Reviewer: awrence
Date: 06/14/08 19:47
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

What a beautiful piece. I had to catch myself when reading Harry's admonitions to the excavators. My family makes fun of me when I cry reading fanfiction. And as far as you not having ever read an actual excavation report by an actual archaeologist, so what? These were wizards and witched doing the excavation right? So you get to say how they might write that report. But it all sounded good to me. Really enjoyed the entire story. thanks!

Author's Response: And thanks again!

Reviewer: awrence
Date: 06/14/08 19:41
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

What a beautiful piece. I had to catch myself when reading Harry's admonitions to the excavators. My family makes fun of me when I cry reading fanfiction. And as far as you not having ever read an actual excavation report by an actual archaeologist

Author's Response: Thanks, Helen. You're a peach.

rnKen

Reviewer: zula bean
Date: 01/11/08 8:38
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

Wonderful...both as a work of pseudo-achaeological reporting and as a fan fic! Are you sure that you wouldn't want to investigate a career change?

Author's Response: Thanks, Joyce. Sorry it's taken me so long tto respond.rnrnChange my career to what? Archeologist or writer?rnrnKen

Reviewer: tickled_pink
Date: 04/23/07 3:31
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

Wow - this is such an amazing idea!

It was highly realistic [have you really never read a report? Well, I haven;t either, but I study Ancient History and this is how I'd imagine them to be like!] It seemed so tragic, the way not only all of Hogsmeade and Hogwarts was buried or destroyed, but that [and I'm hoping I'm guessing right] all of England, or at least wizarding England, had left thousands of years prior to this.

I was a bit confused at first - for a minute I thought you were talking about Hagrid! But then you mentioned several rooms, and who could miss who the two people were?

Ooh, one more thing before I'm off; I also loved the way you brought other sources into the report [eew I sound like my history teacher..] but still! It worked really well, and this is a very cool and original piece of work!

Tootles!

~Tickled Pink~

Author's Response: Thanks, Isabelle. I'm sorry it took so long to respond to this review. I don't know exactly how Hogwarts/Hogsmeade was forgotten or lost, except that 3,000 years is a long time. I don't know what caused the Emigration either.

Actually there was a moment in the text where I referred to Hagrid, in the "Forest Hut" that previous archeologists had found.

Author's Response: Thanks, Isabelle. I'm sorry it took so long to respond to this review. I don't know exactly how Hogwarts/Hogsmeade was forgotten or lost, except that 3,000 years is a long time. I don't know what caused the Emigration either.

Actually there was a moment in the text where I referred to Hagrid, in the "Forest Hut" that previous archeologists had found.

~Ken

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 04/22/07 21:17
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

This is so unlike any other fanfic I've read! Great job - I found myself wanting to skip to the end to see where you were headed with this, but not wanting to spoil the ending either. Excellent, really excellent.

Author's Response: Thanks, Ronny. I have that same temptation with stories I really like, and I take it a high comliment. ~Ken

Reviewer: Grimmrook
Date: 04/22/07 18:24
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

And this may be one reason why I rarely review, as I'm very prone to being drawn into long discussions. Wow, I can't believe you read the same story as well. Actually, I think I was approached to beta read that story, but I can't remember, it's been a long time since I did beta reading. Anyway, yeah, the physics thing was tough, very tough for me, but I do appreciate the tightrope walking when it is done well. I mean, I have to, don't I, given the nature of my own stories, and some of the tightroping I do there (some revealed, some not to be revealed for some time now). Some other things I wanted to mention that I left out in my initial review. The moment you started to describe Harry's house, the bodies embraced together, my mind instantly flashed back to a news story about human fossils in such an embrace. So it was kind of neat to see you site that at the end of the story. I remember thinking 'I thought so.'

Also, you may not get this reaction from anyone else, but I was also a little creeped too. None of this is your fault, it's just that to pass the time I bought a game called Barrow Hill for my pc, and have been playing it avidly the last few days. It's a myst type game with a horror setting and a knowledge base steeped in archaeology, so I think for a while anything archaeological is going to creep me out.

I know that what you intended to be intriguing and a little touching is not something you hoped to be received with "creeped me out," but take heart. The game I'm playing has lots of archeaological bona fides, and for your story to make the necessary brain cells wire and fire in the same vein means that your reports are probably pretty authentic. Okay, okay, I'm just gonna step out of the way now.

Author's Response: And I, to avoid a long conversation here on the review page, will simply thank you for two very interesting reviews and point out that my Live Journal page (see my profile) has room for lengthier conversations. :) ~Ken

Reviewer: lunaticbookworm
Date: 04/22/07 16:02
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

If the archeologists knew Dumbledore, why didn't they recognise Harry?

Interesting story, if a bit confusing
6.6/10

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry about any confusion.

To answer your question: To know of someone is much easier than to recognize someone. Many of us would recognize the name of Homer, the blind poet of ancient Greece, but I doubt that any of us would recognize his corpse (or even a picture of the living man himself) if we saw one. Three thousand years is a long time. So it's possible that the excavators have heard of Harry but would not know that the Caretaker was the same person; it's also possible that Dumbledore's name was one of the few that survived, and that Harry's wasn't. ~Ken

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 04/22/07 14:45
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

I really love this story. I mean, I love a lot of fanfiction, but this is the only one I have ever read that I had to stop at the end and take a deep breath. The impact of this story is just, wow. It puts me in mind of carter excavating tut's tomb; on one hand, we want to respect the wishes of the dead, but on the other hand, like you said in the story, the existing artifacts are worth their weight in gold.

questions--why were harry and ginny living on the grounds of hogwarts? what is the Emigration? how was hogwarts forgotten all those years? who are the excavators? and are you going to write any more about these people?

You have really intrigued me; I want to know what would make the wizarding world up and leave britain, and the school which had existed since the year 1000 (gregorian).

I really like the style you take with this story. I've never read an excavation report either, but the seriousness and businesslike manner makes the whole thing surreal, since we (as hp fans) are so used to hearing about the characters in an active, emotional way.

I am also amazed that the Dark wars are distinguishable from other wars, unless there weren't any more. seems to me that the wizards are always squabbling about one thing or another, just like the rest of us.

and one more thing--when the emigration happened, what did the muggles do?

and one more thing--it seems that your archaeologists know about dumbledore. do they know about harry potter? is he important to them and their history? will they ever figure out it was him in the hut, and will they care, other than the fact that he is a strong spell-caster?

what do they know in their future time about voldemort?

Author's Response: Thanks, Alisa; thatís very high praise.

Youíve made a lot of interesting observations and asked some good questions. Unfortunately I donít have answers to all of them, as I often write in a detail when itís needed for the story without really knowing a lot about it. (Iím totally unlike JKR in that respect!)

Some I can answer: I got the idea of H & G living on the grounds from Laura Laurentís story that I mention in the Authorís Note. (If you havenít read it, itís very beautiful, especially that last chapter. Itís not on Mugglenet FF, but it is on SIYE.) In her story, the house is in the woods and is protected by many spells guaranteeing that the couple will be left alone; I thought Harry would want some solitude after all his trauma and unwanted publicity. I also liked the idea of Harry appointing himself the custodian of Dumbledoreís memory.

I havenít really worked out exactly what the Emigration was; I wanted some sort of major event to change the calendar and (partially) explain the loss of so much information, including even losing the location of Hogwarts itself!

The story doesnít say Ė and so, at this point we donít know ;) Ė whether the excavators have ever heard of Harry Potter. We donít know what theyíre reaction will be to learning his identity. (Sovran has given me one or two good ideas along this line, so I might do something with it later.)

Thanks again,

~Ken

Reviewer: Grimmrook
Date: 04/22/07 12:04
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

Well, first things first. Feel honored. Anymore it is a very rare thing that I ever read fanfic, most of my time usurped by the writing of my own, and even rarer is when I review. But, your premise was so unique, I had to at least check it out. Still, I thinking as I began I had this strange feeling of apprehension filling me. You were blending two very different things (archaeology and magic), and the last time I saw something of that sort, the result was hideous. Really, I'm not overstating it at all. You have not read absurdity until you've read a conversation between Harry and Dumbledore regarding the feasibility of Harry committing suicide in the hopes of creating a warmhole. Yeah.

To my great surprise, what I actually read was no such affair. Erudite and well researched, I found myself instantly fascinated and immediately plunged into the world of an archaeological dig, each sentence uncovering bits of the past that, sure, I may already have known, but still feeling fresh and new.

At the same time, I was stricken with the level of detail that went into describing the methods of unveiling magic. What could easily have seemed contrived and downright silly you have made authentic and wholely believable.

Thank you for creating something so refreshingly unique.

Author's Response: Thanks again, Kyle.

Hmmmm, not a fan of Nightmares of Futures Past, eh? I rather like it, although I'll admit that the quasi-physics was a bit hard to invest in.

I'm glad you liked the difficult tightrope walk between magic and science. I find myself doing something like that over and over again -- it crops up in "On the Headmaster's Wall" and in "The 312th Edition," as well as in another fic I'm working on now. The problem is that, once you accept that magic is governed by some sort of regular rules instead of being purely at the will of the particular wizard, the only sorts of rules that come easily to mind are mathematical and/or scientific ones. The trick, I think, is to avoid too much detail; just enough to make the story hold together, and let hte reader fill in the blanks.

Here, I wanted to make the traces of spells detectable (something like DNA or ashes from old campfires) so that a connection could be made betwen the Caretaker and the Tomb, so I had to come up with the notion of a "resonance signature" -- I have absolutely no idea what that means, but it filled the gap.

Reviewer: Oharachic1
Date: 04/22/07 12:02
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

Absolutely amazing. How clever is the story line. Please continue!

Author's Response: Thank you, Susan. I'm not sure where I'd go if I did continue...

Reviewer: kati6110
Date: 04/22/07 10:25
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

I really liked it. Thanks for writing! I loved "On the Headmaster's Wall" too.

Author's Response: Thanks, Cathy! (I've fixed the formatting errors, so now it might be easier to read!) Also glad you liked "Headmaster's Wall." ~Ken

Reviewer: Grimmrook
Date: 04/22/07 9:01
Chapter: Report on the Excavations of Sites HH-87 and HH-88

You have a very interesting premise here, but I could not finish reading as you don't have a single paragraph break. This is very disappointing, so please put some breaks in there, and contact me and I will eagerly finish reading this and leave a review. thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for the tip, Kyle! I haven't made that particular mistake in months, but I'm glad you caught it. (There were breaks in my original text, but I'd forgotten to add the HTML version too. Ah, well.) It's fixed. I hope you like the story. ~Ken

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES