Reviews For Brighter Morning
Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/26/07 10:52
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

still kinda slow. itll get more interesting right?

Author's Response: Yup, next chapter. I have too much fun doing build up.

Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/26/07 10:51
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

still kinda slow. itll get more interesting right?

Reviewer: lily meet ginny
Date: 08/26/07 10:44
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

I know that you said that I would like the next chapter, but this one was really entertaining. I enjoyed the tutoring with Lupin, but I was surprised that nothing more happened between Arthur and Draco. Can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: lily meet ginny
Date: 08/24/07 22:46
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

I don't get why it takes so long for the mods to approve this. Does it usually take this long?

Author's Response: Yes, it is usually at least this long. It is up now. The mods have a tough job keeping the quality of the site up. Have patience.

Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/24/07 19:36
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

oooh!!!!! really? ooh, give me a hint! what happens? what happens? please tell me! please please please please please please!!!!!!!! just ahint! just a hint!!!!!!

Author's Response: The story itself hints at it pretty strongly. Unlike most of my stories, this one has rather a straightforward plot.

Reviewer: charlie black
Date: 08/20/07 21:04
Chapter: Brave New World

Can't wait for the next chapter!!!

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 08/19/07 15:21
Chapter: Dear Mr. Potter

I’ll just jump right in here:

The little ones were cheap, light, and corroded. …. “Seventeen Sickles to a Galleon,” Arthur recited to himself as though it were a mantra.
I like the details about the coins. They add a nice layer of reality. And Arthur’s clinging to what little he knows helps to anchor him as a person – it sounds like something I would do. It’s not going to help him right now, but it’s all he does know.

Great way to get him inside. My first guess was that he would simply be able to get in, perhaps by virtue of a Wizard father, but this works better. He makes a very convincing Muggle.

His confusion over “owling” someone is cute. Poor boy – I suppose Harry left a few details out. Even if he did tell him, it’s one thing to hear and quite another to apply such foreign knowledge.

The movie canon bits worked in here are fun – the jumping “chokolet” frogs, for example. Movie canon usually annoys me, but you slide it in nicely, without changing book-canon.

And I love the idea of Harry on a Chocolate Frog card. Of course, he would (will?) be – probably Ron, Hermione, and others will be as well.

Rest assured the enmity between your father and I has waned sufficiently to certainly give a hearing to you, if nothing else.
Ah ha! Enter Snape! This letter is pretty characteristic of Snape’s “voice”. I’d like to know exactly why the enmity waned, since Snape has hated Harry forever.

Finding it and realizing that it was perfect for his purposes, had made him believe that fate was on his side for the first time ever.
You don’t need the comma in this sentence.

Arthur has guts. I don’t think I’d be able to do all of that blood collecting.

Hope, fear, overwhelming strangeness – poor Arthur’s got it all happening. I hope things get better for him!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks for the comma note, and the long review! As to the scene with the wizard money. Arthur is a bit like Dorothy in Oz, wanting to believe the wizard could be real. He is making ruby slippers out of the coins. As to Snape, well, given how long ago I started this story, the background on that is not at all canonish. Some of it will get covered later in the story. If you are so inclined to review again, if the mood strikes, I'd much appreciate it.

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 08/19/07 14:58
Chapter: One Morning in Little Whinging

I rarely come into the AU category, but I am delighted to have done so. This is an absolutely amazing story!

I wasn’t sure what to expect when reading the premise, but you pulled it off magnificently. I like that most of this first chapter is from Harry’s PoV – really lets us see his confusion and understand his condition.

Everything was the same mute yellow, even the bookshelves built into the far wall.
This was kind of creepy. A good kind of creepy, I mean – it’s not a room that’s quite meant for living in. It goes along with the idea of it being for a man who sleeps his life away.

I do wonder why Harry takes the news of his amnesia so well. Some things seem appropriate to me, like the way he hugs his son, but some don’t quite make sense. Why does Harry, who doesn’t remember even being married, take so well to fatherhood? It’s sweet, but I don’t quite understand where it comes from.

I love Arthur. He’s incredibly mature, but I suppose that’s what happens when you grow up taking care of a parent. He does a great job of explaining everything to Harry, too. He’s so mature that it hurts a little – he hasn’t gotten the chance to have a normal childhood, especially since his mother died.

“Don’t meet anyone’s eyes. They’ll recognize you for certain. No. Really.”
Hee! Harry hates that so much, but he’s so realistic about it. Presumably, he got a little more used to it in the years between Hogwarts and Auror training.

Great first chapter. You showed us Harry, his condition, Arthur, and set Arthur up for more, which I am now going to look at!

Author's Response: I know what you are saying about Harry's reaction, but I didn't see how to fix it without adding it as a major thread and taking up a few chapters with it. I have to rely on him seeing his reflection in Arthur and taking everything at face value for his sake and especially not get caught up in the philosophy of the situation. Trouble I have is it is really tough for me to write a story this short. 600-800 pages is more my usual and I really wanted to hold this one to 150. So, I made many decisions while writing to leave things abbreviated or hinted at to avoid length. I don't usually have to do that, so I may have made those decisions in less than the best way. The story isn't actually about Harry, so it's good that you got by it and onto the next chapter. As an author, I can't really hope for more than that.

Reviewer: lily meet ginny
Date: 08/19/07 11:29
Chapter: The Sorcerer's Apprentice

yeah i wish the mods would approve this one.

Author's Response: I just posted that one, so I think you have a little wait. It's the chapter after this one that you really want ;-) Where there is some excitement.

Reviewer: charlie black
Date: 08/18/07 20:29
Chapter: Impatient Hope

This is really--oddly--funny.
I like it a lot.

Reviewer: lily meet ginny
Date: 08/18/07 18:00
Chapter: Brave New World

this story is amazing. I haven't been this captivated by a story in quite some time, excluding DH. Keep posting them often.

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/18/07 12:08
Chapter: Brave New World

on this matter it was first stated: F-I-N-A-L-L-Y-!

Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/18/07 11:36
Chapter: Brave New World

meh, the ones befoe this were better

Author's Response: Kind of a quiet chapter before the excitement begins.

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/17/07 5:08
Chapter: Brave New World

Nothing against you dude (really like the story) but it takes forever for them to approve....

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/17/07 5:06
Chapter: Brave New World

this is taking forever.........

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/16/07 3:54
Chapter: Brave New World

aprove it..............

Author's Response: Hm, it appears to be up for me, but I'm not sure how this works. I hope it really is up or I might be in trouble for submitting the following chapter already... urp!

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/14/07 7:09
Chapter: Brave New World

same here!

Author's Response: Oops, you're right it's not up. I guess it shows it to me because I'm logged in. Ah. I didn't realize that. I'm sure it will be up soon.

Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/13/07 21:34
Chapter: Brave New World

it's dark in here...I wonder why? oh yeah. Its BECAUSE I HAVENT READ THS YET!!!!!!! I wish those mods would hurry up already. Youv'e turned my hobby of reading into an obsesion.

Author's Response: LOL, thanks. I'm obsessed with writing . . . it's only fair.

Reviewer: Sharky_Girl
Date: 08/13/07 20:33
Chapter: One Morning in Little Whinging

This is by far the most interesting fiction I've read here in all the years i've been reading fictons! In my opinion, storyline is everything, and if you don't have a storyline, then it's gotta be funny. Thats why I'm usually in the humor section. But your storyline is equal to all the humor in the world! Way to go! Keep writing and updating, cause you know your good at it!

Reviewer: cgi1
Date: 08/08/07 16:30
Chapter: Passing for Mundane

Where are you dude? usually the next one is right up after the approval but it seems as thou you've forgotten about us
hurry up and post the next part!
can't wait to read it, absolutely brilliant!

Author's Response: Yup, I've been in my own private Oregon... waaay out of town. Next chapter's been submitted. Thanks for letting me know you are waiting on it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES