Reviewer: leighpotter
Date: 08/29/07 10:59
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Hi! First review of this fic which I really really enjoyed reading! Emma and Ted are my favourite characters-you've described them really well and I can't wait for Emma to attack Tyrone again!
Loved it and can't wait for next chapter to be accepted!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! As for Emma attacking Tyrone... well, I can't promise it'll happen in THIS story, but it is part of a trilogy!

Reviewer: Ankh of the night
Date: 08/28/07 9:58
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

It would be difficult for voldemort to wear lipstick due to the fact that he has no lips! We should do three-word stories on the Hufflepuff commonroom.

Author's Response: You know, I was just thinking that! (Both about the lips and the three-word-story.) I think we should each suggest it on the suggestion thread, and maybe our Head o' House would give in and let us!

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 08/28/07 4:16
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

WAAAAAHH! I feel like jumping up and down right now. I love this story! Your characters are great. I love them :-) So sad that Ted was bitten! But he got through it with his friends. The end of this chapter is horrifying though! I so hope Ted'll be okay!!!

Okay...calming down...
I love some of the lines in this chapter. Hermione standing up to Zabini and pointing out the parallels between the two types of discrimination is great, very Hermione-ish of her to use a logical argument using factual examples.

"Unless your Mum's Lord Voldemort, my dad didn't kill her." That made me laugh, imagining Voldy as a mother...which was probably not quite the point, but I loved that line anyway :-D

Madam Patil is great.

Veritaserum or Imperius... good name for the game.

Haley's energy seems to be infectious even through my computer screen... I totally love this fic!! You rock Schmergo!
Looking foward to the next chappie!

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, Cirelondiel! Haha, I'm imagining Volders in a pink apron and lipstick.

Reviewer: Ardnassac
Date: 08/28/07 3:15
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

So this is such an intense fic! Definately one of my favorites, can't wait for an update :P

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I always submit the next chapter the day a new chapter is accepted... but they seem to take a long time to go through.

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 08/26/07 17:58
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Another great chapter here, Schmergo! I'll just jump straight in as usual! I thought it was great how Ted told everyone - it shows how time has progressed since Remus had to deal with it, and after the war how there is less prejudice, and how brave and Gryffindorish it was of Ted.

Your parenthesis of "(which had been fixed up and redecorated)" made me giggle! That whole paragraph I thought was very well written, with some good dry humour in there.

Now: Emma. I don't think that Emma's mean - as I said before, she's one of my favourite characters in this - I just think she's ignorant. She doesn't understand what something as terrible as losing a parent is like - nor should she have to - she's had a really happy childhood, and just doesn't get it. She did what she felt was right - standing up for her friend - just not in the right way. (I did think her comment was very quick-witted though) So yeah - I think with Emma it's ignorance rather than meanness - she has Ron's earlier emotional depth rather than Hermione's, and the quick tongue of the Weasleys - not thinking before she speaks. That's the impression I get, anyway.

I thought it was sweet of Jordan to think of Ted wanting company - sweet of all of them to think that and to be brave enough to go with him - it shows what good and close friends they all are.

I found the scene with the teachers talking about The Overseers very interesting. Harry I thought was very well in character, and I liked Hermione's cold replies, and how you described their voices as "emotionless" by the end of their conversation. However, I'm not sure I can see Hermione rising to the bait against Zambini being prejudiced against Muggleborns - we've always seen her as stopping Ron retorting verbally or physically, never rising to it herself. I did like the dialogue there a lot though, and the arguments they both put forward.

It made me smile to see all the students wishing Ted luck as he went to the Shrieking Shack - especially Tyrone! I really like Tyrone - hope to see more of him in future chapters! I absolutely adored the line "the butterflies in his stomach were mutating into pterodactyls." I thought that was wonderful! My favourite line in the chapter, nice job.

Jordan's invisible comment made me chuckle as well! I have to say again how much I like the humour you put in here, Schmergo, it's all really well done - and, importantly, not overdone.

I like how you adapted Truth or Dare to the wizarding world - very well thought out, a thing that far too often isn't. I also liked the description of Emma "casually kicking off her shoes and taking off her jacket." It's little details like that that make this story so good. Also, wonderful description of Ted's transformation.

And how adorable that Ted was jealous of Ivy going to Jordan for protection! *giggles* And Ivy's first kiss from Ted was when he was a wolf! As even though he thought of it as a hug, it was so a kiss! And on her hand too. How bless! *cooes* And it was very sweet how he noted her smell - like she knew his in the last chapter. Great parallel.

The Emma/Tyrone interaction was just heart! I'm sorry, but that is definitely my OTP for this story! I thought it was lovely how Emma was noticing all the little details about Tyrone, like his posture and how it was "unsettling" not to have him talk to her and hit on her - and we all know "unsettling" means she misses it! =p Oof, frosty ending - I wonder what Tyrone was hoping Emma meant when she thanked him though... And I have to comment on how cute it is that they call each other by their last names - remind anyone of any other couple we know?!

The end was just chilling! It's definitely left me on tenterhooks for the next chapter! Again, wonderfully written - you're doing a brilliant job on this fic, I can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! And I'm so glad you see Emma the same way I do... she has a LOT of Ron's traits; she's really not very emotionally mature and she can be a bit tactless and rough around the edges. But she means well. Yeah, I'm not sure Hermione would stand up to Zabini like that, but I kind of wanted to find an excuse to get Zabini to rant about how he wouldn't join the Overseers... I'm glad you like Tyrone, because he becomes a pretty important character... and by the third book in the trilogy, he's one of the major ones, so I'm glad you don't find him annoying. Haha, the last name thing... I never thought of that! Hmm, Tyrone kind of IS James... but more attractive. ^_^

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 08/25/07 20:59
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

*gasp* What an ending! Absolutely amazing chapter, but the ending is what got me. Wow! I am absolutely awed. I hope the next chapter is accepted soon! :D

Author's Response: Awww, thanks so muh! I felt bad about putting Ted through so much... I had to give him a break and give him a much happier time in chapter seven. (Hint: dancing is involved.)

Reviewer: Hedwig with a quill
Date: 08/25/07 15:52
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Nuuuu! *kills person who sent that horrible owl* Poor Ted...

Wow, Schmerg, you've outdone yourself here. You spoil us. Very good description and dialouge. Do I detect that... EMMA WAS NICE TO TYRONE?!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, Steph! I feel sorry for poor Ted as well... maybe he should shoot that person with the bullets he/she mailed him! I don't know about Emma being *nice* to Tyrone per se, but she wasn't quite as rude to him as usual... and that's looking up!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 08/25/07 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Eeek! I can't wait to find out what happens next! I love the mix of real, big problems - Ted's "furry little problem", murders and prejudices - with teenage angst - Emma and Tyrone's relationship, for example. Plus, I love how the plot is progressing for Harry and for the kids... I wonder what Blaise was going to say... and who the Overseers are... did I miss something? Anyway, I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Squeee! Thanks! The Overseers are Draco's peeps... they're kind of like the Death Eaters. Yep. And I guess to Tyrone and Emma, their issues are just as important as murders, prejudice and lycanthropy...

Reviewer: Helios Sol
Date: 08/24/07 7:34
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Hmph. Scary! I'm joking. In PoA, it said Lupin transformed into a fully grown werewolf at the full moon. Did you change it on purpose? I thought of something random: Why can't you just keep changing timezones? Admittedly, it would be very hard, but still, why not? The moon would never hit you...
PS. the tweaking of the Crucios box is done, but it won't let me send it. Do you know how to post it on my account page?

Author's Response: *Strokes imaginary beard* Hmmm, I know Lupin transformed into a full-grown werewolf when he was... sixteen? But Teddy-poo is fourteen and still growing, so he's in more of an awkward adolescent stage. Changing time zones is a great idea-- the ghosts from "Johnny and the Dead" by Terry Pratchett did something like that, so that midnight would never hit them. Bleh... I don't know how to post the Crucios box, I'm afraid... sorry!

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 22:37
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Tyrone Thomas Does Not Have One of His Better Days

You're welcome! (That sounded off topic. I need to make my way over to the boards more often so I can have an actual conversation with people that's easier to follow! XD)


Author's Response: Yeah, I love the boards! You can talk about the most random of things!

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 22:26
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

OH MY GOSH!

schmergo, this is extremely well written. Poor Ted. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you! *Pets Ted* Yeah, he gets more happy stuff to come to make up for what I put him through in chapters 5 and 6.

Reviewer: Iheartsiriusblack
Date: 08/23/07 21:11
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

that is freaky, i think ur good at cliffhangers and scary endings.

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you! I've never thought of myself as being good at 'scary' before (except for when I first wake up in the morning and my hair looks terrifyingly Medusa-like.)

Reviewer: harrypotterfangirl21
Date: 08/23/07 20:43
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

And Schmergo, excuse Lindsay, who has forgotten you are a Hufflepuff on the Forums.

See, we have this Three Word Story in Gryffindor Tower where we write a story three words at a time, and underneath the Copied and Pasted story we write really random things (such as colours with personalities, how to take over the world, why we like bunnies, etc.).

When she left that review, we were all snogging Marauders. Well, actually Lindsay had turned into Sirius and Remus had turned into me thanks to James being mad because Remus hit on Lily...

Meanwhile I was snogging the REAL Sirius. :D

Hope that cleared that up!

- Katie

P.S. And so this isn't really spammy, the description of Ivy's fear in this chapter was well done, also. :)

Author's Response: Oh! The three-word-stories! I do those all the time with my friends! (I have quite a splendid one about my chorus teacher turning into a wereflamingo by night after eating a 'Questionable Sandwich', while being the flamingo-fightin' superhero by day... up against our evil bio teacher). That story sounds fun... why don't the Puffs have one of those!

Reviewer: harrypotterfangirl21
Date: 08/23/07 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Schmergo -

That cliffhanger is EVIL!!! Poor Ted! But who's out to get him? Hm...

The description of Ted's transformation was well done... thanks to all the details, I felt like I was Ted transforming.

Also, the scene with Blaise and Hermione was written very in-character (for everyone), something that a lot of authors couldn't have pulled off.

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

- Katie

Author's Response: Thank you! I hoped I conveyed how Ted felt...I had fun writing Hermione and Blaise and Harry... mainly because each of them reminds me of a different teacher I had last year, and it's fun to imagine them arguing in the teachers' lounge!

Reviewer: Noel Weasley
Date: 08/23/07 19:54
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Gasp! the nerve of some people! grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! I like to hold computer keys down too!

I like how you described the transformation and stuff, but you could have added a bit more pain into it. Transforming into a different creature against your will is painful and i don't think that wolfsbane numbs it i think. or does it?

Lindsay! snogging a 14 year old Remus! :D

Author's Response: Yeah, poor Ted. :( Yeah, I'd think the Wolfsbane potion would have a bit of a painkiller... I mean, it would only make sense... but it was still pretty painful for Ted. I'm a little bit confused by the last line of the review, where it says "Lindsay! Snogging a 14 year old Remus!" Whaaa?

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 12:05
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Tyrone Thomas Does Not Have One of His Better Days

Can't post a review for chapter five yet because it hasn't been validated yet, but it was sooo cute, Schmergo!

Ted reminds me of one of my really good friends at school, you OCs are great!

Author's Response: What? Don't you mean chapter six? Well, anyway, thank you so much!

Author's Response: I'd like to go to your school-- it sounds like the School of Potter's Pentagon! (And heaven knows I'd love to meet a real life Ted or Tyrone... *lapses into hormonal teenager mode*)

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 12:04
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Christmas Isn't Really All That Jolly

aw, cute! This is a marvelous story, Schmergo! Ted is reminding me of someone else I know from school, he's one of my really good friends. You really know how to write OCs!

Author's Response: Thanks! Your reviews are making me blush here. I'm really pleased that you think I'm good at OC's, because I know the worst nightmare of lots of authors is for their characters to be called Mary-Sues!

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 11:53
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Tyrone Thomas Does Not Have One of His Better Days

OOOH! The plot thickens!

your description of Draco is especially nasty. Love it.

Tyrone reminds me of someone else, actually. Theres a guy that goes to my school that acts exactly like him--and I act exactly like Emma. I totally connect to her character. Brilliantly written.

Author's Response: DUN DUN DUN! Ooh, that's really cool about you being like Emma and that dude you know being like Tyrone. By the way, I read your profile, and I want to say thank you for all the lovely things you said about me.. ^_^ That really made me smile.

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 11:43
Chapter: Chapter 3: In Which Professor Potter Takes the Reins

Awwww, how sweet! I love the story about Draco, it makes him a little more complex and human.

Ted/Ivy! Ted/Ivy! That is totally my favorite ship now.

The way you mix in Harry's and Harry's children's stories together is fantastic. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Hehe, I guess I wasn't very subtle with the Ted/Ivy. I'm glad you like the Draco part.

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 08/23/07 11:34
Chapter: Chapter 2: In Which Emma's Goat Is Gotten

ROCK ON, DAD!

I'm shipping all your characters and have lots of predictions already about Jordan. You capture the lives of these characters so perfectly, as well as the world Post-Voldemort. I'd write a longer review with my favorite parts, but I'm too antsy. To the next chapter I go!

Author's Response: Oooh! Thanks for the pretty review... and I'm quite curious to hear your Jordan predictions. Because I know what's to come... *evil laugh*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES