Reviewer: jediprankster
Date: 05/06/08 4:01
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

Absolutely stunning! There isn't really any other way to say it. I suspected the other Ratbone brother was the master (once I came to the conclusion that Rathius was just a red herring, that is). I even asked you "Didn't Rathius have two brothers instead of one?" You said that you had...forgotten...about the other one until you had gotten quite far into part three. I guess you hadn't forgotten after all. I never voiced my suspicions that he was the Master, so I'm probably not the second one that you mentioned that guessed it, but I will not so humbly accept the congratulations anyway. This story has started out at top quality, and only gotten better as it went along. I'm very pleased to see that it is still on MNFF, and hope it stays. I can't wait for the rest of the story. Keep writing. I'll keep reading.

Author's Response: YES! You were the other person! I knew Kabob was one, but I couldn't remember who the other was; the only thing I remembered was that it began with a "J", and you would be it. Anyway. yes, you do deserve a congratulations, if for no other reason than to even bring up the eldest Ratbone brother and keep me sweating as to how I was going to throw you off the scent. Thank you very much, and fear not, I'm perfectly confident that the rest of the story will remain on MNFF. Those parts that were questionable and could have put it outside the standards of the site have come and gone, and everything on the way in now should be clear to go. In fact, I may just spend a little time tonight revising the already completed next chapter so that I can get that in the queue in the near future, and I intend to write the very last "chapter" of this story on Friday, though it is an epilogue and not a chapter at all. So, that's it really, two updates and we're done. As a result, I'm hoping you'll come join me on my blog at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com I've already got some content up there, and when politics are not so heated, I intend to update frequently with all sorts of fun stuff, including regular original fiction updates, so please go check it out and go back often. Okay, mandatory blog plug out of the way I think that just about covers everything. Again, thanks a whole bunch, and good job on sniffing out the eldest Ratbone. Catch ya for the next one.

Reviewer: MissBellaBunny
Date: 05/05/08 17:23
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

WHAT ARE YOU crazy?!!!!!!!! I CANT BELIEVE YOU JUST KILLED GINNY! I TOTALLY JUST CRIED! WHOA. I'M STILL TRYING TO PROCESS IT, THOUGH.

Well, it was a good chapter. Very intense. I cant wait for you to post the next chapter!

Lots of love! (Even though It may not seem like it)
~MissBellaBunny~

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry about it, I get used to it, though I am sorry that you cried. I would suggest reading EDI again, but that might not help, so I suppose you will have to wait until the next chapter which should be coming soon, and you can always come visit me at my blog at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com. Plenty of stuff there to help occupy your time while you wait. Thanks again, and I'll talk to you soon.

Reviewer: Faethe
Date: 05/05/08 14:51
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Oh you are awful! I cannot believe you ended the chapter that way. Please update soon! I have to know what happens. Good chapter, by the way, but such a mean cliffhanger.

Author's Response: yes, I am terrible, I know. Don't worry, I don't foresee there being too much of a wait between this chapter and the next, after all, the next chapter has already been written, I just need to find the time to revise and post it, so it should come shortly. While you wait, though, why not stop by my blog at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com. You can play some games, leave questions for me, read some original fiction by me, including a teaser for my next big project, and even help me with a contest I'm working on. Anyway, thanks, and I hope to get the next chapter to you soon.

Reviewer: proudgryffindor
Date: 05/04/08 23:26
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

ok ok well this is my third time typin a review for this chapter, cuz i was havin some computer problems over my friends house and it kept loggin me off, but i'm back on mine now so it should be straight. also lemme just say that i had just read ur response to my last review and then i look and see the new chapter is up...... i couldn't even begin to hide my excitement!!! lol. anyway on to this chapter....WOW!! after the cliffe u ended "the master" with i expected another action packed chapter, but i definitly was much happier that u cleared up so many things that we were all wondering about.. u know at the very beginning of the chapter i actually guessed in my head what the master really planned to do but its too bad that i didn't guess one chapter eariler so i could get some reginition in one of ur a/n's... ok now moving on to what i know u know is coming..........GINNY!!!! WHAT IS WRONG WITH U I NEARLY HAD A HEART ATTACK WHEN I READ THAT LAST SENTENCE!!!!!!......but, then i remembered about everybody does it and the fact that they have molly before ginny dies, so there has to be some kind of curve ball thrown in there.. plus the fact that we just talked about how ginny is my fav character and one of urs, so there is absolutly NO excuse for killing her off lol!! all and all though, it was a great chapter as always, and it really did answer a lot, so keepem comin at this rate and i'll be happy! oh yeah and by the way i have been checkin out ur blog for awhile now but i'm just waitin until the stories done to post any questions so i don't ask anything that ur plannin on answerin anyway... i also decided that since u get to plug ur blog away at almost every a/n or response, that means that i get to get down on my knees and BEGG u to continue this series, cuz i literally fell like 100000000 times more in love with it after rereading everything.. ok once again i've typed my own "epilogues part III: the nightshades" long review here soo untill next time i'll be waitin to read..
Phil

Author's Response: Hey Phil. Nope, I'm pretty much done with action in this story, and am glad that you liked the change up. As for your guess... well... I wouldn't be so quick to claim victory, I might still have a trick or two up my sleeve, right? And it's a good thing you remembered the salient points of EDI, a lot of people didn't, and as a result, I think I may just be up for a lynching here soon. Oops. On the other hand, never ever ever think that I won't kill off a character that I like; indeed, that's how you keep your readers on their toes, kill off the character that no one thinks will die. So thanks for reading, and thanks for checking out the blog, and for that I will spare you the quick plug. I should have the next (and sort of final chapter) in queue by the end of this week, so I hope that is fast enough. It was written on Friday, but I haven't had much of an opportunity to sit down and revise it yet, so once that's done, I'll be throwing it in the hopper post haste. And I plan on writing the epilogue this Friday, so hopefully by the time the next chapter gets approved, I should be ready to throw the Epilogue up. But I'm sorry to say that no amount of begging will get me to continue on with the story. As you will soon learn, I'm sure, the story to come after this one was intended to be LONG, very LONG, as in, it would probably take me years to write, and realistically, I don't want to waste that time writing something that I can't really do much with, you know? So, I simply can't bring myself to do it. Though, there are some interesting things going on in my head, even for these characters of mine, and if you do check out my blog (okay, small plug), you'll notice that I'm going to be starting a contest where the winner will get to take one of my characters and write their own fanfics based off of her. So, who knows, if we get enough people and there's someone I feel comfortable handing over these characters to, there just might be more to the Epilogues universe? Anyway, thank you so much, and I'll talk to you later.

Reviewer: astro_wizkid
Date: 05/04/08 19:36
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

YOU KILLED GINNY!!!!! AFTER ALL THAT, AFTER THE ENTIRE EPILOGUE STORY LINE AND "ONE GOOD DAY" YOU HAD TO KILL OFF GINNY! EVEN THOUGH GINNY IS ALREADY DEAD IN "EVERYBODY DOES IT" DID YOU HAVE TO KILL HER OFF!!!!!!



GAAAH!!!! THAT WAS TOTALLY MEAN OF YOU TO DO!!!!!!




....*sniff*....good chapter...actually, good past 2 chapters...been busy with exames.....your last chapter better be bloody amazing because i'm still mad that you killed ginny *evil pouting face*

Author's Response: Hahahahahah....oh... I'm so sorry. I'm glad I got the response that I got, mind you, but I'm still very very sorry. Besides, after all these stories, when have you known me to be nice to these characters? Hell, if I didn't treat them like total crap, I don't think I would have much to write at all. In any case, whether it brings me back in your good graces or not, you shall have the next chapter shortly. OH OH OH, and please please please don't forget to go check out my blog at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com. Crapola, I did three responses without plugging my site. Boo! Anyway, thanks, and I hope exams go alright for ya.

Reviewer: gunslinger3604
Date: 05/04/08 18:20
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

No way dude. You didn't just kill Ginny!?! AHHHH! I'm a little speechless.

There's not a whole lot I can say. Great chapter! Can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Did I really kill Ginny? hmmmmm.... I don't recall doing that, but I suppose it's possible. Thanks very much and the next chapter should be coming around very shortly.

Reviewer: fairiegirl
Date: 05/04/08 13:48
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

no...ginny....:(

Author's Response: Just... just.. you know, hold on and wait for the next chapter, it should be coming very soon.

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 05/04/08 11:54
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Okay. Pretty good. Ummm.... I'll need time to process it.
I'm waiting to see who cast that AK at the end, and at whom.
Glad to see you did pack the Dittany.
Getting some insight into Rogan's character. Intellect, of course. Ambition unrestrained by intellect or conscience.
If Dennis is on the right track, has Rogan built in a fail-safe - kill me and the cube (and the boys) die? Or is he actually suicidal and he's manipulating them to kill the cube (to free the boys) thereby killing himself (suicide by cop)?
More, perhaps, when I've had more time to cogitate.

Author's Response: heh, totally understood. I go from blasting you guys with action to blasting you guys with information, so I can imagine that a little whiplash may just be in order. As for the Dittany, why on Earth WOULDN'T a potion maker not pack Dittany before going to battle (he says as he thinks... whew, glad someone brought that point up before the chapter was written). And yes, you are sort of understanding Rogan a bit more, as for the nature of the cube, and the final gambit... well... all of that will have to wait for now, though I promise you those questions will be answered in the next chapter.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 05/04/08 10:19
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Okay, first I'm not happy you made me reread 'Everybody Does it' while I'm at work and it made me cry like it always does. BUT I know now that Ginny can't be dead because she still has to have Molly and I don't believe she has yet. And I have to say, though I would like to, I don't have time to go back over every chapter and reread to see if Molly has made her appearance yet. Now, onto the rest of the chapter. That cube is wicked. Very clever. I really think you have done an incredible job writing Ginny and how she would react, especially at the end of this chapter. That desperate mother protecting her child feeling is so strong. A love so strong that it can be pushed in ways never imagined....all in order to protect her child.

Oh and I absolutely loved the part about getting Rogan into a villian monologue so they can come up with a plan...reminded me of the Incredibles. heeh Gave me a good laugh. Great chapter! I really, really enjoyed it. I do hope that the next chapter is ready to submit soon, I'm so looking forward to the last chapter and epilogue.
Hope that you had a good weekend with your family. And I've thought about your kind offer and would like to take you up on it. I'd prefer not to write about it in a public place like your blog, is email possible?
~Kim

Author's Response: Well, first, thank you, and I wanted to say real quick I will respond to your email when I have the time it deserves. And I'm sorry for making you go back to reread EDI, I totally understand, and this may be something of a spoiler, but you can rest assured that Molly has yet to have made an appearance. As for the cube itself, I think there was one little effect that I didn't put in there, and I thought about squeezing it in, but it just didn't feel very natural trying to do so, but it was a fun device nonetheless. I think initially I wanted to use it just for the chapter name. "The Cube" Sounds ominous and whatnot... though, after half the chapters being named, "The (something)" I imagine the effect was dimmed. And thank you for your words about my interpretation of Ginny. It was difficult choreographing the whole scene, but I'm hoping it came off well enough. As for the monologue, yes, it was very cliche, very Incredibles, and all that jazz, and it was done that way for a very specific reason, which may be clear by the end of the next chapter. The next one I hope to have in queue by the end of this week. It's written, as you know, I just have to go through and revise it and make sure everything comes out okay. I must admit, though, it was very easy to write.. Anyway, I hear my daughter coming this way, and so I have to cut my review responding short for now. Hope to hear again from you soon (though I suppose the ball's in my court).

Reviewer: proudgryffindor
Date: 05/01/08 22:14
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

WOW it took me so long to get through this story.. i've been soo busy, plus the word count on this is about 10,000,000 words now lol. anyway it kinda broke my little reread review flow that i had goin on, which kinda makes me a little angry. Oh well on to the review, i honestly LOVE this story and after reareadin it its without a doubt my fav out of the series. i love all the plot twist and curve balls u throw are way in this one, and all of the darness in it.... the Ratbone brothers still remain my fav original characters of all time and i'm thoroughly depressed that were almost to the end of them (especially after the last response u sent me about u havin a lot more in ur head about rathius). honestlly though as much as i don't wanna admit it i really can't stand "the illusionist" chapter and i really can't explain why.... its not that its bad or anything i just personally don't really care for it. anyway enough shootin u down and lemme say my favorite scene is the reapers massacre scene I LOVE IT!!!!! and now its time to move on to the 2 new chapters. first thing to say........WOW!!! i loved them and i couldn't wait to get through the story and read them. i was soooooo happy that u revieled the nightshades identy, and for some reason i absolutly LOVED the fact that the reaper was a girl.. i thought it was soo wierd but cool hearing them all described and all being soo young. the way u changed up the pov's was brilliant!! and i love the raw fury and power that a few parents can unleash when their kids are in danger. And now..... on to the master. i am VERY ashamed to say that i completely drew a blank and could not put the pieces together on that, and to be honest with u he didn't even cross my mind. From the looks of this chapter, it looks like The Master hasn't even started unleashin what hes capable of, and i cannot wait to see what he really has up his sleeve. Another great part bout this chapter was ginny. She has always been my favorite character since the beginning of harry potter, and u gave her another moment to shine (just as i said in my part II review) man i am having a really hard time constructing a good review right now, and it feels like i'm just ramblin on, which i apoligize for. just one more thing, i know ur trying to move on to ur original writing, and u have all ur stuff goin on with ur political writing, (which, congratilations on that so far and i hope it keeps goin good), but in one of the eariler chapters of part III u mentioned somethin about a fourth epilouges story, which i propose u let all of us pay u to write lol, cuz i honestly am starting to get that depressed feeling when somethin soo great is coming to an end..... and see look i cant even really end this like i ended all my other recent reviews so i guess i'll have to say, "ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER", (which hopefully will be up very very soon). guess thats all for now except to sit back and wait...

Author's Response: Well, first and foremost, allow me to apologize for taking so long to respond to this review. Things have been going all willy nilly with me, between politics, getting the new website up and going and trying to finish this story. So, yeah, it took a mo or two, but I here I am, and thank you so much for the great review. I'm glad that you find this story to be the best of the bunch, especially considering that the tone and darkness that i put forth in this story is likely to carry over to the rest of my writing, as you might notice in my Poor Town Teaser on my website. I think there are definitely some similiarities there. And I agree, it is a pity that the Ratbones will very soon be put to rest. I think it's plainly obvious that I love Rathius as a character, as too his younger brother Rasmussen. On the upside, the open ended nature of Poor Town just may give me the opportunity to create very Rathius and Rasmussen like characters, if not just be blatant and rip myself off and bring them in (not as wizard and vampire, of course, I would have to find a new guise for them, but anything could happen). But whatever the case, fret not; one of my post Epilogue posts on my website will most definitely give a much more detailed history of the Ratbones, complete with thematic discussions, and what their role following the Nightshades would be, and even how Rathius Ratbone dies. I am sorry you didn't like the Illusion chapter, but its understandable. In many ways it did diverge a bit from the rest of the story, but sometimes these things are hit and miss. On the other hand, I'm thrilled that you loved the new chapters as I intended them to be exciting little thrill rides. Also, I liked that the Reaper was a girl too, that's why I made her as such. As for the Master, for this story, the fireworks may be over, but maybe, just maybe, you haven't seen anything yet. And I think I'm in full agreement with you; Ginny has always been kind of my favorite as well, and I think that might show up in these later stories. Anyway, I got a bunch of things to do, and Chapter 22 to write. Chapter 21 is already finished and in the queue, and I'm just waiting for it to be approved (I hope). Finally, please please please go check out my website at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com where there's all sorts of things going on. Thanks again!

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 04/29/08 12:39
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

What a Great Story you have written. Interesting how you made Ron the lead character rather than Harry. Also the twist with Adam-never saw that one coming. How many chapters are left and when will you post the next one?

BTW, I did read the other Epilogues stories and spin-offs prior to reading this story, but that was a long time ago, so I was a little rusty on some details, particularly the Rathbone brothers and Simon. I wanted to read this story immediately after the second Epilogues, but the Professors rating prevented me from accessing it (I wasn't registered at the time).

Other than that, keep up the good work to conclude your Epilogues trilogy.

Author's Response: Well, thank you very much, I truly appreciate it. As for making Ron the lead character, that was all according to plan. When I sat down to write the Epilogues trilogy, I knew each of the three stories would come from a different point of view. I think writing from Harry's point of view all the time would eventually get stale, and besides, here are some other characters that are really interesting and have some serious depth to excavate, and so that's where I really wanted to go with this. As for the next chapter, well, I hope to put it in queue no later than friday night, but when I get home I'm really going to knuckle down and try and get it finished tonight so that I can start working on the following chapter on Friday. But, while you wait, why not stop by my blog: adayinthemindof.wordpress.com and see some of the things that I have coming down the pike. I don't expect this story to go beyond the month of May, and once I'm done here, I'm leaving fanfic completely, but hope that everyone will join me as I embark on my own personal writing. For everyone else reading these responses, you might as well get used to me plugging my blog as often as I can. Anyway, thank you so much, and I hope to hear from you at the next one!

Reviewer: TC Fields
Date: 04/29/08 4:44
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

I can't believe I missed it. I should have guessed it was him. Ah well, you kept your secret well.

You fight scenes are amazing. You description brilliant. It was like I was there, and the impossible seemed possible.

It was nice to see Ginny finally fighting to her ability. That was one thing I was disappointed with in Deathly Hallows. Rowling set up Ginny to be unnaturally powerful, and didn't use her. I'm glad to see her talents finally get some recognition.

I can't wait for the conclusion. Hope to find it here soon.

Nice work.

Author's Response: Yeah, there were a couple of readers that got it, and I had to really work to not let on that they were dead on. Thankfully, they didn't spawn an outpouring of similar opinion which would have sunk me dead. And thank you on the fight scenes, I take particular pride in them. I get really psyched to write the fight scenes, and I know when I continue beyond fanfic many of my stories will have plenty of action because of it. As for Ginny, I'm totally with you, disappointment and everything. I didn't want to see Ginny join the trio in the horcrux hunt, mind you, but I still would have liked to have seen... more from her. And you shouldn't have to wait long for the next chapter. I hope to finish writing it tonight. For various reasons I also don't expect it to take long to edit. The chapter after that, assuming things stay on schedule, I plan on beginning this friday, with the hopes of finishing things up sometime next week on it. That will leave just the Epilogue which I hope to have all wrapped up in the course of one night no later than two weeks from this Friday. So we're looking at this whole thing being done and over with by the end of May. But while you're waiting for all these plans which are destined to fall apart, why not check out my blog where I ask for questions, give a teaser as to what's to come after Epilogues, and I intend to keep regularly updating on how things are going with the final chapters of this story. Thanks so much, and hope to hear from you soon.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 04/27/08 19:28
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

What a chapter! Edge of my seat here, loving every second of it! One of the things that disapointed me so much about DH is that Ginny's true power never showed itself. I think you captured it so well. A mother's love is a powerful thing, and as a powerful witch, it is only right that she finally shows it now. I also felt Ron's frustration that both Harry and Ginny held pieces to the puzzle. So close, yet so far kind of thing. Very much llike real life. Beautiful written! I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The bit with Ginny had been planned, well, from day one. I intentionally kept her in the background in this story so that it would be something of a surprise when she became more prevalant later on. Definitely so close yet so far, and finally we see a bit of why Rathius and Harry don't seem to acknowledge their past together; mainly because they never had one Anyway, you shouldn't have to wait for too long, as I'm already about a third of the way through the next chapter, and hope to finish it tonight as I'm taking a day or two off from political writing. And while you wait, why not drop by the blog as I'm trying to get things rolling in preparation for the end of my fanfiction writing? Anyway, thanks again.

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 04/27/08 8:18
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

Oh, yeah - I hope Neville remembered to pack the Essence of Dittany! Looks like he's going to need it.

Author's Response: Way ahead of you.

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 04/27/08 8:08
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

After time to reflect, a few more thoughts:
The Master seemed to be cycling through things that were used earlier in the story, or at least the specialties he taught his different followers (operating at a higher level himself, of course). He revisited his necromancer powers, Severatum, the Reaper's dueling, conjured a chimera (Beast and the dragons), the column to heaven bit was more the Illusion (when it started, it could have been the Wall). Is he just putting Ron and the others through their paces? What's left before he does something original? Ginny chased him ahead of the group - will he do the Imposter bit again?
Ron's been a little bit erratic here. Glad to see he made use of what he had seen before (Rathius' spell from the library). Much better than his reaction to the chimera. I'd expect his disbelief that the Master was able to conjure one, not ignorance of what one was - he's not 12 anymore.
You said you wanted to avoid deus ex machina with WWW tricks - glad to see you follow up on it with the bricks and the gobstones being ineffective. All the same, Neville is pulling some impressive potions out of his bag of tricks. Explosives, steel skin, and now a potion that can travel against the flow of a stream of flame and be detonated to blow up a chimera?
How much is the Master toying with them? He's excellent at so many known things and he's invented terribly efficient things to suit needs. Where does a presumed AK variant that moves so slowly everyone on the battlefield can hop over it fit in?
Bye for now.

Author's Response: First, I wanted to address the Chimera. I struggled with that one a bit because, to be honest, I don't think that they've been even mentioned in the core books. There might be mention of them, and in fact, in the course of writing this response, there is exactly one reference to them in Order of the Phoenix. So, it was definitely not a creature Ron had studied before in school, and so it was left up to me to decide, okay, how well known are these creatures. I chose to make them incredibly rare, rare enough for Ron's reaction to be "What the hell is that?" And in the confusion of battle, he may not necessarily immediately be able to recall the Chimera as naturally and as quickly as, say, a dragon. As for the potions, you got me. I traded up WWW tricks for potions as far as deus ex machina goes, and I did it completely for dramatic effect. I could explain my thoughts on the potion used to blow up the Chimera, though. That potion was the same that took out the wall in the Weasley's shop. The only reason it managed to go through the fire stream was that, maybe, Neville's steel skin gave him enough strength to throw that hard. Indeed, it was enough for him to knock a huge rock monters a good ways. I suppose realistically it would have been better for the potion to have just taken out one of the heads as opposed to the whole thing, but I did it all at once mainly for time considerations... I think it would have dragged things out a bit much to have to kill each head on its own. So there you go. As for the Master, your observations remain quite astute, and I can't answer most of them because to do so would give too much away. But the AK variant, I can answer your question. While it may not necessarily have worked on this battlefield, which wasn't terribly crowded, imagine something like that in an incredibly crowded place, especially a panicked and crowded place. Slow, thorough, and cutting down just about everything in its path. But again, I agree with you, it wasn't the wisest of spells to use in this situation, so why bother? Ah that's the question, why bother with all of this?

Reviewer: lita1949m
Date: 04/27/08 1:43
Chapter: Prologue: Severatum

you got me. but this is nota story i want towait for...HURRY!!! in the mean time im going to reread all of itto see where you threw me off..if you ever go to another site.,Please let us know ahead of time.YOU ARE GOOD>>>lita

Reviewer: Herminculus
Date: 04/26/08 21:39
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

I went and read the conversation between Ginny and Lupin and guessed as well. =P

The other option was Mad Eye Moody and...uhm...no!

Mind you, if you had not said Jingle Bells, I would have probably not bothered to go and read the whole Epilogues Part II as lovely as the story was.

Anyway, onto the review.

Now things are starting to get from totally murky to opaque. At least the Rathius-Ginny connection. He evidently saw the magic potential within her. Interesting.

Wondering though if she had gone to him for a duel before coming to meet the other four. I don't remember her dueling him ever, but that could only be me forgetting a tid bit. So many things to remember.

At any rate, another great chapter and please do not let us wait for more too long.

Author's Response: You don't remember Ginny and Rathius dueling? No term end battles in the forbidden forest? Nothing like that at all? Hehehe... Anyway, thank you so much.

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 04/26/08 19:23
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

Wow!
I started rereading the earlier chapters of part III this week. Now I have to go back to part II! Oh, well. Jingle Bells, huh? Yeah, it was Christmas when Ginny sat down to chat with Remus about Rathius, wasn't it?
Ron won't be any madder at Harry or Ginny than he will be at himself for failing to ask the right question.
I'd be interested in seeing if Rogan did or would have turned up in the criteria screening that didn't seem to be mentioned after Adam was revealed to be a NIghtshade. Actually, only 'would have', not 'did'. If he had, Ron & Harry would have paid another visit to the brothers and asked the right question.
Now, Ginny said Rogan was supposed to have disappeared. Did Rathius assume he was actually dead, think he couldn't (or wouldn't) be behind it, or think Ron & Harry couldn't find him without being killed if he did tell them Rogan was qualified to be a suspect (and was starting a search for Rogan himself)? Rathius was surprised (to a greater or lesser degree) more that once in the course of this story.
What personality twist does Rogan have? Rathius is intellectual but doesn't seem able to feel happiness (he does "grumpy" quite well, though). Ras seems much more emotional and easy-going than analytical, possibly to the extent that he didn't consider all the consequences of his actions.
Flip side of Voldy & Lily - did Rogan, too, 'misunderestimate' a mother's devotion?
Still left with the question - if we have the necromancer, who was the vampire?
Gotta go for now. More later. Looking forward to the rest.

Author's Response: Well, you do challenge me with this review and another and I welcome that. Ron may be madder at himself, but in a way, I think in this instance, the revelations that if Harry and Ginny had just talked about it, I think that over rode whatever self doubt Ron may have felt. At least that's where i went with this. Did Rogan turn up? He most certainly should have, but one thing, and I'll divulge this because I don't think it will come up in the next chapter, is that he specifically ordered Adam to destroy the evidence of a whole section of those requirements. He didn't give Adam his name, of course, but he gave him a narrow band to get rid of so that Adam would destroy evidence that linked Rogan to the criteria, as well as enough names to keep Adam from being able to figure out who it was. As for Rathius and your questions there... yes. MWUHAHAHAH. It is actually a very complex situation, one that goes beyond this story, but you are at least sniffing around a lot of the right places. As for Rogan and how he fits into the three brothers, you are very much on the right track when it comes to his younger brothers, but that answer, too, is complex and one that I intend to explore in great detail when the story is done. For your final questions. Did rogan "misunderestimate" a mother's devotion like Voldy? Maybe. As for Who was the vampire... much more interesting question, who IS the vampire (hint: you wouldn't guess in a million years). Thanks for the review very much.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 04/23/08 13:46
Chapter: Chapter 19: The Nightshades

Wow! What a chapter! It was incredible, the details, the descriptions, the emotions. I was so caught up in it. But damn, did you have to leave us where you did? That's just cruel. Wrong. Evil, even! I have no idea how long you've had the chapter out, sorry it took me so long to update. Fabulous chapter, thank you for letting me use it to escape for awhile. Please don't make the wait for the next one be too long.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I would hope everything came off just right, especially considering how long that chapter's been in my head. And that with little change from when I first conceptualized it. Of course, over the past, I don't know, year to a year and a half I added on bits and pieces, but really it boils down to the fact that this is what you can come up with when you spend so long imagining the same scene over and over again. And I'm thrilled it came out the way it did. As for how I ended it, of course I had to end it that way. Would you expect anything less? I can only hope that the next chapter lives up to the expectations I've unfortunately laid for it. But, at least there's one thing to take solace in; it should be TOO long before that chapter is up. I put it in several days ago and I got the email saying it was approved not long after. It's just not actually up for some reason. I informed the moderator of this and am waiting to hear back. So, with only three chapters left to write, I'm going to do what I can to really push this thing through as fast as I can. In fact, while I usually allow political writing to take up most of my free time, I'm going to designate Friday evenings to fictional writing unless work gets in the way, and I hope to stay with this regiment even after the stories because I've got all kinds of plotlines that I want to explore with my blog once I'm done here so, here's hoping that my best laid plans actually follow through this time!rnrnWell, thank you so much, and here's hoping you get to read the next chapter soon!

Reviewer: trustsnape38
Date: 04/23/08 10:45
Chapter: Chapter 19: The Nightshades

Wow! I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Well, I am hopeful you won't have to wait for long. Thank you.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES