Reviews For Childhood's End
Reviewer: The Dark Lords Right Hand
Date: 05/21/11 15:25
Chapter: Hogwarts

This has probably been pointed out, but if Hildy Bagshot is Bathilda Bagshot, then she shouldn't be in the same year as Minerva if the story is canon, as she was already an adult when the Dumbledores moved to Godrics Hollow before Albus started school, and I'm pretty sure he's older than Mcgonagall.

Reviewer: Lucius_Vorenus
Date: 08/31/08 14:25
Chapter: Quidditch

Good to have you back, SpiderWort! Many avid readers like myself have been waiting patiently for you to continue your wonderful story.

So Minerva is going back to Hogwarts for her second year, sadder and wiser. An orphan by fact, just like Harry. No wonder she cared for him so much in JKR's books.

You provide a great backstory to one of the strongest and most steadfast characters in the Potterverse. I thank you so much!

Keep writing!

Author's Response: "... one of the strongest and most steadfast characters in the Potterverse." (I swoon!) LuV you for your support LV, and hugs to my longsuffering reviewers and all Minerva-philes.

Reviewer: spiderwort
Date: 08/27/08 5:58
Chapter: Quidditch

Abandoned? Never!

The reason for the delay is almost as harrowing as Minerva's latest sorrow:

This chapter kept getting rejected, not by the MN betas but by an automated program that scans chapters for mistakes in html coding. The only way to find the mistake, after going over it with a fine-tooth comb, was to cut the chapter into ever smaller pieces and post them one at a time to see what would stick and what would be thrown out. I narrowed it down to one paragraph, couldn't find the mistake and so just changed the wording of the paragraph entirely. And it worked!

But it took a long time to getting around to do it. Sorry.

I sent my results to the MN techies and got a reply that , comparing with other writers who have had the same problem, the word "c-o-a-l-e-s-c-e" seems to be the offender. Go figure.

(The dashes weren't in the original word. I put them in because the first time I submitted this review, it was rejected.)

Reviewer: lostinside1
Date: 08/26/08 16:49
Chapter: Second Vision

Its been so long since you last updated I actualy thought this story was abandoned. I'm glad it isn't as this chapter was brilliant.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/05/08 7:43
Chapter: The Duel

Fantastic! And I don't care whether he intended to kill Minerva's father or not, he's still responsible. Wonder if that force that saved Minerva was her father's, or all of the ancestors together. There seem to be a few botched spells in her family, strange that. Anyway, can't wait for the next chapter, is Dumbledore going to acompany Minerva to the seeing wall with certain peoples possessions? Wouldn't it be brilliant to have one of those, it'd be loads easier to discover the truth and have justice win out every time.

Author's Response: I hope the ensuing chapters will answer some of your questions. And ,yes, Cuthbert's a rotter--a cowardly, lazy rotter, and darn it, he's not through with Minerva yet. Expect him to show up in the next two books as well.

Reviewer: KDTheRavenclaw
Date: 05/04/08 16:11
Chapter: The Duel

This story is wonderful. You're an excellent writer, and the plot is amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks, KD. Two more books to go. Hope I can keep up my end.

Reviewer: Lucius_Vorenus
Date: 05/04/08 16:00
Chapter: Quidditch

A somewhat confusing chapter for me, will need to re-read a couple of times.

A bit of a deception for little brave Minerva to find out the truth about her father's death. She sure is clever and resourceful, however, clearly courageous and loyal to those who love and respect her. Gryffindor through and through.

I wait with great anticipation for the concluding chapters where all will be revealed.

Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with us, Lucius. I know I'm not always the clearest of writers. Let me know if you have particular questions and I'll be happy to explain.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/01/08 12:43
Chapter: Final Reckoning

WOW! what a way to decide! And Minerva was so brilliant to think of brooms, I doubt many would surpass her skill on a broom at that time. But why Oh Why did you stop there? I know people like cliffhangers but honestly! Thanks for updating so soon though, hope the next chapter follows as quickly, this fic is XLNT!

Author's Response: Hee, hee. (*Blushes*) Next chapter is on its way.

Reviewer: Calico
Date: 04/30/08 17:53
Chapter: Quidditch

I'm dying for the next chapter so I can find out what happens in the duel! Aaah! I can't wait! This is my favorite fic, and your cliffhangers are torture (although I know the story is better that way). Please post again soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks, Calico. (I think.) You make me feel happy and guilty at the same time, but that's okay. :) Next chapter coming right up--if I didn't make too many mistakes for the betas.rnrn

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 04/12/08 20:15
Chapter: The Mourning

This fic is so detailed and complex. It's fantastic! A real insight into the possible past of Professor McGonagal and perhaps the reason for who she bacame. The family crypt was frightening. I'm beginning to wonder if the man Petey met down there was our elusive dark wizard. Nice touch adding in Dumbledore's visit to Tom Riddle. I can't wait to see what happens next, will Minerva discover the truth with Dumbledore's help? Is healer kirk the reason for her mothers memory loss? Will Minerva gladl handover the estate and it's responsibilities to her vile cousin? Oh, and when will she realise she's an animagus? I'm begging you, please update soon, this is a very engrocing fic and after reading 33 chapters in a day I'd rather not get withdrawal symptoms.

Author's Response: Wow, 33 chapters in one day. I've done that with fave books too, but I always have a bit of a guilt complex afterwards for having neglected family and friends. rnrnTo answer your questions (without spoiling surprises yet in store):rnrnYou're right, the man Petey met is the major evil guy.rnDumbledore will always be there to help Minerva--if she'll let him;rnHealer Kirk is not responsible for Iffie's amnesia, but she isn't helping much either.rnThe estate conflict will be resolved--but not without bloodshed--in the next couple of chapters.rn(Hee, hee, got the part about her Animagus, did you?) She will, of course, eventually put two and two together, but not until the next book, "Three Orphans."rnrnI will try to update soon, Binka. (BTW, that's a cute name. I've put a Fudge into books two and three, Cornelius's older sister. ) Stay tuned.rnrn

Reviewer: lostinside1
Date: 03/23/08 18:10
Chapter: Quidditch

i have read roughly half of this stoy so far and even though I'm finding some of the language hard (not used to the scottish lang :S) I will be perserveering
(sp?) because I think this story is so good. :D

Author's Response: Thanks, Lostinside1 (I hope you're not really). There won't be too much more dialect. I used it for flavor mostly.rnrnBTW there are two more books after this one, if you can persevere (I think that's right) that far.

Reviewer: Calico
Date: 02/03/08 17:13
Chapter: Quidditch

This is my favorite fanfiction story, and I'm waiting anxiously for the next chapter. You're writing style is wonderful, and your vision of McGonagall's childhood is so original. I can't believe how much you put into making the cultural setting believable. Please write more soon!!!!

Author's Response: That makes me feel so good, Calico. (Love your name BTW--a reference to my fave in cats.) Here it comes (as soon as the betas pass it). Just four more chaps to go in this book.

Reviewer: Lucius_Vorenus
Date: 01/25/08 15:40
Chapter: A Burden Imposed

Sad and beautiful and touching.
Exceptionally well written and a true joy to read.

IMO one of the finest stories in fanfiction I have come across on any messageboard.

Minerva has lost her childhood, the orphan boy that will change the wizarding world is coming to Hogwarts, depression and war will soon be looming ...

Your first book is almost finished now and I look forward to the continuation with great expectation.

Take care and never loose inspiration for you are a wonderful writer. JKR should be proud of people like you who add stories like these to her magical universe.


Author's Response: Your words touched me, L.V. It was a hard chapter to write because I love Minerva so. You summarized it and my intentions perfectly. Thank you, thank you, thank you. (Dammit, now I'm crying.)

Reviewer: Xsen
Date: 01/18/08 9:36
Chapter: Homegoing

I see the story's really coming to an end with the end of Minerva's childhood. But you MUST write a sequel to this story! I trust that you will, right? You've built up such a fantastic history and setting of the Keep, the era and the characterisation of Minerva that you simply cannot leave it at this!

It's nice how this chapter has completed some of the plotlines and how her Ma's health, the monster tied in with her Da's death and Ma's amnesia and essentially, her childhood's end. I wonder who the mystery party set against the McGonagall family is. Oh and how Dumbledore set that question was so in character! See, you just have to continue this story!!

Author's Response: Righto!

Reviewer: Xsen
Date: 01/18/08 9:36
Chapter: Homegoing

I see the story's really coming to an end with the end of Minerva's childhood. But you MUST write a sequel to this story! I trust that you will, right? You've built up such a fantastic history and setting of the Keep, the era and the characterisation of Minerva that you simply cannot leave it at this!

It's nice how this chapter has completed some of the plotlines and how her Ma's health, the monster tied in with her Da's death and Ma's amnesia and essentially, her childhood's end. I wonder who the mystery party set against the McGonagall family is. Oh and how Dumbledore set that question was so in character! See, you just have to continue this story!!

Author's Response: Oh, all right, if you insist. Tee hee--actually there's a sequel already written, and iIm working on the third and final book which takes Minerva past Hogwarts and into the working world. (Now if only the real world ran so smoothly... but I've also got to wrestle with my personal life and a sticky modem...sigh! )

Reviewer: Xsen
Date: 12/18/07 12:57
Chapter: Runaway

No i can't believe it. I just read this story in one sitting. It is some superb story-telling. You should be receiving a lot more reviews than this! The pace, the characterization, and your imagination, terrific! can't wait to read more =)

Author's Response: Glad to have you aboard, Xsen (what an intriguing name). I don't worry about the reviews so much, specially when I get one like this. Just love sharing a different aspect of the Potterverse with folks. Not that I don't love reading about the younger generation, but MInerva--ahh--can't read or write enough about her.

Reviewer: honey bon
Date: 11/18/07 15:20
Chapter: A New Teacher

I really love your story! please keep writing!

Author's Response: I will, Hon. Hope it continues to be 'bon'.

Reviewer: Lucius_Vorenus
Date: 11/18/07 10:04
Chapter: A New Teacher

Thank you for finishing your first story. It is superbly told, authentic and captivatiing and I highly enjoyed reading it.
Now that you have begun the second story, with an opening chapter that promises an even greater story, I wish you lots of inspiration and perseverance to finish it. I will not miss a single chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks L.V. (Say, is your name out of the series "Rome"? Loved it!) It was as authentic as my Scots beta and my on-line research could make it. But I know there are still some errors. If you catch any, let me know--esp. when our heroine gets involved in the Muggle war. (i.e. WW II) : )

Reviewer: Just Tink
Date: 09/04/07 13:28
Chapter: A Fairytale

Sigh. I do love a good romance. Iffie is a great character. Although this chapter was a bit fillerish, I didn't mind, simply because it was so well written. You should consider writing a story that's all romance.
~Jerri

Author's Response: Fillerish, yes. My beta said that too. The chapter is sort of important to elicit sympathy for Minerva's parents. There's a reason for that which will show up towards the end of the book.

Reviewer: Just Tink
Date: 09/04/07 13:22
Chapter: More Lessons

oh, wow. What a chapter! So Ma is schizophrenic? Wow again... I didn't see that coming, although I certainly wondered what was wrong with her. Did she kill her father, then? A heavy chapter, but you did a good job keeping it from being too much with Goodie Gudgeon's humor. Can't wait to keep reading!
~jerri

Author's Response: Schizo? it certainly looks that way, don't it? But just wait a bit. The whole story isn't told yet.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES