MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Comparisons

Name: moonlillies (Signed) · Date: 08/22/08 12:29 · For: The Friendship
My middle name is Regan. :)

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 04/23/08 14:48 · For: The Friendship
This was very well written. It makes you realise that everyone has insecurities and we aren't only what others think of us. Excellent job.

Name: embe622 (Signed) · Date: 08/15/07 17:16 · For: The Friendship
i like the name

Name: James Jameson (Signed) · Date: 06/26/07 18:22 · For: The Friendship
aw... thats so good. they both feel small in comparison. It would be a hard life either way.

Name: Fantasium (Signed) · Date: 03/25/07 20:46 · For: The Friendship
Ooh, look at this! How unexpected and lovely!

To begin with, your writing style is very tidy and easy to enjoy. It seems that you use mostly short sentences and don't bother with using pretty words just for the sake of it - and I like that combination. It's clear that you had a purpose with this story, a message, and I want to congratulate you on conveying it so well.

You have created two believable original characters, which is not an easy thing to begin with. But what is even more special is that with Jacqueline you have created a character who would be called a Mary Sue by many people, but through your writing she becomes real.

Regan is excellent with her sarcasm, and the sensitive side sheís hiding. You know, she reminds me a great deal of Tonks, both from the books and from Ennaleeís fic A Road of Shattered Glass where a young Tonks is one of the main characters. I think youíve stirred together a perfect mix of Tonks and Lupin, and you manage to show us so much of her through relatively little text.

The next thing that impressed me is how your style is different for the two parts of the story. It is like you, as a person, can identify yourself with both of your characters, and by putting a little bit of yourself in both the parts you give such life to the story.

A seventy-six year old had keeled over at the sight of her in Diagon Alley once. They pretended it was a coincidence, but Regan knew better.

- I simply had to quote those lines, because I actually snorted in my teacup when I read it.

No one knew what kind of rebellious thrill she experienced when Regan referred to her as 'Jack'. It was silly, how much a name could mean to her. Especially a boy's name, but it did. Always. Because that one name made her feel more human. More relatable. It was nice.

- This is my other absolute favourite part. That Ďrebellious thrillí is something I long to see in every female character, no matter what causes it.

I guess some people would say that Jacqueline and Regan wouldnít be likely to be best friends, but I disagree. Not only are their families close, but two people donít have to be alike to be friends. And yes, I believe that itís possible to feel the way they do about your best friend. Even if you love your friend, it can be hard to be compared with them. Itís the same thing with sisters and brothers, really.

Iím afraid that this review isnít very constructive or helpful at all, and Iím now going to finish it in the same horrible fashion. I really like the end of this one-shot. You give us the two sides of the story, and thatís it. You donít offer a solution or conclusion, but only the facts. To me it seems that you want to say that yes, perhaps itís possible to overcome these comparisons in specific cases, but thatís not the point. The point is that this happens all the time, and is a real problem.

Wonderful work, Kate. Iím definitely going to check out more of your writing at some point. =)

Name: ginnyp_harryp (Signed) · Date: 02/12/07 17:11 · For: The Friendship
This was really good

Author's Response: Thank you. =D

Name: froggerlotr (Signed) · Date: 02/02/07 16:07 · For: The Friendship
Quite an interesting little one-shot! I loved the two perspectives, and how you delved into teen friendships and insecurities--you really captured it well. The snippets you gave us let me imagine so much more--their days at Hogwarts, home life, etc. Well-crafted, simple, great concept.


Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I did hope I captured it accurately - I'm pleased with it. Thanks for your review.

Name: HJPCATI (Signed) · Date: 02/01/07 22:28 · For: The Friendship
I really like this. I've always liked it when people show a more sympathetic side to the "popular" girls. I think that it's absouletly rediculous how half the world is convinced that being pretty or smart makes you a snob. No it doesn't! And being the most beautiful girl in the world would not take away all of one's insecurities but add to them.
Anyways, I love this story but I think that you could add more to it.

Author's Response: I know some "popular" girls who are the sweetest and funniest people in the world. Basically, this is why they're popular, not because of how much fashion knowledge they have. I've also met some less-than-popular girls who are just awful, and that's why some people wish not to be around them. That's why stereotyping has so many flaws - it's not always accurate. Anyways, thank you for taking time to review, and perhaps I'll take your suggestion into consideration. I can't really see continuing this particular story, but that doesn't mean I can't bring back these two characters in another. I'll put some thought into that idea, thanks. =D

Name: DogLover4Life (Signed) · Date: 02/01/07 22:07 · For: The Friendship
That was, just wow. You captured every ounce of teenage insecurity. I was just talking to a friend about this in P.E. when we had ot get weighed. I'm not sure who I feel worse for Jack or Regan. If only they could be honest with each other about how they feel about each other *sigh*

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review. =) I'm glad I did a good job of this story, because I thought it was something perhaps everyone could sort of relate to. Everyone has at least one friend who they're jealous or sympathetic to. Thank you for your compliments.

Name: beauty and brains (Signed) · Date: 02/01/07 21:05 · For: The Friendship
Wow. I do seem to lean more towards Regan, and yet I do see the way Jack thinks she is being used. I liked how this story showed that being the most popular isn't always how it seems, and being the plain jane, girl-next-door is sometimes something to envy. Great job! :]

Author's Response: My first review! Thank you so much. Regan's always been a favourite character of mine, and I've experimented with her, but I've never put her up on Mugglenet fanfiction before except for a brief reference in another story. I'm glad to see that her situation is appreciated. Thanks so much for your review. =D

You must login (register) to review.