Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 11/04/07 0:21
Chapter: Mooning after Dreams

Interesting. I liked how you had Hannah Abbot as a Muggle schoolchild. And her paper about how she wanted to live in a castle--nice touch, seeing as how she will definitely get her wish one day!

I thought the way Mrs. Reed interpreted the milk spilling scene versus the truth that Remus saw was really enlightening regarding how easy it is for Muggles to dismiss what their eyes see and rationalize it in their minds so it makes sense. But I think they would agree that there really is no use in crying over spilt milk. Okay, sorry, I just couldn't resist! ;-)

I'm definitely worried about Ariadne. What is she crying about? Is it concern for her friend Sarah or for Veleta? Has something happened with her job or with Jigger? I'm mostly concerned because whatever it is, she's keeping it from Remus. That type of indirect dishonesty is just not in her character, and it really concerns me! Have the Macnairs threatened her in some way, and swore to hurt Remus if she told anyone? I don't like seeing her so upset. Which is a great testament to your story, because you've made me love her character so much more than I ever thought I could when I first clicked open Moons of Deceit. I was hesitant about her then, whereas I absolutely adore her now!

And what does this sentence mean: "The solution that occurred to him seemed too extreme to confide in Ariadne. But he realised within minutes that this was exactly what he was going to do." Should I know already what he's going to do? I feel confused...but maybe it's just because it's late and I'm tired.

Sorry if this review makes little sense; like I said, it's late and I'm tired. But, superb job, as always!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, I don't tell you everything, do I? YOU know what will happen to Hannah, but it's all a mystery to the characters. Remus knows it's magic, but Mrs Reed will never guess. And, no, you won't work out why Ariadne is crying, because I probably haven't given you enough clues, and the truth is far too left-of-field for you (or Remus) to guess at random. In fact, I'm counting on the assumption that you've long since forgotten the plot-thread that I left dangling! However, the reason she won't confide in Remus is that she believes the truth will hurt him. Ariadne's major life-dilemma always will be the need to juggle being kind with being truthful. No, you don't yet know what Remus is going to do about the renovations, but you'll find out in the next chapter. That one is comedy rather than tragedy! Thank you very much for such a long and varied review. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/31/07 18:04
Chapter: Pursuing Hunter's Moon

Why does he think like that? Ah well, stupid question, I suppose, it is Remus! Your characterization of him is so great! I love seeing his interactions with Ariadne, especially. They're still so sweet. I can't believe Sarah did that! So like her though, really. Poor Sturgis! I wonder how they're going to fix it and get Veleta out of there! I love the suspense as we get more clues, and I can't wait to know more! Update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Well, some things never change! Remus will never believe he is good enough for the decent people; Sarah will always seduce the men around her into indulging her whim of the moment; Sturgis will never quite know what to make of any woman; and the Macnairs will hold on to Veleta like grim death. Thanks for reviewing! GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/30/07 12:25
Chapter: Pursuing Hunter's Moon

Poor Remus. He feels like such a failure as a husband and provider for Ariadne. He assumes she's bothered by his lack of financial means and feels so unworthy of her....if only he could see himself as she does (and we do!), he wouldn't feel so bad. Money, or lack thereof, is a bother, but has no bearing on a person's character or worthiness as a spouse. If only he could realize that she loves him more the way he is now, than she ever could if he was a rich, powerful member of Wizarding society. If only she could do a spell where, for a short time, he would see himself through her eyes. He would be very surprised!

After how packed full of information the last chapter was, this one felt a tiny bit sluggish. I am wanting something to happen! We heard about Sarah's exploits, which were brave and stupid and interesting, but we heard about them after the fact. Understandably so, since this tale is told from the Lupins' point of view, but it made me want to be a little more "in the thick of things."

Poor Sturgis--I feel like maybe Sarah uses her feminine charms and model looks to convince members of the opposite sex to do her favors. While resourceful, and I'm sure she was meaning no harm, it is a bit frustrating. And I can feel that frustration through Ariadne, and especially Remus's reactions, so bravo!

Well, I'm waiting for the big confrontation at Macnair castle! I know it needs to be built up to, bit by bit, but I'm a very impatient person! I should take lessons from Ariadne. ;-) Great job!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, And isn't that the point? The reader can see so clearly what is dark and obscure to Remus. If you were frustrated at not being able to see Sarah's adventure first-hand, imagine how Ariadne felt! Sarah is definitely a siren among the men: she exploits her sex appeal shamefully, without stopping to think if hearts will be broken along the way. She does not meet Mr Right until she is 25 (you'll find out when she does!!), which gives her far too many years to play the field. As for the Great Macnair Showdown... well, you wouldn't want me to spoil that for you, would you? Very much love, GhV

Reviewer: Prisca McKnott
Date: 10/29/07 17:30
Chapter: Pursuing Hunter's Moon

Hi, I'm another admirer of your writing skills who has kept silent for too long... I'm still amazed by your ability not only to build endearing yet consistent charachters, but also to let them interact and to lmake things happen in such a natural way: I can't really understand how writers manage this part! Even if I can't help loving every Potter-related piece of writing, in the wide fanfictioning world the only sorties I keep reading - waiting for the next installment - are your ones, because their interest lays not only in the teasing ingredients they are made of - be it chocolate sweet Lupin (he IS cool) or spicy Hermione or whatever else - but also in the smart way you cook them.
Besides this, Ariadne is awesome, even better than Remus: the amasing thing is how believable she manages to be, let alone being in a multilaiered and shily-slily creative relationship with the environment she lives in. Sadly, we are meeting less and less of her family, which was able to make her show all of her most typical sides - but I suppose it has to do with the natural developing of your plot... by the by, I used to think that plot was your weak point, but moving along from book to book I've realised how quite likely I am to be proved wrong.
And, before I forget, when did Remus give Veleta the Latin dictionary? I am unable to find it in the text, absent minded as I am! Do keep on updating, I'm always checking whether the next chapter is on-line yet... your job is great!
(sorry if I made any spelling mistake, English is not my first language)

Author's Response: Dear Prisca, What an amazingly well-expressed review from someone who is not a native speaker! I am very impressed that you even read my story, let alone reviewed it. The characterisation is the easy part of writing for me. The secret is NEVER LOSE SIGHT OF WHO YOUR CHARACTERS ARE. Often I don't have a "plot" until I have let the characters interact a little. When they have had their fun, they are able to tell me the next plot unit! I agree that MoD didn't have much of a plot; I wrote that book by accident, and it's more about a theme than a plot. CotN does have a plot, but a fairly basic one, and TWB draws several plot threads together. For the record, you will see a little more of Ariadne's family later in this story, and also in the sequel - this final volume also having, I think, the best plot of the four. Yes, the Latin dictionary was the object that Remus used to make the Portkey in chapter 5; he didn't think about it again, so Veleta ended up keeping it. Thank you for such a thoughtful review, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/24/07 18:21
Chapter: Reaping the Harvest Moon

Woah. I guess we - like Ariadne - did know what had been happening, but to have it spelled out like that made it all the more horrible. Aunt Keindrech was a really interesting addition, and the charmed blood explains so much! The beginning was good, too. I like seeing Connell again, poor guy. I'm glad the wolfsbane works! :) Poor Veleta! I hope they find a way to get her out of there! Update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, We spell it out to remind ourselves that such things are, even now, happening to European teenagers who have been kidnapped for slavery in the Middle East. Their only hope of escaping the slavery lies in abandoning their children, since international law favours the oppressor. From now on the Veleta-plot overlaps the wolfsbane-plot, and whether the romance-plot survives the interaction effect remains to be seen. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/22/07 17:25
Chapter: Reaping the Harvest Moon

Wow, what a jam-packed chapter! So much happened, or was explained. It was much darker in feeling than the last chapter, which had lighter, livelier moments, with the wedding and Remus' humorous grandiose thoughts.

But it is impossible to continue in this tale without getting into the dirty dealings of the Macnairs, unpleasant though it may be. And it really was unpleasant, but it brought the story to a serious climax that it needed--Ariadne and Remus are both resolved now, as never before, to save Veleta and her children, and to hopefully bring the Macnair clan down in the process.

It's incredibly creepy that they are basically "breeding" little Locospecters for their own evil uses.
I was sharing Ariadne's feelings of revulsion and horror as she listened to Keindrech's tale. It was a great touch at the end to have Remus howling angrily, when he thought Ariadne was asleep. It really demonstrates how unified they are--not only do they love one another so dearly, but they share an equally passionate fervor to rescue those who are being used for evil.

I like how strong and protective Remus is of Ariadne, even when she doesn't think she needs the protection. I'm assuming that now that they know she's protected from the Animum quiesco because of her Macnair blood, she will be the one to try to break into the castle, and I can only imagine Remus' reaction to that idea! He's not going to let her go quietly, I'm thinking.

Your description of Connell and Remus both throwing their heads back and howling simultaneously was so perfect. It really put me there, seeing things through Ariadne's eyes.

One more thing--as awful and horrible as Keindrech's death was, I couldn't help but feel that she could have given Moaning Myrtle a run for her money! She seems to take great pleasure in telling the tale of her gruesome death to anyone who will listen!

Well, it was a sad, tragic, slightly disturbing chapter, but also informative and well written. Great descriptive details, and it really strengthened the core mystery and refocused the plot....I sense great danger and adventure right around the corner!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Thank you for such a long and detailed review - and for such a horrible chapter too! Now you know why some of the more respectable HP sites won't publish this story; in fact, I'm a little surprised that MuggleNet agreed to accept it. Yes, the "breeding programme" is revolting, and it was very difficult to hit the right note of outrage in unveiling the horrific truth. In the end I decided to use a ghost because everyone knows that their morals are slightly off-kilter: you mention Myrtle, but in fact Nearly Headless Nick can be quite like Keindrech too. I knew all along that Keindrech had been a suicide, but I didn't know when I wrote MoD that she would be the great revealer - my subconscious must have been working overtime to pull that part of the plot together. Yes, the great strength of the Lupins' marriage is their shared vision. I drew this ideal of marriage from life, and not only from my own life. See you in the next chapter. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/19/07 22:08
Chapter: Moonbeamed Nuptials

This chapter was packed full of great things! :D Super!Remus was a little scary, but it was good to see that even Ariadne didn't do everything exactly right on the first try! I'm glad the wolfsbane is finally perfected! :) And the wedding was very cute, I loved Remus and Kingsley's "game" - and Remus's appreciation of his wife. They're so sweet! Plus, it's great to see a bit of Veleta again! I can't wait to find out more on that front! Update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, I had real trouble writing that wedding! Readers have known for 2.5 books that it was going to happen, and it adds nothing much to the plot, but I had to make it interesting somehow. An unusual setting and a few characterisation games were all I could think of! More of Veleta is coming very, very soon, but you might not like it when you see it. Thanks for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/19/07 21:50
Chapter: Victory under Rose Moon

:D It worked! Of course we knew it would, but it's still sweet to see their reactions! Poor Ariadne, I really felt sorry for her when she was beating herself up cause she thought the potion hadn't worked. She's such a great character, so ... moral, I guess, but still human. I don't know how you write her so believably! And I loved excited!Remus, too! This fic is really great! I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Yes, it worked! I am so glad you managed to be excited despite knowing how it would end! Ariadne was originally inspired by a friend of mine, a woman who had an almost supernatural ability to discern other people's emotions and motivations and then empathised with a punishing level of introjection. Of course, Ariadne soon took on a life of her own, and she no longer looks much like my friend. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/19/07 8:46
Chapter: Moonbeamed Nuptials

Well the darn thing submitted the review before I was done typing!

As I was saying, I guess Veleta is so lonely and scared that that's her only link to the outside, friendlier world, so it's understandable, and forgivable (since she's not intruding on their bedrooms or anything! ;-) ) But, does this mean she knows Remus is a werewolf now? Or is moonrise later than 9pm? I wonder...

Great job, sorry about the split review, and I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, The full moon rises at the time the sun sets, and the sun can set as early as 3pm in December in Scotland! So, yes, Veleta did mean to tell them that she knows that Remus is a werewolf. Ariadne trusts Veleta not to abuse the information, and you will find out next chapter why Veleta encounters no temptation to look where she shouldn't. Rather, she is telling the Lupins of the best way they can give her a message. For her to give a message to them is significantly more difficult, but Veleta will persevere. Thanks for all your input, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/19/07 8:41
Chapter: Moonbeamed Nuptials

Oh I loved this chapter! The wedding on the boat was just lovely...I adored the way Remus and Kingsley were competing with spells to make the wedding more comfortable...they may be wizards, but they're still men! ;-)
You had me laughing at Remus' "delusions of grandeur" during his second Wolfsbane transformation. 12 kids, indeed!
The best part of this chapter was where you had Remus looking at Ariadne during the wedding reception, comparing her to her friends, and realizing that he somehow made off with the best treasure of all....even if he believes himself unworthy of her. It actually made me tear up a little bit. I just love him, and I think this is the best relationship I have read in fanfic, ever. And, yay, back to the Veleta mystery! I was kind of missing it lately--wondering how she was doing. A tad creepy that she actually watches them every evening, but I guess she's so lonely and

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Thanks for such a detailed review. I'm glad to know the wedding scene worked for you - it was a challenge to make interesting an event that every reader had been expecting for about 2.5 books. And, yes, I did intend to make you fall in love with Remus-and-Ariadne as a couple. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/09/07 21:53
Chapter: Victory under Rose Moon

Wow, fast update! Love it!

Remus chasing her around all lovey-dovey was so cute. At first I thought it was going to be some side-effect from the potion, but it's even sweeter that it was just his gratitude towards Ariadne.

I liked the build-up of tension to the transformation--even knowing about Wolfsbane Potion from canon HP, I still was hoping against hope that somehow it would prevent him from changing. You did a great job describing Ariadne's nervousness and dread/excitement--the line about the strawberries tasting dry to her was a nice, believable detail.

I also enjoyed the softer, more vulnerable side to Ariadne in this chapter. After all the months of work and dedication to helping Remus w/ this potion, and then for it to seem like it didn't help at first--must have been heartbreaking....you made me feel her disappointment and devastation.

Keep up the great, insightful, original work--I'm really enjoying this story!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, I'm glad the romance pleased you, because romance is in rather short supply for much of this story! It was very gratifying that you hoped Ariadne's potion would do more than canon allows it to do ... but this story is very canon-compliant, at least up to HBP. Thank you for putting all this trouble into your review, GhV

Reviewer: Gonz
Date: 10/09/07 21:37
Chapter: Victory under Rose Moon

I have been a long time silent reader of this series and felt I should finally speak up. You are an absolutley lovely writer and you make your characters come alive. Ariadne is wonderfully thought out and I'm grewing quite attached to her I love what's she willing to do for Lupin, but I fear for her too, with Tonks and all that...

Also you are good with your inventions, be it Adraine's potions and other little things. The thought you put into your work really shows. Keep it up.

I eagery await what comes next, and I have a feeling that I'm going to greatly dislike Belby before long.

Keep writing, you really do have the gift.

Author's Response: Dear Gonz, Welcome to the club! I am so glad you have been reading. The character of Ariadne is what has to drive this story, and what happens to her makes sense if you allow for both her character and human nature. Now, what made you think of Belby? You don't meet him in person until chapter 17, but he certainly places a spanner in the works. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/05/07 1:54
Chapter: Confidence under a Crescent Moon

Eeek. Cliffie! Oh well, the chapter itself makes up for it! I really love seeing Remus and Ariadne's married life - and I love that she was screaming about the bush. Who could've seen that coming? All these little tiny hints... sheep... And Wolfsbane potion... I wonder if this will be the final version or it it won't work yet... Anyway, this was a great chapter! I love this fic, I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentina, did I never write a cliffhanger before? Never mind, you already know that Remus won't be poisoned. I imagine you did see the Wolfsbane coming really, but Remus certainly didn't. Thank you for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 10/03/07 11:12
Chapter: Confidence under a Crescent Moon

Ooh, how exciting!

I'm so glad Remus finally knows what she's been up to all along (I've had my own suspicions for quite awhile) and that he's so willing to trust her handiwork. What a selfless act on her part, and how touching to see their love for one another on display.

Great chapter, as it definitely left me wanting more.

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Thanks for reviewing, and more is on the way. I expected most readers to guess Ariadne's game in advance, but of course Remus never would. Why Ariadne was never recognised for her research will be revealed in due course. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 09/06/07 23:09
Chapter: Properties of Moondew

Poor Sarah. What horrible roommates... :D. I must say my sympathies were with Kingsley, too, not with Grace. But I like to see bits of normal angst of life like the Grace thing thrown into this fic. It's such a wonderful mix of "everyday" problems and huge mysteries. Amazing, really. :D I can't wait to find out what happens next! Update soon!

Author's Response: Dear V, Thank you so much for seeing Kingsley's point of view! Grace has a great deal of Ariadne's softness without much of her spine - they are definitely first cousins! So many young readers can't understand why Grace did anything wrong - after all, she wasn't actually sleeping with anyone. So many others do understand the moral issue but are completely unable to see Grace's point of view - were they never tempted by the desire to please several different people at once?? You'll be glad to know that Sarah will find some more agreeable flatmates soon. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 09/06/07 22:49
Chapter: Wolf Moon Revealed

Oh, I had forgotten her! Good thinking, I can't wait to see what Cassandra Vablatsky has to say! I hope they can work it out and save Veleta! And figure out all the mysteries! I love all of the suspense, though, but I can't wait for you to update again! Oh, and have I ever mentioned that I love your little ratings and comments at the beginning? Might be a random thing to love, but they're all really funny! I love this fic, update soon!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, I am glad you like the ratings, because several sites refuse to publish them - they only like the automatically-generated ones, which are often very inadequate to the real spirit of a given story. I have had no internet access for the last fortnight, but I hope to post a new chapter soon. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 09/06/07 21:33
Chapter: Properties of Moondew

Yay--an update! Your writing is so polished and professional. I so enjoy reading your work.

I wanted to smack Kenneth--never liked him. I laughed at the end--each of the flatmates' personalities on full display!

Great job as usual! I'll be looking forward to more...

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, I am so glad you don't like Kenneth, because I absolutely hate him! I have had no internet access for the last two weeks, but I hope to post an update soon. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: beautyfades
Date: 09/06/07 21:16
Chapter: Forest Honeymoon

Good start. Hannah sounds positively 'dorable and I can tell that she'll probably be brought up again since you seemed to put so much epmhasis on her.

Also, I was viewing your profile and I noticed under your description of yourself that you mentioned you were a Christian, and I just wanted to say 1. how encouraging it is to see you openly proud of that fact and displaying it, and 2. that I am a Christian as well.

Anyhoo... -cough- Back.. on.... topic.. (O.o) good start!

:D

*Beauty Fades

Author's Response: Charm Is Deceitful... Dear BF, Thanks for taking the time to review. Yes, Hannah will be back, although the publication of DH has contradicted my portrayal of her. Interestingly enough, I have never had a Harry Potter fan write me any kind of prejudiced or disparaging comment because I'm a Christian (which is obvious from my user-name anyway). But messages from fellow-Christians who are glad I've gone public are a regular event. Obviously Harry Potter is a fandom that attracts the right kind of people! Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 08/28/07 15:04
Chapter: Wolf Moon Revealed

I just wanted to let you know I've really enjoyed reading all three parts of this story...I love Remus Lupin's character and though it took me quite a while to really warm up to Ariadne (she seemed almost *too* unemotional at first), I now can say that I really admire her as well! You have a really unique writing style and your attention to detail is refreshing. Thanks for writing something so great that I know I will be diligently checking the site every day for the next chapter! Cheers.

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review. It is so flattering that you grew to like a character who didn't immediately appeal to you! As you've probably realised, Ariadne isn't really unemotional - she has just been well-trained in hiding her feelings. There is a definite nature/nurture conflict there! I hope to post a new chapter soon. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 08/14/07 14:08
Chapter: Moonraker's Justice

Cool legend! :D And a really great chapter! I wonder what's up with those biting cards... and with Veleta! I love how you have the usual problems of life - such as in-laws... ouch! - along with wonderful magical additions and lots of suspense! I love this fic and I can't wait to see where it's going! I hope they find out more soon... and I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Dear V, I did not invent the moonrakers' legend, but I definitely prefer the version in which they were cunning rather than idiotic. The biting cards contain a clue to what is happening with Veleta. And I expect I should disclaim that Remus's in-laws in no way resemble my own! Thanks for reviewing, GhV

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES