Reviewer: akb
Date: 06/20/07 15:57
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

hmmm, i don't really know what to say...the chapter was well written and held a lot of information, which my brain is attempting to process...good luck writing the next chap!
akb
ps. Rasmussen is definately my favorite character!

Author's Response: HAHAHA! Thank you! Yes, I approve that Rasmussen is your favorite character. That is exactly how I wrote him. It's a pity he won't play much more of a role in this story, but look for plenty of him in the next!

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 06/19/07 0:15
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

I was thinking further about what I said in my review and the Weasley-Rathius mystery. I realized that I said he was jealous, I forgot that was a feeling. Well, anyways, maybe a better word would just be curiosity? But that's a feeling too, but not really an emotion so maybe it is a better word. So maybe he's curious as to what emotions are like. I know many people including myself who wonder what an emotionless life would be like and sometime wish we had one, so perhaps this is a reversal of that?

Author's Response: hehehe...well if you read my last response, you will know the emotioin thing is the wrong track. And curiosity in general is a little off. You won't be able to make much of this because no one has noticed the one thing I've been waiting for people to notice all along, but here's the thing. Rathius' involvement with Ginny and Ron has little to do with Ginny and Ron themselves. Before your inquiries take you to Harry and Hermione, know only that Rathius' interest them is... similar as well. similar in intensity, and similar in nature.That is all!

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 06/18/07 22:42
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

Very good. Although, you said Rathius can't feel anger? He seemed very angry when Ron barged in. And him not feeling makes very much sense for his character to constantly be studying because he can feel no satisfaction within himself? But still, he seemed angry. Rathius reminds me of Hannibal, except in those books and movies the audience always knew that Hannibal was a murderer, it was always clear that something was not quite 'right' in his head. And just curious, what ethnicity are the name Rathius and Rasmussen? Rasmussen sounds Russian or Lithuanian, or from the Netherlands or something from somehwere around those parts. You know what I find somewhat funny? Most people are shocked to find that someone is incapable of normal feeling or emotional capacity, when most of society is already desensitized far beyond that point.

On a different note having nothing to do with this story (well I do know a way to relate it to this story but it's through a bit of a chain and an allusion) I was wondering if you had read The Tale of Genji by Murasaki Shikibu? I was at the book store tonight looking at books I might like for my birthday and I recognized the author's name from a book I read (the book was Hannibal Rising, Harris had a character in there named Lady Murasaki Shikibu (an allusion to the real one) And that was the chain relating my question) and I looked at it, it's very long but it sounded very good from the description inside the book jacket. So I was just wondering if you had read it so I could have an opinion from someone who wasn't trying to sell the book. I wonder who the prophet goes to now since Shikibu is almost a millenium dead.

Now back to the story. I like Rasmussen, I had always imagined vampires like the ones in fairy tales, cold and cruel. But here he seemed very warm, friendly and sociable. I like him.

Over all it was a very good chapter, intelligent but thrilling. And I loved the bit about Ginny and the portrait.

And on another non-related note, I wish I could speak italian, I'm watching a movie and the characters are at this Opera which is probably symbolic in some way but I can't understand it because they're singing in Italian and the stage actions are not helping; they're all dressed in white which I take to mean some sort of innocence or angelicness because there's also a man dressed as a demon there, the woman is pulling on a scarf and the next shot it's wrapped around her waist (and it's a red scarf) so I take that to mean a pregnancy out of marriage. It may be a leap but she was also sort of rubbing or carressing her stomach so... IDK, all I know about it is that it's apparently by Dante.

Oh crap I hate this part, it's disgusting. *fast forwarding*

And back to the story, Rathius last clue in the end. What does that mean? Look at the magic? Perhaps the type of magic, find out more about the killer- behind the mask so to speak- find out more about who s/he is, found out who s/he is.

And why is Rathius so obsessed with Ron and Ginny, why is he so willing to help them? Is it maybe because he's jealous? After all the Weasleys are a rather passionate bunch. They feel a lot. So maybe... he's jealous of their ability to feel? You said that Rathius killed his brother (or did not stop him from being killed) to see if he could bring him back as a vampire, well, maybe in his constant pursuit of knowledge, maybe does he want to see if he could some capture their emotions for himself? He knows everything in the world except what it feels like to love, to hate, to be frustrated or be satisfied. And since he hasn't the ability to feel he can't feel satisfaction so he wouldn't stop until he was and he can never be without feelings.

Wow, long review. I'm tired and I still have work to do on my own story, STOP DISTRACTING ME WITH YOUR BRILLIANCE! Jeez, jackass. Just kidding. Except for a pool party and a bonfire at which me and my friends burnt all our school worksheets and a lunch thing for my friend who's moving (to Idaho, quite a far cry from me) my summer's been quite boring, this added a little spice, a little mystery to mull over every now and then.

Later,

La Kneazle

P.S. I googled them and while I found nothing for Rathius I found that Rasmussen was Danish, Dutch, German, and Norweigan. The meaning I found was 1. The science that analyzes and compares human cultures, as in social structure, language, religion, and technology; cultural anthropology. I suppose it makes sense.

Author's Response: Wow... I timed out actually just reading the review. Okay, first I shall start with the comments that had nothing to do with the story. I do not know Italian. I don't know latin, and let me tell you, it is a pain in the ass getting English translated to Latin for some of the spells I've made up and for the Gnaritas Fidelis Library and such. My stepdad is fluent in Spanish though, which is handier than you expect. He can actually translate a lot of Italian as the two languages are extremely similar. As for the books, never heard of the one you looked at. I've tried reading Thomas Harris' books, but his style and grammar really annoyed the piss out of me, and I couldn't finish. Though I have seen all the movies, if that helps. Maybe? See I liked Hannibal Rising, but my friends with whom I went were disappointed. For me, it was interesting because I've become so fascinated with character development, and really that was what that entire story was, so I was thoroughly fascinated Here's the creation of a character that has become very deeply ingrained in modern pop culture and will most likely be canonized as one of the great literary villains. Next we move on to the origins of their names. Both names were something random, but I'm glad Ras' name means what it means because it is very fitting for him. With Rathius, that name is wholely original. And I created it to sound somewhat dark and oppressing. In it's long form, it is pronounced Ray-th-ee-us. Sounding like wraith, the ghost like figure. In the short form, it's pronounced "wrath" like the deadly sin. I also added the "ius" because it gives the name a kind of ancient Latin, ancient Greek feel to it, so that one feels as though Rathius has this kind of timeless alpha omega mystique surrounding him. Now, no he feels no emotion. And it's interesting, and I came very close to explaining this in the Ron Ras conversation, because I had a feeling like something like this might come up, but the topic was never broached in the dialogue. See, Rathius feels no anger much like he feels nothing else, but he understands human psyche. He understands theatrics. It was sort of like the test in Part II. seventy five percent of what we see, the demon form, the firebird, was all showy stuff, he could have essentially been just as effective logistically and physically taking a minimalistic approach, but he understands the psychological aspects of humans to the point, and given most the time he wants to be left alone, he has learned to intimidate people when the situation necessitates it. But I LOVE your observation about how since he can't feel satisfaction, he studies all the time. I approve, but as you will see if you stick with the arc long enough, Rathius would harumph your attempts to analyze him. One thing, and don't feel bad for not getting this right, he has no desire to feel emotions. He is perfectly content not to feel content. He views normal, healthy, emotion as a hindrance, and ultimately the cause of mankind's excruciatingly slow advancement over the years. Further, I think he would feel that to experience emotions first hand would be to allow in bias, which Rathius believes would taint the over all empirical benefits, and therefore it is more beneficial to observe than to experience, at least where emotions are concerned. As for your theory as to his last clue... Well, I try not to go too far to debunk or confirm people's theories, but I would say you are warm, though, I'm going to fully admit a cheap shot here, there is no way that someone will be able to deduce fully the meaning of the clue until it is revealed. Well thank you very much, and I see you have another review up, so I'm gonna go respond to that. Thanks Charlotte!

Reviewer: astro_wizkid
Date: 06/18/07 21:12
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

woha! i really enjoyed this chapter for two main reasons: 1. to learn more about ras and rathborn. I dunnot about most people...but i love it when authors give clues about characters...this chapter reminded me of the writing styles of a Canadian author called William Bell...you might have herd of his book Forbidden City...(historical fiction of 1989 tian an men square massacar)...but getting back to topic, he is the type of author to give a great amount of character details/clues and then jump into the mystery/main action of the book....as such, i find it a necessary component of any great novel...for it's not just the action and the suspence which makes the story, but the character flaws and their personalities and how these individuals react to what is happening/going to happen. the second reason why i liked this chapter is due to the lack of strong emotion...alright that didn't sound right so bare with me as i try to explain myself...the past two chapters were suspenceful/non-stop action/bonbardment of emotion...and too much of a good thing isn't always good! a calm, mellow in emotion and informative chapter is always perfect as a set-up for the next bombardment of action pacted writting and powerful emotions, but is also makes the non-stop-action-filled-with-exhilirating-emotions more powerful....the more repetative it is (like chapter after chapter), the less the reader appreciates the brilliance of the action chapter. I enjoyed how you ended up the chapter with the convo between Ron and Ras....it feels....so right in the progression of the story so far! I can't wait for Harry's reaction to what Ron found out and I also can't wait for the Ron/Dennis conversation....if Dennis is anything like his mother...it should be an interesting one! Great work and can't wait for the next one!!!

Author's Response: Yo Astro... heheheh... that rhymes! Blah, okay, no, I totally understand what you meant about not having every chapter intense, and I'm completely in agreement. There are certain things that I think should be constant. For instance, as this is a kind of suspense horror kind of story to a degree, I feel it important to always frame things in such a way that you aren't fully allowed to ever forget that somewhere the Nightshades are lurking in the background. Often times it's been VERY subtle, but I've tried to maintain that threat constant from the prologue on, so even when we are enjoying a light scene, I don't want anyone to forget that they're still there. But, one of my favorite shows, which has something of a fantasy setting, has a musical character. At one point, he says, "I can hold a note for a very long time... forever actually, but you can only hold a note for so long before it just becomes noise." The moral being, it is variety and change that makes things interesting. With my shorter stories, it was okay to stay constant because the dynamic is different but for these last two parts of Epilogues (and to be honest, I think on the two one shots are homogenous in their tone, and even at that I think only EDI is really one note), you know, I'm in it for the long haul, so you have to change things up or they just get boring. I could write the most powerfully emotional,deep, introspective chapter in the whole history of literature, but if it is preceded by ten chapters of also powerfully emotional, deep, introspective chapters, the effect will be somewhat lost. And given the last two chapters, while I don't believe in giving my characters much of a break, I figured the reader could use one. No, I've never even heard of the author, but especially lately, most of my reading is restricted to politics. But you say something interesting about characters at the beginning and the end of your review, and I would like to just babble about that for a moment. You know, I went a lot of my life thinking that plot was everything, that ambience was everything. But I had a couple of things that I learned, or instances, whatever, that kind of changed my mind for one, I was paying attention to what another favorite story teller of mine did, and I started writing these stories. I learned that the best stories, the ones that really drag you in, are the stories where the characters are deep and multifacted and well thought out. The best stories are told and sold by the characters, not by an intricate plot, or great scenic writing. Not that the rest of the stuff isn't important. A solid plot is the backbone of the story, and gives the "next" to the "what's next?" question that you want your readers to ask. The ambience helps put the readers in the mood. But it's the characters. If you create and direct unique and intriguing characters, you know, you get people who connect with them, or curious about them, and that's where they get sucked in. It's the characters that make you feel like you are yourself an active character because you either appropriately know or don't know the characters involved. For instance, with Simon Jacobs. You know, he's just this benevolent presence, I think most people have someone like him in their lives. A kind of father figure, somewhat strict, but ultimately caring. I tried to write him as someone you want giving you advice, and caring after you, and looking after you, but at the same time not develop a relationship that is so close so as to be trite. I didn't want Jacobs to be like a surrogate father, I just wanted him to be a kind of mentor, you know? With Rathius, what is so intriguing about him is that you DON'T know him. As an archetype character, I kind of paint him as that guy that comes around once in a generation or so that no one really understands. He's like an Einstein or a Newton, or a Hawking, or a Gates. You know, people just simply don't understand him, but you want to. You want to be on that level, and be able to pick at his brain, and should you be lucky enough for him to allow you to, you hope you can understand the bits of his brain you manage to pick. That and the very nature of his character defies the old archetypes of good vs. evil. Perhaps my one thematic difference with Rowling is that she falls into good and evil which is something I don't fundamentally believe in, and have found doesn't stand up to real life as well as the story books like to portray. So that's a great part of Rath's make up, is to muddy the waters of good and evil, and the companion story that follows this will explore that in much greater depth (it will, in essence focus on the Ratbones, and the children). And with Rasmussen, you know, part of him is that I just really like juxtaposition and irony. I love screwing with convention. So the convention of the vampire is that it is this evil, soulless, killing machine. Then you have this neovampirism (from, say Buffy and the Ann Rice works) that isn't so strict about vampires having to be evil killers per se, but those that aren't kinda have to be tortured. Ras flies in the face of this. He's at peace with who he is, and what he is, and he's just this really caring noble person. Which leads to his personality, and you know, he's very intelligent, he's a Ratbone after all, but where Rathius is amoral, essentially, Ras has this very finely tuned moral compass, and as a character it's attractive, and in a way he's a little like Sirius, because he wants to be in the fight on the right side when it comes up, but being a vampire, he doesn't get that, he has to remain hidden to avoid persecution, and besides he lost all of his magical prowess when he died. But another interesting thing about him, to me, is really shown in this chapter. If you've seen the movie Amadeus, about Mozart, you know you have this court composer who has worked very hard his entire life, and yet he has to live in the shadow of this punk kid who, with no effort at all, just paints the most beautiful tapestries with his music. The relationship isn't the same of course because Ras is a far different measure of person, but there is still something so intriguing to me about that kind of situation with a character. Everyone wants to know about the hero, everyone wants to know about the main character, the genius, the prodigy, the paragon, but what is it like for the character who is standing next to that character? What insights do they have? This is probably why I chose to write the last two stories from Ginny and Ron's point of view. How do these people see the world, and to me there's just so much more strength to these characters. In a lot of epic stories like this, the main character is thrust into the story, he has no choice, but the side cast, that's different they choose. It's like the beach scene in the final chapter of OGD, you know, and Ron and Hermione are walking on the beach, and it's Ron, and he's lamenting about how Harry never had a choice but they did. And me, I just find such a strength for those characters who may not be so imbued with talent or other gifts, but they still choose to of their own will stand. To me Rasmussen symbolizes that to no end. He has always chosen to stand next to Rathius, even after Rathius let him die. There is nothing stopping Ras from leaving his brother, and even for the most part leaving the life of relative solitude that he leads. With some effort and care he could go wherever as long as he remains unobtrusive, but he sticks by his brother through thick or thin (and there's definitely a touch of both in their history together). So anyway, I'm sure this is a far longer response than you were expecting, but thank you so much for the review, and thank you for touching on some subjects that really got me talking about things... See ya for the next chapter! ps. Love the woha... I actually hear it in my head.... pps... it's Ratbone. I like cringe because I'm so scared to correct you, and I dunno if you are intentionally mispelling the name or not, but it's like, ah... I have to face the blowback, Rathius Ratbone. HAHAH... Thank you again so much.

Reviewer: FeverFudge
Date: 06/18/07 20:48
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

ohh.kay....i don't know what the hell to make of it. What is it with the Weasley's? thats the key, right? Their relationship with Harry? I mean Harry is particulary close to Ginny and Ron. Could he perhaps want to help Harry but never got the chance to because he never asked. I don't think that Harry is very interested in him. I see Harry having a unattatched sort of polite interest, while both Ron and Ginny have dwelled more on him as a puzzle. Could Ratbone have been waiting to help Harry, but Harry not having asked ratbone, he instead helped Ron and Ginny as a way to help Harry indirectly. Gosh I don't know. Thats really the only thing that I can come up with right now. I don't know, if I think of anything else I'll get back to you

Author's Response: Ooh, gotta get caught up on my review responses, so here we go! What is it with the Weasleys? Dunno! Mayhaps you won't find even in this story... it's definitely a question for the greater story arc. Though I will debunk one theory of yours and that having it centered around Harry. One point to this series is that I'm decentralizing the story away from Harry, so it would kinda be against the whole point if I were to go through all that effort only to plop things right back in his lap. Though, you are right in that Harry isn't interested in him. I'm sure that after Voldemort, Harry's kinda over the whole old creepy wizarding dude thing. Now, as for solving that particularl question, I'm not exactly sure exactly how much of that question will be answered at the end fo the story, but I will say that I will leave some hints and clues for you. Again, I've dragged you lot through a lot of story telling, so I promise not to leave yall in the lurch. Thanks for reading, and see ya next chappie!

Reviewer: red haired mom
Date: 06/18/07 14:43
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

I thought the time and space alterations on the library was very nice, and the way Ron reacted to it was kinda funny.
Books used as weapons? That hardly seems like a nice way to treat them. Never mind what damage they do to Ron, what damage has been done to them?
Wow, Ron managed to surprise Rathius? That is impressive. For Rathius to be that impressed with the level of knowledge the Nightshade(s) has is most disturbing. From earlier knowledge of Rathius, when he taught, and fought, with Ginny and her class whoever this is should definitely be a formidable enemy. I am sure when they fought in the forest, he wasn’t going to kill any of the kids, but he made a very good show of it, and if the Nightshade is bent on killing and has those capabilities, then I think Ron and Harry should start taking a few lessons from Rathius and his brother in some type of advanced defense. More than they already know. Just a thought.
Ginny blowing a hole in the wall trying to get Sirius’ mother down is something I would’ve expected her to do years ago. I certainly wouldn’t have put up with her for that long. I agree with her though. A parent knows how much a child can take, if Dennis had been crying, Ron would’ve comforted him. But being the child that he is, Ron knew he could take it. I still do like that he did it, because no matter what, he is still a child. Intelligence isn’t a buffer from normal childhood hurts and feelings. I do like her observations of Rathius I wouldn’t trust him either. Of course she knows a little more about him than Ron, or Harry and would know more about the fact that he really has no emotions that are discernable. So in that instance he would be close to Mr. Spock on the old Star Trek only logic matters, not emotion. And by the way I hated Star Trek it was just a comparison.
It still seems amazing to me that the Ratbone brothers are really brothers. But then again look at most siblings and you will see marked differences in personalities. Rasmussen is really funny, and he brought up a good point. What is about the Weasley family that has Rathius helping two of them? Having Ron think he outsmarted Rathius was good, but the way Rasmussen told him different was really good. How old is Hedwig now? Not that I think she couldn’t sneak a message to someone, I just didn’t think she could outsmart Rathius.
You did a wonderful job on this chapter. I enjoyed the closer look at the Ratbone brothers, and the funny bit in the middle with Ginny was just enough comic relief to break things up nicely. Looking forward to the next chapter when it comes and I wish you speedy fingers on the keyboard. See you next time.


Author's Response: Heya RHM! Wow, long review, and I'm sorry, I've read it three times and am only getting around to reviewing it now. I'm glad you enjoyed it. One thing about this chapter in general; it's amazing because this chapter, like much the rest of the story, is only loosely scripted, I got a notebook with the key plot points that I wanted to hit, but with no clear blueprint of how to get to point a or b, and further, no hard set guidelines on how to write points a,b, and c once I get there. I tell you this because I think it interesting that much of what you remark upon can be categorized as improvized writing that i came up with on the spot. Case 1, the space alterations in the library. Originally, I was going to have Ron just burst through the library and burst up into Rathius' room, the whole time a kind of mental dialogue running in his mind. But I had a hard time trying to write the opening part of the first scene according to how I orginally planned. So then I improvized to get what you see right there. And even better, I really liked the new stuff not just because it worked, but also because it kind of showcases Ron thinking on his feet which is kind of a subtext I wanted to display through the story to show how smart he was, even if it isn't readily apparent. Had the Rathius conversation not been taken into an improvised realm as well, he would have noted how difficult it was for most people to circumnavigate the "security systems" he had in place. Which brings me to Rathius, and the dialogue I write in general. Nearly all the dialogue I write is improv, which I think helps my characterization. What I do in my head is essentially put the characters in the position, and I have an idea of where I want to go, but when I am writing, I'm having them act it out in my head as I go. And I think this lends a natural kind of progression to my dialogue which I hope avoids the appearance of being overly plotted or trite. Some of this is trying to decide how much will Rathius "appear" to know, and as the scene played out in my head, I saw him get totally surprised by the magic that Ron described. And from your response alone, I'm very pleased with the effect which is something I've been going for all along: the Nightshades are nothing to be trifled with. Now, it would be very difficult for me to comment on this any further for fear of revealing too much, so let's move along. With the whole in the wall, it's interesting, because I do remember making mention of them trying to get rid of the portrait in a previous chapter (Neville talking about the stuff he got in that could remove the portrait). But this whole scene, well, it was kinda cool because the entire EXISTENCE of the scene was improvised. Originally this chapter was going to be only two scenes, the conversation with Rathius, and the conversation with Ras. But I kind of needed something to show the progression, which resulted in the scene with Ginny. What made me happy about this was that I was FINALLY able to interject her opinions on Rathius and in particularly good context with the chapter as a whole, but also it allowed me to let Ron have some closure with how he treated his son. Plus it let me write a little more Ginny, which I liked doing in Part II, and it was a little fun to revisit that (there will be more of her in the next chapter). In my defense of taking so long to get around to her views on Rath, though, I had to find out how she felt about him, especially all these years later, and I knew before I even broached the topic, I had to know how she would answer the question of whether or not to trust Rath. And while Spock had nothing to do with the creation of Rathius, you're right, it's his overly calculating ways and his lack of emotion that has led to her distrust. Rathius didn't help her out because he liked her, he helped her out because he had an ulterior motive, one he would hint to, but not reveal. But yes, the Ratbones are really brothers, and as I think I pointed out to Ginzig, their relationship is one that I find INCREDIBLY fascinating, and plan on exploring in much more detail in the Companion fic I will write following this. (In fact, here's a little sneak peak... one of the scenes I plan on writing for the next one is actually Rasmussen's death at the hands of Death Eater's, and Rathius' turning him into a vampire). While Rath is much a mystery, Rasmussen is not. He's a kind person, and always has been. He believes in good and doing good, and this is what got him killed in the first place. He wanted to take on the Death Eaters by himself, and had actually amassed a few friends to try and exploit a weakness he had found. They poisoned him just as he was trying to convince Rathius to help. And, as he explained to Ron, and as Albus Dumbledore himself has tried, he not only expended a lot of effort to try and get Rathius to feel emotions, but he also tried to get his brother to participate in the world, and not just observe it... Apparently to no avail. I just like him. i think he is nicely ironic, and a good soul. But the whole point to the last parting shot from Ras was that despite Ron and Hedwig's attempts, they did not pull one over on Rath. Nope, the man is clever beyond description. Thank you so much, and thank you for making a quip about the books that did not involve "I guess he threw the book at him, didn't he?" I'm still awaiting that one in a permanent cringe.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 06/18/07 12:55
Chapter: Chapter 10: Brothers

Creepy, but I loved it! I like Ras even more now that he was away from Rathius. I too am curious why Rathius seems to have taken an interest in the Weasley family. I couldn't imagine not being able to feel or know someone who couldn't. But it does make Rathius a little more easier to understand. A little, I know he's far too complex to ever figure out. Great chapter, I enjoyed it immensely. I do want to know how Ginny hides a hole that big from Harry. He may not always be that observant, but there's no way he's going to miss the portrait being gone or the hole in its place. Looking forward to more. :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I like Ras too. You got to understand that this separate offshoot world from the HP universe is constantly going on in my head, and you know, it's interesting but Ras is definitely a great character in it, and in general a nice guy. Though with Rathius, I really hate to disappoint you guys, but you'll not be able to understand him until after this story is long since finished, though I guess to some degree this is a very telling chapter into his character as a whole. I'm not sure when I'm going to get a chance to work on the next chapter, but I do know that a severe shift in my work schedule starting thursday and carrying on over to Monday of next week is really going to put a damper in things, so let me apologize ahead of time for that. Thank you for the review, and see ya when i can get the next one up!

Reviewer: merlindbeard
Date: 06/12/07 4:58
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

Ok I start with an apology for the delay in posting this review this is primarily because real life is one big hectic mess at the moment (but in a good way) leaving me very little time for Potter life, But you don't want to know about my life, you want to know what I think about this chapter! Well to be honest you made me cry! I managed to hold it together until I am here to issue to Nymphadora ‘Tonks’ Lupin orders for her final assignment, and to welcome her to the ranks of the unseen and unforgotten. SALUTE!” I regained composure until Rons scene with Denis. As a mother Ireally felt for him having been in a similar situation myself, everybody kept telling me it was ok to cry and that it wasn't good for me to keep my emotion in, my Grandmother was the only person to tell me it was also ok not to cry.
The Ron Hermione scene was perfect the raw emotion and need was spot on. I don't just mean in a sexual sense but on so many other levels as well. There are in my opinion few writers who can portray deep emotion well and you are definitely near the top of that list. This chapter was brilliant definitely one of your best if not the best so far.
Oh by the way I am very impressed that you remembered my name, I only mentioned it in passing a couple of reviews ago.
See you next chapter Becky


Author's Response: Thanks Becky, and don't be too impressed, your name is on your profile. When people drop their names I try to remember, but it usually takes me a go or two, so when i forget I check their bios. I don't actively search for everyone's though, so there you go. Alright on to the review, no reason for an apology, you do what you can, right? And you cried... aw... not sorry, though, that was definitely my intention from the onset. Though I am particularly happy that you found that part to cry at. I was definitely evoking military style funerals which I've always thought particularly powerful. The Ron and Dennis scene... well the whole chapter was supposed to be emotionally and physically intense and really just the rich exploration of the human condition on so many different levels. With Dennis, it was partly character development on Dennis' part along with a deep exploration of the depths of Ron's grief but at the same time it was also meant to be disturbing and shocking. I was definitely trying to jar people out of this white picket fence that so many people have of the elder Trio in their fanfics. And I like what you threw in about your grandmother telling you it's alright not to cry as well. That is one thing that I think people should remember, we all react to our emotions differently and our reactions are triggered differently as well. With Dennis, and this is very intentional, he is not commonly emotional, and we'll see this I think in the next fic, though I'm not sure to what extent. So you have that really powerful contrast there between father and son, and I just thought it incredibly important to explore that. With Hermione and Ron, yeah, it had to be sex, and sex was definitely important, but it wasn't the only important thing or even the most important thing. In fact, the abstract style was only partly to kind of make this chapter a little more friendly to MNFF's rules. But more significantly it was to kind of blend all the different themes and physicalities going on at once. I don't think I wanted any one idea to be considered more important, but in their own way for their own contributions from the raw sexual imagery to the hunter imagery to the blood and everything else, it is all the most important thing which is only something you can get with a less linear, less straightforward style of narrative. So thank you ever so much. Best? I'm not sure, but then, how should I know? yeah I still had that little nagging voice telling me I could have done better. Oh well. Thanks and see ya for the next one, which I'm about a third of the way done but hope to make some headway this week.

Reviewer: h8Snape
Date: 06/11/07 17:34
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

well Grim, i have to say this chapter surprised me more than any other in all of the epilogue story arc, but perhaps the one preceding it. it wasn't that it wasn't expected its just that the emotions in this chapter were so.... real. I felt Dennis's coping with the loss of a friend. i felt Ron's frustration at not seeing any emotion in his son's eyes. what surprised me most is that i felt most for Anna. I've had to deal with loss and that seemed so appropriate for the type of character she is "meant" to be and i am sure it is critical in her development. I hope we can see more of Anna in later chapters. It is so odd to be reading this incredible story now, from Ron's POV. it seems like we never really got insight into Ron until now. (OK not never but...) which brings up how weird it is to watch Harry on the sideline. OK, this review is a little bit long for my style and i am going to sign off now. Still i think you are an amazing author and i am ever-hopefully for a juicy update. Peace, H8snape

Author's Response: Before you take anything I say with much more than a grain of salt, understand that aside from the general overall plot, even I don't know what is going to be going on from one chapter to the next. A lot of the time, I try to let the characters be themselves, and so I try not to be too firm in the progress of the story as it may be in character for someone to act where I have no action planned. But in regards to Anna, I really had no intent to write her in the story beyond this, though you are the second person at least in my memory to remark upon her as a character. In truth, for Epilogues anyway, she was not meant for anything more than a vehicle. In part II she was simply playing a part that I thought progressed from Lupin and Tonks' canonical relationship, and in Part III, well, her purpose here is what she's done already. But I won't shut down the possibility of reading more about Anna in the future. I have a few pretty off the wall and far out ideas regarding her, and it's very likely that I may write a series based off of her alone, or at the very least I'll pass it off in good keeping with someone whom I trust writing that story in my stead. And the fact that you connected with Anna the most, I thinkt hat points to her place in the story. She is supposed to be that reflection, and in her I was able to embody the core grief at the loss of Tonks. Ron's grief is a bit selfish in a way, not just the pain at losing a friend, but also the feelings of failure and such. But with no one else is the grief more pure than with Anna, so there you go. As for the point of view, I'm not sure even now why I chose to do that, but I'm glad I did. And putting Harry on the sidelines is part of it I think. For one I wanted it from Ron's point of view because to do so was vital in how I saw Ron and developing his character. But also, it was to look at Harry from an external point of view, and to investigate that a little I think. But anyway, thank you so much, I appreciate the long review, and never hesitate to do it again!

Reviewer: brenpotterfans
Date: 06/09/07 21:57
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

Well that was another well written chapter. Yes you were right I did cry during the funeral. It was actually a very beautiful thing. I can't say I liked the scene between Ron and Dennis to much though (I am a mother of 2 boys myself) but I'm sure you're headed somewhere important with that. The love scene showed just how perfect Ron and Hermione are together and had so much meaning to it. I think this chapter was a big turning point for Ron and I can't wait to see where he goes next.
P.S. I really liked Ron with a beard. I pictured him a little sexier with it for some reason.

Author's Response: Oops. The point of Ron's beard was never for it to be sexy, but more along the lines of silly. Ah well. To a degree he has hit a turning point, or in a strange bout of reality, I may have shown him go through all of this to learn that he hasn't just turned into superman, that no manner of symbolic gesture or what have you is going to change who he is or the situation. After everything, sometimes reality happens and pulling a Legend of Billy Jean isn't going to change that. I imagined that there would be a lot of controversial stuff in this chapter, and the Ron Dennis scene was definitely one of them. It wasn't supposed to be warm and fuzzy, and you gotta remember, not since One Good Day have I sought to illicit from my readers undying loyalty because I show them what they want to see. My goal is to show you what you don't expect, and to hopefully hold up a mirror to some of the darker aspects of life and reality through this very much fantasy-based story. So it was a tough scene to write, but ultimately an important one I think because it's too much to ask of these characters that they be perfect all the time. So I definitely expected for people to not like that scene... so... yay me! it worked! Anyway, thanks and I'll catch you at the next one, yeah?

Reviewer: akb
Date: 06/08/07 23:45
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

well, well, another cliffhanger...your doing great so far...this was great chapter....there was a lot of emotion in the first scene with Tonks...can't wait for the next one!
akb
ps. the scene with dennis and ron was intresting too...can't wait to see where your going with that...don't want to make any assumptions!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot. yeah, I pretty much try to end every chapter with a cliffhanger nowadays, gives you guys a reason to come back and read the next one! I'm glad the funeral came off well with you, that was important to me. I think there are certain characters, well, it's important that you deal with it properly, I think, so there you go. As for the scene with Ron and Dennis, what comes of it really isn't as important as what happened, and there probably won't be much closure in the works, but I think that is one of those instances where closure isn't as important as the act. Thanks a lot and I'll see ya for the next one.

Reviewer: h8Snape
Date: 06/07/07 12:11
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

oh no! a cliff hanger!
Hey again Grim, another excellent chapter, though i am writing this review on my break ill leave a proper one when i get home. Excellent as always btw :)

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much, I await said review with bated breath!

Reviewer: Silver Whisper
Date: 06/07/07 1:04
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

Hello Grim!
i read this chapter about 3 days ago, but at the time i was my way out to work and i didnt get to review...sorry.

Anyway, i have time now...the opening scene was great, the grief seemed real. My only complaint was that i would have probably liked to see a little more exploration of the characters whilst at Tonks funeral...the scene seemed a little short. But then again, there was also that danger of over doing the funeral scene and it would have been rather...crap. Abit like overdone movie sequels (think Spiderman 3 and Shrek 3) hmm...sorry if comparing your work to these movies offends you...its just an example...i am complementing you...

However, this opinion could just be stemming from my own curiousity, im only 18 and have never lost anyone close to me. Grief of this sort to me is unknown...so thats probably why i would have liked to see abit more of it, and also why i cannot really comment on your work here. Generally, i am just going by what other reviewers have left, and they seem to think its believable. so yes, dont take it too harshly or if im dissing you or whatever, im simply saying i cannot comment on something i have never experienced.

The scene with Ron and Dennis...i liked it, even though i have never experienced grief of my own, i have been around others who have, i have been in Dennis' shoes as so to speak. (having someone take their grief out on me) its a confusing moment, and it takes alot of understanding and patience from someone in Dennis' position. But then again, i am making this comment without knowing anything about Dennis' character, i dont know the level of grief he is feeling, this lack of emotion could be his way of dealing with it, or perhaps he is putting his own grief aside to tend to his family first (which i suppose is common for boys his age)

Anyway, generally with fics like yours (crime fictions, giving little hints along the way) i just sort of "go with the flow", as in, i try not to figure things out, i take note of whats happening and just try to remember them, but i dont actually set out to solve anything on my own...mainly because i am too lazy to figure it out and i prefer watching the characters do it. However, i have some questions, which i know you wont answer, so i have no idea why i am even asking, but i suppose i just want them out of my head.

Im pretty sure Rathius knows something involving the nightshades, whether he knows who they are...im not sure, which begs the question of: "Why dosnt he help/assist the aurors more?" Im sure he could give them much more insightful infomation. And why did you only allow Hermione and Ron to have one child? Hermione does not particularly strike me as the sort of woman to have only one child (being an only child herself) and Ron seems to be the sort of person who would want two at least (coming from a big family he is probably a little against having lots of children) I can imagine you did this to seperate yourself from the "frivolous" tales of Hermione and Ron having 7 children, which does seem a little ridiculous i must admit, but even then, i dont really understand why you only allowed this very much in love couple to have only one child. Im quoting 'the simpsons" here of children "being an expression of the couples love" but this quote is one i find sweet and true.
Anyway...other questions...did ron and harry find a clue to the next auror who will be a victim to the nightshades from the crime scene? How did rathius know they were going to come to him? Are the nightshades targeting Harry (who we know was in charge of every single one of Ron and Harry's cases prior to the nightshades case) Or did they know Ron would be placed in charge, and they are, in fact targeting him (hence the reason why they pick the nightshades near his wedding location) Which makes me think someone on the inside is passing infomation, or knows ron exceptionally well (sorry if you already covered this) Did the Nightshades want Ron to be in charge? Did they let Harry and Ron off "easy" when they defeated the dragons (they are, of course, the first aurors to survive a nightshade attack) did the nightshades plan to let them go? did they want harry and ron to survive the first attack? and if so, why? this would only give ron and harry a heads up to the nightshades attacking strategies. Will we see a Voldemortesque showdown between ron, harry and the nightshades at the end of your story? Who else will be killed (i have a feeling your not done with the killings yet) How many aurors are in existence in your story?

okay thats all the questions i have. On to the next phase of my review:
The last part of the chapter (ron and hermiones love scene) was done very well. You wrote it without...making it tacky and disturbing, which was something i was amit was...a little worried about. Alot of authors make these love scenes between our favourite characters very...bad. For this scene, i suppose, you wrote a little like shakespeare. Shakespeare can indeed, make even the most horrible scenes seem beautiful (take "Much Ado About Nothing" were Claudio slanders Hero at their wedding, even when he is calling her a whore, it sounds so lovely...ahem...sorry im abit of a shakespeare fan) Anyway, my point is, you took this scene and made it lovely, not tacky. Well done.

Okay, this review is now incredibly long, i must leave it here.

see you next chapter. (by the way, how many chapters are you planning?)

Sarah

Author's Response: Wow, HUGE review, I always love those, so let me try and go down line by line. Exploring other characters at the funeral scene and stuff. Okay, here's the deal with that. To a degree, I think you hit the nail on the head with overdoing it. One of the pitfalls of writing drama is that it is all too easy to fall into the melodramatic, something I've already been accused of doing from time to time. But there are two other reasons why I didn't necessarily spend so much time on other people. One was purely logistical in that this is still from Ron's point of view, and therefore, it wouldn't be right, I don't think for him to be taking an emotional inventory of all the people that are there. Instead it's far more realistic for him to pinpoint people he would connect with or who would catch his attention for various reasons, his own family and the family of sister and his best friend and partner, the family of the deceased, and Tony with whom we have seen has left an impression on Ron for obvious reasons. Finally, the focal point of the funeral, besides giving Tonks a proper send off, was in keeping with the overall goal of the chapter and that being an introspection on Ron's emotions and thoughts. So to a degree, In Memoria is kind of a misnomer because this chapter isn't about Tonks at all, but about Ron. Now you do bring up an interesting question as to the level of Dennis' grief because, at this point, I'm not exactly sure of that. There are parts of Dennis' overall story arc that are significant here that I can't say because that would be in a way a spoiler for this story, but with two exceptions in Dennis' life, he is a very unemotional person. In fact, a part of me even believes that the bit where he tries to comfort his Dad isn't necessarily out of honest concern so much as he knows that it is his role to try and support his dad. But I'm like you, and I think I got lucky in this chapter. I don't have a great deal of experience with grief, and yet I guess I seemed to nail it. Again, and this is my general philosophy to writing is that it's just important to get in that emotional connection. Okay, now on to the questions. Your first question was Rathius obviously knows more than he is letting on about the Nightshades than he does, why doesn't he assist more? Nope, can't answer that one, let's see, next one is; why did Ron and Hermione have only one child. Part of this is thematic in that I wanted Dennis to be unique. He's an exceptionally brilliant non red haired, non Gryffindor Weasley, so to this degree, just having one kind of follows onto that. But then some of it goes into the way I see the characters of Ron and Hermione. Ron strikes me as one not for big families, coming from one himself, and also there's the idea that he may not necessarily like children ("midgets") I can easily see him not necessarily wanting a whole gaggle of children. With Hermione, I see her very much a professional woman who was not necessarily into turning herself into a puppy pump. In fact, the perfectionist in her really leads me to a vision where she would want to do the whole thing once and write. I can imagine her planning the whole thing out very carefully, reading up on every child development book while pregnant, that kind of thing. I can also imagine her not wanting too many children interrupting her professional life over much either. So instead of, as you say, the frivolous seven children, that you are right, i do find cliche and grating, we have them coming together to make the "perfect" child, and in Dennis' case, well, they weren't very far off. Did Ron and Harry find a clue at Tonks' murder scene? That will come out in the next chapter. How did Rathius know they would come to him? I imagine Rathius giving you that look he always gave Ginny during her seventh year, but since I'm not Rathius, I'll go ahead and say that he found very early on that it was a vampire bite. He also knows that Ginny knows more about vampires than most, and Hermione would know about Necromancers as she has a very solid background in Wizarding history. He was then able to deduce that Ron and Harry would start searching for a necromancer, and also deduced that he was the only Necromancer on the books, though in the Department of Mysteries and not in the Department of Magical law enforcement (as he himself arranged to avoid being harrassed by frivolous persecution). Considering Hermione's standing in the DoM, and that she would eventually help Ron, it was only a hop skip and a jump from there to realize that she would pass on his name, bringing the Aurors to his doorstep. Are the nIghtshades targeting Ron or Harry? Both actually, in a matter of speaking, for two very different reasons depending upon whose point of view you are working from. Did the nightshades want Ron in charge? They wanted Ron and Harry on the case, but it didn't necessarily matter who was in charge. Did they let Ron and Harry off easy with the dragons. In the scene with the Master and the Pupil, you can kind of see the answer to your question here. The Beast most definitely went there with the intent to kill Ron and Harry, but as we see, the rest of the Nightshades were not, at that point, in on the real plan. So the Master used the Beast to test Ron and Harry, finding the two, ultimately, worthy. But, as I think you will see in future chapters, surviving the attack gives absolutely no heads up on how future attacks may go. Will we see a showdown... Maybe. Who else will be killed? Come on now, how am I supposed to answer that, but there are going to be more deaths, believe that! How many aurors are in my story. That is kind of tough to say, but I will say that there is a significantly larger number than there was back at the time of the Harry Potter books. Probably around one or two hundred? Whew, see, you got some answers to your questions, just probably not to the ones you were most concerned about, sorry about that. As for the love scene, thank you so much, though I completely and totally balk at being compared to Shakespeare. No way! But I will say this of the bard. I think, and it's been a while since I studied him, but if memory serves correctly, when you correct for the time gap in languages, one of the appeals of Shakespeare was that he was kinda vulgar for his day. Remember, he wrote plays for the common people, so while what he wrote is considered high art to us, back in the day, he was kinda like the author of Gray's Anatomy or something like that. By all means brilliant, don't get me wrong, but also very in keeping with the popular culture of the time. Ah, but thank you so much for everything. I think I'm planning twenty two chapters, somewhere around there. I keep having ideas though that might bump in a couple of extra chapters. Anyway, thank you again, and NEVER hesitate to drop another huge review like this, I appreciate it muchly.

Reviewer: TC Fields
Date: 06/06/07 1:43
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

Something else I wanted to comment on, and for some reason didn't the first time is ... you managed to pull off a very intense love scene without being... vulgar. Something I know is not always easy. Nicely done. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and I'm glad to pick up some recognition for that. It was made even more difficult because the entire time I was trying to tapdance around MNFF's standards, so yeah it was a little tricky. But then, it was also a scene wherein the sex was important but it was only the means, and not the end, and so I think what really helped was keeping that end game in mind; all the themes and symbols and ideas that I wanted to touch upon. Anyway, thank you again, and now I suppose I should get off my butt and start writing the next chapter, huh?

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 06/05/07 15:35
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

erm... first of all. Whoa. X RATED, much?

and second of all, the first part almost made me cry and it was really good. and OOOOO! cliffie! I want the next chapter like a three year old wants ice cream! that is, very badly. So, choppity choppity if you please.

Author's Response: Um... that was the ponit of the WARNING! Hey Charlotte. Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed. I can't promise that I'll rush, you know this already, but I will get it to ya as quickly as I can. thank you kindly miss.

Reviewer: MartinD
Date: 06/05/07 11:45
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

I have finally caught up to the present and all I can say is wow, I have not read such a brilliant set of stories since the originals. I love Rathius and I can't believe you killed off Tonks!! That must have been a very difficuly decision. Can't wait for the next chapter. Thanks for writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Actually, killing Tonks wasn't that hard of a decision at all. It was difficult doing it, mind you, but I knew pretty early on that it was going to be her. I don't have a writing process, really, at least not one that is clearly defined, but the earliest part of when I create a story is to first get the general concept. Ron and Hermione get into a fight at the wedding and get together as a result. Harry spends a day as a magic free and perfectly safe normal boy, etc. Then still early on, I kind of plot out getting from point a to b to c, and then I go in and actually start writing, so Tonks' death was really decided upon very early on in the construction of this story, and it wasn't until I started actually contemplating on how to write the associated scenes did it get kind of difficult. But it's done with and I can move on. As for Rathius, thank you so much, I love him, and I hope you'll remember him come October when we have the next annual Quicksilver Quills awards. He was nominated for last year's but lost out, and I think he wants another go at it. Seriously, he is a jewel of a character, and I'm glad I got him, and the brilliant thing is that he has received quite a bit of good reactions and yet people know so very little about him. But for those of you who do really like Rathius, I'm sure you'll find the next chapter absolutely grand. Also, when I start writing The Epilogues Companions, as that is a lot of back and side stories to the Epilogues arc, you'll definitely get a chance to see a lot more of him then too! Thank you so much, and hope to see ya for the next one!

Reviewer: ExpectoRubberDucky
Date: 06/05/07 9:00
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

haha now rons a bad ass. nice chapter

Author's Response: Well thank you very much. I get pretty excited when I get that email too until I realize that it means it's time to start writing the next chapter, then it's back to work! One of the pleasures of writing this chapter was that thus far I haven't really explored grief on its own and completely, so it was new and exciting territory. I suppose there is grief in part I, but not in a solidified, purified form. So it was very interesting to write that. You had to mix in the guilt and the anger and the frustration with the sheer pain, and what it really allowed me to do was take Ron to this whole new place, and it was a simply amazing experience, if not a daunting task. Thank you so much, and I'm thoroughly glad you ejoyed it.

Author's Response: OOPS! I got paste happy, I'm sorry about that! What my response was supposed to be was: hehehe.. you would think, wouldn't you? Just don't get too safe in that assumption.

Reviewer: ssdawn
Date: 06/05/07 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

What an emotionally charged chapter! My heart was aching right along with Ron's. Grief is such a long and difficult road to go down. I have been there and it's not a happy or easy place to be. Ron taking his grief out on those he loves is very typical in the grieving process.

Your story is so well written. I always get very excited when I see the e-mail that another chapter is up from your story!! :-)

Author's Response: Well thank you very much. I get pretty excited when I get that email too until I realize that it means it's time to start writing the next chapter, then it's back to work! One of the pleasures of writing this chapter was that thus far I haven't really explored grief on its own and completely, so it was new and exciting territory. I suppose there is grief in part I, but not in a solidified, purified form. So it was very interesting to write that. You had to mix in the guilt and the anger and the frustration with the sheer pain, and what it really allowed me to do was take Ron to this whole new place, and it was a simply amazing experience, if not a daunting task. Thank you so much, and I'm thoroughly glad you ejoyed it.

Reviewer: potterwidow
Date: 06/04/07 22:17
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

Nice teaser! The love scene was beautifully articulated and choreographed. Fantastic wording all around - as usual! Great Job, can't wait to find out where he is going.

Oh, how old is Dennis right now?

Author's Response: Dennis is eight years old right now. But a curious amount of luck, he, Linus and Tom are all three of them eight years old, though this probably has NOTHING to do with the overall story arc whatsoever, nope... not a thing! hehehe... Thank you so much, I really had very high hopes for the love scene, and it is a joy to know that it came off well. Thanks, and see ya for the next one!

Reviewer: TC Fields
Date: 06/04/07 21:21
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Memoria

I am often surprised when speaking to my peers, to hear that they have never been to a funeral. That no one close to them has passed. In my 22 years, I've lost count of the number of funerals I've been to. Some family, some friends, some friend's family. And to try to explain the experience... I'm often left ... speechless. I can't quite put it into words. There was something very real, and moving about the way you handled Tonks' funeral. Ron's forced detachment from what he was feeling, the way he avoids looking at some people, the way he ... try as he may he can't seem to help thinking about what's in the coffin. The whole scene was ... masterful, and I applaud you.

As someone said before me, Ron's lashing out at Dennis, while harsh was completely in character and unavoidable under the circumstances. Everything and everyone is foreign to you when your grieving, especially when the grief is as severe as Ron's.

I'm anxiously awaiting the next chapter, as I'm excited to see this story unfold.
Congratulations on an amazing chapter.
You're a truly gifted author.

Author's Response: To be fair, I myself have only been to two funerals. The first was for one of my stepfather's relatives, and to be brutally honest, I have no clue who she was. I don't recall actually ever meeting her when she was alive. In fact, I can only be so sure it was a she. The second was for a good friend of mine. We were in the military together, and he, like so many others in the very specific part of the military in which we served, was very bitter, and could not wait to get out. Two weeks before he was scheduled to separate from the Navy, my friend tested positive for marijuana. The consequences for such things is relatively strict, but by no means life ending, you get a couple of months restriction, and then you are booted out of the military with a less than honorable discharge. Unfortunately, the night that this all came out, he went home, called his mother on the phone, and shot himself. There was a memorial service for him on the ship, and that one I remember rather well, and while there was no twenty one gun salute, I think that the raw emotional memory that I have of that event in part fueled this scene. But if so, it wasn't consciously done as I only remembered that event of my life today. Still, the way I approach writing, understand that in this overall series alone, I've written on so many things I myself haven't even come close to doing or experiencing, but the thing is, perception is reality, and much of what guides our perception is the emotional context. As a political writer, this is something I know very much as the emotions that people feel towards a certain politician mold their opinions towards a speech they deliver. Bush is a brilliant example of this. The man can give a great speech and those who hate him will say it is terrible, conversely, he could give a terrible speech, and his fervent supporters will say it was moving and powerful. So approaching things from an emotional context, what happens is you can take a situation, like a funeral, and you can have someone who has been to hundreds and describe one accurately from minute to minute, and not have it be nearly as powerful or real as someone who hasn't been to many at all, but writes it from an emotional context. With Part II, I never had a girlfriend in high school, but I know what it is like to be in love and to be jealous, and all these basic universal emotions that surround such a thing, so I kinda have a grasp on how to write it. Though, readers should know that the one story I have written that is the closest to biographical personally is Part I, though the events were different to a large degree, it still is the closest. When it comes to Ron and Dennis, you should know that I still partly write these stories with something of a chip on my shoulder. There's still a lingering bit of the old, "I could do better" aspect to when I sit down to compose, and it is in scenes like this where you see it. The thing is, in a lot of fanfic writing, you see a lot of Harry et al. when they are older and have kids, and the thing is you most commonly see a situation wherein they have this almost sickly sweet perfect family home life. Ron and Harry are perfect dads, Hermione and Ginny are perfect moms (that strangely enough act an awful lot like Mrs. Weasley) and it's so surreal really because it's almost like the Cleavers invaded the Harry Potter universe. So I wanted to drive about as far away from that as I feasibly could. I say feasibly because in the end, the traits that our main characters have kind of tend towards good parenting, so it's not like we're going to see them abusing their kids, but it's not a perfect family. Tom's a trouble maker, and Ron often times doesn't feel like he understands his son at all. And in this particular scene, I kind of made that aspect of their relationship hyper aware, the emotions charging an underlying conflict that has always been there since Dennis first started reading his mom's books just before turning three. The dynamic is complex and I could probably write countless papers on this two person relationship alone, but suffice it to say that overall, I think it fits quite nicely with a theme that pervades through all of my stories at varying depths and that love through strife and chaos and adversity is ultimately far more rewarding and powerful than a life of nothing but birds singing and rainbows. A lot of readers I dont' think make it past Part I because it is so much darker than the first two stories, but I think that only makes the last two chapters of that novella so much more powerful. And I think I'm rambling beyond the point of sanity now, so thank you very much, and I hpoe to see you for chapter ten.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES