Reviewer: hedwig4evr
Date: 01/14/10 3:06
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow. It's really over? But I don't want it to be! Haha! I started reading this fic when there was only about 25-30 chapters. I cannot believe that you got 96 chapters out of it! Incredible.
I had been looking for a good Marauder era story, and when I found yours, I was hooked instantly.
The way you really dug deep into the characters, and gave us such a believable back story; it is truly incredible. I mean, like, the Marauder's Map, and when they became animagi. I could totally see that as canon!
I have laughed at their crazy antics. I have cried, well, quite a few times. I have fallen in love with this generation, and now that I know their history, I miss them even more.
I think Jo should read this story, and then tell us how spot on you were for it!
Brilliant job on this fic. I am giving you a standing O for giving me a couple of years' enjoyment, and for giving us the ultimate prequel to the amazing world of Harry Potter! THANK YOU!!!

Author's Response: Wow, you started reading this a long time ago, that was only their third year. I didn't think it would end at 96 either. I tried to keep as canon as it could have been, which in most cases was remembering to put certain events in at the right time... I love that you just referred to this as the Marauders' history! That's so cool :) If she read this, that would be amazing, but the odds of that unfortunately... Yay, standing O! Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: stefunny2010
Date: 01/13/10 23:58
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow, its finally over. We now have an idea how things may have been for Harry's parents through their 7+ years of friendship. I think you did a really great job with the whole fic, including getting the characters down and developing them more than just "Harry's mom and dad" or "Harry's godfather" etc..I really enjoyed this fic from start to finish it was a great read and you did a superb job!! :D

Author's Response: Yeah, there's an idea of how it might have been for them (though I'm still for JKR writing a series about it so we actually do know how it was. Thanks so much for reading!

Reviewer: Doxy Eggs
Date: 01/13/10 20:38
Chapter: Epilogue

:O :O :O 96 Chapters, I can't believe it's over!!! ***NOOOO!***
I've been following this story for about 2 years, and it's been amazing all the way through!

Author's Response: I know, 96 chapters! Wow, 2 years? That's almost about the amount of time it's been around. Thanks for sticking with it to the end! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: siriuscrazy4ever
Date: 01/13/10 20:04
Chapter: Epilogue

Hi Potter!

I have been religiously following this story (and I'm sorry, I'm a little lazy about logging in and leaving a review). I just wanted to say, this was an amazing story: well thought-out and amazingly constructed. I loved all your characterizations; especially the Sirius-Remus fights before they turn suspicious. This story made me laugh, cry, sigh, angry, disappointed... that's difficult to do. Props to you. I hope you continue writing amazing stories :)

~Sc4e

Author's Response: Hey! I'm lazy like that too, actually :-p Ooh the Sirius-Remus fights. I miss those alreadys. I love to hear that my story made you feel all that. That's probably one of the best compliments to get. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: saskiam
Date: 01/13/10 16:52
Chapter: Epilogue

Hi,

I discovered your story a little over a year ago and have been keeping up with it ever since. (Yes, I do tend to be a lazy reviewer. Sorry. But you know... school and homework and such!)

I had just finished re-reading part of the series and basically rediscovered Remus Lupin -- I hadn't thought much about what his life must have been like. Before that I hadn't read any fanfiction at all (or written any), and your fic was one of the first I ever read. It's been fantastic to keep seeing these new installments, all so very true to to the book and well thought-out. The sense of humor, too, is wonderful; one of my favorite parts of the story.

Sometimes I disagree with your characterization just a bit -- I see him as maybe not struggling so much health-wise as you do, and I think he might have taught himself to ignore any sign that he was different, or at least when the full moon wasn't approaching. I think he'd have dropped this act after Lily and James' death -- but of course, nobody knows. :) So I've kept reading!

Also, sometimes the writing is just slightly choppy, but it doesn't matter. I think it's a silly thing to bother about when the story is as rich as what you've constructed; it's the events that matter. I love that it starts off so hopeful, trickles off into this dark, you-know-how-it-will-end sort of feel, and then it goes back to hopeful with this really nice last line. It feels complete.

Anyway, I just wanted to write this quick thank-you note for so much good reading. It's been great. Keep writing!

Author's Response: I can be a lazy reviewer as well, so I understand completely :) There's really only two fics out there that I review religiously. Remus Lupin was always a character I liked and I really realized that when I was thrilled to see him in Order of the Phoenix. He really is an interesting character because there's so little we know about him, as with all of the Marauders. The sense of humor was somethng really important to me, especially since Madam Rosmerta says James and Sirius always made her laugh, so I assumed they'd all be pretty funny (even Peter before he turned traitor). I can see why you may think that, but I always thought he would struggle healthwise because he says in POA that it was terribly painful to become a werewolf. Mostly just the day before a few days after he would feel sick. After that I tried to make him fairly healthy. Yeah, I admit the writing is choppy in places. Those are most obvious when I was having a hard time writing a chapter. It flows better in my favorite chapters. I'm glad you think it's the events that matter! Yeah, I tried to make it full circle in that aspect - hopeful, tragic, hopeful. I'm glad you liked it! Thanks so much for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/13/10 12:23
Chapter: A Matter of Time

I was thinking how adorable the three boys must have looked with their hair in pigtails. I was reminded of the times in our school when the boys dress up like girls and the girls dress up like boys--during homecoming week. Some of the boys with enough hair have put several little pigtails in:D I don't know why Lily is so perplexed about Remus leaving. I'd feel bad if I was her because I kept him waiting. I think it's best if Remus is kept busy. With all of his issues he shouldn't have too much time to dwell on his problems--he'll get way too depressed. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Oh they looked very adorable. My school had something like that too, but it was the week of Halloween (and the principle put an end to it after my brother's grade were seniors, since only the seniors were allowed to dress up. I think Lily was more perplexed because he looked so troubled, but she did keep him waiting! Remus is going to try to keep himself busy. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/13/10 11:52
Chapter: Never Forget a Name

How scary to think that Greyback knows Remus is at Hogwarts and is trying to find him. And on top of that, they don't know how he got into Hogwarts. I don't feel good either about Twikom knowing about Remus. That would ruin my evening right there. Great chapter but it made me nervous for Remus. It's so good to be able to get back on mugglenet. I know you published this elsewhere but I'm used to reading it on here and I'm kind of set in my ways of what I read and where:D

Author's Response: Greyback doesn't specifically know it's Remus yet, just that there's a werewolf there. Twikom isn't a bad person, but she's as spineless as they come. I know, I love being able to get back on here. Yeah it's published elsewhere, but I don't blame you for just wanting to read it here :) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 01/13/10 10:15
Chapter: Epilogue

I offer my congratulations on competing such a huge and high quality story. When I found this fic it was on chapter 30 or so, I never thought I'd get 96 chapters of enjoyement! Thank you so much, I really cannot stress how much I appreciate your work. When times were grey - I could always look forward to another bickering argument between Sirius and Remus. Will you be doing anymore fan fic writing or has this been quite enough? Either way, I wish you all the best in whatever you do. Thanks again.

Author's Response: Trust me, I never thought it would get to 96 chapters either... but I'm glad this was something you could look forward too! Oh, now I'm going to miss those arguements between those too. This is definitely my last chaptered fanfiction, I may write a one-shot sometime, but not any time soon. I'm going to work on some original stuff now. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Osced
Date: 01/13/10 10:14
Chapter: Epilogue

A really great story...

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: fightingokra4life
Date: 01/13/10 10:09
Chapter: Epilogue

i cant believe the story is finally over! i have enjoyed it greatly and even though we knew the tragic end, your story gave me hope that it might have turned out different.

Author's Response: I can't believe it either! I know, I used to hope the same thing when I read other Marauders fics... Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: stefunny2010
Date: 01/11/10 21:02
Chapter: Crashing Down

For some reason I havent been able to get to this site for the past week, hmm. Anyway, I cant believe its finally (almost) finished. I knew it was coming but its so nice to read this and forget about whats going to happen, but now it DID happen and I cant hope for much more:/ Ah well, I LOVED the last two chapters, you did such a good job writing Sirius going (sort of) crazy and now we kind of have a reson why Remus didnt visit Harry. Great job!!

Author's Response: The site was changing servers so the site wasn't really working. Yep, Sirius kind of went crazy and that's the reason (at least I think so) why Remus never went to see Harry. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Doxy Eggs
Date: 01/10/10 17:05
Chapter: Crashing Down

That was...woah.
The moment I read the word "Halloween," I knew it was going to be the death of the Potters.
very well written, can't wait for th enet chapter

Author's Response: Halloween is a pretty ominous word for this story. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 01/10/10 16:18
Chapter: Crashing Down

This chapter really got me emotionally, which is rare in fan fiction. Beautifully written. I'm sure
that wasn't the easiest of chapters to write. I don't know which is sadder - the now tattered marauders or the fact that this story, which has kept entertained for so long, is now over. I bet it feels sort of strange to you since you've been writing it for so long. I look forward to the epilogue.

Author's Response: It wasn't an easy chapter at all to write. I had to stop at one point and come back to it ten minutes later to get writing again. It is really strange to not be writing it anymore. I come on my computer and go to open the file and remember there's nothing left to write. I hope you'll like the epilogue. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 01/08/10 10:53
Chapter: The Traitor

Excllent two chapters (sorry I didn't get commening o. The last one, I've been bogged down with work). The end is near now. It's sort of strange Reading a story that is happy and hopeful at the start and very sad at the end but that's the way it must go. Look forward to the next chapter and I hope Remus will be okay.

Author's Response: It is weird. Though there was the warning at the beginning that it wouldn't be a happy ending :) The epilogue is kind of hopeful... You'll see what happens to Remus in the next chapter. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/03/10 21:31
Chapter: Infirmary Visits and Warnings

I just got the feeling that the DADA teacher was just being nosy and gossipy when she was hanging around the hospital wing. And, it just seemed inappropriate that she brought up Fenrir even if she's related to him. I know she was talking to the nurse but there was a student present. I kind of think Severus has things figured out about Remus. Yup, there are a lot of deer in South Dakota. It's a common cause of car accidents. Sometimes it's like they play chicken:) You come driving up to them by the side of the road, slow way down, and then kind of have a staring contest while you decide if you should drive by and the deer decides if they should run across the road in front of you. Great chapter.

Author's Response: When you get to the next chapter you may wonder if she really was just being nosy and gossipy... ooh fourth year was interesting (and a weird result of my writer's block). It really was inappropriate for her to do that, but she's also not the brightest witch. Severus is very close, you'll see the result of that in fifth year. Ha, staring contests with deer. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/02/10 20:19
Chapter: Loyalty

I smiled as I thought about James' problem of getting stag hair. Too bad he doesn't live in South Dakota--we have too many stags:) The huge buck with the ginormous rack that winters outside of Sioux Falls came to mind. That's how I see Prongs. Poor Remus got dunked twice in one day. I almost got the feeling that Sirius kind of knew something about Voldemort but didn't want to say anything to his friends. Or maybe those were just teeny twinges of guilt because he knows his family knows who Voldemort is. Great chapter. I'm glad this is such a long book. I feel I can really get into it:D

Author's Response: Wow, I didn't know there were a lot of stags in South Dakota. Where I live there really isn't a lot of wildlife (except for the family of deer my dad randomly saw when he was driving to work...) Yep, Remus got dunked twice, but it's all in good fun! Sirius doesn't know anything about Voldemort, you're right about the twinges of guilt. Yeah this is really long, I'm actually going to put the next chapter up tonight sometime. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/01/10 17:10
Chapter: Platform Traditions

And then it starts--they ask who is Lord Voldemort? An innocent question. I can't wait to see what happens with the Pettigrews. I mean, what happened to Peter's parents? If I were Peter's mother I'd be so embarrassed. I'm guessing they must die before too long. I chuckled at the cheering charms--I wish I knew those. They would make me very popular at work. I have to rely on the old muggle standby of pleasant conversation, telling jokes and stories, and outright laughter:P Have we seen the end of Professor Handlin? I didn't get the gobstones thing--why was Remus smelly? I know it's going to be something stupid I should know and I'm going to be embarrassed I asked, but I'm beyond shame:D Great chapter.

Author's Response: It is a pretty innocent question right now, by the end of this they wish they'd never heard the name. Mrs. Pettigrew had to have lived past the first war because they say in POA that she received the Order of Merlin and Peter's finger when they thought Sirius blew him up. Cheering Charms would be awesome if they really existed. You'll find out a little about where Professor Handlin ends up at the end of their sixth year, I believe. As for the gobstones, I think it says that in one of the books the gobstones squirt stinky liquid at you, so that was why Remus smelled. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/31/09 21:22
Chapter: Strained Relations and Lifeless Hands

Poor Remus. I love the full moon and watching it rise. It's so sad that Remus can never enjoy that sort of thing. I wonder why James all of a sudden decided to hex Snape. Maybe he just felt like it:) I was impressed when Sirius broke up the fight involving Regulus. At least that didn't go too bad. Birthdays are so important to young wizards. That was nice of the boys to buy Remus new robes. It wasn't nice to write on his forehead. Great chapter. Hope you have a great, fun, and safe New Year's Eve!

Author's Response: It is sad that Remus can't enjoy something as simple as that. James was just feeling particularly hex-happy and, of course, Snape is his first target. Sirius may not see eye to eye with Regulus, but he doesn't want him to get in trouble. Yeah the new robes were nice, but the writing on the forehead... Hope you had a nice New Year's Eve! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Ascendio
Date: 12/31/09 13:07
Chapter: Distance

Once again another great chapter :) Peter's making me nervous, I wish the Marauder's realized what was happening to him before it was too late.
I love the ending of this chapter, poor Remus, at least they all get a happy Christmas together :)

Author's Response: Peter's only going to get stranger in the next few chapters before it all ends. There's 4 chapters left to be posted and by chapter 94, Peter will really be making you nervous. Thaks for reading!

Reviewer: stefunny2010
Date: 12/30/09 22:40
Chapter: Distance

Aw:) Thats such a nice ending:) Petunia is just annoying, I dont know what I would do if I had a sister like that, thankfully I dont;) Anyways, I know that Remus cant tell ANYONE about his mission, and its these parts that I hate what Dumbledore did to this group, however unintentional, but I cant stop myself from wishing that he ends up telling them anyway. Even though that wont happen. At least Harry gets an amazing first Christmas, great job!!:D

Author's Response: I don't think anyone would know what to do if they had a sister like her. Complain about genetics, probably. Dumbledore didn't know this would split the group apart and Remus won't tell anyone because he's too loyal to Dumbledore. Yep, Harry got that good first Christmas! Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES