Reviews For Decadent Love
Reviewer: indigo_mouse
Date: 07/01/08 0:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

I don't read poetry frequently, so I certainly don't consider myself an expert, but here goes:

I think you shine when you don't work so hard for the rhyme, expressing the emotions, like:

"I study your face,
"Your eyes poised low,
"Even in the bitter winter"

and

"We drift apart,
"Can’t help ourselves.
"All light fades to black-blue,
"And it flows, on icicle-ornamented clouds
"From tense to tense, from present to past."

It seems like when you are focusing on finding words that rhyme that I find I notice the rhyming, rather than what you are saying, like:

"The war is long,
"The path is weary.
"At every dusk,
"Our eyes left teary."

I like the way you carry the season (winter) though the poem with your imagery. And the emotions that you are expressing are very genuine.

All in all, a very good poem, certainly better than anything I have ever done!

Reviewer: xombie
Date: 01/27/08 8:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh my, Alyssa darling, I haven't yet read a more beautiful poem here. This was wonderful. It was so sad... so many emotions have been portrayed here.

All the lines are written so well, loved the imagery you created.

Amazing job!

*huggles*

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 11/02/07 9:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is just lovely. Some of the imagery you have in there is wonderful, particularly,

I can hear the battlefield’s shrieking cry,
It shares the hue of the blood-red sky.


and All light fades to black-blue,
And it flows, on icicle-ornamented clouds

It's very visual and really effective. You really manage to keep the emotional intensity going throughout too and then the final line is just breathtaking!

~Hannah

Reviewer: A Cappella
Date: 09/19/07 22:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm not a Harry/Ginny shipper at all, but your poem showed the rawness, the beauty of the relationship they could not share. Lovely poem!

Reviewer: Black_Dust
Date: 09/04/07 0:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

WOw i loved it!! i thought it was beautifly desciptive and i loved your use of assonances and such (much better then some poems i ahve read that ryhme ginger-cat and beater's bat) but it was simply beautiful..excellant work!

Reviewer: R_Ravenclaw
Date: 08/24/07 14:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is probably the best poem I've ever read on MNFF. Your word choice is amazing, and all the verbs you used hold power and convey every emotion that the reader should feel. The rhyming scheme is perfect—there's enough to make it sound very finished, but not enough to overpower the piece. I would have to say my favourite stanza is this one:

The war is long,
The path is weary.
At every dusk,
Our eyes left teary.


Even though it's short, it's perfect. What a wonderful poem!

~Alison

Reviewer: Secret Seeker
Date: 07/02/07 3:51
Chapter: Chapter 1

Not only you do magnificent banners, your poetry is also fantastic. I loved this poem. wo keep it up. You have wonderful work.

Reviewer: BloodRayne
Date: 07/01/07 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh my, Alyssa.

That was absolutely beautiful. First of all, I love your word choices. "Demise, euphoric bliss, raven hair, ethereal, icicle-ornamented clouds, silhouettes."
They just give the poem so much more feeling and just...they are wonderful, powerful words. Your use of description...wow.

I absolutely adore the rhyme scheme. I've never seen a poem that rhymes and at the same tie manages to convey so much meaning and emotion at the same time. I don't usually read poetry, but this was truly lovely. It brings tears to the eyes, how beautiful it is. It truly blew me away.

Reviewer: C_A_Campbell
Date: 06/20/07 23:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

Bravo! I didn't really care for this the first time I read through, but I went back and, as every poem should be, studied it and I found it quite wonderful. The emotions were understandable, but were described remarkably well. This poem was very noteworthy. Bravo!


((this is thegirllikeme from the forums. Still loving the avie you made for me))

Reviewer: JustLikeHermione77
Date: 06/20/07 19:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

*sniff* good poem! I was wondering if you could do a banner for my story.... I saw that you did some really cool ones for BeautifulDreamer07. Please?!? Thanks!!

Reviewer: chlorophyll
Date: 06/14/07 14:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, thats amazing, really well written and thought provoking!

Reviewer: Charmed_S
Date: 06/10/07 4:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

Interesting piece -- I'm not a Harry/Ginny fanfiction- type, but this poem's focus point isn't only them is it? I like the part where you talk about "unity" - you know all the Houses's traits and how they gather around or the final battle - right?

I also liked that little rhyme you had in "missed" and "kissed" -- though I think there still would be the electricity, but now Harry's too araid of that electricity isn't he - becaause that can ultimately kill Ginny. Still I liked that stanze as a whole :D

That bit you hald about Ginny's attempts to smooth his "rave hair". To me, that's a cliche.. overused in soo many fics. but your poem doesn't ocus solely on it -- so that's good!

Nice poem overall, I like how you focus on the war in general as well as Harry and Ginny!

Senem


Reviewer: padfoot_returns
Date: 05/29/07 16:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, wow, wow. That was amazing. It was so beautiful and deep. I loved it. My favorite part was:

I wonder, if I were to die tomorrow,
Which of us would bear the heaviest sorrow?
I miss what we had before
I miss what was glittering and new.
I miss the euphoric bliss I felt
Just from holding you.

That was such a beautiful part. Wonderful writing. Keep up the good work. ;)

Reviewer: social loner
Date: 05/24/07 15:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow! You capture the emotion of heartbreak and sorrow beautifuly.
I wonder, if I were to die tomorrow,
Which of us would bear the heaviest sorrow?

"I yearn for the past,
I miss what was glittering and new.
I miss the euphoric bliss I felt
Just from holding you."

This was my favorite stanza. The words were mezmorizing. You keep a perfect, steady rythem through the poem and you integrate you stanzas flawlessly. I usually don't find myself so taken by poetry, but I truly LOVE this poem. Write more!

-Olivia

Reviewer: ABeautifulTradgedy
Date: 05/18/07 14:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow.. That's really good! I especially love the first stanza. It really captures the emotion that's going to come. It was great! I loved it!

Reviewer: Elissy
Date: 05/17/07 20:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww, so sad... This was truly beautiful, and I really enjoyed it. Something you completely captured in this was the emotion of heartbreak, and that's just wonderful to read. Amazing job. =)

Reviewer: Lalalalatina
Date: 04/26/07 15:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

O wow this was a-may-zing! Just amazing. The words you chose were just so beautiul- they touch your heart. And the last stanza just really was the icing on the cake. Sorry but that s the only way I can explain it. I thought it was great how different the stanzas are in the poem. It's like theirs a format but then again there is not. Did you follow a specific format when writing this? And I like it when poems rhyme and your poem does rhyme but you didn't overdue it with the ryhming. Great job!
Oh and btw, I've seen some of your banners on different authors' pages. They are just as amazing!

Reviewer: Potterphile12
Date: 04/25/07 18:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, this is really well written. I like the metre and tempo, which I find conveys emotion really well for both Harry and Ginny, who you portray very well as uncertain. In essence, this is the end of their world as they know, and I like how you touch on this uncertainty.

I like how you show that not only is the war affecting their feelings, but their relationship and the overall realization that things probably will never be the same. I like the poignancy, and the relationship dynamics, which are not overly sappy.

My only quibble was the change I detected in your metre, which threw me off for a bit but other than that, it's a solid piece, both technically and artisitically.

Really well done!

Reviewer: megan_lupin
Date: 04/23/07 19:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, Alyssa, this poem was wonderful, I'd have to say. I absolutely love Harry/Ginny, and you wrote this piece so well.

You're portrayal of Harry is very good, in my opinion. And several of the lines in this poem are just fantastic -- very emotional, but I think the best part of the entire thing was the final verse, especially those last two lines.

Time will erase all regrets, / And we'll be nothing more than silhouettes." It's an absolutely wonderful bit of skillful writing, Alyssa -- it really hits in the heart and soul, if you know what I mean.

I can't really offer a good deal of poetry-specific criticism, as I'm not extremely well-versed in that area of study, but I can say that I enjoyed this.

And in the end, that's the goal of any piece of writing -- to be enjoyed.

~Megan

Reviewer: Disappearance_26
Date: 04/07/07 19:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh my! It's lovely!

"I study your face,
Your eyes poised low,
Even in the bitter winter
You retain an ethereal glow."

I particularly adored this excerpt. Harry's description of Ginny is so sweet.

Your sure know how to develope rythm and rhyme. Each verse is breathtaking.

I can only say your an artist and you master both, images and words.

Please, never stop writing!
~D26

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES