Reviewer: lilypotter93
Date: 09/10/07 23:44
Chapter: Chapter 8: In Which Havoc Is Wreaked

sooo good! I'm hooked!! :) please update soon!

Author's Response: Hahaha, I plan to! I will soon as I get home from school today. Thank you!

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 09/10/07 18:51
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

I don't know whether cry, laugh, or go 'aww...'. This chapter evoked some many emotions. My favorite part, though, would have to be when we got some Ted/Ivy action! Woot woot! Let's get some kissing next! :D

Author's Response: Hahaha, give them time, they're fourteen! It's nice to see you ship them, though. I have a friend who is convinced that Ted and Haley belong together and that Tyrone belongs with Ivy, and... I don't even know what she thinks about Emma or Jordan. EMMA/ZABINI SHIPPINESS FO-REVAH!!1!1!one!!1!!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 09/06/07 21:53
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Oh, Emma. Finally! :D But at least she's apologized! I can't wait for them to work everything out and to see where their relationship goes! I'm loving this fic and I hope you update soon! The characters are soo original and the plot line is great! I loved the ball with a twist!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Valentinia! I always submit a new chapter the day I hear the previous one's been accepted, so it shouldn't be too long.

Reviewer: Ardnassac
Date: 09/06/07 0:00
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

What an intense chappy! I stiffled (with extreme difficulty) an outburst of laughter at Ted ebing a Fantastic Beast, that was amazing! Loved it.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! For some reason, I'm imagining Ted dressed as a fop with a monocle and everything saying in an incredibly affected posh accent, "What ho, my jolly good chaps, I seem to have become a Fantastic Beast."

My mind is a strange, strange place.

Reviewer: Luna_Lovegood11
Date: 09/05/07 14:57
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

i luv your story!!!!! update soooooon, and pleeeeaaaasssseee add some remus cuz he's awesome!

Author's Response: Ack, double post!

Reviewer: Luna_Lovegood11
Date: 09/05/07 14:57
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

i luv your story!!!!! update soooooon, and pleeeeaaaasssseee add some remus cuz he's awesome!

Author's Response: I definitely plan to update soon (in fact, I've already submitted the next chapter)! As for Remus, he's not really in this one... but it's a trilogy, and he's got a big part in books 2 and 3!

Reviewer: Helios Sol
Date: 09/05/07 14:52
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Horray! Update. It was good, 10/10. Two questions and a note:
How did you picture partonuses giving messenges when you wrote it, and when you mentioned dementors, does that mean you figured they came back to the "good" side after Voldemort died?
Finally, if you can find my post in the humor nominations for QQs, my avatar is the Crucio's box I made. Still working on getting it on my page.

Author's Response: YUSSS! I saw the Cruci-os box, and it was pretty!

Yeah, I made dementors guard Azkaban again... but Malfoy broke out by convincing the dementors to join him, so now they are on the BAD SIDE again. And I imagine the patronus walking up to Harry and whispering the message in his ear in Emma's voice. *Shrug* That's how I've always seen it.

Reviewer: SingingBird
Date: 09/05/07 14:42
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

What a chapter! So much happened in here! I'm glad I was able to read it. I can't wait to see what happens next. :)

Author's Response: Fwahahahaha! *Smiles evilly* Well, you shall see! I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 09/05/07 7:22
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Yay for a new chapter! And you can imagine how much I squeed at all the Emma/Tyroneness in here! =D But: to the chapter! Seeing as it's you, Schmergo, I'll overlook the fact that there was an annual Valentines Ball (that we've never heard about before), as well as the fact that you wrote it very well and without any clichés or cringe-worthy moments - or, thank God, that it was a Masquerade Ball! =p You know that I'm only teasing, but in seriousness you did manage to write what can be clichéd extremely well, so you completely forget the fact that it could be, and that it's just another chapter of a great fic. So well done for that.

Again what I loved here was how you kept the characters all true to their age, the blushing, the interaction - it was all very well done. "Emma’s jaw threatened to become friendly with the floor." I loved that line there - brilliant way of making a saying original and humorous! (I also loved how Emma specifically remembered that Antonia went out with Tyrone!) Haley's little speech there I thought was very cute and very realistic of a teenage girl - that's the sort of thing I do all the time!

The Ted/Ivy interaction in this chapter was sweet - I did feel sorry for her when Ted announced that he'd been asked already! Bless them both, being nervous! Young love! *gigglesnorts*

I also loved Haley and Emma's prank - I wonder what happened when she got it?! And Tyrone is undoubtedly cool - I love his nonchalance on what for most teens is one of the scariest most unthinkable escapades ever: asking someone out - and getting turned down! I thought his reasoning was very sweet though. He's definitely becoming one of my favourite characters.

I loved the little paragraph on last year's Ball, and how they again acted as being that year younger they would - all the larking around, sort of making fun of the fact that they wanted to be there, as they would do, and avoiding the more advanced emotional issue of a dance. (You know, of course, that I especially hearted the mention of Emma and Tyrone's spontaneous slow dance tap number!) Also that two ominous lines at the end - nicely reminding us that it isn't all sweetness and light...

Hmm, I'm not so sure that Ron would make lightness of death - I can see how he might be a bit oblivious, like he was at the mention of Parvati, whereas Harry noticed, and I'd agree in that Ron might not even be able to forgive Krum completely in death - but I really don't think Ron is as callous as that. He knows what it's like to have the awfulness of losing someone, he's seen what it's done to his best friend, and he's obviously matured a lot - I don't think he'd do that, to be honest. However I did like the trio interaction here a lot.

"Beauty is 50% natural and 50% painful" - oh, too true! *giggles* I also like the description of Isadora as Tyrone's catalogue ordered "accessory" - again, great creativity and humour! I really like all the little jibes between Emma and Tyrone - trying to disguise their real feelings! ;-p I really liked the description of the kids, and how it showed all their different personalities and their general age - like how Haley was crazy, Jordan was awkward, Ted's voice cracked and he and Ivy were nervous - it all made it very real.

I'm sure you'll know that I absolutely adored one of the last bits which was more centred on Emma, her feelings and how she reacted to everything - like hoping McGonagall was talking to one of her cousins, how she was aware of their shoes' noise in the silence - just little things like that I thought were extremely well described. "they passed a giant plate-glass window that seemed to be overlording as much of the wall space as possible." That I thought was perhaps one of the best pieces of description in this chapter, a wonderful line.

The little bits of Emma/Tyrone here were absolutely lovely, like how his elbow fit on her shoulder, and how she noted that it was softer than her friends - how it fit - and how he grabbed her wrist - oh, he cares! It shows he cares by how much he tries to prove he doesn't care.

I also really loved how they both reacted under pressure - how Tyrone reacted humanly, not calm and collected as usual, and how Emma kept up her Gryffindor front. I think it is so interesting how she said "I am a Gryffindor after all!" later - and I wonder, is it that Gryffindors were born brave, or being put in Gryffindor and feeling that they ought to be brave makes them brave? I loved how we really got to see a lot of Emma's personality in this chapter, how she couldn't resist showing off a little, how she noticed little things, and how also even though she was scared she refused to let it show. I loved how like her parents she is, but she's also completely herself too. She's always been my favourite character, but now even more than before.

*giggles* Whose son is Edwin? He seems a lot like the twins - but they'd be dreadfully disappointed to learn that their son was a prefect! "you could have heard a pin drop into a haystack and be able to locate it solely by following the sound" Another one of your fabulous expanding upon familiar sayings and making them firmly your own, whilst making the reader firmly laugh along! And the mention of the two girls who screamed when Ron's name is mentioned made me giggle too!

And awwww at the Tyrone/Emmaness that went on at the end! I literally squeed, it was just so, so cute! =D I loved how you kept them in character to what we already knew of them then too! I really thought their argument at the end was fantastic, as they're both such fiery characters (and of course it didn't make me smile because it reminded me of another couple who ended up screaming at each other after a Ball...obviously...!).

It was wonderful how that fight made Emma realise what she'd said and done was wrong - as it was just ignorance, not meanness - and how she was big enough to admit it and say sorry, which she really needed to do. My heart really went out to Tyrone there. And that last line: squeeee!

So, all in all, another wonderful chapter - I have no doubt that you'll be able to keep it up, I'm looking forward to the next one! (Also best of luck for the Post-Hogwarts QSQ - this naturally has my vote!)

Author's Response: Aw man, I always look forward to your reivews! You notice EVERYTHING! You're... like... Ted or something.

I'm glad you like Tyrone, because his role in the stories gets bigger and bigger as the trilogy progresses. I like him, too, which is funny, because he's the type of person I usually can't stand at school. Ehh, but Tyrone's prettier and more magical, so maybe that's it.

I'm REALLY relieved that you think I dealt with the romance well, because I wrote this two years ago and it was the first thing I ever wrote with any hint of romantic-ness whatsoever... though a lot of it's based on my experience and what was happening with my friends at the time of writing it.

Hmmm, you're right about Ron... again, this was written before DH came out, so he hadn't lost his own brother, and canon Ron as of HBP was a little less sensitive... but also, I hoped to get across that Ron is one to try to make himself seem tougher than he is, sees sentimentality as a weakness. (I was trying to draw a parallel between him and Emma in this chapter, I think.)

Edwin is *sob* Fred and Angelina's son, though that's not really possible in canon now. You will definitely see more of him...

Thanks so much for your QSQ vote and all of your delightfully detailed reviews. I hope you like the next one! (It has some VERY silly parts and some quite serious ones, much like this one, I guess. And it's the first chapter that gets into Jordan's head at all.)

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 09/05/07 1:00
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Okay...what happened... it put up my review twice, but only half of it!... If it's still there now anyway... I tried to delete it but it didn't seem to work...
Anyway, what I was going to say was I liked that Ted bit, he reminds me a lot of Remus and it's good to see him getting funny lines (and coping well with his werewolfism...yes I made up a word...I can't think of the real word...)

~ I also liked the bit with Edwin saying he has more charisma than the stiff weedy head boy, he seems a bit like Percy but way way funnier.

~ And I was glad that Emma started to feel sorry for what she said to Tyrone. Also the fact that she can do a Patronus and noticed the Invisibility Cloak really showed that she's an Auror's daughter and niece. I'm pretty sure Invisibility Cloak is meant to have capitals though, which you didn't do, so you might want to check that.

I'm looking forward to reading more. Keep up the good work :-)

Cirelondiel

Author's Response: Harhar, I like to say "Werewolfism" and "werewolfyness," because the real word, 'lycanthropy," sounds like a cleaning product or something. I didn't know Invisibility Cloak was capitalised... for some reason, I only thought it was capitalised when it was talking about the cloak that's one of the three Deathly Hallows. I'm going to have to check on that! Thanks!

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 09/05/07 0:49
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Well, first off, the titile of this chapter is great :-) The next one is, too 'in which havoc is wreaked'. I hope that chappie gets validated soon.

So...some comments for this chapter:

~ It's great how you had the ball and then a bit of a twist. I think that's very much like JKR's style, you've got a nice balance of their school lives plus the imminent danger of some villain all throughout the fic.

~ I liked how you mentioned that Hermione was always business-like at Hogwarts, even to her own daughter. That seems quite realistic to me, I think you've got her characterisation just right. The bit where she sticks her head in and informs Ron that he was trying not to cry was good, too. Ron's behaviour in that passage was very him as well.

~ “Jordan’s not the only one here who’s ‘a beast’ and ‘fantastic,’” commented Ted with a mock pout, holding up his Care of Magical Creatures textbook. “Look, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Werewolves are on page 41!”

Author's Response: Ack, double-post!

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 09/05/07 0:49
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Well, first off, the titile of this chapter is great :-) The next one is, too 'in which havoc is wreaked'. I hope that chappie gets validated soon.

So...some comments for this chapter:

~ It's great how you had the ball and then a bit of a twist. I think that's very much like JKR's style, you've got a nice balance of their school lives plus the imminent danger of some villain all throughout the fic.

~ I liked how you mentioned that Hermione was always business-like at Hogwarts, even to her own daughter. That seems quite realistic to me, I think you've got her characterisation just right. The bit where she sticks her head in and informs Ron that he was trying not to cry was good, too. Ron's behaviour in that passage was very him as well.

~ “Jordan’s not the only one here who’s ‘a beast’ and ‘fantastic,’” commented Ted with a mock pout, holding up his Care of Magical Creatures textbook. “Look, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Werewolves are on page 41!”

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you thought I pulled off the balance of dark-ness and happiness well... I was trying to get the tone of the story to sound like it fits into the Potterverse. ^_^

Reviewer: Ankh of the night
Date: 09/04/07 19:52
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHH!
I love, love, LOVE this chapter!
BtW, Charybdis obviously Theo’s daughter. Is her mother November? (please?)


Author's Response: Myess, her mother's November... but Charybdis isn't a very nice person. She becomes a LOT more important in books 2 and 3 of the trilogy, and you'll see a lot more of her past in that. I'm really glad you liked this chapter!

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 09/04/07 18:34
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Great! I squealed when I saw the email that this story has been updated, and it was fantastic!

I just saw the kid that had reminded me of Tyrone again today, and the parallels are shocking. Sure you don't know him?

“It was really weird!” Haley exclaimed. “So we were in the hall, right? And we see these two fifth years in front of us–Antonia and that friend of hers, the one who’s dating Grant Jorgensen, I think her name is Julie or something. Jolie! That’s it, Jolie. Anyway, so Antonia was, like, ‘You know who’s cute?’ and Jolie was like, ‘Who?’ and Antonia was like, ‘Jordan Potter!’ And Jolie was like, ‘The short kid with the hair?’ And Antonia was all, ‘Yeah, what a beast. Smart, too. And did you see him sing in that play last year?’ And Jolie was like, ‘Oh, yeah, and he’s good at Quidditch,’ and Antonia was like, ‘Good? He’s fantastic!’ And I had to laugh, so Antonia and Jolie turned around and they saw me and Jordan, so Antonia, she was all embarrassed, and then she asked Jordan to the dance right there in the hallway, and he said, ‘yeah, all right,’ so now he’s going to the dance with her!” She took a deep breath, her first in a bit.

I talk like that all the time. Your characters are so real, Schmergo! keep up the great work!

Author's Response: I talk like Haley, too, much to my mum's chagrin. ^_^ I come off much more intelligent on paper than in person.

There's a guy who goes to my school (today was my first day!) who LOOKS just like Tyrone! Every time I see him in the hall, I stare like a madwoman. He's probably terrified of me.

Reviewer: harrypotterfangirl21
Date: 09/04/07 18:28
Chapter: Chapter 7: In Which Hogwarts Gets Its Groove On

Awwwwwwww!

Fluffy chapter! With an angsty end! ^_^

I loved this chappie! It flowed easily from happy and cheerful (the dance) to dark and foreboding (Malfoy on the grounds).

And the romances are heating up... ^_^

Great job (yet again), Schmergo!

- Katie

Author's Response: Katie, you are such a lovely person! ^_^ You review all of my stories so prettifully... I'm glad the happy and dark balance out, because that's what I was trying to go for. I don't like TOO much of either.

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 08/30/07 14:28
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Ted’s owl, Zsa Zsa, drifted through the window and alighted on his bedside table. This was odd; Zsa Zsa usually came in the morning post rush with most of the other owls, not in the evening. She bore a small parcel wrapped in plain brown paper, which Ted untied from her leg and unwrapped curiously.

It was a box of silver bullets. And written on a scrap of parchment in blood red ink was, ‘YOUR FUTURE.’

Who was the loser who sent that box to Ted? I mean, it wasn't his fault he became a werewolf!! He was only protecting his friends!! Some people are such monsters when it comes to the feelings of other people!! 10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, I feel really sorry for Ted. =( He's a really nice guy with a problem, and when people treat him like some kind of monster, it's just not fair-- like you said, THEY'RE the monsters. But I had to put that in there to show that not everyone was as kind and tolerant to Ted as the people who wished him luck on his way to transformation.

Reviewer: KathZ
Date: 08/30/07 13:32
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Creepy!!!
Wow.. but Teddy's my fave character!!!
Verrry nice.

Author's Response: Double post!

Reviewer: KathZ
Date: 08/30/07 13:32
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Creepy!!!
Wow.. but Teddy's my fave character!!!
Verrry nice.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I like Ted, too. He's so sweet. ^_^

Reviewer: Holly218
Date: 08/29/07 15:36
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

I love it! I am so anxiously awaiting the next installment! You are awesome.


Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much! I'm anxiously awaiting the mods to update, so I know how you feel!

Reviewer: Siva2478
Date: 08/29/07 12:55
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

great story!! can't wait to see what happens

Author's Response: Ooh! Well, you shall see soon enough! Thank you. ^_^

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Crofter and The Snake by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
During the perilous school year of 1997-1998, when Muggleborns are on the run...
Lily and Alice by Wenlock 3rd-5th Years
Alice defied the odds when she became the first woman Auror in the 20th century.Lily...
Time, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma by teh tarik 3rd-5th Years
On the very last day of his life, Sirius Black was bored. Bored, bored, bored.
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES