Reviews For Killer Instincts
Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 08/24/09 19:51
Chapter: An Attack on the Heart

Oh my word!!!!! Okay, so is Daisy really the killer or is it Irene? I got a little confused with all the scene changes! And is Parvati really dead? I don't want her to be because I really have grown to like her and Harry together. I have so many questions now! Hope you can update soon!

Author's Response: Haha. That's for you to find out later, hon. I can't tell you who the killer is, can I? :D And yeah, sadly, Parvati is dead. No loopholes. :( Thanks for reviewing! I'll update as soon as I can. :)

Reviewer: in love with harry
Date: 08/24/09 15:16
Chapter: Prologue

oh my gosh oh my gosh omgomgomg ok that is suspence
in like a bottle your an amazing auther and i invey you for it as you can see i cant spell please up date soon

Reviewer: F1reb0lt37
Date: 08/23/09 21:25
Chapter: An Attack on the Heart

2nd review yay! Anyways, very nice chapter! I wonder who the mystery person was...

Keep it up and I hope you update very fast.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try to update... please pray that my college will give us a two-day holiday! They didn't even give us a week off for swine flu. :(

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try to update... please pray that my college will give us a two-day holiday! They didn't even give us a week off for swine flu. :(

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 08/23/09 16:46
Chapter: An Attack on the Heart

Oh My Goodness...I know this is under a Harry/Ginny fic, but I never wanted Parvati to get hurt...and you made me believe that they really loved each other *sigh* *wipes a tear away*.....anxious for another update....

Author's Response: Hey... :( Believe me, but I wasn't too happy killing off Parvati, either. Two years ago, while I wrote a particular scene in this chapter, I was just so sad. I'm used to the fact that she's dead in the fic now, though. :D Update... well, I'll try, hon. With college, it's tough to catch up with the internet. We'll see. :)

Reviewer: Helz_Spellz
Date: 08/15/09 12:32
Chapter: Too Precious to Lose

Sorry, I should have reviewed earlier, but I wanted to read the whole fic and was far too impatient to stop!

This is awesome, love it! It's great to have the romance (Ron and Hermione's story is sad, but awesome) and the mystery (murders! Woohoo!) side by side. I almost squealed out loud at the car crash, I was like "Nooooo!" :)

More soon pleasums!



Author's Response: Sure! Sure! I'm updating just now! Thanks for your lovely review!!! :)

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 08/14/09 15:12
Chapter: Too Precious to Lose

Oh no! Someone must have been using Polyjuice potion to turn themselves into Ginny! Oooh! This story is getting better and better! I did like it that Chris and Daisy got back together. That was sweet. But, I still can't figure out what happened between the two of them that made her so upset. Guess I'll have to think about it a little longer. :) Anyway, hope the next chapter comes out soon! Don't leave us in suspense too long! :)

Author's Response: Hey! thanks for this review! I'll just update it... And Daisy and Chris? *grins*

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 08/13/09 16:59
Chapter: Too Precious to Lose

I am glad for Daisy and Chris....and I sorta knew when Hermione gave the address to Ginny that she was an imposter...If I had been Harry, I wouldn't have allowed for anyone besides him, Parvati, Hermione, and Ron to have access to the house......

Author's Response: Hey! Just wanted to tell you that it's awesome how you review so regularly! It really makes my day to see your thoughts... :) As for D/C... Hehe, one of them deserves to be throttled. LOL.

Reviewer: Quilter
Date: 08/13/09 15:35
Chapter: Murder at Bethnal Green

OK,.... creepy enough for me, my son's name is Andrew Paul. Did a bit of weird to me to see his name in print, as that of a dead man. Otherwise i am enjoying the story so far.

Author's Response: Haha, sorry about that! I'm sure your Andrew won't ever be in a situation like this, so don't worry. :)

Reviewer: Sternbetrachter
Date: 08/13/09 13:26
Chapter: Too Precious to Lose

nice update

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/31/09 20:18
Chapter: Rebecca Palmer

Overall - upping the mystery, definitively! :) I like the balance between slowing introducing the new characters, revealing new pieces of the puzzle and new information, but keeping us intrigued.

Irene - blah! She is stinky. But is there an ulterior motive? Hmmmm…glad Hermione is suspicious.

Hermione needs to give a good Dracoesque punch to Ron and have a nice shouting match like they used to have. Maybe it'll get him all good and riled up…haha. But seriously, I felt bad for her! But, I'm going to give him the benefit of the doubt....for now.

And Harry…*sigh. He was so sweet in the beginning of the chapter. Ugh! But staring at Ginny like that, right in front of Pavarti! For shame!

Ginny snuggling with Naina is super cute, though a bit sad, as I'm sure a (large) part of her wishes she were snuggling with her and Harry's own child.

I'm still very impressed with your characterization, especially of Pavarti. A great illustration of this is when they are talking about why the killer, if they are obsessed with Harry, would want her dead. Any normal person can see the selfish nature in people, but Pavarti doesn't - she wants the person she loves to be happy, and is confusing the love with obsession. I still think that sometimes Harry's reactions to Ginny are over the top, such as when he stares at her or stutters, right in front of his wife.

I’m assuming a crèche is a crib?

I was surprised when Ron told Rebecca that "Of course, and if you want, you can decide the punishment. Is that okay?” That seemed somewhat…unprofessional? Would he be allowed to do that? But Rebecca Palmer seems like a very complex and intriguing person, and I'll be interested to see what she has to say in the next chapter.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/28/09 20:55
Chapter: Argument Over Breakfast

Hmmmm...this is the chapter I took the least amount of notes on, so this won't be as fulfilling (if the other ones can be considered so) as the other chapters.

Charaterization is still on par...Harry trusting his gut instinct at the end of the chapter, Pavarti trusting him, Hermione being a terrible liar are just a few examples.

I thought the scene at the table was great. I was waiting for her hair to set on fire or something - Irene's. Something about the way you wrote Pavarti made me seriously respect her - and feel bad for her, what a horrible person! I hope Hermione comes up with something horrible as revenge for her that is sneaky like Marietta's SNEAK face or something.

It should be quite interesting in that house with these personalities and relationship dynamics. And the personal aspect of the case itself.

And what is up with Ron?!

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/28/09 20:46
Chapter: A Very Special Birthday

Once again, I am impressed with your characterization. I have an immense dislike for stories where Ron is a bumbling idiot or has no real part, and you have matured Ron and made him an Auror partner, a father, and a husband. His ability to see the reality behind Harry and Pavarti's relationship, and to notice what is happening with Harry and Ginny is something due to maturity and, probably, his relationship with Hermione. And yet, he's still Ron. My favorite: "You look prettier than the way you looked at Harry's wedding! How do you women manage this?"

And Hermione's response: "Stop flattering me." :) She is so cute, researching Indian greetings, just for Harry's birthday party.

Some suggestions on ways to explain thigs better to the readers: There is a paragraph towards the middle where the food is being explained, there are parenthsis when Pavarti is explaining out loud. I'm not sure if dialogue normally has parenthesis, so maybe the beginning would be something like: "That is dhal makhani, which has black lentils and a cream gravy; the palak paneer is cubes of cottage cheese in a spinach puree; and this here is called chicken tandoori masala, where the pieces of chicken are in an orange gravy.

Or, if the descriptions are soley for our sake, and the party-goers can see that chicken tandoori masala is chicken in orange gravy, then it could be as simple as adding an ending A/N explaining what they are.

As I'm now reading that part with my notes, I have to comment that I liked that Harry couldn't eat the spicy foods. Maybe it's because I imagined Pavarti and Padme (and maybe Ginny, hehe) could.

There was an inconsistency in that Hermione and Ron had to drive, but the Weasley family could Disapparate home.

And oh, I couldn't believe Harry was so insensitive to say that about Ginny fancying him at school! I wasn't even worried about Pavarti's reaction, because she remembered, I was more concerned because I thought Ginny was sitting at the table! Talk about an uncomfortable situation...jerk! But Ginny and Pavarti had a lovely conversation, and once again I am struck by how wonderful you characterize everyone.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/28/09 20:28
Chapter: The New Case

Hmmmm...romance! Love triangle! :) I really enjoy the way this story is written, it is very enjoyable and easy to read. Again, for the most part I really like the characterization of pretty much everyone, lol. Father!Harry is just a dear, and his daughter sounds extremely cute and like she has him wrapped around her finger. And he is so clueless about his surprise party, especially considering she gave him one the year before.

I am conflicted on how I feel about Harry and Ginny's initial meeting. Harry being older and married (with a child) - I'm not sure he'd be quite so blatant about how he feels about Ginny, if he even felt that way. Perhaps he would have felt conflicted at first, though that confusion was there, his behavior made it obvious - the staring and forgetting what was being asked of him. Ron was shocked he liked her in sixth year, so I'm not sure he would be so obvious now as an adult.

Harry does seem somewhat emotionally stunted still at times, but still true to his noble side. I found myself thinking he should NEVER let Pavarti know he is thinking that "he had to repay her by loving her as much as she loved him." Ouch! But I do agree, as a married women for three years now, that men are still, and will always be, clueless. :)

It made me giggle when they were talking about the murderer being a woman because they were a fan of Harry's. Not going to explore the fact that it might be a man in love with Harry?! He's so irresistible!! :)

I was surprised that no one told Ginny they were married. And Harry seemed to know she didn't know. I know Hermione explains it later, but I still thought it was odd. Someone getting married is a pretty big deal, so if she had come back from training, I would have assumed someone would have told her, especially considering he now also has a kid. Are we assuming that this is the first time she's coming into the country? I guess I'm surprise her mother was able to not say anything.

I totally wanted to run into the story and yell at Harry for yelling at Pavarti about her garlic! If that makes sense, lol. I like the career you've chosen for her, and the maturity level you've given her, while still maintaining her personality and the Pavarti we knew in the books.

One small note, I'm not sure that Hermione (or anyone) would say (as opposed to write in a note or something) "b'day".

Sorry if the review is haphazd...I read this a few days ago on paper, and I'm skimming through the notes I took down. Onto Chapter 3!

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/28/09 20:09
Chapter: Prologue

I thought, after your beginning A/N, that this chapter might become wordy and overwhelming about an event or a culture that I was unfamiliar with rather than a story, but I thought it was a beautifully written chapter that kept everyone in character and still managed to keep the reader informed of a new and beautiful ceremony. As there were a lot of steps and differences from Western culture (which, I may be completely off in assuming that a majority of readers are unfamiliar with this anyway), I was very impressed with how you interweaved the emotions and characterizations in with the explanations.

I thought the descriptions were lovely as well, in particular the description of Harry and his attire in the 2nd paragraph. I also (and this is something I think I'll be repeating) LOVE your characterization of Padme and Pavarti, Ron, and Harry. I think it's spot on. Ron's "pep talk" to Harry before the wedding, Pavarti as the bride and helping Harry out, Padme watching her twin get married, and Harry - so nervous but unwilling to not go through with it. I particularly like the part where he has to put the vermillion on her part and he "stares at it numbly" for a second before being able to do it.

I was confused in the first paragraph what it said "the people belonging to the bride's side were wearing traditional Christian gowns and suits while the people from the side of the bridegroom were dressed in saris and sherwanis - the traditional Hindu attire." | Is that backwards?

When it mentions Ginny and Percy, it says that "Percy was still staying separately" and was thus not invited to the wedding. Does that mean he's still in strife with the rest of the family? It was worded oddly, but that was the impression that I got.

Overall, I am interested to see how Harry's life turns out with Pavarti...though the summary leads me to believe it's not all roses and sunshine! :)

Reviewer: lucid_dreamer
Date: 07/28/09 8:43
Chapter: Letters and Parcels

woohoo for updates! I love this story, it's different for your typical H/G R/Hr... lots of uncertainty... can't wait to see who you killed Strangely, I have never like Parvati until I read this story, and though I really wait Harry and Ginny together, I really don't want to see Parvati die. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! :)

Reviewer: Sunset_Gazer
Date: 07/25/09 20:14
Chapter: Prologue

Excellent story! I'm really intrigued about the murderer's identity, and I just can't wait for Harry and Ginny to get together :)

Update as soon as possible, please!! :D

Reviewer: F1reb0lt37
Date: 07/25/09 11:51
Chapter: Letters and Parcels

Really good fic so far. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Luna_Lover
Date: 07/24/09 14:03
Chapter: Prologue

Hello, Pooja! I’ve come back for more of your writing. This story’s summary intrigued me when I first came to your author page, but I was hesitant to embark on a WIP because I never seem to have time to catch up with them; just ask Whit. >.< I still want to read this, though, and I’m hoping that reading a story with a murder case in it will help me with the murder mystery Bookbasilisk challenge, for which my muse is drawing a blank. I was intrigued further by the chapter notes for this prologue, which told me I would be learning a lot culture-wise as well. So here we go!

I’m intrigued by this prologue because it places familiar characters in an unfamiliar setting, and it’s unexplained as of yet how they got there. Of course that’s the whole point, so what I’m saying is that it works well. :)

I’m confused as to why the bride’s side was wearing Christian dress, while the bridegroom’s side was in Hindu dress, since it’s backwards from Parvati and Harry’s cultural backgrounds. It’s a nice idea that they should embrace one another’s culture, but it seems like it would take a lot of effort and coordination to, say, get all of Harry’s friends to buy saris and sherwanis for the occasion. For the wedding party exclusively, yes, but for all of the guests? Or am I reading it wrong?

I enjoyed the description of the wedding, although I did wonder why Harry kissed Parvati only on the cheek after saying their Christian vows. Did something in Parvati’s heritage prevent him from kissing her on the lips? Perhaps I’m reading too much into things.

I think you do a good job of describing the ceremony, something which might be difficult to envision, but thanks to you, I can do it. :) I’m excited to read on and find out a bit more about what brought the characters to this point, and where they will go from here.

Nice work, Pooja!
~LiLu

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 07/23/09 17:45
Chapter: Letters and Parcels

hahahah, ok...I just figured it out...you're pretty sneaky, you are :)

Author's Response: LOL. Thanks!!! But really, this doesn't mean anything YET. You haven't read the next chapter... or the chapter after that (which I just finished last night :D) so you have no idea. Be prepared for heart attacks in the next few chapters. *Provides cardiac massage from her side*

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 07/22/09 15:47
Chapter: Letters and Parcels

Okay so the Ron and Hermione fighting thing is really driving me crazy! I'm defnitely a BIG Ron/Hermione fan, so them not being together has really bugged me. I mean, I definitely see problems on both ends, but can you just get them back together already?? lol Sorry! Had to vent a little bit there. :) Anyway, I definitely have loved this story from the beginning, and even though it's so different from normal HP cannon, it's a very compelling story. LIke in the last chapter, I found myself gasping when I learned that Daisy poisoned Hermione (well, it was supposed to be Parvati). I also held my breath when Harry and Ginny almost kissed! So, what I'm trying to say is . . . I love the story! Update soon! :)

Author's Response: Aw... you must explain this tyo Ron and Hermione, really :D. Haha. Okay... they're too stubborn to be convinced, actually. I feel like kicking them both. Oh, and thanks for your compliments! I know that I've sorta thrown Canon away in this one... :p I'm glad you like this story so much. Next chapter is with Beta and I'll update as soon as she returns it ;)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES