Reviewer: gerberb
Date: 01/31/09 17:02
Chapter: 60 - Oh, The Tangled Webs We Weave

Good Chapter. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks. This one is almost over, but I have two shorts and another story on the fire. Hope you keep reading. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 01/26/09 23:57
Chapter: 59 - United We Stand

Beautiful chapter. I love how you tied in the Lily storyline without compromising the relationship you have so lovingly developed. I also much prefer your explanation for how Ron was reunited with H & H.

Could you please send Daniella to my house? I could use a good Scourgify.

I don't quite understand what happens with Carrow. He rebounds off her shield, so why does she fall?

This chapter touches on what has always confused me about Ghost, which is exactly what role Severus was playing at that time. In that story it seems as if Severus is already acting the mole, but here he implies that he joined the DEs by choice. Was it sort of a combination?

Thanks for the quick update.

Author's Response: I have Jan at MNFF to thank for the quick update. My last chapter sat in queue for a month, and I didn’t want that to happen again. I couldn't let the "Lily" factor be ignored, but Severus loves Daniella. And, as much as Ron is endearing, he’s also a bit of a twit. As for Carrow shaking up Dani - have you ever felt the repercussion of an explosion or been jarred by the slamming of a door? The same issue happens here. Carrow hits the shield, but Dani feels the ripple, although she’s not hurt. “Ghost” Severus being a “mole”– In “Life in the Interim” (Chapt 1 page 5), Severus states that he played both side, because he couldn’t trust either. He told Daniella that he was out for himself. “Whose side are you on?” I asked cautiously. “My own,” he replied. “Survival is of utmost importance. I know what both sides offer and what they are capable of.” I hope that clears a few things up. Thanks for reading. Dani

Reviewer: gerberb
Date: 01/23/09 16:55
Chapter: 59 - United We Stand

Really good chapter. I like the way you added to HP and destroying the locket.

This was a really good chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 01/23/09 0:19
Chapter: 58 - Grown Up Christmas List

I had always thought that Yule and Christmas were one and the same. I was confused that in your story Yule seemed to be several days before Christmas. So I Wiki'd it and learned that in Wicca Yule is the Winter Solstice. Is that right?

I may have mentioned this before, but I have a perfect image of Colin in my mind. He is a real character/actor, but I cannot for the live of me think who it is or where I've seen him. I just always picture him when I read scenes with Colin in them.

Your Yule Ball chapters always are fun to read. No mistletoe this time. Bah humbug.

Author's Response: Yes, Yule is on December 21, the Winter Solstice.It is the shortest day and longest night of the year and the celebration of the Sun God being reborn. After this, the days get longer. No, no mistletoe this time. I thought the sleigh ride would be fun, and watching Severus and Colin interact.

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 01/23/09 0:08
Chapter: 57 - Reprieve

Aack, how could I let so much time pass without writing a review? Forgive me...real life interfered.

I like the part about her frustration regarding the potion. It reminds me of cooking...just because I know the recipe doesn't mean I can make something edible!

None of this is how I would imagine Severus at this point in the novels, but that's all right with me. That's what I like about your story. Severus gets to be a human being and not just a caricature.

Author's Response: How did you imagine him? I figured that with the title "Reprieve" even he needed a bit of a break. Ah, but don't worry. He'll be back to himself.

Reviewer: gerberb
Date: 01/08/09 2:47
Chapter: 58 - Grown Up Christmas List

I really enjoyed this chapter. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you. Just a few more to go. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 12/10/08 14:51
Chapter: 56 - In The Aftermath

Oops, I read but never reviewed. Sorry!

I don't think I would appreciate having all those headmasters eavesdropping on my conversation. I don't care how sworn to secrecy they are. That would just be weird. No wonder they fled for Daniela's quarters.

I've always thought Ginny was the exception that proved the rule of Severus's loathing of the Weasley's. I think he would have a certain grudging respect for her. Cute insertion of that storyline here, and I like your addition of the reason of keeping Harry away from Hogsmeade.

Does Pomona realize that Daniela doesn't really explain why she was away last night and all day today? She as much as admits that she spent all that time with Severus!

Sorry for the delay. I'll try to do better in the future.

Author's Response: Don’t worry about the delay. At least you’re still reading and reviewing. May read but don’t bother leaving a message. I don’t like people listening in on my conversations either, but I don’t think it was a “conversation” that they were avoiding when they left. wink, wink. I like Ginny, although I would never write her. I like to play with her strengths in comparison to Harry’s … weaknesses. No, Pomona is just a clueless busybody (although another character that I like). She may have been curious, but remember, she’s a Hufflepuff. She didn’t put two and two together. The next chapter is in queue and will hopefully be posted soon. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 12/01/08 23:58
Chapter: 55 - He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Ah, I love this chapter. The interplay between these two is so much fun. And it bookends nicely the scene with Emily's family and the ritual of the ancestors.

I am surprised, though, that Dani would not realize why Severus was behaving the way he was. She noticed that Amycus seemed suspicious, and she knows Severus lives on the edge of a knife's blade (stole that image from another fanfic). I guess the calmness of the ritual contrasted too sharply with the reality of Voldemort's reign, and she just didn't make the connection. She is being a bit unfair to Severus; he lives in constant danger, while the danger to herself is mostly fleeting. She should cut him a break; he loved Saxon too.

Author's Response: Oooo, a little defensive of our deloved bad-boy. ;-) Fear not. Things will lighten up. Dani

Reviewer: riderofdragons
Date: 11/30/08 11:50
Chapter: 55 - He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Noo, Serverus is mean! I get why he did it but still,, that was harsh!
Ooh the war needs to be over so they can get back together.

Still loving the story, keep it up.

Author's Response: Glad to see you're still around. There was a method for his madness. As always he has good intentions, they just have to come out harsh. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 11/17/08 19:19
Chapter: 54 - Making Contact

Sorry it took me so long. Sometimes I can't get to the computer. I like that you had the students interacting with Dani. Poor Neville.

And poor Severus. Always poor Severus. He wears so many hats; the headaches he must have would be enough to make anyone act like an a$$.

Hmm, but Snape was at Headquarters without Yaxley too, was he not? Of course, he would not tell Dani about the photograph. Sneaky b@st@rd.

BTW, my son's preschool teacher is named Daniela. I don't think she's Italian, though.

Author's Response: Oooppss, my response showed up as a review. I guess I hit the wrong button. Dani

Reviewer: riderofdragons
Date: 11/06/08 3:49
Chapter: 53 - The Start Of Something New

Yey, she gets to be closer to Severus!
Still reading, still loving it. :D

Author's Response: closer...and closer...tee hee hee...

Reviewer: Wicked Wench
Date: 11/02/08 18:31
Chapter: 53 - The Start Of Something New

As this story progresses, I fear it ending. I hope you'll take some creative liberties with the characters' futures.

Author's Response: Ten more chapters to go. Keep reading... ;-) Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 10/22/08 1:07
Chapter: 53 - The Start Of Something New

Oh, making a liar of me, are you? Posting on a Tuesday?

I loved this chapter the first time I read it, and I still love it. Severus is in grand form. And I am always impressed by writers who can do Hagrid. I would never even attempt his speech patterns.

I am a bit confused, though. Is Severus speaking to Dumbledore's portrait at the beginning? I assume the conversation is about Daniella's imminent presence at Hogwarts?

There's some fun coming up....:)

Author's Response: This site validates each and every chapter that is sent in. Whether I post on the weekend or not doesn't means that's when it will show up. The one reason I like this site so much is that they take the care and attention to look over and post properly written stories. I was very surpised to see this chapter validated so quickly. I don't think it matters who Severus is speaking to. The fun is on the way! :-) BTW. I'm happy to hear from you again. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 10/21/08 19:10
Chapter: Prologue

You often post on the weekend. I don't get online much on the weekend, so it takes me a while to get a chance to reply to your story. Sorry. :) Remember, I've read to the end ("elsewhere") but like to review here to support MNFF. I just try not to spoil for other readers.

Author's Response: True. I forgot. You didn't review on the "other" site, so I sometimes forget who's done what and where. I'm glad you're still following though. Did younotice the two shorts and the new story? Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 10/21/08 0:51
Chapter: 52 - Through The Looking Glass

The contrast between Dani's world and Emily and Colin's is so striking. Her glimpses into their normalcy make me think of Norman Rockwell or Thomas Kincaid.

It is so sad that now, when Severus most need Dani, he has to cut himself off from her.

This chapter was too much exposition for my liking; I prefer dialogue. But that's not a criticism, just an expression of my preference.

But the cliffie holds some promise...

As always, I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: There you are !! :-) Sometimes when Dani is alone, there's now for her to talk to except Pinky. Most of what youh "hear" are her thoughts. Oooo, the cliffie is a good one which leads to "other" things :) Dani

Reviewer: FaunaCaritas
Date: 10/16/08 17:56
Chapter: 52 - Through The Looking Glass

Aww! A cliffie?

Excellent chapter, but too short. It had just hit its stride when you stopped. The gradual build of information was so abruptly chopped off!

Your story is truly amazing. You have created a host of new characters that the reader can care about. Plus your seamless integration of Italian/European magic and customs and the 'familiar' British magical community is superbly done.

I continue to follow this series faithfully!
~Fauna

Author's Response: Too Short?? It was 3477 words. I'm glad you're enjoying the illustration of Italian and British magick, and I'm very pleased to see that you're reading faithfully. I hear from so few people, although it's obvious that many are reading. A bit disappointing, so when I get messages from reviewers, I'm thrilled. Thank you. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 09/18/08 0:51
Chapter: 51 - Destiny

So, the second sensation obviously was two-fold because she was sensing both Severus and DD on the Tower. But who was she sensing an hour earlier? Was it DD, as he and Harry returned to find the Dark Mark over the castle? Or was it Severus, when he realized the DEs had infiltrated the castle? Or someone else entirely (though I doubt that)?

I like how this chapter parallels the end of HBP even though Dani isn't even there for the most significant events. But sad as it is that she is alone again, Severus lot right now is even sadder. This would be the time frame when he visits Grimmauld Place to retrieve Lily's letter and photo and also the time when he has to stand by helplessly as the Charity Burbage is murdered. I'm suprised Dani isn't reeling with the force of emotions Severus must be feeling at this point in the story. He must have his feelings locked away completely. Is she also shielded against him, perhaps?

I am always amazed at your descriptions of the brewing process. You must really enjoy chemistry. I appreciated the comment about Wizards overlooking the simple causes.

One more book to go....

Author's Response: The first sensation was Severus as he realized that Death Eaters were going or had attacked the castle. Personally, I find the next few chapters VERY interesting. :-D

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 09/18/08 0:30
Chapter: 50 - Letting Go

I have been unable to read for a while, so I am just now getting back to your story. I actually found (and finished) it on the other site, but I like MNFF, so I will continue to support them by reviewing here.

Though I had already read it a couple of weeks ago, this chapter was difficult for me to read today. A good person I first knew in college passed away this morning. Though he was 81 years old and had lived a full and happy life, his death was still a shock; his parents both lived to near 100. So I was certainly empathizing with Dani as I read about the Camptas.

Anyway, sorry to digress. I have to admit that your story is sometimes confusing to me. I tend to forget which colleaugues are magical and which are not. I think that is mostly because I have read the story one chapter at a time for so long.

I did have to reread one sentence in this chapter. "It was where Severus and I met for our first “public appearance”, when he took me to Wizard Rome to meet his Master and introduce me to the man who would become mine." Seeing _Master_ capitalized made me think it was referring to Voldemort. Duh. Although that is actually one part of CaG that still confuses me: Did Severus join the DEs willingly, or was he always acting on DD's orders? No need to answer here; I need to reread CaG (again!).

Good work, as usual. This seems kind of like a "filler" chapter, though, so I'll go on to the next one now.

Author's Response: I agree. I think the story is best read as a book with all the chapters in tact. It's long and there are a lot of details. I can understand the confusion when having to wait for two weeks for the next part to come out. Dani

Reviewer: lostinside1
Date: 08/23/08 20:00
Chapter: 49 - Static In The Air

Although I have already read this story it still captures my interest more than any other fanfic I have read.
I find it Albus' actions interesting One minute he's trying to control Daniellas life and the next he's asking her to make her own decisions. If any story has made me dislike Dumbledore it was this one. He always has an ulterior motive and will stop at nothing to get the results he wants.
Random question about Stark: Is it just me or is he Saxon reincarnated? I am honestly confused about this. Might just be me...
~Anna
(this may possibly be the longest review I have ever left you and it is still a short one! pffft.)

Author's Response: I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, because it’s true. I’m so glad you enjoy it. The first story started as a dare, and it grew from there. The original idea was the second story, but when I started writing it I found that the characters needed a stronger history, hence, Creating a Ghost. It was supposed to end with the second story, but I was obsessed by then and felt that if I didn’t take it to the end of JKR’s books, it was incomplete. The story is actually finished, all 65 chapters of it. There is an Addition – one shot, and I’ve begun another story. They’re all linked in some was. Hmmm, yes, obsessed. Dumbledore always came off, to me, as manipulative. Not one of my favorite people, but strangely, he’s the focus of my latest story. As for Stark, innuendo has been made, but you’ll only find things out one way or another in chapter 64. I have no problem with long reviews. I answer all of them. And, thank you so much for the nomination to the Quicksilver Quills. It was much appreciated. My fingers are crossed. Keep writing. Dani

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 08/18/08 15:16
Chapter: 49 - Static In The Air

Uh-oh. If she has to look deep in her heart to know it's the right decision, I'm afraid my shallow heart might not like it.

I was on vacation last week and couldn't respond to your last chapter. Although this one was short, the presence of Severus more than makes up for it.

I saw some of the other comments; what is the "other site" they are referring to?

Is the story still 65 chapters? We still have a ways to go....

Author's Response: Yup, still 65 chapters long. I'm afraid it wouldn't be fair to this wonderful site to mention the "other" site, so it will be up to you if you're anxious to read ahead. Have faith. I'm sure you'll continue to enjoy it. Dani

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES