Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/21/09 21:56
Chapter: Family

Aww, I'm so glad they got married. Usually I don't like it when a story ends, but this one was so sweet that I love the ending. The thought of Phineas' portrait going to spend time with Felicity's was so charming. This was terribly romantic and it was made even more so because of the time period in which it took place. So, if your name is Sirius does that mean you're destined to be naughty? Well, Jesse and I bought a new television on Sunday and he set it up this afternoon. After a trip to the store for additional snacks we watched the 2nd movie. We're sure not moving at a marathon rate. It's a real treat to have a new television. I guess it can be a combination Christmas/birthday present to myself. This was a wonderful story. I'm thinking of starting the longer Ginny/Draco one as a Christmas treat:D

Author's Response:

I'm so happy you liked the ending! Yes, if your named Sirius you're blessed with naughtiness by a leather clad biker fairy at birth. :D

Huzzah for you buying the TV! Forget combination presents, it's a Christmas gift to you and all those who watch movies on it with you! Birthdays should be totally separate, maybe something personal, a treat for no one else to share. You deserve it for treating others to wonderful reviews (and additional snacks ^_~).

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/20/09 19:43
Chapter: Felicity

Felicity seems to have been a bit obsessed with Phineas--all of the paintings she seemed to have of him. I loved the description of lunch. I must be hungry:) It must have been interesting to be a magical artist. I wish I had a better understanding of how the portraits communicate. What spells are worked into the paintings so that they seem to be able to see the living and talk to them. Avatar was very good. It was analogous to Native history. I was able to identify with the Native population--I've heard the arguments and thought the thoughts that came from the indigenous people. I knew that it was supposed to be shown in 3D but we weren't offered any glasses or anything--wouldn't we have needed those? I already wear glasses so wearing two pairs seems kind of silly and I was already worried about getting motion sick (which didn't happen) so as weird as it may sound, I didn't want to "see" too much. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

When she was at Hogwarts, Felicity definitely was a bit obsessed the way many girls *cough*Bella you-know-who*cough*cough* are about a guy that attracts them on multiple levels. :D She never expected anything to come of it, went on with her life, found fulfillment in her art, and then fate brought them together again.

They make those glasses big enough to wear over aviator goggles, heh, so you wouldn't have looked silly, but I can understand you being glad to enjoy a film without motion sickness! 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/19/09 21:20
Chapter: Phineas

Phineas seemed very Slytherin-like. I'm forgetting how he's related to Sirius. Is he some sort of distant uncle? I was just thinking, is this one of the various portraits he seemed to travel between? And didn't Hermione pack one of his portraits when they were looking for horcruxes? I sure am tired tonight--and I wanted to stay up and watch Saturday Night Live. I'll see how long I can last. Tomorrow, Jess and I go to see Avatar and do some Christmas shopping. I might buy a new television. Mine has a very dark picture which may be a side effect of its advanced age. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I have the family tree in a folder somewhere, but I can't remember off the top of my head. He's related, and stole scenes in the books, which made me want to write him a story where he took center stage. :D

A friend said he saw Avatar and didn't realize until after he'd left the theater that he could've seen it in 3D. Poor guy! Tell me how you like it, and oh my heck, yes, you need a new tv even if you only watch a few shows or films on it. To risk sounding like a Loreal commercial, you're worth it! 

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 09/04/09 22:25
Chapter: Family

*giggles* I can simply imagine how much fun it'd be for Phineas Nigellus to write his own son's acceptance. I half-expected him to write "Sincerely, Daddy" but this just as good, if not a little better because of the little inside joke. The Sincerely, Daddy would've made my day too, though, y'know. What an amazing story this was! Although short, you captured everything amazingly well, perhaps because all the chapters were so very long. I don't think I minded. :P Also, GIGGLE to Sirius's reaction to being "accepted," and giggle to Felicity's charm, and I just loved everything! Just so Phineas Nigellus's information, telling a child to stop crying does absolutely nothing except to make them sob harder, in private, but his reaction to being woken that way was hilarious. Aunt Pester had an amusing visit, but not so short my ears starting bleeding and my eyes got rolling and I fell asleep in my chair. Short, fabulous and humorous; just the way I like it! Proposal, proposal, proposal! I love a good damn proposal! Oh yeah, how come your characters never have the down-on-one-knee proposal? Why do none of them even get a ring? XD Oh well. This is just swell, too. Everyone's happy--so I'm happy! Beautiful, beautiful. Simply beautiful. Is Cygnus Felicity's? That's so sweet! I love their family. I don't fancy his beard, but I love the family anyways. I don't fancy Phineas Nigellus, but I love this family. i can't say it enough! FantABULOUS storyline! I loved it--absolutely, positively adored it!

Author's Response:

Victorian fathers didn't have fabulous parenting skills, did they? :D Phineas had a lot to learn!

A down on one knee proposal is traditional (and can read a bit corny). Some of the proposals are spontaneous, so there's no formal bend of the knee, and the ring comes after. 

Yes, Cygnus is Felicity's child...although the Blacks claim otherwise. ;)

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 09/04/09 21:55
Chapter: Felicity

ahahahah I absolutely ADORE the nude sketch bit. Not because I withhold even the glimmer of a fetish for Phineas Nigellus (I have a strange feeling that not even YOU, you who has turned my head many a-times, can get me even sparing him an accepting glance, much less wanting to kiss him all over. And if you did, that would be quite an accomplishment. More an accomplishment than ever before, and such a good one, too) but just because it was pretty hilarious, and quite a good scene. Sometimes I think your fanfics should be incorporated into the movies and books XD Yes! They finally kissed! This is amazing :P Personally, I don't much fancy facial hair (but don't tell Daddy :D) but whatever floats Felicity's boat I suppose is -decent- enough for me. Awesome chapter! I love how everyone is named after everyone else--Sirius for Sirius, but also the more subtle Artie in exchange for Regulus Arcturus. How...delightful. I hope my name's borrowed, though I might then have to start calling my son/daughter that did it a Black, and give them a first name to match. I anxiously await the finale, and hope to hear more of this red-haired stranger...

Author's Response:

What? You don't think Phineas Nigellus is sexy? :D That's okay, he doesn't mind as long as Felicity does. ^_~

I took the children's names off the Black family tree, so I can imagine Walburga gazing at the tapestry, figuring out who to name her children after. 

Your future kids wouldn't thank you for giving them names like Sirius and Nymphadora, although it would be a conversation starter at school! 

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 08/29/09 11:08
Chapter: Phineas

Oh Phineas. You're kind of a creeper. :P

I like how you like teacher-student relationships, but limit them to non-weirdness, like Hermione/Snape when Hermione's just fourteen and Snape's thirty-whatever. How you waited till after Felicity was out of school, how Phineas was proper and cool enough not to allow himself to indicate interest or even acknowledge more than teacherly feeling until she had come of age and left school. All very well.

Author's Response:

No SS/HG for me. EVER! I've read a few stories and came to the conclusion that their personalities don't complement each other, that each needs someone more emotional, physically affectionate to bring out those qualities in them.

I did write SS/NT when Tonks was a seventh year and ended up falling for Snape after trying to teach him a lesson. Sweet Anger. He figured out it was her but didn't act on it until she'd left school and then came back to see him.

In this story Phineas didn't even allow himself to admit an interest in Felicity until she was years out of school and painting his portrait. When she stuck around and handled his snarkiness, he wanted her to handle the rest of him, too!

^_^

Reviewer: HungarianWitch
Date: 02/02/08 12:46
Chapter: Family

OH, I just read your authors response:

"It would be fun to do a Christmas future one shot with Sirius bringing his finacee Hester Gamp to dinner, young Phineas on the outs with relatives over his support of Muggle rights, and Bella giving her father an ulcer over her friendship with Geoffrey Prewett! :D"

It's a very good idea! Do continue!!!! It would be so cool! I love the era in which this fic takes place, reminds me of Agatha Christie books, the victorian era and everything…
;)


Author's Response: It was a lot of fun to write this story, so I'll remember you'll read if I write! ^_~

Reviewer: HungarianWitch
Date: 02/02/08 12:34
Chapter: Family

I can't believe you! I can't stop reading your fics! It's my sacond review today..

This was so good! Phineas reminds me of Sirius/Padfoot, well we all knew, that the Black men were a treat to the ladies! And Phineas's son Sirius was cool to : "And when I get old enough, I'll fornicate behind every sta–ahhh!" so siriusly good, dear old Snuffles had good DNA :D No wonder he has so many fangirls, including me too 

I was wondering, there are so many fics about Sirius/ Padfoot, but non of them are describing how did Sirius leave his family, what happened (well, there are fics, but, they are not too good..)..Well I don't wan't to make you do something you don't want, it's just a suggestion, but I think you could write an excellent fic about that, because you describe feelings and such things very real and very good… maybe if you have time and you have no other idea, you could think about it?
:D


Author's Response: You make my day...or weekend...by reading my stories, so please don't stop! :D

Brooding and charming and sexy: Sirius got great DNA!

Right now, between Remus and Tonks dealing with werewolves and George and Alicia having a baby, I'm swamped, but those are excellent ideas to tuck away for a rainy day! Thank you!

Reviewer: embe622
Date: 10/07/07 23:43
Chapter: Family

you should write more


Author's Response: Aw, thank you for the best compliment! Do you like angsty romances? I've got a post DH George/Alicia fic For Bitter or for Worse and a Remus/Tonks romance Waiting for the Moon that are current fics, and loads of completed ones to choose from! ^_^

Reviewer: tilli
Date: 09/19/07 14:01
Chapter: Family

hey... the range of your stories, amount of research and the literary facts that u put in ur stories are just awesome... i mean simply the reference to greek mythology... awesome..

Author's Response: Thank you for reading my stories and enjoying the details that make them so much fun to write! Mythology crosses all genres, doesn't it? :D

Reviewer: geminiginny
Date: 08/20/07 13:42
Chapter: Family

Aww. Was that bit taken from Pride and Prejudice? It seemed familiar. Very good adaptation, if so. How long is this going to be?

Author's Response: I would never 'adapt' a scene without giving credit, but the meddling relative who objects to a marriage and settles the man/woman's mind about their true feelings is a classic character, and one I was glad to use. :) My Petulara is more of an Aunt March from Little Women, who ordered Meg not to marry John, and was shocked (John too, in a good way since he thought he didn't have hope and heard that he did!) to have the quiet girl speak up for herself and her feelings! :D

Reviewer: Peritus
Date: 08/14/07 13:18
Chapter: Family

that was so cute! And your Phineas Nigellus is a great character (so is Felicity... And the kids... and everyone, actually... even Aunt Petulara : ) ), I hope you'll write more about him!

Author's Response: Thank you! If I do, I'll be sure to have it completed before I post. Four months to post three chapters gave me massive writer's guilt, and I'll never do that again! :D

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 08/03/07 22:37
Chapter: Family

Such a sweet story! I'm glad you flushed it out instead of having a one-shot. :)

Author's Response: There was no way to do Phineas and Felicity, much less the kids, justice in a one shot. Thank you for being glad the story evolved into a three-parter! ^_^

Reviewer: Leukhendian
Date: 08/03/07 20:52
Chapter: Family

Hurrah for the update! Auw, it was very sweet (and bitter) through-and-through. From Phineas pulling his whiskers in sexual frustration, to reprising the ornaments... ^_^

I loved this story. It showed a different side to a rather one-dimensional character from a piece of part. I hope we may encounter one-shots with the couple? ;D

Btw, I would have read your Fred post, but I haven't been able to read Deathly Hallows yet, so I had to restrain myself. I will, though!

Author's Response: When Phineas kept coming round to talk to Harry in DH, I said 'Ha! He's a softie under that snarky exterior! '

It would be fun to do a Christmas future one shot with Sirius bringing his finacee Hester Gamp to dinner, young Phineas on the outs with relatives over his support of Muggle rights, and Bella giving her father an ulcer over her friendship with Geoffrey Prewett! :D

For Bitter or for Worse is a George/Alicia fic, and definitely a DH spoiler, so read that first, or I'll feel more guilt than I did making you wait so long to read the end to this story! (Don't read any R/T reviews for awhile either, please!)

Reviewer: kneesocks99
Date: 06/09/07 14:18
Chapter: Felicity

Wow, you're amazing! This is a great plot and you write it perfectly- I can't wait for an update!

Author's Response: I'm in the middle of getting ready for a move, but knowing you're looking forward to the last chapter will make me find time to write! Thank you!

Reviewer: Jennifer M
Date: 05/25/07 20:42
Chapter: Felicity

Can't wait for the finale'! JM

Author's Response: I'll try to make the wait a lot less than it was for the last chapter! ^_^

Reviewer: siriusblackhead
Date: 05/25/07 19:27
Chapter: Felicity

Great story! Very original

Author's Response: Thanks, Chelsey (I had to look up your name because the thought of thanking a siriusblackhead gave me a serious case of the giggles, heehee)

Reviewer: Leukhendian
Date: 05/25/07 8:40
Chapter: Felicity

Yaaay, three parts! I was getting a bit sulky about the thought of this being the last chapter, so I'm very glad. This is so good! And I never thought I'd say this, but Phineas is delish ^_^

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I think both Draco and Sirius have a bit of Phineas in them, so I have fun showing those bits of his character. ^_~

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 05/24/07 22:43
Chapter: Felicity

I liked this chapter. Yeah, I kind of think having your parents on a portrait would get around to being really annoying...but maybe that's just me, lol. I love how you can write these characters and make them seem real and different from the in books....I don't know, like how Phineas is supposed to be so angry, but he's different in your fic, and yet is somehow completely believable! I can't really explain what I mean–I hope you understand!! ^_^

~Alison

Author's Response: Thank you! Phineas got angry with Harry, for being a "poor, puffed-up popinjay" heh, but he was more a sardonic Slytherin to me in every other scene. I don't think of him as someone with a Weasley short temper or an anger management problem, more a Snape-ish fellow with a sharp tongue, who was frequently exasperated by the dunderheads around him. :D

Reviewer: hermy_loves_ron
Date: 05/18/07 20:31
Chapter: Phineas

Wow, it was really good. I like how you write Phineas. And Felicity is interesting too. I can't wait for the second half. :)

Your A/N about the note amused me, because we are studying Greek Mythology in school and I was just reading about the legend of Phineas and yet I did not connect it in any way to this story. *headdesk* Kind of like I have to do a report in History on the July 21(!) 1969 moon landing and halfway into it I was just like....Hey! Apollo 11! Like the Greek god!

Anywhoo....good story!

/Random ramble

Author's Response: Facepalm, maybe, but not the dreaded headdesk! :D

Thank you for liking the way I write Phineas. He's such an interesting character. I've started the second chapter so I hope to finish it by the end of next week, and I hope you'll find Felicity even more interesting!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES