Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 05/15/08 20:01
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

That's all? No more Stories? Then I guess the fight between Rogan and the descendents of Potter, Weasley, and Longbottom children will continue, just like the fight between good and evil. It will never truly end.

Author's Response: Yes, it's over, but not quite. As I said, I will explain what continues on after on my blog, but in a way, I think you have the crux of the matter, it's a repeating cycle, and I think maybe that's probably the final theme, not that good and evil are always at odds, but that humanity is constantly challenged, and that there really isn't ever a happily ever after, but instead a happily after for right now. That and eventually we do have to pass life on, and make room for the next generation, just as generations before us had to make way for us, and the generation that follows will have to make room for their children. So join me on my blog as I start writing out some essays, and I hope to see ya over there. But thank you so much for joining me for this.

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 05/15/08 19:22
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

I really enjoyed reading your Epilogues arc. It's progressed so much from Right Here all the way to Part III. You've done a great job with it, your ideas and characters are so original and thrilling, every bit of it was an amazing read. Thanks for all your effort, it definitely paid off. I look forward to reading all your essays about this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. As I say, I shall start writing the essays tomorrow, and intend to have at least one, maybe two up. Well, I'm glad you joined in for the end. I think you're right, in fact I know you're right, I think if you went back and read Right Here and then read the Nightshades, I think it would be night and day, not just in tone and content, but in style. By the time I got around to writing the Nightshades, the very act of writing had just become so natural which was pretty amazing because before I started this project, I thought that writing was already pretty natural and intuitive, and well, I just didn't have a clue as to how far I could progress. So thank you so much, and I'm really saddened at the end of this, but very excited to be moving on.

Reviewer: HJPX
Date: 05/12/08 10:49
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

hurry up and finish already

Author's Response: Hey man, ease up a bit will ya? These things do take time.

Reviewer: HJPX
Date: 05/12/08 10:45
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

hurry up and finish already

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 05/12/08 10:45
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

Don't have time for a full analysis, but here's a few thoughts after my first read-through...
Glad to see Ron has some misgivings and suspicions about their victory.
Thanks for some of the answers to the vampire question.
I'm a little skeptical of Ron officially claiming the killing stroke, given his frustration with all the lives this case cost and his failure to close it earlier. You make an interesting point, though. The killing curse was introduced in canon as an Unforgiveable Curse - use on another human earns an automatic sentence to Azkaban. While in our world an action analogous to Ginny's would likely be determined to be self-defense or justifiable homicide, wizarding law might not allow that distinction.
What's so special about the Cyprax cube, anyway? Total control over size, light, sound, environment... That could have been done in a more mundane cage or cell. Might it be that total control of environment and perception, even sensory deprivation, would allow Rogan to control or program the boys? Was he linking his life to theirs? Or was he simply upping the ante with a mysterious doomsday device to provoke one of them into killing him? Suicide by cop (with a twist) clearly remains on the table.
It did allow him to observe the boys, though. Hmmm....
Three years for Rogan to find the last part of the key. Sounds like just about the point in time that the boys will be sorted at Hogwarts (they are 8 years old at the beginning of Nightshades, right?)
The scene near the end with the Regulars - sealed room, no observer, dead or alive, place "almost ceased to exist"... Makes me think of Schrodinger's Cat. Mutually exclusive conditions exist simultaneously until the box is opened.
Riddle didn't want to die. Some of the other villians we've seen along the way could probably be classified as nihilists. Is Rogan trying to transcend the boundaries of life and death?

Author's Response: Before I get to answering some of your points, please come join me on my blog as I shift from focusing on this website to that one. Okay, let's see what you got. Your skepticism with Ron, and this is I think something about his character I have slowly and subtly wrote in over the course of this series is that Ron is a person who would very much be prone to a crime of passion, someone that may not ever think that killing is right, but in the heat of the moment may forget those morals and principles and react in such a manner. And you're pretty much thinking along the lines that I was thinking. Unforgiveable curse is unforgiveable curse; I left enough room, I believe, in the Auror's explanations that Ginny might not go to Azkaban, but it was a risk that none of them meant to take. As for the Cyprax Cube. Much of it was flourish. He could have kept them in a regular cage, but what fun would that be? And no, it didn't allow him to actually affect the boys beyond the physical, but Rogan was symbiotically fused to the cube, which is what is hinted at, and thus, under any condition, Rogan was allowed to observe the boys which was one of the purposes of kidnapping them in the first place. Yes, he wanted to catch them to achieve the final result, as we saw it played out. But also, he wanted to confirm through first hand observation what his calcultions were telling him, and the Cyprax Cube allowed him that opportunity. So, at the same time, there was some machination to it, but it was also, as you suggested, a means to provoke the suicide by cop angle. yes, they are eight years old, and yes, three years is very intentional at this point, which should give you a hint at least to where this is all going. And yes, Schrodinger's Cat did provide something of an inspiration as how I chose to paint that portion of the scene. At that point I was angling for maximum effect for Rogan's resurrection, but would I say Rogan is trying to transcend life and death? No. The curious thing about the Ratbones, all of them, is that they realize that immortality is a fool's errand, an interesting proposition given that both surviving brothers are necromancers, and the youngest is actually immortal. Neither Rathius, nor Rogan, nor even Rasmussen have any interest in living forever, but they do desire to fill their lives with what they would deem something uniquely purposeful. for Rathius, that is knowledge, for Rogan that is power. And with that, I think I covered everything up to this point. Don't forget to stop by the blog frequently, and thanks for the review.

Reviewer: gryffindorboi
Date: 05/12/08 9:13
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

Ah Dammit! I hate it when the 'bad guy" miraculously comes back like in Friday the 13th or Halloween. As always great writing. Hope to read the Epilogue soon.

Author's Response: hehe... well, to be fair, Rogan never came back from anything; he was alive the whole time. And I still am hoping to have the epilogue up by the end of the week. I did a read through of it, and I like most of it, but there are some rough patches I want to clear up. Anyway, thanks, don't forget to check the blog, and I'll catch up with you soon.

Reviewer: jediprankster
Date: 05/11/08 2:43
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

Well, I was waiting for the other shoe to drop. And boy did it! It hit me right on the head. I knew there would be a twist. I just didn't expect that. Now I see what you meant when you said you had another story planned after this. Too bad you're not going to tell it. Excellent story. I can't wait for the epilogue. Hope it's better than JKR's, though that shouldn't be too hard. Can you tell I didn't like book seven's epilogue?

Author's Response: I hope mine's better than JKR's too, and at least in the way that I am writing it and my concerns, it will be. I think one thing that really irked a lot of people was that JKR's epilogue was too definitive. Shippers who kind of felt they had a sort of imaginitive property control over who fell in love with who, and who had what kids and all that, I think they maybe didn't like getting bogged down by such a restrictive, happily ever after ending. I don't know, but I think that is what did it for me. In any case, there are ways that my epilogue will be similar, and ways in which it will be different, but it will be what it was always meant to be, which I can't say because then there will be no point in liking it. Anyway, I'm very glad that the big surprise hit you the way it did. That scene alone, I mean, more than any other scene in this story maybe, has been in my head over and over again. Just, you know, this big fat, "uh-oh" twisting its way through you as you watch Rogan reappear. Anyway, thanks for the review, and don't forget to check in at my website from time to time.

Reviewer: lita1949m
Date: 05/10/08 23:16
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

the epilouge better be a humdinger OR YOU BETTER write the next set of chapters!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Wow. No, the epilogue probably won't be the humdinger that you are looking for. There's just no way to write that much stuff in an epilogue, not at least in keeping in the same style that I have been writing this story. And no, I am not writing the next set of chapters either. But, I promise you, I will answer everyone's questions on my blog when the final epilogue is posted, I PROMISE! In fact, if you go check out my blog now, there is a post in the archives for questions and comments and such, and I insist that everyone start leaving questions in the comments section to that post as I will answer every single one of them at a later date. Thank you so much, and the next and final update should be around the bend very soon.

Reviewer: astro_wizkid
Date: 05/10/08 21:24
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

this is your idea of an ending? !?!?!..o.k...so you are redeemed for not killing ginny...yet....but this has to be the cliffhangers of cliffhangers....i finished this chapter being more confuzed than i began! none of harry's, ron's or nevel's kids ended up in slytherine...and what is this entire ordeal with thei key and having emense power?!?!?!?

please please please don't leave us hanging here!


but besides that....it's seems a bit redundant of me to say...but you are an extremely talented writter....and whatever you write, let it be fanfiction or something of your own creation, you definatly got a fan ;)


great work and your epilogue better explain more than this chapter did or you'll regreat it!

Author's Response: Yes this is my idea of an ending, and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get to your review, I'm trying to knock out a few a day, but you got to understand, I'm a busy guy. Yeah, I know, I suck, but I warned everyone, this story would end on a major cliff hanger, but fear not, as I said, all will be explained on my blog very soon. Thank you very much though, I truly appreciate it, and no, I'm sorry, the epilogue will not explain too much more, but I at least hope it sort of serves to at least close this story out and put it to bed, so to speak. Anyway, yeah, thank you, don't forget to stop by the blog, and I'll see you for the next, and last update.

Reviewer: lostinside1
Date: 05/10/08 16:45
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

that was very unexpected. Is the epilogue a "10 years on" type of epilogue?

Author's Response: Sort of, but because I'm an ass, it's more like "3 years on" kind of epilogue. I know, I know, all will be explained, trust me on this.

Reviewer: MissBellaBunny
Date: 05/10/08 15:22
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

Whoa, is there going to be another story? That is so weird! BTW, thanks for not killing Ginny. I cant wait to read the rest. The epilogue, i mean. If there is one.

Author's Response: No, no more stories, but if you keep an eye on my blog after the final update is posted, I promise to explain everything. I originally intended for there to be more stories, but even after I chose not to write those stories, I kept this story the same for various reasons. Anyway, you're welcome about Ginny, and I hope to have the last update in very soon.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 05/10/08 14:11
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

my god, when will Rogan ever die? Is this leading to a spin-off of this story? I thought this story was going to be the end of the Epilogues trilogy. When will you write that epilogue, and will it be a closure? It is really unsettling.

Author's Response: Okay, here's the deal that I hope answer your questions. The Epilogues were always intended to be a prelude to a longer series of stories. From beginning to end, they were only ever intended to set the stage for what I would see as a broader story arc that begins three years after the Nightshades story ends. For various reasons, however, I have chosen not to write those stories. Now, this would lead one to believe that the next logical course of action is for me to either alter the ending of this story to reflect a more final conclusion, or to at least do a quick summation in the epilogue to the Nightshades. I have chosen against this, though, because if I did that, it wouldn't be the same story Now, the epilogue is already written, I merely need to revise it and post it which I will have done by the end of this week. No, it doesn't provide much closure, for the reason I stated above, but I do not intend to leave you guys in the lurch. From the moment I realized I would not be writing anymore fanfiction after finishing this story, I also committed myself to writing a series of essays on my blog so that you guys can get some closure. I intend to start working on those this Friday, though you should know that I will only post certain essays that don't act as spoilers until after the new chapter is produced. When I have them all written, I will provide links to them in an author's note update later on. So, no, this is really it, there are going to be tons of loose ends left loose, but I will tie them up outside the narrative at my blog at adayinthemindof.wordpress.com Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 05/10/08 8:49
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

Holy crap! I had hoped you had some surprise for us, but that was more than I had ever anticipated. Brilliant! A doppleganger. Wow!!!!! Just wow!!!! I really liked the beginning of the chapter with everyone at St. Mungos. Ron worried about Ginny and how he and Harry made it clear to her ton consequences of her actions and what they were willing to do to protect her. Wonderfully written! And Ginny, holding onto the boys, made me tear up and I"m at work. Very bad! And now the whole mystery about who the Slytherin is that Rogan is looking for. And the implications of if that Sytherin is found. Wow. Now more than ever, I'm sad it's ending. But you have so much more to write, original stores. If it's quiet later, I plan to read it again and put some more thought into this. What an amazing, brilliant thing to throw at us!!! Thank you for sharing this story with all of us. Looking forward to the epilogue with some sadness and happiness. Absolutely wonderful job.

Author's Response: Yup. After building up the whole story as though the identity of the Master was the big secret, the whole time it wasn't his identity but his deceit that was intended as the big gotcha! That no one saw it coming is simply too good to not enjoy. As for the scene in St. Mungos, it's very interesting because while I had this chapter mapped out for a very long time, when I sat down to write, I found myself struggling here. I was conflicted in that moment as to whether Ginny should know, or whether Ron and Harry would struggle tooth and nail to make sure she believed she didn't actually kill Rogan. I think I went with the way I did because of one of two possible reasons. Either I was being a wimp, and wrote ambiguously, or I was being clever and giving Ron and Harry a pathway to plausible deniability. Sure, Ginny comes out of that conversation thinking she killed Rogan, but the Aurors never confirm it, and they never will confirm it for as long as she's alive. As for Ginny and the boys, I teared up too. I always feel particularly pleased with myself when I can evoke emotions as I write. It really makes me hopeful that I will be able to reproduce those emotions in the reader. And that brings us back to Rogan. To be honest, I think this is the only place where I sort of changed how I was going to write the chapter because I knew that I wouldn't carry on. I originally intended the bit where he is looking at the books and scrolls to be more vague, to not let on as much about the plot he has prepared because I was going to slowly let it unfold over the course of the following stories. Because that will not happen now, I chose to reveal much more so that people can have at least some more questions tentatively answered, while at the same time have a greater chance of inferring what is going on. Anyway, the Epilogue should come along soon. I'm dead tired, but I'm going to give it a read through tonight, and probably another tomorrow night to make sure everything is perfect, then I'm going to go ahead and post it ahead of Fiction Friday so I can spend Fiction Friday writing some of the essays that I need to write in the aftermath of this story. anyway, thanks a lot!

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 05/09/08 8:55
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Let's see...
Author writes chapter. Readers post reviews, frustrated at having to wait for next chapter. Repeat 20+ times. Dog bites man.
Now - Author writes chapter. Reader posts review. Author frustrated at constraints placed on responding to review by need to wait for next chapter. Man bites dog!
Yay for me!
Mischief managed!

Author's Response: I'm very glad you're enjoying your schadenfreude. I am to please.

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 05/08/08 22:12
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

... why you gotta do stuff like that?

Author's Response: ...Come on Charlotte, you know me by now. I HAVE to do stuff like that. It's what I do. I'm a very bad man.

Reviewer: TC Fields
Date: 05/08/08 12:48
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Another chapter, yet finally some answers. I don't remember how Everybody Does It has Ginny passing, but I'm not going to go look either. I certainly hope this isn't it.

With each chapter, I grow more anxious for the finale. But it's bittersweet, because I've loved this whole story arc, so I'll be sad to see it end. Ah well.

And just to clarify, I never wanted Ginny to go out looking for horcruxes in Book 7 either, but that battle at Hogwarts ... she should have been utilized.

Author's Response: On Ginny, you and I both agree. I would have been ecstatic had she gone outright ballistic and ruined some people's day, but I think the best we got was Dumbledore's brother telling her, "nice shot" or something like that. Anyway, well, if you're not going to go back to EDI, I won't help ya. I will say, I'm impressed with how many people found their caps lock key for this chapter. And as for being bittersweet, I hear you. Up until recently I was just excited at finally getting finished, but as I did the final readthrough and posted the next chapter, it really kind of hit me. I'm one update away from being done. No more Ratbones, no more boys. It'll all be over. Pretty powerful when you think about how much work went into writing this story. Well, at least I know I'll have some good folks with me at the end, and hopefully beyond. Thanks ever so much.rn

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 05/06/08 15:12
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Had some time to do a little more thinking...
The more I think, the more I agree with Ron. Rogan's story and 'plan' don't quite stand up - and it's not just the flaw Harry pointed out about no witnesses.
Even with a grief-stricken witness to support his tale (hmm, a bit of a twist on what Lockhart tried to do Harry & Ron all those years ago), and even if we presume Rogan is correct that Rathius can be convince to keep his silence - the story (his sudden re-emergence into society) at the time and place of the downfall of society's heroes is bound to raise suspicion!
So, what else about his plan smells a bit off? Parts of it are plausible. Create the menace, eliminating the heroes who are most likely and most able to stand in his way at the same time creating a void which he will fill with his own 'heroics'.
A couple of points to ponder:
1. He wants power, not the job. He waited decades to create a need for himself in a structure he intends to subjigate anyway?
2. He fills the heroic void. Who fills the villain void? He'll give the authorities the bodies of the servant Nightshades, and then what? No body for the Master, diminishing his 'accomplishment'? Or a fake body for the Master, diminishing the need for his hero? He knows how fickle society is.
So, what else is there? He taunts them with the cliche of the criminal mastermind prattling on while the heroes stall for time to devise a scheme to save the day, etc... He was always working to his own timetable, not theirs. Why would that change? He's the one stalling for time. What could he be waiting for?

I think this is all a decoy, or at least secondary. Decoy from what? Secondary to what? Why would he wait?

Perhaps he wants to get rid of Rathius, and this is his means of luring him in.

It's probably a good thing that Fiona was left out of the raiding party. If she were present, I'd suspect it was Rathius, using polyjuice potion, waiting to spring his trap. I'm fairly sure the other five are who they appear to be.

Author's Response: Man I man, I want to discuss this in so much depth, and I mean just because I think these are very interesting theories and such, but considering that you will have another blast of information in the next chapter, I just can't can't can't. Even your questions, I know how Rogan would answer them, and... grrrr... frustrating part is I can't address this stuff. Though I will take it as a kindness that you were sure of who the characters were, I guess I'll take that as a compliment on characterization. Never fear, though... You shouldn't have very long to wait for the answers to many of your questions soon. Of course, those answers come with some very very big questions... God, I suck.

Reviewer: HJPX
Date: 05/06/08 11:14
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

For cryn' out loud finish the damn story already!!! other than that it's really good

Author's Response: You're very... I don't know... demanding? Yes.. Well, in all likelihood the story will be finished as of tomorrow evening. I intend to write the epilogue tomorrow night. And the next chapter was put in queue a few hours ago, so hopefully you'll be seeing that very soon. Thank you kindly.

Reviewer: gryffindorboi
Date: 05/06/08 8:13
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

I refuse to believe you just killed Ginny Potter, but it would go with your other story "Everybody Does It". Just doesn't seem right. As always this was a great chapter and I can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Does it really go with Everybody Does it? I'm just asking? Well, reading everyone's response to the next chapter should be exceedingly fun.rnrn

Reviewer: jediprankster
Date: 05/06/08 4:27
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Oh, now that's just downright mean! There are cliffhangers and there is cruelty. Guess which one that was. Great chapter though.

Author's Response: Ummmmmm.... cruelty? Maybe? Just a thought. Thank you so much.

Author's Response: Ummmmmm.... cruelty? Maybe? Just a thought. Thank you so much.

Author's Response: Ummmmmm.... cruelty? Maybe? Just a thought. Thank you so much.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES