Reviewer: GreyLady
Date: 06/22/08 22:09
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Wow! I was not expecting this when I clicked on it. I don't know what I was expecting, but I really liked this because it's so different.

The atmosphere that you built is just fabulous. The old house, the storm, Catherine's distant screams, the music playing...it made it all very creepy. The phrase of her screams coming from the “deep recesses” of the house was really chilling, and the description of the flame “dancing like a faerie on Beltane” connects really well with the rest of the story.

The entire premise is truly terrifying. The idea of a faerie creature coming out of the night to steal his daughter but only being a delusion of his insanity works perfectly. Faerie tales were people's way of dealing with the death and darkness and unexplainable that were all around them, and to have something reminiscent of the creatures in those stories be a product of insanity makes complete sense. (And by faerie stories, I mean like the Grimm brothers, where people are eaten and all manner of terrible things occur.)

And along with the concept being terrifying, you also make it very suspenseful. The image of the rocking horse blocking Harry's view of the creature in the dark, with the music tinkling, chilled me to the bone. And I have to admit that I was shocked when it actually bit her arm. The fact that for some reason I didn't think that anything horrible was actually going to occur gave it enormous shock value.

And the ending. Wow. Was definitely not expecting that. It's really genius and tragic, and the last word was just...perfect.

There were a couple things about your story that weren't as perfect, but I can easily forgive them for the brilliance of the rest of it. For instance, you ave a comma splice here: “He was the Defense Against the Dark Arts Teacher, why was he drawing a blank about this creature?” I also felt like your descriptions of the house and the storm were a little too flowery and cliché in places.

However, I'm jumpy and disturbed now, and that speaks a lot for your talent. Excellent work – you definitely deserved to be featured!

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you for the wonderful review.  I'm glad you were able to see the reality vs the illusion in the story.  There were many readers who could not decide if it was all his imagination or if it actually happened.  I tried to hard to make it appear that it could go either way.  As far as the description of the house, I tried to stick true to what Hermione would have done to make the house more "liveable" and I did go over the top with Catherines bedroom, however it was not just a cliche', both of my daughters rooms look just like that.  One is in various shaded of purple with a chandaleir and all, the other is all pink with a castle bed.  The description of the doll houses came from one of son's friends.  No one ever expects a small child to get hurt in a story so I put it in there for the shock value.  My mind was steel reeling from the fact that my own tiny little two year old had a broken arm and cast that went from wrist to elbow.  It is amazing what the mind of a frightened mother will come up with.  Thank you again for the review and I will go fix that comma splice right now.

~Kristy

Reviewer: Great Beirniny
Date: 06/17/08 7:50
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Awwwww that was sad. I liked how Harry said too at the end even though I think it was the saddest line. I was expecting Catherine to die, but Harry going mad like that Wow. Was that lullaby Baby Mine from Dumbo?

Author's Response: Yes it was and when my little girl broke her arm and had to have surgery at the children's hospital, it was playing in the "holding" room after her surgery.  I got to hold her in a rocking chair while she woke up.  Since I wrote this story the next day, it was fresh in my memory and I wanted it in the story and I figured Mr. Weasly would give them something like an enchanted muggle radio.  I also think the "too" is the saddest line, it gets me every time.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/13/08 18:14
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

very well written. the suspense, the use of poetry, images. it was a seamlessly woven tapestry. u dont see where the parts end just the masterpiece. as other reviewers hav said, it really is both beautiful and terrible, scary and sad.

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 06/10/08 22:49
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Oh. That was excruciating to read. Not excruciating as in I didn't enjoy it, just excruciating in I felt so much emotion while reading . . . I definitely see why this story is featured. It's amazing. Your writing style -- the descriptions are just so vivid, without being overdone. A beautiful mix of horror, suspense, and tragedy. Great job.

Author's Response: I understand, I wrote it and I still have to read it as fast as I can to get to the end. (Like I need to see what happens even though I already know.)

Reviewer: Jay_malfoy
Date: 06/07/08 0:25
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

This story scared me. I loved it!

Reviewer: MissJewell
Date: 06/02/08 2:07
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Oh! Oh! *is trying to find words* That's so sad! That's so horrible! Poor Harry! Poor Catherine!

This is amazing. The writing is wonderful. You have written a very moving, terrifying story. Amazing job!

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 05/28/08 23:38
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Aaaaaaah! That's so sad. No wonder this piece is a featured story. Not only do you have some of the best descriptive writing I have ever, ever seen, you managed to put a horror story and a tradgedy together. So sad! And yet absolutely touching. Amazing.

Author's Response:

Thank you.  I took a class through the Beta forums and it helped me develop the story.

~Kristy

Reviewer: HJaneWeasley
Date: 05/25/08 17:42
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

I don't quite know what to say. The image of the Erkling attacking Catherine was horrifying, as was the idea of Harry being mentally incapacitated, but at the end, I came away with the feeling of love between Catherine and Harry. Bravo.

Author's Response:

I tried hard to get the images across so that you couldn't get them out of your head.  The terifying attack and the love between the father and daughter.

~Kristy

Reviewer: BertieBotsBeans741
Date: 05/18/08 20:56
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Kristy! You made me cry again. =( It's so good but it depresses my terribly. *hugs* It just means you are an amazing writer.

Brittany

Author's Response:

I try my hardest love

~Kristy

Reviewer: butter_beer_drinker
Date: 05/17/08 21:21
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

it's kinda like putting m&m's in your popcorn at the movie theater ~ glad you liked it

~Kristy

Reviewer: ronsbabiesmomma
Date: 05/17/08 12:43
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

although there were a couple mistakes this was such a good story. you are very talented and i think that if you reached out and started writing your own stories and characters you would do extremely well.

Author's Response:

love your online name!  If you point them out I can fix the mistakes.  And thank you for the compliment, you are one of a few that have said I should give it a try.

~Kristy

Reviewer: Burntartic
Date: 05/15/08 10:12
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Wow. very good. Had me riveted the entire time. Great story, and scary, but good none the less.

Author's Response:

thanks, I think >.<

~Kristy

Reviewer: padfoot_returns
Date: 05/10/08 21:05
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

That was so amazing. Its hard to find something that sweet and sad at the same time. Great job on it!

Reviewer: FlightofthePhoenix
Date: 05/09/08 7:20
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Oh my gosh Kristy. You, as a Mother, write such heart-wrenching stories that I can tell are straight from the heart and thats what makes you sucha good writer. Becuase you can easily put yourself in that situation; the fear of loosing a child is just simply unbearable
:( And you write Harry's pain so well. *smile* And as buggy2121 said: The last word "too" made me cry. I was like "oh!" and I covered my mouth with my hand. It was simly beautiful and tear-worthy :) *squish* And I love how you said you keep changin your mind. Whether it really happened, or the marks were simply a birthmark. And it was inspired by your own little girl? *hugs Kristy's little girl* Your children, one day, will inspire a book out of you one day, I'm sure of it :) I'll keep an eyes out for you :)

*huggles*
~Nicole

Author's Response: Thanks Nicole, and I actually do have an original fiction in the back of my mind.  I used the general idea of it for my story The Guardian, that at some point I am going to turn into a chaptered fic.

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 05/01/08 10:25
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

That was really intense. It's very dark and sad, but I think you've done a wonderful job with it. It's original and frightening, a very good piece of writing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, it was a bit intense to write.  The orginal version or the "skeleton" of the story just poured out of me in about 30 minutes.  My wonderful betas hammered it into perfection.

Reviewer: peevesismyhero
Date: 05/01/08 5:48
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

this was so good! so sad, though! the end literally brought tears to my eyes...:-( very well written though.

Author's Response: I still get goose bumps and teary when I read it.

Reviewer: LuLu94
Date: 04/30/08 22:42
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

oh my gosh. how sad. but it was really good.

Author's Response: Stories about loosing your parents, no matter what it is, are always a bit sad.  I always feel sorry for Catherine at the end of this one.

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 04/29/08 21:29
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

I loved it. It was frightening, yet just so...I can't even think of an appropriate word for this well written fanfic.

Author's Response: If it made your heart race, then I did my job and learned alot from the professor that taught the class I was taking. :)

Reviewer: cheapness
Date: 04/25/08 14:32
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

very nice. very enjoyable.

Author's Response: Danke vielmals!  :)

Reviewer: liquid_silver
Date: 04/20/08 10:39
Chapter: The Nightmare that Follows

Absolutely incredible. The ending caught me completely off guard. Well done!

Author's Response: Plot twists are always a plus - I'm glad you liked it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES