Reviewer: Adelfore Flamell
Date: 07/20/08 2:12
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

that was like Diablo II final battle. Wow. Im physically tired now.

Author's Response: Never got to that one. Last time I tried playing DII the furthest I got was the third world, I think. That's one of those games where I say... you know, I'm going to go back there and beat it, and it never happens. It's interesting that you bring up DII though because if you carefully look at the Necromancer character and look at Rathius again, you might see something interesting.

Reviewer: Adelfore Flamell
Date: 07/20/08 1:31
Chapter: Chapter 19: The Nightshades

the cliff to end all cliffs!

Interestingly enough, while you were going through the fight scene, I had the prefect images of a game running through my head. I was strangely almost comical! Ya know, face all the nightshades and after it all you have to beat the boss! Love it!!!

Author's Response: Probably not much of a coincidence. I think in one of the essays that I wrote that you can check out after this, I think I rightly credited the Metal Gear Solid series as an influence to this story. Maybe a little Final Fantasy in there too. This is one thing that kind of bothers me in a lot of the stories I have yet to tell though in that a lot of them kind of have this final boss feel to them. On the other hand, who's to say I shouldn't as long as I keep it fun, right? Thanks man!

Reviewer: MissBellaBunny
Date: 06/07/08 16:58
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

okay dude seriously, are you gonna explain what happens to rogan in one of your essays? you seriously cant leave this story alone! We dont know what happens! or who does waht or anything! gah! *puts on stubborn face*

Author's Response: Where've you been? I did that weeks ago. I'm already getting ready to post the second chapter to an all new original story! It's okay, I updated the end notes to the final chapter with all the links you ask for!

Reviewer: TC Fields
Date: 05/29/08 13:03
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

It's been a long road, and I'm glad I stumbled across it so early on. I've enjoyed watching you grow as an author, and I am excited to see what more you have to offer the literary world.

I feel like there's nothing I can say without sounding redundant. So, I'll say Bravo! and I'm sorry it took me so long to comment.

After Deathly Hallows, I was disappointed with two things: The fact that Ginny's power went untapped, and with J.K. Rowling's Epilogue. You seem to have righted this, at least for me, so I thank you.

Realistic, horrific, moving and real this story arc, from Right Here to the final Epilogue, has been one of my absolute favorites and the one set that kept me reading fanfiction after the final chapter of DH.

Congratulations, and I’ll catch you on your site. It may take awhile because of my schedule, but I’ll get there.

One last time; Nice job.

Author's Response: Wow... reviews! I almost gave up on hoping anyone else would review here but here we are! YAY! Thank you so much, you know, I got a lot going on in my life, but this strange little gap between ending the Epilogues and starting something fresh and new has been curiously filled with hope (and foreboding, but that's political stuff, so worry not about it.) All this to say what has eventually worked its way into being one of the central themes of these stories; that life continues to go on.rnrnAfter epilogues, it was strange, you know, because I felt like something significant ended. It wasn't, I suppose, the same feeling someone gets when they finish a novel that they send off to the presses because then I guess the whole process continues, and you know, eventually, you get paid. Here, there wasn't any glaringly obvious differences. I'm older, I'm fatter, I'm no longer in the military, and my political writing is starting to take off. Nothing, really, that I can look to here that changed.rnrnExcept, I did change. I learned a lot, made some good friends, and I walked away with the confidence to not just start a story, but finish it, and take some (mind you SOME as in a little) criticism along the way. I flailed a bit thinking of what story to tell after this one, but I think I found that too, and the more I think about it, the more I think that it's most definitely the RIGHT story to be my first story because of the nature of that story. I've been mentioning it a lot at my website, but you know, this is basically the bed time story I've been telling my daughters for months now, and so I'm in love with the characters I've created already, and I have this wonderful new world to sculpt as I see fit, and I've already begun doing that, so yeah. Nothing tangible may have changed; I finished a story, but man I have more optimism for the future and my ability to write than I have had in a very long time.rnrnAnd yeah, I think it's funny that you felt I corrected two things that Rowling got wrong because I formulated most of these stories before Book 7 came out, so my interpretation of her came from that. So I thank you very much for joining me throughout all of this. I've got LOTS of stuff for you to pilfer through on my site, though, it's a bit tricky to navigate right now because I still haven't gotten anyone to go through and configure it the way i want it to be configured, but that should happen soon. Until then, if you're willing to sift through all the games and stuff I've posted there, you'll find out what happens next, you'll get a glimpse at what I am deeming the official Soundtrack, and there's the three part Ratbone History to go through. so I'm glad you've stuck with me this far, and hope you'll continue to stick with me after this.

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/29/08 11:17
Chapter: Chapter 20: The Master

Wow, really good chapter. Ginny was amazing. You just don't mess witha mother.

Author's Response: Heh. No, no you don't. That was always one of my mission statements here; make sure Ginny kicks some serious ass!

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/29/08 11:17
Chapter: Chapter 21: The Cube

Huh, interesting. To the next chapter I go. That is a great cliff-hanger.

Author's Response: You know, one thing I'm kind of surprised is that no one is making much of a deal out of Rogan killing Ras... I kinda expected more of a reaction out of that. Still, I'm thrilled you loved the cliff-hanger. Not sure if I could pull that off in cinema, but for literary purposes that has been yet another bit I have been dying to pull for YEARS! Thanks again.

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/29/08 11:16
Chapter: Chapter 22: Aftermath

great writing. one more chapter to go. I will miss your fanfic writing.

Author's Response: Thank you. Man, I'm glad you've enjoyed it up until this point. You know, after so many years and six stories, you really start to get the feeling that you have to uphold a certain standard, and you have to finish things off a certain way or you're going to find yourself at the wrong end of an angry mob, but I'm really thrilled to have gotten the reaction I've gotten. Thank you, and I really hope to see you around the blog soon!

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/29/08 11:16
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Great job I want to read the essays and your fanfic will truly be missed my me and many others.

Author's Response: Thanks man. And let me apologize for taking a bit to get to your reviews; I hadn't gotten any reviews I started to slow down how often I checked. Just about all the essays are up and available, but it will take some hunting, to find them. I hope to be able to fix that soon, but we'll just have to wait until then and you'll have to be patient. Leave me a comment in any post if you have questions about navigating the site, and I'll help you tou. As for the Fanfiction, you know, I'm going to miss it too, but what I have on the burner right now, really has me excited, and I'm even more thrilled because I truly believe that writing these stories has given me the tools I will need to tell that story to the very best of my abilities. thank you so much.

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/28/08 16:03
Chapter: Chapter 19: The Nightshades

Great chapter. I love a good duel when drinking. I think Hermione was the best duel.

Author's Response: Man, this chapter was so much fun. I wish I did drink while I wrote it, I think I would have had even more fun. You know, I didn't start off writing action, as you know, but I really feel like I'm in my wheel house when I start writing action; you just get to have so much fun with the language, you know? So you thought Hermione's was the best, huh? I definitely intended that one to be the most visually impressive, I'll give you that much in both parts. I think the Harry Reaper battle was one of my favorites to write, though. Because of the nature of their duel, I got to take a different rhythm, a much more thorough rhythm that I hoped kind of underlined how deadly it was. And then the combo that Harry unleashes, I've been dying to use that for AGES! Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Jameswys
Date: 05/28/08 16:02
Chapter: Chapter 18: The Eve Of War

Great Chapter. I liked finding out about the nightshades lives and I agree with
ron it is a sad life.

Author's Response: Okay, for some reasons your reviews went all over the place, so I'm going to quit this jumping around and hit them up in order. I think if I had one thing I screwed up in writing this story, it might have been being a little too stingy with information. Granted, this was a mystery, so I was intentionally trying to be sneaky and conceal things, but you know, this was definitely something I wanted to make sure came out eventually; this other side, a pitiable side to the Nightshades in how they lived and how they were so terribly misused. Granted, they were their own people, and were capable of moral decisions, but in a way, they were very much victims as well. Even before Rogan killed them.

Reviewer: MissBellaBunny
Date: 05/18/08 16:31
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

OMG! you should totally become an author or a novelist or something! That would be so cool!

Great story. I'm glad I stuck with it unlike one of my friends.

GOOD JOB!

Author's Response: Well, that's sort of the aim, and the whole purpose behind the blog I set up. give the whole original fiction thing a shot or two or maybe five; we'll have to see. In any case, I truly appreciate it and hope you'll come join me at the blog!

Reviewer: gunslinger3604
Date: 05/17/08 0:49
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Awesome. Ended wonderfully. I really do wish you'd write the next saga, but I can't change your choice. It was fun reading it, and can't wait for the essays and new material!

Author's Response: Waddup! Thank you so much, you know, given my past history of attempting to write, I think ending this story, and ending it well, may very well be the biggest accomplishment I have to take away from all of this. Anyway, I'M not just appreciative of the review, but also appreciative of you stopping by the site! Thanks, and I intend to respond to your comment there within the next few hours.

Reviewer: astro_wizkid
Date: 05/16/08 19:59
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Bravo...i think it's due time for the maestro to take a bow! a formidiable ending to a great fanfiction series...

Author's Response: Maestro? Hardly. But thank you so much any way. .... *sigh*... okay fine! [bow]. hehe.. Thanks so much for sticking with me through so much of these stories.

Reviewer: louiselikes
Date: 05/16/08 15:08
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Well played epilogue to Epilogues. I'm going to miss this series, these stories and what you've brought to the Harry Potter series.

You're an extremely talented writer, impressively imaginative, and I anticipate your essays; to say I'm intrigued would be a massive understatement!

Louise.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Louise. I have two essays up, this friday when I standard three day weekend break from political writing i intend to write two more and do something else special. Also, there will be an announcement coming in the next few days that I hope gets a lot of notice.

Reviewer: Ginzig
Date: 05/16/08 11:06
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

I like your epilogue better than JKR's. I could really feel the emotion, especially what Hermione said about feeling old and the whole passage of time. Damn, do I feel that right now. Where did all those years go? But, great job. I"m glad that Ron did make it back to see Rathius, it's the way it should be and things happen when they are supposed to....right before the boys go to Hogwarts. You know you'll see me on your website. I have lots of questions that I'm sure everyone else has. Thank you for sharing your story with us. And remember, it's not really over. There are others who will keep finding your story and it will all be new to them. That's the beauty of writing, it will always live on.

Author's Response: I really look forward to the questions, and I think you're right. I think that may very well be why so many people seemed dissatisfied with the epilogue that JKR wrote; it substituted introspection and emotion for some platitude about how brave Snape and Dumbledore were. Thus, I think it was kind of empty, you know? That's my take anyway. Anyways thank you very much and of course I've loved having you frequent A Day In the Mind of, even if I haven't been keeping up with it as much as I wanted to. It's still a matter of getting used to running two blogs. Thanks, and before I write for either of my blogs tonight I promise to get to your email (s)

Reviewer: jediprankster
Date: 05/16/08 4:20
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

I'm happy to say that I was not dissappointed. This was a fantastic epilogue. It's sad that this is the end, especially since you planted the seeds for the next story. We know that Rogan has identified these three boys as representing Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, and Hufflepuff in his grand plan. Who's the Slytherin? My money is on Draco's kid. Alas, I will never get to read that story. Oh well, I guess I can settle for the tidbits that we get from the comments section of your blog. And I do plan on checking out your website as well. Thanks for the stories. It's been a hell of a ride.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, and I have already answered your question and many more on my blog. Yeah, it's been a hell of a ride, hasn't it? I'm very glad that the epilogue didn't disappoint. For the most part it came out all at once, but I did go and add a little to let it fade to black a little better, but as another reviewer pointed out, I think it was a matter of providing closure, and yet not really providing closure. Anyway, thank you so much, it's been really great having you reviewing and coming back to read chapter after chapter, I can't tell you how much I am grateful for that.

Reviewer: proudgryffindor
Date: 05/15/08 22:50
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

ok ok ok i don't even know where to start here. i read "aftermath" when u first posted it up but i didn't have a chance to review it, so i gotta do to u what u did to me on my review for
"Part II " lol. so first of all "aftermath" was an amazing chapter to say the least.. and idk if ive mentioned this before, but these twists that u throw into ur stories, idk if its the part i like the most!!!! or the least!!!! lol j/k... and like i said in my last review for this story i knew 100 percent that u wouldn't kill ginny cuz she is definitly the man. ok now onto a more review-ish part of this review, i loved how in depth u got with the aftermath of that whole night, even down to ginny not admitting to casting the curse herself..... its those kinds of little things that really make u an amazing writer. One question i did have has to do with the cyprax cube. When dennis is studyin it he says that it just kind of whithered up like a dead flower. was this because of the fact that rogan was actually alive, or is there just a simple explination to this? oh yeah and by the way Privet Hedge must be one of the most incredible reviewers ive ever saw in my entire life!!!!!
ok moving on to the epilogue.

i really don't know what all to say about this, because i mean what kind of review are u supposed to leave on an epilouge??? but to be honest with u, i know a lot of people were dissapointed with u leaving the story kinda open ended, even though regarudless of ur blog ur not writin anymore fanfiction, but i think i might finally understand. its just ur style, and its something that ur ABSOLUTLY GREAT AT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u left us with a sense of closure and at the same time no closure at all... i gotta tell u i always loved all of ur stories in this arc, but i never truly appreciated what great pieces of writing they are until this latest chain of rereads and reviews, and i honestly feel blessed that u shared ur wonderful talents with all of us. u know i will definitly be along for the wild ride of the essays, and even though i NEVER stray out of reading harry potter work, i'm gonna try my hardest to get into ur original writing. One last thing id like to ask, and i don't mean to be too foward and u can definitly feel free not to answer, is what tjhe original reasons were behind ending this arc after "the nightshades"? If ud rather answer that in an email or somethin just let me know and ill give u my email address..... Well i guess i've typed on forever again, but its only fair to send this story out like i did the rest of the stories in this arc........... on to "ESSAYS THAT WILL ANSWER ALL OUR QUESTIONS AND GRIMMROOKS ORIGINAL WRITING" *whispers* even though this guys gonna keep trying to talk grimmrook into contiuing this story arc *whispers* *followed by evil laugh*

Author's Response: Sorry I haven't responded yet, but with the new response system they put in place, you get one crack and then you're done, so I had to do everything in one sitting, and am only finding the time to do so now! AFTERMATH! yeah, the twists, I love the twists, and I think it's going to take me some time before I can create a story that has those kinds of twists in them again. I know that there's not a whole lot running in my head at the moment that does, but I think I may also need some time to decompress from these stories before I jump into something new. And, yeah, Ginny survived because she's teh awesome, and because I make it clear in EDI that she doesn't die right then! As for the cyprax cube, I think it was more flourish than anything else, but there is definitely import to Dennis' observation. The Cube just disappeared, when Dennis correctly suggests that it should have died some how as the cube is a semi-living construct tied to the master, when the master died, so should the cube have. So you were right; the Cyprax cube just disappeared because Rogan was actually alive and simply ended the spell. Also, I'm pretty sure Privet Hedge appreciates it. As you say, onto the epilogue. Thank you! Open endedness did not always used to be my style, but I think that was one of the things that writing fanfiction has really helped me with. I used to try and tie everything up at the end of everything, and that puts an awful lot of pressure on me as a writer, and it's not necessarily good planning and plotting. After all, why would anyone bother moving on to the next chapter if they don't have any questions at the end of the chapter that they are reading. As for the story in toto, you know, life doesn't end with any one story; things continue on, they keep moving, and happily ever after is a farce. I think that somewhere, subconsciously, I recognized that but found myself trying to make two ideas that don't work together still fit somehow. As for your question, I don't take it personal at all, and in fact wrote another essay on how I started writing fanfic, and why I chose to end on my blog, specifically because of this question. I guess I wanted to make it clear why I'm kicking the habit. Anyway, thank you so much, I truly appreciate everything, all the reviews, all the support, everything. i do hope you'll join me at the blog; it's going to undergo some makeovers in the coming weeks, and all, but I'm really trying to make it a place on the net for people of various different interests to get into and have fun with. I have two essays up; the why I started and why I quite essay, and what will happen after the Nightshades essay. Next Friday I intend to sit down and write the Ratbones history, as well as discuss some of my influences and inspirations throughout these stories. If I still have time, my intent is also to post a bunch of music videos for what I have taken to be the soundtrack to the Epilogues. Thank you so much, and as you say, on to the essays!

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 05/15/08 22:05
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Brilliant. Really good work. I can't wait to see your original works.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Charlotte. I think, looking around at the lot I got here, I think you're probably one of the oldest reviewers still left of the bunch. It's nice to see you still come around! Yes, onto some essays, and some original works.

Reviewer: wyfan_64
Date: 05/15/08 21:46
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

this was a really great story. I enjoyed ever minute, every line, every chapter of this amazing story. you did a excellent job on writing it and cannt wait to see what you come up with next. Christie

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm truly glad that you enjoyed it so much. Obviously writing this story was a great amount of work, so it's very nice to see that work appreciated. I do hope that what I have up my sleeve does not disappoint, but for that you will have to go check out the blog! Thanks again!

Reviewer: Privet Hedge
Date: 05/15/08 21:42
Chapter: Epilogue: Three Years Later

Pretty good place to leave things off.
It looks like the boys will be in for a shock if they end up in three different houses.
Glad to see Ron didn't take it for granted, realized they didn't really win anything.
I really think Ron & Harry would have had to visit Rath & Ras much sooner to wrap up the procedural end of the case (days or weeks after Rogan's 'death', not three years. It wouldn't stop Ron from needing to go back.
By the way, when you originally intended to have Epilogues, Part IV, was it to have been Hermione's story, or on to the boys?

Author's Response: Yeah, I used a little bit of license to elongate how long it took for Ron to go back to see Rathius. I really don't have an explanation for it, I suppose I could say that out of deference to Rathius' wishes for solitude, they decided to repay him for his assistance by leaving him alone. Yeah... that's the ticket! As for Part IV... I'm going to obviously go into this, but I'm not sure I would have ever written a part IV. I had, for a time, thought about making a story for Hermione where I chronicled how she got to where I intended to put her, but a lot of things stood in the way, not the least of which being that it just wouldn't have made for a very interesting story. A one shot at the least, and not even a good one at that. So the stories that were to come after were always intended to take up a new title and a new arc, really. Anyway, thanks so much for the review, I truly appreciate it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES