Reviewer: pinktat
Date: 06/04/07 3:20
Chapter: An Unexpected Friendship

As soon as I read the first few line I guessed it, though I wouldn't have got it from any of the other chapters, no matter how many times I read them! Interesting new angle, I can't wait for the next chapter. Can I ask what has Draco been doing all this time, just sitting in the house? Isn't that like a prison from prison, sounds to me as though he's served his time so to say. Fab :)

Author's Response: *giggles* Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

As for Draco, he was pretty much restricted to the house. He would go out occasionally, but only after taking major precautions. And yes, he has certainly suffered. All the characters have suffered because of the war in one way or another.

Thanks again, for the review.

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 06/03/07 19:53
Chapter: An Unexpected Friendship

Heh...I guessed Narcissa in the first paragraph of this chapter. Not many HP characters would describe themselves as rich and beautiful. Although up until this chapter I'd been pretty clueless.

Interesting that Hermione made relationships with both Draco and Narcissa. What has Draco been doing all these years, then? Has he really just been sitting in the house for eleven years? Ouch. That's like Azkaban. Though, I guess he had company, but still.

Well, another great chapter. :) And, how do you pronounce Lucus? Is it like Lucas with more of an "uhh" sound (if that makes any sense :P)?

Author's Response: Yeah, Narcissa is pretty much the only character who would consider herself rich and beautiful. *giggles* She never seemed overly modest to me.

As for Draco, yes, he's pretty much been sitting around the house. He would risk going out occasionally, taking precautions, but he was pretty much restricted to the house. He was lucky to have Narcissa and Lucus.

As for Lucus, it is Lucas. I just don't spell it that way. I'm not really sure why, but it is pronounced the same way, in my mind, at least.

Thanks so much for review. *huggles*

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 06/03/07 13:45
Chapter: An Unexpected Friendship

I knew it was Cissy from the moment I read "rich and beautiful"! Ha! I like that twist in events. Although, Draco's predicament is tragic. Who was the mother, I wonder? Maybe you'll reveal that later? I love the way you write Hermione, she seems so sensible and kind. I really like all your characters, actually. They're great, and really cannon too. They have this complete change of heart from the books but they're not OOC! That's pure talent, Sly Severus! Bravo!

Author's Response: *smiles* I figured you would guess Narcissa. Actually, I thought the rich comment would give it away completely. How many characters in Harry Potter were rich?

Anyway, as for Lucus' mother, her part is complete. She was the woman Draco loved and lost. She doesn't have an interesting back story to come out.

Again, thanks for the compliments. And I guess most of the characters have done a 180 from the books, but they have been through a lot since then.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. I always look forward to hearing what you think of my stories and chapters. :D

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 06/03/07 13:32
Chapter: Cats and Owls

Wow! Snape/Bella? i didn't really expect that to happen, even with your track record ;-). It was a lovely chapter. I liked how your dialougue and your other paragraphs blended perfectly. That really drew my attention. The description and dialogue was perfectly in tune! I love your characterization, and your story plot. it keeps me on the edge of my seat. As for the cat, I like Bella's way of naming them. A person who names their cat Shadow, would probably name their second one something like Midnight. You definately know what people are like! I love this chapter, can't wait to read the next!

Author's Response: I've grown very fond of pairing Bella and Severus. What can I say? They are my two favorite characters.

As for the cat names, they were actually both names that I considered naming my cat. I finally called him Magic. :D I wanted to name him Snape, but my mom insisted that I didn't. Aww well, maybe next time.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review and the compliments. I'm glad you're enjoying the story. :D

Reviewer: Viv
Date: 06/02/07 13:50
Chapter: An Unexpected Friendship

I knew it was her!!! I just knew it! So Draco escaped the Ministry... Interesting! Life's been cruel on him though, loosing his wife. At least, I'm happy that his son survived. Snape won't believe it when he'll learn that Narcissa is Hermione's benefactor. But I think she's doing the right thing. Bella needs her sister with her to help her recover. And I liked Snape's idea, how cute to buy Bella a little cat. :)

Just a little thing I was wondering... Did you meant Lucus or Lucius for the baby's name? Because in all the chapter, it's written Lucus... Other than that, I really liked the 2 chapters! Good dialogues between Hermione and Snape. I laughed when he answered her to get out more if she found his company enjoyable! Continue your good work and I shall contiue to review! ;)

Author's Response: *giggles* Yeah, you guessed right, but I didn't want to spoil it by telling you. :p

Draco's son's name is Lucus. I wanted it to be close to Lucius, but not idenitcal. Draco wanted to honor his father, but didn't feel right giving his son the identical name.

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. :D

Reviewer: Nairobidawn
Date: 06/02/07 9:56
Chapter: An Unexpected Friendship

I was right!! LOL, really it was more of a lucky guess. Anyway, keep it up, it's great!!!

Author's Response: *giggles*

And the benefactor has been revealed.

Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Nairobidawn
Date: 05/31/07 13:45
Chapter: Cats and Owls

Wow...I did not see that coming, and I have read a lot of your stuff! LOL, anyway, great update! I can't wait for more! And I want to find out who that benefactor is!!!

Author's Response: ;) see below

Reviewer: Nairobidawn
Date: 05/31/07 13:39
Chapter: Cats and Owls

Wow...I did not see that coming, and I have read a lot of your stuff! LOL, anyway, great update! I can't wait for more! And I want to find out who that benefactor is!!!

Author's Response: :D Glad I could still surprise you. The benfactor is revealed in the next chapter when Hermione returns to America. :D Say tuned, and thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 05/31/07 13:09
Chapter: Cats and Owls

This chapter took forever to get through! Glad it's here.
Ms. Granger, if you find my company pleasurable, I recommend that you get out more.
Heheh, I was just thinking that.
Surprisingly, the smile warmed Severus’ heart. He couldn’t even remember the reasons why he used to hate her. It shocked him to realize that he had missed her insults and death threats. In that moment, he was overcome with a need to help her recover from what Potter did to her. Perhaps, he had never hated her the way he believed.
Hmm... Sevy/Bella? Sounds good. But it'd be fun to see Bella heal by harmlessly-insulting him to get a better grasp at her old self:). It would help Sevy too...

I never thought that Bellatrix would be fond of animals... That's probably because I'm just thinking of the fox, though that only proves that Bella's less of a dog person, I suppose. Animals heal. I really hope Midnight helps speed the healing process.

“I’m sorry,” she told the others as she took the parchment. “This is completely interrupting the meal.”
“Don’t worry about it,” Tonks said. “It could be important.”

Haha, it's like when a cell phone rings at an ackward time. I love those little normal things with a magic twist to them:).

“I just need to return to the States tomorrow.”
Who do we know who's American? Can't think of anyone... New guess for benefactor: Viktor? He's rich enough to support Hermione and Severus but it seems like you're implying that the benefactor knows Sevy...

Do the Brits call the USA “the states” too? Hmm… I thought that was a Canadian thing, lol. Anyways, great chapter! I'm hoping that the unexpected friendship is Bella and Sevy. It was sooo interesting in Breaking Point and you could probably get away with doing it again;)!

Author's Response: *giggles*

I always thought of Bella liking animals. Honestly, she doesn't seem to be close to many people. Everyone needs to confide in something. I can see Bella having a pet in school that she adored.

The States could be a Canadian thing. I'm from Canada and I just used it, so it probably is.

As for the Benfactor being there, they have relocated since we last saw them. You're right in saying that we don't know any American characters. :D

Anyway, thanks so much for the review.

Reviewer: pinktat
Date: 05/31/07 4:55
Chapter: Cats and Owls

Another brill chapter. You seem to like putting Bellatrix and Severus together, I do think they make a good couple. I also think the kitten was a very sweet thing to do, you are showing a different side to him, softer and more considerate making a nice change from usual sneering Severus we all know so well. I'm itching to know who the benefactor is, Luna maybe but I don't think it quite fits...grrrrrr, when will we know?? Its driving me nuts.. a big clue is needed for me..lol. I know I'm probably missing all the clues in my hurry to find out what happens next....maybe its time for a re-read. Fantastic :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliments. I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter.

I do like Bella and Severus together now. I've grown very fond of them.

As for the benfactor, she is revealed in the next chapter!

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 05/30/07 20:48
Chapter: Cats and Owls

Severus and...Bellatrix? >.> Well, I kind of suspected it, but...hmm. I don't know...Bella's too evil for him. :P Although, Severus buying the cat for her was pretty cute. Still...while I have softened towards Bellatrix, I don't think she deserves Sevy. >.> *coughs* I'm sure you'll prove me wrong in the future chapters though. So, anyway, this was still an excellent chapter. And Severus was in it, so that made it even better. :) Nice job, Elle!

Author's Response: *huggles Bella and hides her from mean words*

Thanks for the compliments and I'm glad you liked the chapter, even if you were less fond of my pairing of choice. :p

Reviewer: Viv
Date: 05/29/07 21:12
Chapter: Box of Memories

I didn't review the previous chapter, so now I can comment both. First, I'm feeling exactly like Snape, my curiosity about the benefactor is growing! But I'm patient! Poor Hermione, I didn't think Harry would be mean like that with her, especially that they didn't see each other for a long time. Of course, it was predictable, he doesn't think he's doing something wrong, so to be told the contrary couldn't make him happy. But still. I'm sure Hermione is hurt too; Ron died after all, she can understand his pain. Let's hope she'll find a way to make him change his ways.

Again, tears touched Bella’s eyes. Her niece was so much like Andromeda. She had such a good heart. Her kindness put Bella to shame.

Tonks just impresses me more and more. She's so kind with Bella. It's good to see that it's not everybody who lost their minds after the war. Tonks is probably more like her mother than she thinks. It's funny Bella had this thought.

“No,” Bella cried before she could stop herself. Fear surged through her. She had just given her mistress an order. She could be killed for such insolence.

I think this is such a good way to show how inhuman and cruel the training was on the Death Eaters. A simple word and Bella thought Tonks would kill her. This is hard conditionning, it's insane. You have a way to make us understand how she feels, it's like I'm the one scared of being punished. You handle the characters so well by the way, everyone's in canon, maybe except for Neville and Harry, because we're not used to see them so mean. We know that inside they're kind persons. But again, like you're showing us, war can really change people and certainely not in the right way...

Again, good chapters my dear! I can't wait to read the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Viv. I'm really glad you liked it. I've really enjoyed working on this story. Sorry, for the short response, but the review was really appreciated.

Reviewer: Viv
Date: 05/28/07 20:36
Chapter: Confrontation

*gasps*

Oh my God! Frank is just so mean!!! How can he be so cruel with Cassie?? What Bella did has nothing to do with her, he can't put the blame on her! You have no idea how I hate Neville right now! And Harry too! Of course, Bella tortured Frank's grandparents to insanity and I guess I would hate her too being this situation, but the poor girl! I just want to hold her in my arms... Quick Hermione, show up and do something with this mess! (Who's her benefactor???)

:P

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Viv.

Yeah, Cassie is having a hard time. As for Frank, he's angry. Neville pushed him to be hateful. He's going to be nasty to anyone who has the gull to offer Bella even the slightest amount of compassion.

Hermione will be along soon, but there's not a whole lot she can do when no one wants help.

And I can't tell you who the benefactor is. That wouldn't be any fun.

Thanks again for the review.

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 05/24/07 14:11
Chapter: Box of Memories

*Squee* One more!
Despite what they told her, she was still a slave and she needed to remember her place.
*shakes head* stubborn Bella. When will she learn?

Bella and Tonk's interraction is so natural, so real. Everything from Bella still being reluctant to accept that it was over to Tonks gasping at her Voldemort slipup.

Aww, it's so sad how Bella is so grateful to feel human. It sure puts a lot of people wishing for supreme power to shame.

Sugar was a Black family weakness, after all.
Heheh, the things you come up with, Elle. The idea that the Blacks have weaknesses for anything is almost beyond me. Awesome.

Suggestion: your description of the picture was wonderful, but it could've been even more if the happy couple was waving at Bellatrix or something. Just a friendly suggestion though for future important pictures, like the picture Frank held a few chappies back:).

Excellent chapter! I can't wait for more and thanks a lot for your review for my chappie 4, I really enjoyed it:).

Author's Response: *giggles* Bella has been through a lot. It will take her a little while to realize that she's truly safe.

I love writing Bella and Tonks together. They have such a complicated relationship.

*giggles* I don't even know where the sugar thing came from. *shurgs* I don't remember ever seeing a Black eat anything sweet in the books. Awww well. I like the idea. :D

I considered having Bella's wedding picture moving, but I hate to go over-board with description. I thought I had done enough of that without adding more, but I can see where you're coming from. It might have evoked more emotion.

Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews. It's great to have you back!

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 05/24/07 13:40
Chapter: Coming Home

These chapters are getting better and better:D. As always, this R&R is done as I go.

Hmm. Severus is having a much easier time than Bella with the whole adjustment thing. He's hardly changed at all from his pre-war self. So nice.

*growls impatiently*... I want to find out who this mystery woman is NOW! I have another guess at who it is, considering that she was "more than willing" to pay for Sevy's room. Could it be McGonagall? I don't know why I didn't consider the older generation... Hermione's probably the most connected to all of them: Sevy, McGonagall, Remus...

“I would choose lurking over Lupin any day.”
Haha, still the Sevy we all love *huggles Sevy*.

“There was nothin’ ter do, ‘ermione. ‘arry owned ‘er. ‘e could do as he pleased with ‘er. I felt for ‘er, but I couldn’t ‘elp ‘er.”
This makes a lot of sense. I'm glad that Hagrid didn't lose his compassion during the war. I'm not sure if all the 'h's are lost in Hagrid's speech, not that it's a big deal though:).

Dropping his quill, he jerked his head up. His eyes widened in surprise and he hurriedly got to his feet, rushing over to her. Within seconds, she found herself in his embrace and it felt good–it felt like home.
Oh, thank Gosh. It's really great that you made sure to let Harry's good side show through as oppose to making him the total monster that Cassie as Cassie sees him. It must've been really tempting, as it's you;).

“Who owled you?” he asked.
“Why does it matter?”
“Why did you really decide to come back?”
“Why are you questioning me like I’m the enemy?”
“Why do you keep answering my questions with questions?” Harry cried.

Is it wrong of me to have laughed then? I'm loving how these two old friends are interacting. Their friendship isn't flawless at this point, but it's good enough and very realistic.

“She deserved it. She deserved worse. Think of the destruction she caused. She killed Sirius. She fought for Voldemort, therefore, she may as well have killed my parents, and Ron–” his voice cracked, “and Ginny.”
Awww, poor Harry. His pain is obvious here, the sadistic façade is gone. Refreshing.

“I don’t want to be involved with people who sympathize with monsters. That includes Remus, Tonks–and you. If you just came here to defend Bellatrix, I would prefer you left.”
Suddenly I want to throttle Harry... it hasn't been ten minutes and he's kicking one of his best friends out of his office.

PLEASE let there be another chapter up after this one!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you're enjoying this. Of my stories, this is the longest and it has taken the most time and effort. I'm really glad that it's getting a positive response.

About Severus, he responded to the situation better than Bella because he was never treated as badly. He has been used as a slave, but he was never degraded the way Bella was.

And I love the guesses about the mystery woman. Sadly, she'll be revealed relatively soon, and then I won't hear anymore guesses. :(

I wasn't really sure how to go with the fight scene, but judging from this it turned out okay. Harry was meant to seem like his old self at the beginning of the scene and then show all of his hurt and anger at the end. From your comments, sounds like that worked good. :D

Thanks so much for all your lovely compliments.

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 05/24/07 13:10
Chapter: Confrontation

Tears welled in Bella’s eyes as she pulled her niece into a tight embrace. Relief flooded Cassie when she realized that her aunt believed her.
Aww... I like this. It's tender, not sappy. It's very real too, not overdramatized or anything like that.

“then you two can help me with the cake before it ends up on the floor; I’ve done well to get it this far.”
Haha, I almost forgot that aspect of Tonks. Glad to see you haven't:). It also provides a natural change in the mood.

"If there is chocolate cheesecake in the house, you’ll know he has done something wrong.”
Oh my gosh, haha, I do the exact same thing that Kingsley does except that I usually bring back Dairy Queen or chocolate:D.

She tried to maintain a façade of sulkiness, but already she was thinking of what wallpaper patterns her aunt might like.
Awww, Cassie reminds me a bit of my younger cousin. Cassie's personality is so well developped, she's one of the most complex--yet realistic--OCs I've ever come across. She's a younger OC too, all in all, she's a really fun character to read about.

The look on his face would be priceless when she told him that Bella was actually her aunt.
Hmm. *sarcasm* Why do I think not/sarcasm? That's going to hit Cassie hard. I'll bet the next Cassie chapter is going to be angsty...

She had no desire to look at the sadistic man anyway. He had no right to treat her aunt so badly.
*confused* I thought you said that Harry's abuse was based on pain, not sadism. Or is this just what Casse thinks?

“Forgot the password?” the fat lady asked with a smirk.

So the Fat Lady has an attitude. It must be tempting to take a leaf out of Sirius' book and slash her.

“Albus,” she muttered smirking at the fat lady.
*grave tone* And so Dumbledore lives on in the GT passwords and chocolate frog cards, just as he would've wanted it:D.

And you’re going to turn out just like her. You said it yourself, she’s your aunt. You share her blood.”
Uggh, that's sickening and ironic. He hates the DE's motives behind the war so much that he's adopted the same mentality (sort of). That picture, is that what I think it is *gasp*? If it is, I understand a bit why Frank is suddenly (it only took two days to brainwash this kid!) so hateful.

I feel so sorry for Cassie... she's just a little girl (okay, fine, she's about 2 and a half years younger than I am, but a hell of a lot more innocent!) and she has to deal with the a war that happened before she was even born...

Author's Response: Tonks' clumsiness is something that I often forget to include as well. I tried really hard to work it in throughout this fic though. Afterall, it is a big part of her character.

And thank you for all the compliments on Cassie. I adore her character. She is so much fun to write.

When Cassie thought of Harry as being sadistic she was very angry. She was in no mood to defend him. Deep down, she kind of understands where he's coming from, but she also feels a lot of anger and resentment towards him--especially now that he is targeting her father, as well as her aunt.

I think the Fat Lady does have a bit of an attitude. She always seems pretty outspoken in the books. And we know that she doesn't let students in without the password, regardless of rather or not she knows them.

And yes, the blood comment was meant to be ironic. The idea was to show that the two sides really aren't that different. They get caught up in hate and can't see anything else.

*huggles Cassie* she is having a rough time, but she'll be okay, I promise. ;)

Thanks so much for the wonderful review.

Reviewer: Lily Roxy
Date: 05/24/07 8:13
Chapter: Unexpected Events

I swear I haven't given up on your story! My parents got suspicious of the site so they picked a random fic and read it through. Unfortunately, that random fic ended up being "Delightful Pain" so they blocked the site. ANYWAYS, I owe you tons of reviews now.

I like how you changed Hermione. I've always thought of her as a Healer. The change of career and lifestyle really shows how badly the war affected her. It's also interesting how the denial at first after she reads the letter reflected my first impression when I learned what Harry has been doing to Bella. You've also done a really good job at writing Hermione's thoughts keeping in mind that she doesn't know what we know.

"Dunderheads", haha, I love how Snape-like Hermione's become. It was obvious from the first sentence that they suddenly have a lot more in common then they did pre-war. Not that I think that they were total opposites then, just that's it's insanely obvious here:).

Right, to Severus. I couldn't but smirk just a bit when I saw that you couldn't bring yourself to bring your favourite professor to lose his sarcasm and attitude towards Harry. I suppose that he's a little more resistant then Bella though... In any case, it works here. I like it:).

"Everyone knows that Dumbledore died of his own wish."

After all, he was a slave, but she could never think of him that way.
*grins* I love how you make your opinions heard about how unfair everyone's been to Severus through Hermione. Apparently she's not the only one who'll never be able to think of Sevy as a slave. Very subtle, Elle, very;).

I hated Potter before he even opened his mouth, thought Longbottom was a moron, and Bellatrix a bitch, but I never wished harm on any of them.”

Gotta love Severus:D. There's an incredible amount of truth in this sentence. Very good.

Yay! That was officially the best job resignation ever! Clever Hermione. I agree with Sevy, it's so refreshg to see someone who hasn't been completely changed by the war.

Awesome chapter, I can't wait to find out who's this "benefactor"... Luna? Total shot in the dark, but that's the first one to come to mind, unless Ginny's still around *wonders*.

Author's Response: Hey! I wondered what happened to you. It's nice to see you back.

This chapter was fun to write. Hermione and Severus both have such interesting personalities. They're fun to play with.

Thanks so much for the lovely review and the compliments.

Refuses to reveal the idenity of the benefactor. Although, I have had some interesting guesses.

Thanks again for the review!

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 05/19/07 16:03
Chapter: Box of Memories

Yay! What a touching chapter. I loved her comparison of Tonks to Andromeda, the sister she had turned her back on. I really love this fic, it's so well written and so touching and emotional. It's amazing what a few typed words can do to a reader. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Your reviews and compliments are always so wonderful. *huggles*

Reviewer: ForbiddenLove
Date: 05/19/07 15:54
Chapter: Coming Home

She had a sister who loved her, a nephew who looked up to her, and a husband who adored her I loved this line, as you probably could guess! It was absolutely what I think of Bellatrix in one sentence! Well, not all I think of Bellatrix, but you know what I mean. I love your character portrayal of Hermione. She stood up for house-elves, and now she is getting fired for helping former Death Eaters and getting yelled at for standing up for bella. And the way she argues also fit very well with her character; very witty and clever. You did her great justice. And Harry too. Beneath what you have created him into, there's still that old Harry. You did a beautiful job on them both! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hehe! That's one of my favorite lines, too.

And poor Hermione. She always tries to do the right thing and it never works out for her. *huggles Hermione*

Thanks so much for your compliments about Harry's character. He's challenging for me, and it doesn't help that he usually ends up playing the bad guy, of sorts, in my fics.

Anyway, thanks so much for the lovely review.

Reviewer: pinktat
Date: 05/19/07 12:32
Chapter: Box of Memories

That was wonderful..the warmth that Tonks showed Bella was beautiful..very well done! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you liked the chapter.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES