Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/11/12 21:08
Chapter: Advice from a Hat

I like reading sorting ceremonies and this one was really good!!!(:

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/10/12 19:20
Chapter: On the Hogwarts Express

Nice chapter!(:

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/10/12 5:20
Chapter: The Alley of Surprises

I really liked this chapter because it was so different than the actual first book! For example, the scene with Professor Quirell. Though he said the same things to Harry, it was still different. Then his Gran took him away so quickly so it was never the same like the books which is good. Then, you had Hagrid which you portrayed beautifully! His speech and all! Then there's the scene with Malfoy, just bloody brilliant! I can't wait to read more when I get the chance!(:

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/10/12 5:00
Chapter: Past Scars

I liked that chapter too and I find myself reading very fast which means this is an interesting read! One question, does that mean Harry's parents were the ones tortured to insanity? If it's explained later, don't answer my question, haha.(;

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/10/12 4:45
Chapter: The House on Preston Road

Wow, that was short! I guess I was reading too fast, haha! I don't mean this in any bad way, but what is it with the British and their writing skills?! You did say you were a Brit, right? J.K. Rowling came up with fabulous world and you could be related to her for all I know! I think I read a review in your other story about Dumbledore and Grindlewald, that you were something like J.K. Rowling herself, whatever the compliment was, I agree I every aspect!!! I like your writing skill, keep it up! I expect an actual book from you some day!(:

Reviewer: castrolovee
Date: 04/26/12 16:09
Chapter: The Face of the Enemy

I highly enjoyed this story! I like fanfic's that touch on the "what if.."
I will continue onto chamber of secrets ;) you really are a great writer and make things work and make sense from the canon.

Reviewer: haaaaayyleeeeeyy
Date: 03/27/11 0:50
Chapter: The Face of the Enemy

great book. Loved harry's rather different but still similar charcter

Reviewer: haaaaayyleeeeeyy
Date: 03/26/11 23:32
Chapter: Advice from a Hat

omgosh i

Reviewer: SaboteurVictory
Date: 03/22/11 16:24
Chapter: Learning Curve

I'm really excited that you're writing this. I just had a little epiphany, though: If Neville was the one Voldemort chose, then Snape would (under the circumstances presented in JKR's books) never have turned to Dumbledore's side. Snape was in love with Harry's mother, and left the Death Eaters in an effort to save her life. If her life was never threatened by Voldemort, Snape would have no reason to be Dumbledore's man. However, it could be that his love for Lily could change his mind anyway. Great story!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/11/10 14:22
Chapter: A Dragon and Detention

Leave it to Malfoy to tell Neville not to run and then to run off himself. Hopefully Harry will be a good and close friend. You're coming to the end of this book. I can't wait to see how you wrap things up. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I really hate Draco, he's such a hypocrite and a coward. This is the first chance Neville gets to see the real Harry. I wanted to build Harry into the story slowly rather than just throwing him in as Neville's friend straight away. The next chapter's a really important one for starting their friendship.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/09/10 14:01
Chapter: Malfoy's Malice

Who knows why I thought Hermione was out of it last chapter. I was probably tired myself and projecting:D I can imagine that an immortal Snape is a bit much to imagine. My heart just broke thinking of poor Neville dragging himself along after being jinxed by Draco. I was wondering if you've ever read "Bare Bottom Longbottom" by Lee Smiley on this site. It won a Quicksilver last fall and is extremely funny and well written. I thought you might be interested because you like writing about Neville. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I think an immortal Snape would scare us all! Thanks for the recommendation; I'll check it out when I get the chance.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/06/10 18:25
Chapter: Reflections

I can't believe it's been a week since I've read this story. Time flies by too fast for comfort it seems. I don't know why but it was funny to me that Draco told Neville that he was the boy who lived because he ran away. To me, the important thing is that he lived--who cares why. I was wondering what was going on with Hermione. She seemed a little out of it. I just watched "Order of the Phoenix" for the 99th time this afternoon. It was good to see Neville growing into his talents. I think he grew up to be fairly powerful. What was it you said--he did the most with what he had. Remember he's the one who killed Nagini. He stood side by side with Harry in the Final Battle. I think he turned out just great. Great chapter. (I guess I didn't have to convince you that he's great.)

Author's Response: Ah, Draco's comment may not matter much to you or me, but it matters to Neville. Neville genuinely considers himself to be a coward and Draco taunts him with it at every opportunity. One of the key parts of the series is Neville slowly getting over the ridiculously low opinion of himself he has (and the various knocks his confidence takes along the way). He's far better than he thinks he is (something Hermione mentions in chapter 12 of this fic). All he really needed was confidence in order to become the hero he was in DH, the rest was there already. About Hermione in this chapter, I'm not sure why you got that impression, I'd have to reread it to see if I messed up somewhere.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/27/10 21:10
Chapter: The Seeker and the Secret

Poor Neville--being hexed from behind. That's mean. You'd think the DADA teacher would be of a little more use:D Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ah, but who is the DADA teacher, and who did the hexing from behind? Important questions to consider.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/26/10 11:45
Chapter: The Third Floor Corridor

Poor Neville--it sounds like he's going to be spending a lot of time in the hospital wing. I never did get the point of a remembrall. What good is it if it just tells you that you forgot something but not what you forgot--or am I misunderstanding? Great chapter.

Author's Response: I've lost count of the number of times Neville's ended up in the hospital wing so far! The Remembrall is a bit odd, I agree, but I've used it a lot in the series. It's got great symbolic value at times when Neville desperately wants to remember (or forget) something, and it eventually will become important for plot reasons in chapters yet to be written!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/23/10 20:50
Chapter: Learning Curve

I can really sense Neville's frustration. Wow--if McGonagall's more intimidating than Gran she must be really scary:D It's so weird to not see Harry as the center of attention. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Writing Harry in this series is so much fun, because I can just let him be Harry, unencumbered by all the Boy-Who-Lived baggage, which Neville has to deal with. He's still a big character in the series, as you'll see.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/23/10 11:36
Chapter: Advice from a Hat

I think what impressed me the most and has impressed me so far has been that Neville is so humble. I liked that the Hat told him it's important to be brave with the everyday things and not just with the bigger things. I think that will be Neville's claim to fame. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Humility comes to Neville naturally - he has such a ridiculously low opinion of himself that it's almost second nature. Neville over the series hasn't always followed the Hat's advice, but I think he will by the end.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/22/10 15:38
Chapter: On the Hogwarts Express

I hope Trevor actually makes it to Hogwarts castle. I think if I were Neville I would've wanted another pet, even though I had Trevor. Hermione is so nice to Neville already. This is going to be so odd reading about Neville as the Boy Who Lived. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Trevor's still going strong in the story as of Book 5. I'm still writing about him! He's really attached to that toad, even if it is an odd pet. I decided Neville needed a best friend from the outset, so I picked Hermione. The pair of them together make an interesting contrast, I think.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/22/10 14:32
Chapter: The Alley of Surprises

Are you going to put poor Neville in Hufflepuff:D How cool that he's run into Hagrid. How unfortunate that Gran warned Neville to stay away from Hagrid. Gran's almost as forbidding as Uncle Vernon. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Did I really write Gran as warning Neville off Hagrid? That doesn't seem right, but it's ages since I read back this chapter! Gran is forbidding, yes, but she's no Vernon; she really does care about Neville as other appearances by her through the series will show.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/22/10 11:46
Chapter: Past Scars

In many ways it's too bad that Neville didn't get out much or meet many people. I was most impressed with Dumbledore's answer to Neville's question as to how he could've done any damage to Voldemort if his magic is so poor--that it's not the level of one's abilities but how they use them. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I needed Neville to be an outsider from the start because it fitted best with his character. The line about abilities I think is very Dumbledoreish, and could be said to some up the series. Neville never becomes a powerful wizard, but he does in the end use what he has in the right way.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/22/10 11:36
Chapter: The House on Preston Road

Very good start. One can't help but make comparisons to Harry. Interesting that Neville was raised by a witch. Of course, we all know the stories of how Neville wasn't thought to be very powerful if indeed he was a wizard at all. I can't wait to see where this goes. I know you're working on book 5 right now but I wanted to go to the beginning. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Making comparisons to Harry is really what the whole series is about! Neville as a pure-blood raised knowing full well about the wizarding world is obviously one big contrast to start with. I hope you last all the way through to book 5, I'd be interested to know what you think!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES