Reviews For The Wedding Ring
Reviewer: AMTS
Date: 11/07/07 12:53
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

I forgot to add:
No wonder why you won, it's just amazing.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!

Reviewer: AMTS
Date: 11/07/07 12:39
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

OMG! This is so beautiful and sad, I cried, both of sadness and happiness. You're really good.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Moonlight Goddess
Date: 11/05/07 19:54
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

taht was really cute! congrats on winning!

Author's Response: Thankkkk you! :D

Reviewer: Passion For Prongs
Date: 11/04/07 19:37
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

That was amazing. I can tell why you won the Quick Quills!!!!!!

Passion For Prongs

Author's Response: Thank you!!

Reviewer: Wormtail is a prat
Date: 11/04/07 15:20
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Wow, this story truly is a winner. It was absolutely wonderful. I almost cried...with sadness at first, then joy! This story makes me think about Lily and James' relationship in a different perspective...a perspective that I can't really describe. Thank you for sharing such a great story. It's definitely a favorite.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: FanFicFanatic12
Date: 11/04/07 9:22
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

You absolutely deserve that first place title! It was true to the characters, and you did a wonderful job at getting the emotion across. I also like that the ring in the introduction with James comes full cirle to Lily at the end. Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know there are other stories that probably deserved to win much more than mine, but you're comment made my day. :D

Reviewer: flyingphoenix
Date: 11/03/07 20:07
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Oh, that was so sad, and I was so confused in the beginning - I couldn't see what could make them drift apart! I'm so glad they were okay in the end... very well written! Congrats on the quicksilver!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: lilysnape4ever
Date: 11/03/07 15:46
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

this really was amazing! haha you had me worried that james and lily wouldn't make it! i absolutely loved the excerpt from their wedding with sirius- im putting you up as one of my favorite authors. :]

Author's Response: Thaaaank you! :D

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 11/03/07 14:08
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Oh my goodness! No wonder why this story won! I am actually sitting and crying in my computer chair! It was such a powerful one shot!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you! :D

Reviewer: Luna_Lovegood11
Date: 11/03/07 11:46
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Oh congrats on winning!!! beautiful story, just beautiful!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Privet Desperation
Date: 11/02/07 18:42
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

That was definitely one of the best James/Lily fics I've ever read! I can definitely see why it won! Congrats

Author's Response: Thank you! I can't believe it won! (:

Reviewer: gmnandhjp
Date: 11/02/07 15:16
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

awww thats so cute!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: LunaLike
Date: 10/27/07 17:48
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

This is such a sweet story. I nearly started crying at the end, I think I did infact. I'm positive i felt a tear fall down my cheek.

Author's Response: :D THank you!

Reviewer: i_hart_wheezys
Date: 09/03/07 15:00
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

oh my god thats so sweet! the beginning was totally heartbreaking though. the writing was truly amazing great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Tweak
Date: 08/20/07 6:57
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

So sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Prongs92
Date: 08/12/07 18:53
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Awwww....I have tears in my eyes! Beautiful story!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: Harry4Ginny
Date: 08/12/07 12:46
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Aww I loved it!
It's the sort of thing you never imagine happening, which makes it fantastic reading.
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: mysticmemories
Date: 06/12/07 13:59
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

argh! it was so good, I wanted to ... I dont know...what do you wnat to do wen u lyk a story?? hm...that's a thinker! =) neway, gr8 story!! keep up the awesome work!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: mysticmemories
Date: 06/12/07 13:59
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

argh! it was so good, I wanted to ... I dont know...what do you wnat to do wen u lyk a story?? hm...that's a thinker! =) neway, gr8 story!! keep up the awesome work!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: miss padfoot
Date: 05/26/07 23:10
Chapter: The Wedding Ring

Keri! *squees* First of all, congratulations on winning the February challenge! You totally deserved it, m’dear! =]

This story is a one-of-a-kind for many reasons. First off, the plot. There are like a million James/Lily stories out there that have such a structured formula that you tend to forget once you’ve read them, however well it’s been written because the plot is so similar. But this one, I’m sure, no reader would be likely to forget in a jiffy because of the plot. I’ve never seen a scenario as unique as this. James and Lily were just so real in this fic – their grief at the misconception and how it tears their relationship apart. Guh. It’s amazing and just very real.

Second off, the characterisation. Like I’ve already told you a lot of times, I love the way you write James. James is someone who becomes OOC quite easily because most people see him as the thickhead he was in his fifth year. Here though, he’s obviously matured but he’s still got a bit of his ego when he refuses to use sunscreen. LOL. That’s such a James thing to do, and makes him a well-rounded character. =]

Lily was a very believable character too. Her concerns about having to stay at home, especially, are very real. Lily strikes me as a person who would want to be in the battlefield against Voldemort and I can see how she might not want the baby at first. And then, when she realises how much good having a baby actually is, her attitude towards the baby changes. And the part where she says that she would still have a part of James – that’s just … wow. That was probably the most romantic bit of the whole story.

While both Lily and James were absolutely wonderfully characterised, the only place where I felt the characterisation was a wee bit off was in one of the flashback sequences where Sirius gives the speech at Lily and James’ wedding. It was a very beautiful speech, but because it was Sirius giving the speech, I sort of expected it to be a bit more on the lighter side, you know? While reading the speech, I thought it was Lupin or maybe even Dumbledore making the speech, LOL. But that’s just such a small part and the rest of the story is so wonderful that this hardly mattered at the end. =]


A few things that caught my eye:


Even though it was only the previous month, it seemed like a lifetime ago James had the warmth of a body next to him.

*sigh* Poor James. I really felt for him after I read this; the longing of seeing his Lily back – it was just so wonderfully heart-wrenching. Though, if you add ‘that’ after ‘ago’ here, the flow improves a bit. :)

Lily Potter — his wife.

Maybe it’s just me, but if you used ellipsis here instead of dashes, it makes the sentence more poignant and slows it down so that it gives the reader more time to muse over it.

The idea so new that neither one of them could get over it.

The ‘one’ here is unnecessary, I think. People usually say ‘neither of’ or ‘either of’, don’t they?

And tense seemed to be a wee bit of a problem in the following two sentences.

It was exactly the same as it was when Lily [insert had] placed it on him.

James said as Lily blew on his back, guilty that he didn’t take heed in what she [insert had] earlier said.


Also, I noticed that the fic randomly switches POV from James to Lily. Maybe if you had a break in between the two, it would’ve read better. Or you could’ve made it a two-shot with the first part with their problem and the second part with the solution. =]

And one final nitpick:

But it was an adventure [insert comma] and I’d take on any adventure if you were there.

Overall, though, it is undoubtedly the best James/Lily fic you’ve ever written! And that’s something I wouldn’t have thought possible after reading your WIP. =] Congratulations, once again, on winning the challenge, m’dear!






Author's Response: Hehe, Preethi, Beta til' the end! Thanks for the review. *Hugs* It made my day. Nothing like a construcive (and positive) review. Anyway, I'll definitely take your advice and change those things. Talk to you soon!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES