Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:40
Chapter: Properties of Moondew

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:40
Chapter: Wolf Moon Revealed

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:40
Chapter: Moonraker's Justice

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:40
Chapter: Moonlit Wanderings

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:39
Chapter: Portkey Moonshine

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:39
Chapter: Reaching for the Moon

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:39
Chapter: Dinner by Moonlight

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:39
Chapter: Once in a Blue Moon

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:39
Chapter: Forest Honeymoon

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: i love prongs
Date: 11/15/07 15:38
Chapter: Dark Side of the Moon

loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/13/07 20:18
Chapter: Dark Side of the Moon

Woah. I knew having all those werewolves they weren't so certain about in the house could come to no good... It's sort of scary how you ended this chapter with a really funny comment, right in the middle of the action, and it still worked. I'm in awe! :D Poor Ariadne and Remus - so many dangers! I can't wait to find out what happened next. Oh, and one thing, in the Humphrey scene, you say once that Balwin fell, not Humphrey. And the Ministry was infuriatingly realistic! Anyway... update soon, please! :)

Author's Response: Dear Valentina, Nice catch - I have corrected the mistake now. And now we know why most people are afraid of werewolves. The Veleta plot and the werewolf plot have now collided, and the rest of the story is mere unravelling. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 11/13/07 19:10
Chapter: Dark Side of the Moon

Oh my goodness! Wow...wow...wow. I need to calm down for a moment. That was terrifying! And may I just say: I KNEW Caleb Oldfang was bad news!! Ha ha. Seriously, that was awesomely horrible and scary and tense and oh my gosh, she came so close to being attacked! I love Remus and Wolf!Remus too! And sweet Connell, brave and right there alongside Remus. Funny about Adolphus...like, "Well, I guess I'll help out if you really need me." :-)

I need to digest this chapter for a while--it was so emotionally charged, first with Ariadne's breakdown, then her attempted oblivation by Humphrey and finally the werewolf frenzy at the end.

I find myself feeling most poignantly for Veleta right now. She's endured so much, been tortured, repressed, held captive, manipulated, and now she's been forced to betray her friends' secrets. And all the time she could escape, but not without her children. She really doesn't have an option to just leave, because a true mother would never leave her children, but it's still admirable and courageous. I feel like when this is all over, she and Ariadne can be true heart-friends, like they never really got the chance to become in school.

I found Ariadne's last thought before the werewolf pounced (I'll never become a mother) interesting. I am really hoping they can have a baby one day!

You've already proven your excellent characterization skills, along with being able to create a sustainable plot over a long long narrative, not to mention how superb your descriptions are--now I am convinced you are a true master of the action sequences! This was probably one of the best chapters in all three books.

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Watch my fangs! I am so pleased to have terrified you, because I wasn't sure whether I could write a good action scene. But, yes, the wolfsbane plot and the Veleta plot have finally collided, causing two attempts on Ariadne's life, the romance plot is almost out of the window, and Ariadne has discovered that her worst enemy may yet be her own self. I am glad you were able to distinguish the four werewolves (Remus, Caleb, Connell, Adolphus) in your mind: it makes it more plausible that Ariadne would also be able to distinguish them. Veleta already knows all about it, of course. Her story isn't a story unless we highlight the appalling length of her captivity (especially as the true story that inspired this plot strand is even worse). Thank you so much for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 11/13/07 9:56
Chapter: The Moontrimmer

Oh my gosh! What is it?!! Have her nephews and niece been taken hostage or are they being threatened by the Macnairs? Why won't she tell Remus? I hope she tells him now, she needs him!

I don't know how long I can wait for the next chapter! Please submit soon (I know you have been putting them up super lightening fast, and for that I thank you!)

I don't know if I can concentrate on anything else in this chapter, I'm so distressed for Ariadne.

Hmm....okay--Remus' new teaching school--seems pretty rough. I hope he gets to take over Mrs Sharp's job and really help these poor kids turn their lives around somewhat and actually LEARN something.

Good for Richard for trying to do something, even if it resulted in his banning. At least they found out more about the barrier and about possible clues regarding Futhark spells.

I'm so tired of the other werewolves taking the Lupins for granted. They need to realize what a burden they are and take more control over the situation--find other lodgings, for one thing! And Caleb Oldfang makes me think of Fenrir for some reason--I'm afraid he's been sent as a spy of some sort.

Well you've got me hooked even further. What a cliffhanger!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, You will find out when Remus does, and not a minute before! What's a work of fiction without a little cliffhanger now and then? But Ariadne is finally approaching her come-uppance, the kind of autognosis that no lesser person could ever comprehend. As for the rest... Richard is not the kind of person who will ever have an autognosis crisis, but you may see him again anyway. Remus cannot take over Mrs Sharp's job because he isn't yet a fully qualified teacher. However, he already has the students sitting in his palm, and she never will! Hold the thought about Caleb Oldfang, because you should never trust a Potterverse character with that kind of surname. Thank you for taking the time to review so thorougly. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 11/12/07 16:26
Chapter: Moonshiner Exposed

Arghh!! I can't stand Umbridge. I just wanted to grab her by that stupid pink bow and shake her really hard! Okay. My violent tendencies notwithstanding, you certainly did a good job of portraying her. Poor Ariadne! Poor Remus! Poor Connel!
How many other werewolves are going to hear about the discovery through Lycaoinia, or through the publication, get their hopes up, only to have them dashed? (thanks to the Toad) It just hurts the heart to think about it!

I especially liked this passage: "It seemed that none of her docile industry, none of her technically flawless work in the laboratory, none of the papers that she had drafted under his name, had pleased him as much as her defiantly independent originality." Ha! Wouldn't you just know it! And it's so funny that Ariadne, this paragon of truth and fairness ended up impressing her mentor with the ONE thing she did that was against the law? The irony, oh the irony!

I liked how during Ariadne's recitation of Veleta's plight to Glenda, you had a chance to repeat all the pertinent information--exposition that was sorely needed, to refresh the readers' minds, but done in such a way as to not seem wordy or boring.

Well, I'm assuming Ariadne and Remus are going to continue to brew the potion in secret, because they won't be able to turn away those who need help. But it will become a huge conflict, both finanically and morally.

And now we've got Glenda putting herself and others in danger by publishing the story of Veleta's imprisonment--wow, there's so much going on right now! I can't wait for more...guess I don't have to, since the next chapter is up too! Thanks for such a complex, well-written tale--I'm thoroughly enjoying it.

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, Join the club! I can't stand Umbridge either so I make her do horrible things in this story. And I'd like to undo that pink bow and make her walk down the street with it all trailing over her face. Professor Jigger only cares about advancing science and making money; his concerns about the Wolfsbane Potion not that Ariadne broke the law, but the fear that she (and he) might get caught. So Jigger is fine. It's Ariadne who is rapidly approaching crisis, because she isn't as morally superior as she subconsciously believes, and she will finally have to face up to her own flaws. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Prisca McKnott
Date: 11/11/07 19:44
Chapter: The Moontrimmer

At last! Ariadne's refusal to speak about being bannished from her nephews (or whatever else it is) was really starting to distress me, I'm not used not to share her point of view for such a long time. I don't get why did she restrain herself from telling her husband about Glenda'interview, since, unlike her family quarrels, it shouldn't have bothered him: I don't even understand whether Glenda is just plain silly or somehow deceptive towards Ariadne as well.
I'm also surprised that, after the apparently very effective Grace lesson, she could behave this way, but I guess it also makes sense with her personality. I'm feeling sad for your charachters right now - for Ariadne in particular, because she probably is on the verge of realizing how trust-shaking her behaviour towards Remus has been - let alone how akin to his behaviour towards her before they got engaged: I can't recall any other imagine of her feeling overwelmingly sad because of a "guilty coscience", i'm even curious to see how you'll handle it. I miss identification with Ariadne, althought I'm certain that with so few chapters to the end left, we'll get it back quite soon.
A plot spread over four books requires a lot of patience: I'm again left to wonder how Hannah Abbott will contribute to the main plot. Do you have direct experience of teaching primary school children? Mrs Reed's class just felt so real (I would call it a microcosmus, but I don't really trust my English here...), that I came to wonder whether it will appear again.
And i'm also glad to see that ancient languages (or runes) are back again: I was enchanted to see that Ariadne loved them at first; having her and Remus reading - however innocently- ancient texts together had an endearing Abelard-Eloise or Paolo -Francesca feeling about it, but now I'm also glad to learn that high-school literary studies are not doomed to unusefulness for what's left of each pupil's life... sorry, other reviewers are right, reading late at night make me write stupid things.
The very last one: how did you choose Ariadne's name?
Chapters 17 and 18 are awesome, and it was delightful to find updates so quickly!

Author's Response: Dear Prisca, Thank you for such a long and detailed review. It is an awesome assessment from someone who is not a native speaker of English, and I am so pleased to have manipulated your emotions like this! Ariadne's failure to tell Remus about Glenda's interview was simple embarrassment - she is not at all easy in her conscience. As you have noticed yourself, Ariadne is not good at facing up to her own flaws, and this is the first time she has had to live with a screaming conscience. (In theological terms, Remus is an Arian and Ariadne is an Antinomian. So far, they have each made the diametrically opposite error in missing the way of salvation.) However, I have been deliberately withholding Ariadne's point of view so that you DON'T know about her OTHER distress and why she feels she can't tell Remus about it. She didn't learn much from the episode with Grace - perhaps you would have learned something from the same situation, but the moral of the story passed right over Ariadne's head. I am intrigued that you made the Abelard/Heloise connection, because I was thinking about it when I wrote CotN. The Runes will play a prominent part in the plot of the sequel. Hannah Abbott is not a major player in this story, but she will keep recurring in the background. No, I haven't taught primary school (I'm a sixth form teacher) but I do have vivid memories from my own primary school days. There were girls a little like Jacqueline or Hannah, and I myself was a bit of each. When Ariadne first walked into my head, she was a "light-bearer" who was obviously going to show the way through a complex labyrinth; I knew her name almost at once. I did toy with other names (I would have preferred something Celtic) but in the end I always came back to "Ariadne". Thanks for all your input, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/11/07 18:27
Chapter: The Moontrimmer

Woah. I hope there's a way to make that better, though it seems pretty bad. What a cliffhanger! Update soon! This chapter was great, as usual! The visit with Ariadne's parents was... very Ariadne's parents, but it was good to see an ordinary problem like in-laws again. Same for Remus's school life. He's such a great teacher, but a bit of a bad Muggle! :D The Veleta situation is just getting worse and worse, of course. I hope they can help her! Update soon, the suspense is killing me!

Author's Response: Dear V, Well spotted - Remus, Ariadne and Veleta are now backed into a corner from which they cannot extricate themselves. It will take a deus ex machina to sort this out (hint, hint) and I hope I have planted my gods successfully. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/11/07 17:55
Chapter: Moonshiner Exposed

Gah. Umbridge is just the right person to ruin EVERYTHING! But we all know how Wolfsbane potion ends, so I'm still hoping! It's great how you integrate so many canon characters into your fic, by the way, without making them seem clich! This chapter was great - I hope Glenda ends up being a help and not hurting Veleta more! And I can't wait to find out more about that situation in general! :D I'll go read the next chapter now, and then update soon! :)

Author's Response: Dear V, I HATE Professor Umbridge. In fact, the teachers at my school hate her particularly because she represents the dreaded OFSTED inspector. So you shouldn't be surprised to see her wrecking everything. More about Glenda Chittock is to follow. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/11/07 17:34
Chapter: Sheltering the Moon-Children

He's so sweet! I love Ariadne/Remus! I don't think I'll be able to ever read HBP or DH again without cursing Tonks... *sigh*. Ah well, in any case, this fic is really great! I hate to see them worrying so much about money, but concerns like that are definitely a big part of what makes them so real and lovable! The scene with the werewolves and the teachers was hilarious and nerve-wracking all at once. I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, I wouldn't worry about Tonks. She doesn't cramp Ariadne's style in the least little bit! This story is HBP-compatible, although DH has given a few little kinks that I might one day try to iron out. Thank you for laughing at the werewolf party. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 11/11/07 17:10
Chapter: Mooning after Dreams

Yay! I was offline for a while and lo and behold, four chapters! :D Anyway... I really enjoyed this chapter! Poor Hannah, I hope Remus sees her more and is able to help out some! Also, it's really heartwarming to see someone as kind as Ariadne, but who also seems so very real. I love her reverting to her dialect/accent! Also, the ending of this chapter was really funny! Your humor really adds to the fic! I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, I am posting as fast as the mods can approve! Hannah will make several cameo appearances from now on and I will highlight the happy ending to her story (even though the reader already knows it). But the real focus is on Ariadne, who is shortly to learn that kindness alone - or even kindness with truthfulness and courage - is not enough. Thanks for keeping up the reading, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 11/09/07 10:34
Chapter: Sheltering the Moon-Children

I loved the last paragraph. I had been feeling so strongly for Remus, and his sense of loneliness, longing to be closer to Ariadne...and then you hit me with that last little part and I actually teared up a bit.

I won't deny that I'm still worried about Ariadne and her private dilemma, but to have Remus come to the revelation that marriage changes a bit over time--that you can't always have the "perpetual honeymoon"--really made this chapter such a lovely one.

Other things--the Muggles vs. Magical folk--loved all the descriptions. It's great that you can take all these different characters (all the Muggle werewolves, plus Lycaonia, Mrs.Reed, the schoolchildren, all of Remus and Ariadne's friends) and give each and every one of them their own distinct personality. I really like Connel's sweet innocent enthusiasm and Lycaonia's oblivious nonchalance.

I was torn between being horrified and laughing at Hannah's (unintentional?) violence towards Jacqueline. Such feeling! Poor Remus, he's still learning how to teach, and on top of that he has to deal with this magical feud between little girls!

This chapter was a good improvement for me over the last one. It had humor, emotion, drama--everything. I just want there to be more joy, for Remus and Ariadne. I know there is still some in store for them...but I want to see Remus laughing and smiling again soon. (by the way, great idea for finding the lumber he needed!)

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, I am so pleased to have moved you. Marriage is rarely a perpetual honeymoon, but Ariadne is making a fundamental mistake here. Needless to say, she is motivated by love, but she is definitely not taking the way of wisdom. I had great fun with the character portrayals, which are such a strong point of JKR's own writing and which I can only hope to imitate. The Hannah/Jacqueline feud is baed on memories of my own schooldays, although neither is a direct portrait of a real person. Remus will laugh again, but not for several chapters. Thank you for such a detailed review, GhV

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES