Reviews For It Takes a Thief
Reviewer: misvr
Date: 01/21/11 21:27
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Another great story. I like that you covered so much ground in so little time. You developed the plot quickly but with a lot of detail. You kept us guessing about "who" had Draco stealing - the Ministry was a definitie twist.

I loved how Draco thought of Ginny as his own goddess when she defended him to Scrimgeour. Visiting his mother was a nice touch to soften up our impressions of Malfoy. I thought bonding over take-out options was very realistic -so simple, but it works. (I especially liked how Happy Pang's was mis-named!). Thanks again for a great piece.

Author's Response:

Thank you for telling me the things you liked about the story! It's very encouraging and means a lot. I went to a take out place named "Great China" that should have been called "Okay China" :D that gave me the idea for a mis-named shop. A small consolation for Vegetable Lo Mein that had very little veg in it, heh.

Thanks again! :)

Reviewer: secretpal1505
Date: 12/30/10 12:12
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

I have to confess here… I’ve been having some time off in my office you know, because of the holidays, and if anyone showed up in my “cubicle” during this time, I’d be charged of not doing anything “productive” (and yes! I’d be declared guilty!).
So what am I to do? READ!! And since I’m addict to FF, where to find a good story?? The answer’s too easy: yours!!

I’ve been always reluctant to follow the canon ships due to the fact that as I have said in some other reviews, they are a little to fluffy and I don’t think the pairings mesh well, so I love and have always been a fan of Draco/Ginny and Draco/Hermione ships, and I started reading this kinds of stories thanks to you!! A tale of Two Matchmakers!! Yes!! I’m not sure if I ever reviewed that one, probably not, but I did read it and I loved it!! And so I was stubborn enough in my head to find some other stories just as good as that one, and guess what!! I found another: This one!!

There are a lot to things that I liked about it: Draco still thinks about his father’s impositions and he can’t let go of the prejudices Malfoy Senior had…and still he takes care of his mother and he is being like a “family guy” to her, showing that he cares about her the way his father probably wouldn’t. I like Ginny’s strength on taking Draco on her own even though no one in their right mind would believe he was up to something and she was totally positive ( and totally obsessed) then the way the three of them (Tonks/Remus/Ginny) solved the puzzle to face Draco!! Wow!!! The mystery about who was behind the burglaries was awesome!! Really I didn’t see it coming… at first I’d thought maybe Harry or Severus was behind them, but then the Minister!! Magical!! And of course!! They ended up together!! The sexual/romantic tension during the whole story was as great as it could be portrayed!!

Thanks again for amazing stories like this one; I’ve to pick up the courage and start reading your Tonks/Remus ones!! I know for sure they’ll be awesome!!

Author's Response:

AHHH! MNFF ate my reply! Son of a witch! I can't remember everything I wrote, but I'm sure it was lyrical and sparkly, heh.

I LOVE the idea of time off in an office. Don't the Japanese have power naps? Why not power reads? Something to lift your spirits before you return to work, work, work all the time. :D

Thank you so much for spending some of your in-office holiday reading this story and telling me what you liked. If they didn't end up together, that would be too sad. It's bad enough the pairing isn't canon; the least I can do is give them a happy ending in an alternate dimension of the Potterverse! 

Whatever you read will make my day. :)

Reviewer: FlicketyG
Date: 05/31/10 4:37
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

That was a really good story! I believed all the characters, the plot line wasn't annoying and it wasn't rushed with corners having been cut like some one-shots are. I don't usually go for Draco/ ginny fics, but this one was amazing!

Xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading the story even though you don't usually go for the pairing! I really appreciate that. They're very much an AU couple now, but in alternate dimensions of the Potterverse anything can happen (and will, in fan fiction, heh). Happy Memorial Day...or just Happy Day if you're in a different part of the world. :)

Reviewer: inspirations
Date: 12/31/09 10:23
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Hey, Paige. :] Well, I’m not usually a Draco/Ginny shipper, but your summary intrigued me enough to want to read on. It’s an interesting story.

I liked how smoothly Draco lied to Ginny in the beginning. I really didn’t realise he was the thief until it’s confirmed when he goes to steal the last object. However, there, I was slightly confused, because up until then he just seems to shrug these robberies aside. Even being a Malfoy, and having done this for months and never being caught, I would’ve thought that he’d at least be nervous – especially when he knows Ginny is on his case. I find Draco’s character difficult, and I thought you wrote him well, but a bit more a conscience before that point would’ve made it a little more believable for me in the beginning.

You know, I love how Draco outwits Ginny with his magic, by being more prepared than she is. There’s no false sort of ‘I-won’t-get-caught’ confidence there, which I believe would only be the case – he would’ve learnt from his father’s, etc., mistakes. In addition, Ginny being confident enough not to have back-up and such was nicely written. It embodies her exasperation at not having been able to catch Draco nicely, and also her confidence that she can catch Draco, even though in the end that’s not the case.

One thing about this fic is that it kept me on my toes. It kept me guessing, right up until the point where it is revealed about Draco and Scrimgeour’s arrangement. So that mysterious element was great, because it kept me reading. Without the mystery, I think the story would be just a shell of what it is, and not half as enjoyable a read.

Finally, the end of the fic when they were finally together was awesome. It really tied the story together, especially as you kept that Egyptian theme there. Without that it might’ve seemed like it should be the start of end of another story, but those references to the culture of the stolen statues, etc. – and the setting itself – kind of grounded it. In addition, Draco and Ginny were together! And, of course, that’s what I’d wanted them to do for half the story, LOL. Nice story, dear. xx

Author's Response:

Happy New Year! I see Slytherins as being good liars, not only to others but to themselves as well. I don't care. I'm not nervous. Gryffindors may be bold, but Slytherins have their own brand of bravado. :D

I'm thrilled you liked the Egyptian elements and the mystery that acts as a catalyst for romance. With some couples, the only way they're going to get together believably is through extraordinary circumstances. 

Thank you for reading a story even though you don't ship the pairing, and double thanks for wanting them to get together as you read!

Reviewer: freshwater
Date: 11/15/09 12:58
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Nice use of "hippopatamic land mass" from Princess Bride! And nice transition from "I'll get you"Ginny to supportive Ginny.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I had so much fun using Princess Bride quotes in the Matchmakers story, I couldn't resist using one in a different dimension of the Potterverse. :D

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 04/18/09 18:24
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

I love how denying they are of totally loving each other. He wasn't gorgeous. He just found her sexually appearing, in a baffling way. Haha! I always loved a good Drinny story, especially if you write it. They're complex and, at first, repelling the other, but in the end they always admit that they're destined to fall in love. Which you capture perfectly.

Author's Response:

They are great together...in alternate dimensions of the Potterverse, anyway! :D

Thank you for enjoying the story and for the luv-er-ly compliments!

Reviewer: rrraacchh
Date: 10/28/07 5:18
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

loved it!

Author's Response: Ta, Thanks! ^_^

Reviewer: Crystal Moon
Date: 08/20/07 22:17
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

This story is great.

You should think of making chapters.

Good Job!!

Author's Response: I wish I could have made it longer, but since I write a R/T series (and now a George/Alicia angsty romance post DH fic) I just didn't have the time. It would have been fun, though! :)

Reviewer: _Hedwig101_
Date: 07/04/07 2:40
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

This was excellent, as are ALL of your fics, this is the first time I have ever reviewed by the way. I think A Tale of Two Matchmakers was the first fic I ever read! Loved it! Uh...II'm curious because I know you make references to popuar culture in all of your stories but, is the titile, It takes a Theif, the name of a book? Because I could have sworn that I read one by that name...or maybe it was only close. I can't remember! But anyway, very good fic!

Author's Response: You reviewed now, and I'm thrilled! :)

The title is part of an old saying 'It takes a thief to catch a thief.' To Catch a Thief is an old Cary Grant/Grace Kelly film, and I'm sure if you do a title search at Amazon.com or any other bookstore, there are dozens of books with this title. Good thing titles can't be copyrighted! :D

Reviewer: Merlin the Weirdster
Date: 06/04/07 6:47
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

wow... this was great. funny though, how scrimgeour would do that. and how lupin and tonks are pregnant.

i liked this a lot, you should write another chapter.

Author's Response: Scrimgeour had no compunction about sending poor Stan to Azkaban when he knew full well he wasn't a DE, so I see him as a man who tries to accomplish the common good, even if it's in ways some would consider bad. :) There won't be a second chapter, but if you like R/T, I have a series (currently on OotP Moonlight and Shadow that I'd love you to read. ^_~

Thank you for reading this story!

Reviewer: jettalynn
Date: 05/21/07 18:31
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

I'm a fairly new reader to this site and I cant help but say, you are an exceptional writer. I am always drawn to your stories (I have read three and and am in the middle of Two Matchmakers) and your writing captivates me as does JKR's. Yet again another phenomenal story!! I look forward to reading more.

-JettaLynn

Author's Response: You had me at exceptional writer. :)

Thank you so much for the kind words, and anything you'd like to read, I'd love! *hugs*

Reviewer: LunaLike
Date: 05/11/07 15:00
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Two words .. Loved and It!

Author's Response: Those are wonderful words! Thank you!

Reviewer: LiaWitch20
Date: 05/03/07 19:06
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Simply great! I was almost crying of joy when reading multicoloured werepups. Tell me that was like a premonition!!!!!! ^ ^ That was sooooooooooooo sweet. And Remus! @_@
Draco a thief…I haven’t thought too much a profile like that to him, but I really enjoyed it. Draco knowing Egyptian Gods and history and whatever! Well, we (women) always idealize men, that’s why I always get problems!! Hehehe
Ehhh I’m saying nothing…focus. Oh! I think “your Scrimgeour” was a very good character, very “realistic” but that’s normal, how could I expect less from you?
I love your writing, WonderGirl!


Author's Response: Hey, I think you're s'wonderful and s'awful nice for giving me such a s'marvellous review! I got the idea from a LJ prompt, and once I figured out a reason why he would become one (I don't think a Slytherin would ever do it for the thrill--too much common sense and healthy self-preservation) I had a great time writing it. Thank you for enjoying it, and the werepups comment. You better believe I'm writing them married with 'pups' LOL, just have to get through the series first! ^_~

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 05/02/07 20:23
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

I love this fic. I love the Draco/Ginny ship, and you definitely write it the best. This was very different from the Matchmakers fics, and yet still very good. I love all the non-HP things you add in, like mythology.

~Alison

Author's Response: Thank you, Alison! Mythology is fun, and there is such a wide variety of it, that sprinkling it in fics is like adding sprinkles to batter to give the cake extra color. :)

Reviewer: Buckbeak rules
Date: 04/28/07 16:51
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Wow! i love this fic it's great it holds some mystery and it has some quirky humor in it!
Just wondering thou, is this a one shot or going to be a seris like say they get married and on the special day Harry comes back?
Just curious, but i love the story.

BR

Author's Response: It's just a one shot, even though the shows up at the wedding scenario certainly has dramatic potential! :) I think even if Harry came back, though, Ginny would just smile at him, not be torn between her memories of Harry and what she has with Draco. Her heart was dented when Harry left, but her love with Draco made it whole again.

Reviewer: solemnly_swear73
Date: 04/16/07 19:16
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Once again, you prove just what a master storyteller you are. What a brilliant, well done and imaginative one-shot!! I LOVED it!

Seeing Remus and Tonks in the story made me SQUEE with joy! I love those two together and with a baby on the way, well it must made me SQEE some more. I could easily see Ginny and Tonks becoming life long friends, and I like that Remus and Tonks didn't just brush aside her concerns about Draco. I LOVED this line.."It's worth feeling like a hippopotamic land mass to be coddled." That was a clever PB reference!

I really liked the interaction between Draco and his mother. I loved to see the caring and nurturing part of him come out; it was touching.

I love Egyptian history and how you managed to weave it so beautifully into this story:-)

I absolutely ADORED how you ended the story!! Almost exactly like the beginning except this time Ginny was the date. Please don't stop writing D/G stories....no one writes them like you do.

Well done!!!


Author's Response: If I ever get a review of my original fiction that matches yours, I'm going to have it professionally framed! (yours, I'm going to print, and put in a folder and use it for incentive as well as smile over it. ^_^)

Reviewer: geminiginny
Date: 04/15/07 13:56
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Hey, nice fic! I don't usually like Draco/Ginny fics, but this one was really cleverly written and the plotline just flowed. I loved the Tonks/Remus sideline too.

Author's Response: I've put two mentions of 'pink-haired babies' in my R/T fic, so it's only fair Remus and Tonks get a moment in this story! :D Also, I like to think Ginny and Tonks became friends for life, and Ginny would count on her friend to listen and help, not blow her off. :)

I tried really hard to make this a true short story, complete in itself, so thank you for the compliment! :]

Reviewer: emoprincess26
Date: 04/14/07 16:46
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

This is awesome! I love how you got Ginny and Draco together in an unconventional (I think that's a word...) way and the Ancient Egyptian references really added to the story. Great job!

~emoprincess26

Author's Response: Unconventional is a great word! Thank you for saying that. I wanted to do something different and I'm happy you liked it!

Reviewer: leftside1234
Date: 04/14/07 9:13
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

That was beautiful, is all that stuff true about the colors?

Author's Response: I was doing research on Egyptian artefacts when I came across information about colours and thought it would fit into the story perfectly. Thank you for enjoying it! ^_^

Reviewer: water sprite
Date: 04/14/07 4:27
Chapter: It Takes a Thief

Another work of genious! Kerichi you are my god...goddess. Just when I was getting withdrawal symptoms for a tale of two matchmakers you give me this. Really loved it. Luv!

Author's Response: Thank you for having withdrawal symptoms. I've missed your reviews just as much, so thank *you* for the 'fix'! :D

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES