Reviews For A Note of Joy
Reviewer: ginnyrulz13
Date: 03/14/08 14:21
Chapter: A Note of Joy

umm.... i couldnt quite figure out when this story takes place... and im sorry but i didnt enjoy it very much

Reviewer: Hermione Granger 101
Date: 05/31/07 13:33
Chapter: A Note of Joy

Interesting very well written

Reviewer: Ibreathemusic987
Date: 04/03/07 21:04
Chapter: A Note of Joy

aw! i wish she gave the note to Harry. Good story though, very discriptive.

Author's Response: Aw. Sorry. But this was more of a person-revelation than a declaration-of-love-story. Still, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Perhaps I will try to write something more of the latter in the future? :D

Author's Response: *headdesk* I meant a personal revelation. Not a person revelation! My bad. sheepish grin*

Reviewer: pinkpPotter
Date: 03/28/07 22:00
Chapter: A Note of Joy

That was lovely. You have a beautiful style of writing. = )

Author's Response: Thank you very much. That means a lot to me. :)

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 03/27/07 10:35
Chapter: A Note of Joy

Ah, shoot. I forgot to mention that I like the pun that is your title. The music that is the thought of Harry and the letter ("note") itself...hee. I'm a sucker for clever wordplay :D

Author's Response: I'd love to say that I cleverly planned that - but I actually never noticed it until you pointed it out. *blush*

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 03/27/07 10:33
Chapter: A Note of Joy

I like this. It's one of those that is as much about tone as plot, and both are compelling.

Present tense, third person, not using her name -- all really good tools for the atmosphere you create. The description is lovely:
The desk she is sitting at seems to sag with an added weight when she comes closer to it, almost as though it can sense the burden she is carrying.
The doubts she carries are so heavy that they affect even inanimate objects, even a sturdy piece of furniture.

The arguing parts of her mind are good. I love how she never speaks out loud. It's all whether she can, within herself, admit her love -- she doesn't need words. In any case, spoken word is harder to work with in this tone.

The plot is sweetly compelling -- which sounds slightly oxymoronic, but I don't think it is. It's interesting how you hold back the real conflict until the very end: can Ginny admit her love to herself? Even though I saw the summary, I was thinking that she was strugging to write Harry because she wasn't sure if he would want her letter. The real point is a much stronger, more likable one.

I have one piece of structrual crit: When Ginny dips the pen for the second time, Flick is a separate "paragraph." I was slightly confused for a bit because the other italics-as-separate-paragraphs were all either innner dialogue or written words. I would suggest just moving Flick up to the end of the last paragraph to join the part about re-dipping the pen.

And thank you for the author's note! I would have thought she was going to mail it. Actually, I'm still not sure I quite understand why she's letting it go free...the sentimental part of me gets it, but my mind is having trouble with the concept :P Anyway, wonderful job. There's a reason you're one of my favourite authors!

Author's Response:

*is slightly blown away* Wow, another amazing review! Well, first off, thank you for just reading this, let alone reviewing it. I'm very appreciative of the feedback. It never fails to feel wonderful. :D

Thanks also for the crit - I never noticed that before, but you're completely right! I already changed it, so hopefully that part makes a bit more sense. As for the concept ... well, it logically escapes me a bit, too. I suppose the easiest way to sum it up would be that it is a symbol of Ginny releasing her emotions to the world.

Again, thank you so much for the review! Every writer needs someone to give them that boost of confidence. :D

Reviewer: HermionePotter
Date: 03/26/07 19:51
Chapter: A Note of Joy

I liked this.. wish it was longer, but it really was good.

~zimmy

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: SCPGOHDad24
Date: 03/26/07 17:55
Chapter: A Note of Joy

i generally don't like stories like this one, but this i loveeeeeeeed! i hope to see other stories from you.

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad you enjoyed this one. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: HPLoverForever
Date: 03/26/07 3:33
Chapter: A Note of Joy

This was really great!

I liked this for a lot of reasons. For one, it showed Ginny in her true light, which is a place of fear and nervousness. She is scared of letting her true feelings out and here, she finally does so. Another reason is how you describe everything she does in exact detail, giving the reader the exact image of what Ginny is doing.

I love reading things like this, and I really liked what you did with the end, having Ginny let the note out the window. It's very unique and creative. Job well done!

Author's Response: Oooh, thank you so much! I didn't expect to get much positive feed-back on the way I ended it - but apparently it wasn't too shabby. Thank you so much for the review, dahhling. <3

Reviewer: Fantasium
Date: 03/25/07 22:04
Chapter: A Note of Joy

Beckham! I was out searching for a healthy dose of my Guilty/Pleasure pairing, otherwise known as Harry/Ginny (you know, Harry/Katie being my OTP and all, *cough*), when I stumbled upon this. So now you shall have to endure an Anna-review. =)

To begin with Ė I like this. Actually, I like it a lot. Itís such a simple scene you have created, and yet so important. Of course, it also helps that you have used an abundance of beautiful details, which Iím an absolute sucker for. You know, the way you tell this story greatly reminds me of Periwinkle-Annaís style.

The desk she is sitting at seems to sag with an added weight when she comes closer to it, almost as though it can sense the burden she is carrying.

- see? That, there! Detains like that just make the surroundings come to life (not literally, of course, I meant non-fictional), and you paint such a complete and vivid picture in my mind. Well done!

Then the other side of her mind retaliates against the first, like it always does.

- ! Yes, an exclamation mark. Itís for two reasons. One Ė so that doesnít just happen in my head? Excellent. Two Ė what a wonderful way to tell your readers about whatís going on in Ginnyís mind. And the way you compare the two sides of her mind with fighting dogs is, if I may say so, very creative and original.

I think that single word, Harry, had the desired effect on me. It wasnít that I expected something else, but I was so focused on your Ginny that I had completely forgotten that Harry was also supposed to have his part in all of this. When I read his name, a shiver of excitement rushed up my spine.

AndÖ then I actually did expect something different. I thought for sure that Ginny would begin to write a letter. But no. Itís just the I love you. And that was all that mattered.

Hm. Iím sorry, Beckham, I have no critique or suggestions for improvements to offer you, because there is nothing in this fic that needs correcting, nothing that I would want to change. I also donít really know how to end my review, because it feels like I want to say something more. Perhaps someone would say that your story seemed short, and perhaps someone would wonder about its purpose. But I think itís just long enough for what you want to say, and that the purpose is to give us a wonderful, entirely plausible glimpse of Ginny. I have seen a few Ďreunioní fics around, and although this hasnít got any Harry/Ginny interaction in it, it has still got some important thoughts of Ginnyís, and the proof (written proof, even) that she really does love Harry.

And to someone on the hunt for guilty pleasure Harry/Ginny, that is all that matters. =)

Author's Response:

Ooh, an Anna!Review! No way!

First off, thanks so much for reviewing in the first place. Secondly - Harry/Ginny is what you consider a guilty pleasure? I find that funny, seeing as most are usually non-canon. ;) Still, to each his own.

However, I am disappointed in your lack of nit-picky comments. Can I do nothing wrong, for you? Jeeze, Anna. That hurts. That hurts a lot. *giggle*

As for the comment on 'purpose' - thank you a million times over! Lately I've gotten a lot of people in real life commenting on my work saying that, while they enjoyed it, it had no purpose. I was afraid that someone might say the same to this piece, and the fact that you saw a purpose to it - however small - makes me completely ecstatic! If only more people could appreciate the plots and ideas which do not stare them in the face, oh what a world it would be!

In any case, that completely made my day. Thank you again - and again and again. And also for the compliment on Peri-Anna!style. I admire her writing skills very much, and to be compared to her is an honor. :D

Many hugs from the Beckham-department, and I hope to see you in a SPEW chat soonly! xoxo

Reviewer: hpfreak101
Date: 03/25/07 15:33
Chapter: A Note of Joy

I thought this was beautiful and am looking forward to reading more. One thing I would watch for is using too many words in one sentence to just say something simple. I think you said that she reached into the bag that you brought with her.If you havne't mentioned it specifically before, it doesn't matter if you mention it offhandedly because the reader can assume things. You could have just as easily said "She reached into her bag." Sorry for the criticism, but I very much enjoyed your story.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it! No worries about critisism - every writer needs it, so thank you for that as well. You are right with what you say, though. I know that I tend to extend things longer than they need to be. Admittedly, one particular reason I did that in this story was to reach the word limit. Again, thank you for the review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES