. She went through emotional trauma. So stating that the wolf represented Ambrine's persona was just...not believable for me.

I also found it a bit hard to believe that Harry's Patronus would change so quickly. Harry is strong, and he felt guilt over Sirius' death, but his Patronus didn't change. So feeling guilt over Dean's death, a person he didn't even know, I don't think that would warrant a Patronus change.

But I liked the plotline of this story. It was very sad, and the memory is ironic in a way.

Author's Response: According to Andrea, moderator for this challenge, a Patronus is something that represents someone's persona. Personally, I agree with you, but I had to go within the parameters of the prompt. *shrug* Now everyone pay close attention here because I'm going to explain why Harry's Patronus changed and why he just now noticed. Harry hasn't cast a Patronus Charm since the end of war. That was the first time he had cast one since the end of the war. In his lessons, from my POV, he always lets the students try the spells before he demonstrates it for them. The lesson with the Gryffs was the first one where they were trying on their own. The lesson with the Raveclaws was the second where he showed them the correct way. That's why he doesn't notice that his Patronus has changed until that point. His Patronus didn't change because of his guilt over Dean's death. His Patronus changed right after the war. It changed because of the emotional scars he carried from the war and the horrors he faced. Becoming a murder and killing Voldemort? Not an easy thing to do for any reasonable person. It was a big shock to Harry's system. That's why his Patronus changed. BloodRayne: Thank you for your review! I'm really glad you liked the story and I hope you'll read more of mine. ;)


Name: Hermione Clone (Signed) · Date: 06/21/07 16:02 · For: The Nature of Courage
That was so sad! The end was a bit sudden, but it was still good. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Just Tink (Signed) · Date: 06/21/07 12:44 · For: The Nature of Courage
Good job! I find it interesting how you characterized Harry- I'd be interested in looking more into why he hid. I really enjoyed the Ambrine flashback- Lavender was well-done. I had a little trouble believing that Harry's patronus would change, but well done overall!

Author's Response: Perhaps I'll do a prequel or a sequel when the challenge is over. :) Thank you for the review!


Name: beauty and brains (Signed) · Date: 06/21/07 10:27 · For: The Nature of Courage
Ooo good job! You did much better on the challenge than I did! Yours was very heart breaking, and I loved Ambrine. I hope you do well!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Name: LilaBear (Signed) · Date: 06/21/07 10:18 · For: The Nature of Courage
I dont know if your mood would change your patronus. While Harry may not *feel* proud, gentle but strong etc, he still is. He didn't feel anything like that back in third year when he first encountered dementors, but still managed to produce a stag... i dont think a patronus could ever change, and if it did, it would have to be something EXTREME. Just not a saddened mood by viewing someone else's memory.

Very well written story though :)

Author's Response: I explained it above under BloodRayne's review. :). Thanks for reading and reviewing!


Name: hallie_p (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 23:41 · For: The Nature of Courage
I like the idea of this story and it is written well. One thing though, the timing is off. If it has been 20 years since the end of the war, and Ambrine was four when it ended, wouldn't that make her 24 instead of 16 or 17? Just something to consider clearing up. Otherwise good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for pointing that out! I knew something wasn't quite right there... I'll go fix it in a minute! I'm glad you liked it! PS. Your name's Hallie? So is mine!!! :D


Name: JustLikeHermione77 (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 18:50 · For: The Nature of Courage
Good story!! But sad. It's soooo sad that now Harry's patronus is a mouse! *snfif* HARRY'S BRAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway. *cough cough* update soon!!

Author's Response: It's a one-shot...but thank you. :D


Name: jam witch (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 14:12 · For: The Nature of Courage
was that a one shot please say no please say no! its brilliant!!

Author's Response: It is a one-shot...but I might add more after the challenge is over. We'll see.


Name: mds_987 (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 12:10 · For: The Nature of Courage
this was really really good!

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: miss_potter_obsessed (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 9:52 · For: The Nature of Courage
Aww!! Thats soo sad at the end!! I'm almost crying here!! : ( but I loved it anyway!! Write more fics and more fics and more fics!!! It is very well written by the way!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Name: Wicked Wench (Signed) · Date: 06/20/07 8:33 · For: The Nature of Courage
Wow! I really liked the memory scene and I am curious as to why Harry hid. I hope this is just the beginning.

Author's Response: It's a one-shot...but I might add more. Thank you for the review!


You must login (register) to review.