Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For One White Pawn

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 12/20/07 21:46 · For: Opening Game
Oh poor Ron! I really like that this story is from his point of view, and I really like that you're writing about one of my favorite books too. Are you going to tell us how Percy died?


Name: lostinside1 (Signed) · Date: 12/12/07 16:31 · For: Epilogue
this is great! i can believe you only have a few reviews. its freaky. then again i don't understand chess, not many people do so maybe that put them off.

~X~


Name: JustLikeHermione77 (Signed) · Date: 12/06/07 17:28 · For: Epilogue
*sniff* good story!!


Name: leahsm2 (Signed) · Date: 09/04/07 16:31 · For: End Game
I really liked your story. I thought it was clever to use "Through the Looking Glass" and the chess references as Ronís dream settings. It made sense that those might have been the only connections that Ron and Percy had in common, and I liked that was how Percy chose to reach out to Ron from the grave.
.
I also liked the animosity that the Weasley twins felt at first toward the Trio when they stopped by the joke shop. They must have felt like the Trio had abandoned everyone when they needed them the most. The folks at home were falling apart and they were nowhere to be found.

The sequence in St. Mungoís between Percy and Ron was very moving. It was too bad that Ron couldnít bring himself to forgive Percy. But it all turned out in the end.

My favorite part was when the Trio did battle with Peter Pettigrew. I was honestly surprised when Ron used an Unforgivable Curse on Peter. I never thought Ron was capable of that, but I thought it was believable.

The only thing I didnít like is because of my own personal bias. I always feel bad for Ginny Weasley being delegated to the sidelines, but that is canon!

I also thought the title was perfect for the story.


Name: leahsm2 (Signed) · Date: 09/04/07 16:31 · For: End Game
I really liked your story. I thought it was clever to use "Through the Looking Glass" and the chess references as Ronís dream settings. It made sense that those might have been the only connections that Ron and Percy had in common, and I liked that was how Percy chose to reach out to Ron from the grave.
.
I also liked the animosity that the Weasley twins felt at first toward the Trio when they stopped by the joke shop. They must have felt like the Trio had abandoned everyone when they needed them the most. The folks at home were falling apart and they were nowhere to be found.

The sequence in St. Mungoís between Percy and Ron was very moving. It was too bad that Ron couldnít bring himself to forgive Percy. But it all turned out in the end.

My favorite part was when the Trio did battle with Peter Pettigrew. I was honestly surprised when Ron used an Unforgivable Curse on Peter. I never thought Ron was capable of that, but I thought it was believable.

The only thing I didnít like is because of my own personal bias. I always feel bad for Ginny Weasley being delegated to the sidelines, but that is canon!

I also thought the title was perfect for the story.


Name: Valentinia (Signed) · Date: 06/12/07 10:37 · For: Epilogue
What happened to Harry though? Did he die or what? Anyway... otherwise, this fic was great! I liked reading about Ron and Percy's relationship, and Ron's feelings were both realistic and touching. Plus, I liked the references to Through the Looking Glass and especially to chess!


Name: bubble (Signed) · Date: 03/11/07 12:41 · For: Epilogue
Wonderful
A little too fast pace, but I think it worked out in the end. Thank you for making Percy a good guy.And hopfully Harry does live, it would have been better if Harry came limping in at the very end instead of just leaving it open for possibility. But whatever, it's your story and you did an awsome job!!!
-Bubs


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 03/11/07 10:04 · For: Epilogue
Whew! I'm so glad Ron is okay! =)
I loved the bit in the last chapter with Percy showing up. So Percy was the White Knight, and Ron was the one white pawn? Or was Peter a piece as well? Either way, the chess analogies were great. You did a wonderful job with Ron's character. Now - what happened to Harry?? =)
Great job, I'm glad I finally read this story! ~Gina :)


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 03/11/07 10:00 · For: End Game
Wonderful job! I can't believe what happened to Pig. And then to use Ginny as bait, except with a twist - great idea. Poor Ginny! What an ending - I'd say more but I have to know what happens next! ~Gina :)


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 03/11/07 9:43 · For: Opening Game
Hi there!
What an interesting start! I actually bought "Through the Looking Glass" rather randomly last month, I shall have to look at it to see how your story relates. I love the focus on Ron. He will obviously have a big role to play in the final book, and it is nice to read about it from his point of view. The parallels to chess are also fascinating. The scene with the twins was heartbreaking, I feel so bad for Fred! Lovely job, I'm looking forward to reading the next part.
~Gina :)


Name: insanitea (Signed) · Date: 03/09/07 22:29 · For: End Game
great dream sequences, putting percy in an interesting role, and interactions between everyone. i can picture it all quite clearly and all the lewis carrollisms make it even better. a new twist on the chess conceit that could have turned out poorly and tired, but did not. i'm looking forward to the next chapter!


Name: maze (Signed) · Date: 02/27/07 22:58 · For: Opening Game
This is a very good story.cant wait to know what happen next.keep up the good work.


Name: Phoenix5225 (Signed) · Date: 02/24/07 17:16 · For: Opening Game
Mama returns to writing with another brilliant piece. Love it, my dear.


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 02/19/07 22:42 · For: Opening Game
VERY interesting. IThis really drew me in, and I am usually hopeless with anything that even refers to something like chess. I like the way you transmitted the information - we get a lot without being told. I find it interesting that they have a secret keeper for their plans, too. I think that is an innovation.

Good job!


Name: orange_balloon (Signed) · Date: 02/19/07 18:49 · For: Opening Game
Very interesting - following Through the Looking Glass and possibly using Percy as a guide. As usual I like how you've made Ron just self-conscious enough to need Hermione's and Harry's urging to believe in himself. I have a feeling this will lead to something much greater!


Also, the dream itself is very well written. I can see the desert and everything Ron is seeing there. You've done a nice job of sort of spotlighting that piece of the chapter by making it so descriptive. It's not an easy image to forget.


Well done, as always! I'm looking forward to the next chapter.


You must login (register) to review.