Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 20:17
Chapter: Alley Wanderings and Ghost Stories

I could just see the ending scene with James and Peter "running for their lives" and Sirius and Willie standing there laughing. The funny concept is wizard kids afraid of muggle-type ghost stories:D What is up with Remus to make him behave so strangely? You are really making me think about how difficult it is to become an animagus. Most authors just say--the Marauders became animagi in their 5th year (I think it was 5th) like it was something anyone could do but you spend more time on the process. That's good because we get a different viewpoint and gain more respect for what these boys did for each other. Great chapter.

Author's Response: That's basically what they did, the stereotypical 'run for your lives' run. It really was done Muggle-style, but it was about wizard things. Maybe that made it scarier for them. You'll find out what's up with Remus in the next chapter. It really is difficult and you'll see more of that in this year and their 4th year. It is their fifth year because I think in POA Remus says it took about 3 years for them to accomplish it. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/10/09 12:03
Chapter: Another Year Ends

Do we ever find out what was wrong with Professor Jones? I guess I'll have to wait to find out:) I think it's hilarious that they can tickle the pear in the painting, that it giggles, and then grants them admission to the kitchens. Don't you think that's how it goes with exams? Your teachers tell you how hard it will be so you study real hard and then when exam time comes you're over-prepared and think the test is easy. My favorite part of this chapter was in the beginning when the window was broken and they had to go through all kinds of shenanigans to fix it--including apologize sincerely and have the window consent to being fixed, albeit begrudgingly. That was chuckle-worthy. Great chapter as always.

Author's Response: I think you find out about that in chapter 24. I think that's how it goes with exams, except with some of my professors, they say the test isn't hard and then you think it will be and overstudy anyway. That was my favorite part to write - just some stupid boy antics. I think Remus actually threatened the window at one point. I don't blame him, I'd be mad too considering the window was over his bed. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/09 21:17
Chapter: Animagi

I already did this but it got erased and I was told to log in--I hate it when it does that:( Aren't kneazles cats? Wouldn't it be difficult to herd kneazles? I was innocently reading along when I got to the part about two of the boys helping Hagrid herd kneazles. Isn't there a joke about the impossibility of herding cats? I've owned many cats and they are pretty much out of control. I think it would be fun to be an animagus but so difficult to accomplish. Remus' friends must care about him very much. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Oh I hate when that happens! Erm... I think I didn't know what kneazles were at the time. I do know (thanks to RPG websites). That was pretty much a slip of thought on my thought. Becoming an Animagus will be very difficult, but his friends care about him that much. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/09 19:56
Chapter: A Lupine Christmas

I love Christmas stories. It's too bad Peter and James couldn't have been there. I'm glad Remus got the full moon over with by Christmas. I had a memory flashback to old phonographs and Beatles and Rolling Stones records. I had a good collection of Led Zeppelin, The Doors, and Black Sabbath:D I can really see Remus having "muggle" skills like playing the piano and singing. I think him having a muggle mother and muggle grandparents makes him a more interesting person. Great chapter.

Author's Response: It is too bad they couldn't be there, but I honestly wanted this to be a chapter with mainly Remus and Sirius in it (what can I say? They're my favorites). I've only ever seen phonographs in pictures or maybe once in a store somewhere in the city. Ooh those are all good bands! I can see Remus having those skills too (even if Sirius mocks him for it). When you think about it, Remus is really the only Marauder who has both worlds within him. Sirius and James were purebloods and I'm sure Peter was as well. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/07/09 20:16
Chapter: Dinner Parties and Bad News

Now I don't eat pheasant because I don't eat wild birds (no duck, geese, etc.) but I don't think it tastes that bad--probably like chicken. I know lots of people who go pheasant hunting and eat pheasant. They're beautiful birds (well the males are) but very stupid. I don't know how many times I've had to screech to a halt on the highway because there are some pheasants strolling actoss the road. Poor Alice--I take it her family was part of the original Order. I'm sad to think that she and Frank will never know the major role their son played in killing Voldemort. And, what was with that 1991? Did McGonagall have some sort of Sight that Harry Potter would start school that year? Great chapter.

Author's Response: I've never had pheasant, but I imagine it's something not most would twelve year olds would jump at the chance to eat. I hate when you have to screech to a halt because an animal goes to cross. Alice's father did have some involvement, which would explain his killing. McGonagall may have, or she just wrote the wrong thing down! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/06/09 20:49
Chapter: Remus's Tale

In all the reading I've done I think this is the first version I've read of exactly how Remus was bitten. We know it happened when he was young and we know it was Fenrir Greyback and we know it was done to get back at Remus' dad but that's about it--the exact details were sketchy. I can totally believe that young Remus thought he was petting a dog. And bravo to his parents for taking care of him. Your description of what Sirius saw was very complete. I was misty-eyed reading this chapter and just feeling so bad for a young boy dealing with all of this. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yeah, JKR gives us the basic information of what happened, but leaves how it happened up to interpretation. I just pictured Remus as someone who would do something as innocent as believing he was seeing a dog, only to find out it wasn't. The part where Sirius goes to the Shrieking Shack was very important to establish the protectiveness he has over his friend that you'll see as the story progresses. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: stefunny2010
Date: 12/05/09 22:57
Chapter: No Longer Boys

Aw:( That was such a sad-ish chapter. I liked the beginning of it though, all the pregnant people I have ever met are just ready to get the baby out and have very short tempers along with hormones. But then having all that nostalgia about how they all grew up..its a nice balance, even if Remus got attacked. Anyways, im excited for the next chapter, great job! :D

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad I made that part kind of realistic then. I wasn't sure at all about how to write a pregnant Lily. There was a balance of that, now that you mention it. Remus will be okay, kind of, after the attack. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 12/05/09 21:59
Chapter: No Longer Boys

Good chapter. James and Lily at least get to live in their house for a while. Wish they were suspicious of Peter and asked lots of questions and exposed him for the rat he ia. But then we wouldn't have had an HP series. Betting Remus was set up by Peter. I do like Mr Lupin. He is so genuinely thankful for Remus friends and what they have done for him. And it really is too bad they all had to grow up faster than they planned because of the war.

Author's Response: They may not be living there for as long as you think... Remus was just unlucky in general. Mr. Lupin really is grateful, the one thing he wants to see is his son happy. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 12/05/09 15:09
Chapter: No Longer Boys

Awesome chapter - fantastic. Good to see Mr Lupin again and of course the whole Remus-Sirius friendship. I suppose the Sirius suspecting Remus thing is coming up soon which is sad - I always hate seeing Sirius break away from Remus. But, alas, it must happen. :D

Looking forward to the next one - sounds like young Potter is about to be born.

Author's Response: It was good to write him again. He's one of my favorites. The suspicions will be coming about, which is going to be horrible to write. They have my favorite friendship. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/05/09 13:55
Chapter: Abandonment

Isn't that a typical reaction? When someone finds out something about a friend and then doesn't know how to act? And despite what James thinks, Remus doesn't know how his friends will react. He's been hurt and abandoned so many times in the past that it's hard for him to trust, Great job on this chapter.

Author's Response: I think it is a typical reaction, especially when you consider the gravity of the secret Remus has been hiding. The boys have no idea what to do, so they do their first reaction - to stop talking to him. Remus definitely doesn't know how to react, he's just terrified they'll tell the school. You'll see their confrontation about it in the next chapter. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: fightingokra4life
Date: 12/05/09 10:41
Chapter: No Longer Boys

yeah they all became men except for peter... poor remus, hopefully the wolfsbane potion is close to coming around

Author's Response: Yeah Peter didn't quite make it. I don't think the Wolfsbane potion comes around until a little before 1993, so he's got a while to go. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 20:29
Chapter: Discoveries

Part of me was going "no, no, no" don't let them find out about Remus. The other part felt relief that they finally know. Why can't they leave the poor boy a nice juicy steak when he transforms? That way he wouldn't be biting himself--or doesn the "meat" have to be killed fresh? Did you ever figure out how you know how many people have read your work? I've noticed that some authors seem to know how many people have read--and I've wondered the same thing you did. mrs_granger on HPFF indicated that only 1 in 50 readers leaves a review. I don't know how she knows that. Have you ever read any of Kerichi's work on this site? She has a number of stories about Remus and Tonks. They are very good. I only mention because I thought you might be interested. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I don't think the steak would be enough, though it might help a bit. Oh I figured that out, yeah. When you go to 'manage your stories' it lists the stories and the read count beside them. I have no idea how to determine the stats of who leaves what review. I've never read any of her work. I'm actually not a fan of Remus/Tonks writings outside of the actual book, though I'm sure hers a good, I just don't read any because I always thought their relationship was so random in the books. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/03/09 19:25
Chapter: Research, Bad Potions, and Tryouts

I laughed out loud when I read about Slughorn's button nose, produced by Remus' potion. So this is how James got the Chaser position. I don't know why, but for a long time I thought James was a Seeker just like Harry. But I've been disabused of that notion. Whatever possessed Sirius to hex Snape right around a teacher. I was struck by the familiar names as Jones called roll. A lot of them were parents of Harry's cohort. I wondered how Luna's dad really felt when, years later, he called Ministry officials to arrest the Golden Trio. I guess he was in no position to think that he once knew Harry's parents. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ha, I forgot about that. One of Remus's many failed potions. I think a lot of people think James was a Seeker because of the first movie where it says he was, but there was an interview with JKR where she said he was a Chaser. I had to throw in some familiar names there. I don't think he felt good about it, but he would do what he had to to save his daughter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/02/09 11:41
Chapter: Back to School

How nice of Lily to give Remus Swiss chocolate. As I recall, later in life, Remus is a big fan of chocolate. I wanted to be inside of Remus' head saying "Go ahead--tell your friends that you're a werewolf." At the same time, as an adult, I totally understand that you can't just blab your business, especially your controversial business even to your friends sometimes. Great chapter. Yay--it's Wednesday and we get a new Albus Potter chapter from Gryffin_Duck. Hey, how did you like the werewolves in "New Moon?" Although in the end of the series, I think they turned out to be shape-shifters:)

Author's Response: I forgot Lily did that, but yeah it was nice of her. She has a soft spot for Remus. Remus should tell them, but you can definitely understand where he's cming from. Oh yeah, we do! Yay! That makes me happy. I haven't seen New Moon yet, so I have no opinion on them as of yet. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/01/09 13:18
Chapter: Diagon Alley

I'm so glad Remus was able to meet the other three at Diagon Alley to go shopping for school supplies. I can feel Remus' desperation in trying to make the other boys believe that he's always tripping over his dog--I've owned and tripped over many a dog and I've never looked as bad as Remus must look. If they keep track of the times that Remus is sick they're going to figure it out in no time. I also sense Remus' frustration over the lack of a cure. He's so brave for someone so young. His mother must find this to be horribly confusing since she's a muggle. Did werewolves ever attack muggles? Before I forget, there was a story on HPFF by Snapegirl that had Dolores Umbridge being 1/8 banshee--I don't know why but that always struck me as being hilarious--since she was so against part humans. Great chapter.

Author's Response: He really doesn't want them to find and he knows his excuse about tripping over his dog is stupid. Which is why James sees through it. They actually are going to find out soon - chapter 16 is when they put it together. You know, I never really thought about it being confusing for his mother. I imagine it would be, but she really will do anything to help Remus feel better. I think werewolves must have attacked Muggles at least once before. Ha, that's hilarious - Umbridge part banshee! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: sidmanicus
Date: 12/01/09 8:28
Chapter: No Turning Back

This story keeps getting better and better with every chapter. Im dying to know what chain of events will eventually make Sirius doubt Remus's loyalty forcing him to pick Peter instead. Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: The doubt will be coming soon. I've got it worked out and you'll see how it plays out in a few chapters. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/30/09 20:46
Chapter: Summer Moons

You've really given a sense of Remus' frustration at trying potion after potion to cure lycanthropy. I have a chronic illness that has annoying, not deadly, things that happen. I don't know how many things I've tried. After a while you just give up. You did a great job of contrasting Remus' summer activities with those of the other boys. I laughed picturing Sirius coming through the fireplace followed by his suitcase--that he was sure his parents sent so it would hit him:) Great chapter.

Author's Response: Remus is very frustrated with it. He knows his parents mean well, but at the same time he wishes they would just stop trying because nothing seems to work. There really was a contrast there, I didn't do it intentionally, it was more to just show each of their summers. Ha, Sirius's parents definitely meant to drop it on him. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/30/09 15:49
Chapter: Operation Get Crane Back

Well, that was quite the prank and the students were successful in getting rid of Crane. Strangely, I liked that you gave the exact time when all this stuff was happening--it made me go back and think about what I was doing around then:) When you think about it, this prank took so much planning. I can always appreciate planning. I'm an avid planner myself:) You might even say I'm the sort of person who plans when to plan:D Great chapter.

Author's Response: I completely forgot where the idea for the timing came from. I think it was because it would be difficult to pull that of if another class was in there. It really did take them a lot of planning and it definitely paid off in the long run. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/30/09 10:45
Chapter: Birthdays, Preparations and Banshees

While I enjoyed the entire chapter, there were two parts I found particularly interesting. I was totally charmed when Remus' friends asked Slughorn to teach them how to make the potion to develop wizard pictures. What a totally sweet gift and considering the price--if Remus doubted their friendship I hope he doesn't now. I was totally fascinated by the story of the professor and the banshee. That was pretty funny and pretty creative. I can hear the stunned silence on the part of the first years as the story was being told. It's hard to imagine that Dumbledore became angry and almost dueled the DADA professor. What exactly does a banshee look like anyway? This is a chapter I may read again sometime. That's how interesting it was to me:) Great chapter.

Author's Response: The boys are actually very sweet when they want to be. The banshee thing actually was never intended to make it into the story, but a validator said they would love to actually read that, so I threw in the seventh year talking about it. The first years were pretty stunned. It's one of those things where it's like - *crickets* *five minutes later* 'okay then...'. I'm not entirely sure. I think it looks like a woman. I need to find a picture. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/29/09 19:24
Chapter: Ill Health and Feelings

I was so heartened by Remus' grandfather stopping by out of concern for Remus and then using his healing abilities to make Remus feel better. I'm so sad that there's so much prejudice against werewolves--at least werewolves know when they're going to transform while people with other chronic illnesses never know when they're going to have a flare-up. I wonder if Sirius is going to suffer repurcussions from the scene at Platform 9 3/4. Walburga needs to attend some parenting classes. Great chapter. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement for my writing. Several authors have been helpful and with everyone's support I might just be able to turn something out:)

Author's Response: His grandfather does make a turnaround, as well as his grandmother. They really needed sense knocked into them. That's really true - at least werewolves know when it's going to happen. Walburga does need some lessons, but that won't happen. No problem! All writers should encourage others :) Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES