Reviewer: mynameismary
Date: 08/23/08 16:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hilaroius!

Reviewer: tomsgal
Date: 02/09/08 15:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a great idea!! I can't wait to read more!!

Reviewer: sorcerorstone111
Date: 07/24/07 13:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi! I loved this story! I like how you put Draco in Gryffindor. He seemed nice rather than mean like he is in the books. Anyway it was very good!

-sorcerorstone111

Author's Response: Twice the love! Awesome!

Reviewer: sorcerorstone111
Date: 07/24/07 13:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi! I loved this story! I like how you put Draco in Gryffindor. He seemed nice rather than mean like he is in the books. Anyway it was very good!

Author's Response: Hi Jackson! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my story! I'm glad that you thought Draco was a bit nicer. I tried to balance his nice side with his snarky, sarcastic side. Keep that Draco edge. I really appreciate you for taking the time to leave such great comments, and I apologize for how long it took me to respond - everytime I tried to leave a review I got AK'd out of the system. Thank you again! ~Andrea

Reviewer: GryffindorGoddess
Date: 07/06/07 14:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

Andrea, that was such a cool story! Bahahaha I laghed the whole way through! (in the funny parts, that is ;) I can totally see Hermione throwing toast. It was magnificent. I really like how you showed Draco's relationship with his parents and how they each felt about each other. The thing about Draco's Army was brilliant, too! Aww, brave little Draco. :D Fab job, dear! You really do belong in Ravenclaw!

*huggles* /Ashley

Author's Response: Hi Ashley!!! *squishes* Thank you so much for reading my story!! I'm glad you clarified about laughing all the way through it - I got worried there for a second! *giggles* Whew! I'm so glad you could Hermione throwing toast - she really wanted to do that, so I let her. I thought it was a good move on her part. *snickers* I appreciate your words about Draco's bravery, too. *sighs happily* *pets brave Draco* Thank you for leaving such a sweet review - you have totally and completely made my day! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 07/02/07 11:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

Not bad, Draco is a terrible liar though.

Author's Response: two reviews for the price of one - can't beat that! Woot!

Reviewer: DracosBaby_232
Date: 07/02/07 11:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

Not bad, Draco is a terrible liar though.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading and reviewing my story. Draco isn't all that as a liar, is he? Now that you mention it, I don't ever remember Draco lying in the books. Wow, that's interesting; I never thought of that. I guess that's why he's not a good liar! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: Vorona
Date: 06/26/07 21:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was a great story! It really does make sense how Draco ends up in Gryffindor and what effect that has on the D. A. As for Fawkes... I don't really think it was our idea... it's stated quite plainly in the books. (CoS -- no idea what page, need to get another copy since mine is lent to someone, I'm probably not going to get it back, but Dumbledore says something like "Only true loyalty could have brought Fawkes to you.")

Author's Response: Hey Vorona! Thank you so much for your reassuring words - I really appreciate them because it's so difficult when writing Draco through such unfamiliar territory to him as Gryffindor is. And yes, I credited you and Gina, though, because of the idea that part of the reason Dumbledore implicitly trusted Snape - or in this case,Draco - was because of Fawkes' ability to recognize loyalty came from you two. I thought it was an important way to reinforce that Draco was absolutely sorted into the correct House. Thanks again for reading and reviewing my story! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: Lily_rocks
Date: 06/19/07 21:27
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really liked how you kept Draco's character yet put him in Gryffindor. It was very well written. I enjoyed reading your story. I really liked the last part ' “I am very proud, Draco,” Dumbledore said quietly, “you have shown daring bravery and unsurpassed loyalty tonight. You have truly lived up to the name of Gryffindor.” ' I also like how you said that Draco's mom still loved her son no matter where he was put. It was also very good the part where you had Draco and Harry as friends. One question. Would Hermione also be their friend? If so, then why would Draco call Hermione, Granger?Great story. Let me save it to favorites when I'm done.
~Lily~

Author's Response: Lily, Thank you so much for your sweet words! *hugs* I love that you read this story and liked it - that line of Dumbledore's is my favorite, so I'm thrilled that you mentioned it. You ask a very good question about Hermione and Draco. They are friends but I see them as in a "fight like brother and sister" kind of stage right now. Yes, they are friends, but they also enjoy needling each other now and again. Draco calls her "Granger" because he still has a bit of that superiority complex in him. This particular habit of his may change later on down the road, though. *cough* ;-) I apologize for how long it took me to respond - I'm having on-again, off-again internet issues. But please know how excited I was to log in and see I had a new review! Thank you so much! ~Andrea

Reviewer: Wishingyouwerehere
Date: 06/10/07 22:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

cute, does Ron become Draco?

Author's Response: Hi! Well, yes and no. Yes, Draco takes Ron's place in the Gryffindor Trio. But, Ron is still at Hogwarts - just not in Gryffindor. He'll appear from time to time, no worries! :-) Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 06/09/07 0:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great story, but I have one question...what happened to Ron? O.o

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my story - that really means alot to me! You ask a great question. When Draco was Sorted into Gryffindor, I focused completely on him and his interaction with Harry and Hermione. Ron was Sorted into a different House. I'm turning this into a chaptered fic, so I'll be able to tell more about Ron. Stay tuned! :-) *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: laceymoibella
Date: 06/07/07 13:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

Andrea, your story was simply wonderful! I loved how you switched Draco and Ron. The spin you put on Draco by having him sorted into Gryfiindor, was amazing. You kept him true to his normal nature yet you managed to show us how there could be a different side to him as well. I thought you portrayed the characters very well.
*huggles & squishes*
Lacey


Author's Response: *squishes Lacey* Thank you so much for your encouraging comments - and it means everything to hear good things about Draco from you ~ my fellow Dramione fan! I really appreciate you for reading my story and leaving such a sweet review! *huggles* Andrea

Reviewer: the nutty imp
Date: 06/03/07 20:50
Chapter: Chapter 1

Draco's arrogance is funny and fitting, its entirely what endeared him to me in the series. I also liked the fact that you stated that Narcissa still hasn't turned on Draco. She seems to be the type of doting mum that won't turn her back on her son regardless of the situation. Although its strange that Draco is not worried for her, if Lucius and Voldemort had it in for him - wouldn't they also target the mum who's taking his side?


What I feel is missing is the reason as to why he's Sorted into Gryffindor. The HP series never showed Draco to be particularly courageous - the end of your story showed his courage and loyalty but that is a culmination of his friendship with Harry. What I mean is what trait did he posses early on (maybe show a hint of his courage or rebelious streak early on and have it develop to what we see at the end of the story.)


Being sorted into Gryffindor had me asking: "What? How?" - it's too abrupt and gave no reason for him being there ... maybe have Draco show some Gryffindor trait in the train ride or have a silent dialouge with the hat to hint that the hat sees something in him that's fitting for Gryffindor.


Good Luck for the challenge!

Author's Response: Hey nutty imp! Thank you so much for reading my story and I really appreciate your comments! You raise a good point about Narcissa. I beleive Lucius would try to erase his first mistake and make sure to get it right with the next child. Lucius needs his pure blooded wife to bear his next pure-blooded son. I had these thoughts when I was envisioning a chaptered fic, then realized it was a one-shot challenge. *sigh* Well, I tried on the train to give a glimpse into a Draco that unexpectedly finding himself sharing his innermost secret with a stranger. Someone raised by Muggles, at that! The Draco in the compartment with Harry is surprisingly compassionate to Harry's situation and agress that while money and status and mansions are very important to him, they're nothing compared to having his parents. He would rather lose everyting else than lose his parents. So the Sorting Hat would see the courage it took in admitting that, the loyalty to his parents, and a desire to further himself, but not necessarily at another's expense. So while Draco still has the Slytherin tendencies towards pure-blood superiority and rudeness, it didn't outweigh the Gryffindor qualities in him. Another reviewer had also suggested that I draw out the Sorting Scene and maybe use the hat debating where to put Draco, then turn around and do the same with Harry and my only excuse is that I didn't think of it talking with Draco, and in every HP book is some sort of reference to the what the sorting hat said to Harry - I just felt the reader was well aware of the Sorting process by now and I just skipped to the end. Looking back, I see the story could've benefitted from a lengthier scene and all I can say is this story is creaming out for a sequel with some reflecting on the past by Draco so I can really do his sorting justice. :-) Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your thoughts with me. Believe me, I appreciate it! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: Luna_Lovegood11
Date: 06/03/07 13:41
Chapter: Chapter 1

That wasn't very good
You need to add more to it

Author's Response: I am willing to entertain any suggestions ~ exactly what wasn't very good and what do you think needs to be added to it? I do appreciate you taking the time to read it and I don't expect everyone to like it. However, I would have appreciated either "constructive* criticism or - failing that - no review at all. Thank you. ~Andrea

Reviewer: DogLover4Life
Date: 06/03/07 12:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, Andrea. This is just wow. *dies* I totally need to favourite this as soon as I finish my review. Wow. *squishes* I loved it!

I loved the way you made Draco a Gryffindor, but you still kept this personality. It’s the weirdest thing! Draco is still snarky and sarcastic, but with little gestures, and changing the emphasis on his words, you’ve made him have a caring undertone. It’s amazing!

You got a lot of compliments on your interaction between Draco and Hermione, and I loved that too. Teehee. Anyway, I was going to say that I also loved the interactions you had between Harry and Draco. We know that Draco and Harry have the potential to loathe each other, and in this story we just see boyhood best friends.


Oh, I just love this story. Let me see if my nitpicky self can find anything. *rolls eyes* *giggles*

‘He didn’t catch sight of Draco again until he ran forward to sit on the stool, waiting on the Sorting Hat to announce his House.

“GRYFFINDOR!”

The next morning Draco received a smoking red envelope called a Howler.’

I would have changed a few things here. I think that it would be a better transition if you had Harry getting off the stool to sit with Draco at the Gryffindor table, that way you can let us know that Draco was sorted into Gryffindor without us seeing it happen. Maybe you could change it to something like, ‘ He didn’t catch sight of Draco again until he ran forward to sit next to him at his new house table.

The Sorting Hat had shouted, ‘GRYFFINDOR’ for the both of them.

The next morning Draco received a smoking red envelope, a Howler.’

After this, and I know you were on a deadline, but I think it would have been nice if you had touched upon the subject of Harry almost being put into Slytherin. The sorting hat probably had the same dilemma with Draco, so it probably would have been a great connection for the two. If you added in a conversation between Harry and Draco, after the sorting, you could have Draco go and say how he remembered what Hermione had said on the train about bad wizards being in Slytherin, and how he has always felt a little disconnected from his family. Then you could have Harry say how the sorting hat had a hard choice with him too, and he just kept thinking about how his only friend was sitting at a table, and he wanted to be with him.


Oh, and you say that it is five years later, but five years after first year is sixth year, and don’t you mean for this to be fifth year? I think you meant to say four years later.


Also, if I were you, I think I would have added that Harry had seen Ron go into a compartment with his brother’s, or something. I understand that you haven’t mentioned Ron because in this story he is not a main character, but you did not write this in first person, so it would make sense just for you to mention Ron’s whereabouts.


Again, Andrea, I absolutely loved this story. The way Draco interacted with others just flowed so nicely. I adored his cheekiness, and the ending, as your other reviews have said, just struck a warm note into my heart. *dies* And then there was the humour bits! I loved the humour. It changed this story from being completely heart-warming, to a fun read, and … Yay!

I’m so happy you got this done, and I hope you win. *hugs*


Author's Response: Elle~ Thank you so much for your incredible review! *squishes* I am thrilled that so many like cheeky Gryffie Draco, because it was extremely fun to write. I love the suggestions about the subtle let-the-reader-figure-it-out about Draco being sorted into Gryffindor; I do think that's a nice, subtle touch. Also, I really wish I had thought of doing a bit addressing the Sorting Hat's indecision about where Harry would best fit, then use that to create another bond between Draco and Harry. Excellent idea - if I continue on with this story, I'll put it in. Now, please *begs* tell me I did my math right! *facepalm* I kept thinking it's fifth year, so I said five years later. *sighs* As to Rupert - I mean, Ron - *giggles* (Don't think I don't know why you really want Ron in this story!) I, er, replaced Ron with Draco. I just started from where Ron goes to sit with Harry in the compartment, although you're right - Harry had run through the barrier with Ron and the Weasley twins helped him with his trunk before they went back to the platform and said goodbye to Mrs.Weasley. *cough* No slight to Ron intended. I just jumped right in with Draco. You are wonderful to leave me so many great suggestions - and for reading/favouriing my story! You're just so sweet! *cries* *huggles* Thank you, thank you! ~Andrea

Reviewer: Sarakime
Date: 06/03/07 12:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow! Yet another fantastic story you've written. You make it very believable. I *love* the friendship that Harry and Draco have, and I love the flirty thing going on between Draco and Hermione. I only wish it could've been more! Any thoughts on writing a sequal, dealing, perhaps, with Draco and Hermione? Hmm? =] I understand that this is for the challenge, though. So, alright, but maybe in the future?

Anyways, great story, lovely scenes to put in there. I like Dumbledore's line at the end; it made me think if Draco really could be a Gryffindor. Oh, and I love how you kept him in character even though he was in Gryffindor. =] Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you, Sarah! Your words mean so much to me because I know we're both intense Draco/Hermione fans ~ and because I've been nothing but impressed and inspired by your own portrayal of Draco. It was important to me to keep him IC even though he's a Gryffie. And yes, I would love to get the two of them together in the future. :-) I really appreciate your sweet review! You've made my day! *hugs* ~Andrea

Reviewer: Snapes_secret
Date: 06/03/07 9:58
Chapter: Chapter 1

The interaction between Draco and Hermione is outstanding. Both are true to their natures, yet I could easily see how sparks could fly another way.

Lovely story!

Author's Response: Thank you, almighty Sandy ~ I certainly couldn't have done it without you. I appreciate you being there for me when I ran to you in panic mode. Your suggestions, comments and advice were honestly and thoughtfully given and it made all the difference. And, oh yes, I can easily see those sparks flying another way, too! ;-) ~Andrea

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/03/07 9:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Andrea!
Nice job with your entry for the One-Shot Challenge! You did a great job Sorting Draco into Gryffindor. It was very believable, and yet you kept Draco's snarky character and the tense interaction between him and Hermione (for a moment I thought this might become a Dramione piece! ;)) The set up at the beginning was well-done, and the end with Fawkes was great! Good luck in the challenge!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Gina~ Thank you so much for your lovely comments! No, no Dramione this time, unfortunately, but I enjoyed the interaction between Draco and Hermione, regardless. :-) I'm glad you liked the end with Fawkes. I thought of you when I wrote it, so I'm glad you were my first reader and reviewer! It makes it even more special! *hugs* ~Andrea

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES