Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/16/08 17:17
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

This was pretty nice. I liked it. Great job and 10000/10. The reasons I liked it was that it's not too fluffy (which gets in the way of a plot) and that Hermione and Krum were perfectly in character! The title was really neat, and it caught my eye. Great job! {Becca}

Reviewer: Mind Games
Date: 04/22/07 0:31
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

This is a really cute story! I liked how you used the library as the setting for the Viktor/Hermione romance. This was a great missing moment from canon. I always loved the idea of Hermione and Viktor meeting and talking in the library, so I was really excited to see a story with this scene. It’s a perfect missing moment to write about, yet it’s still very uncommon in fan fiction. I am one of the rare Viktor/Hermione fans, so I was really glad to have found this story!

I like Hermione’s annoyance as she tries to study, but keeps getting interrupted by Viktor’s admirers. Her thoughts made me laugh when I read them! It’s so like Hermione to be irritated by them for only being in the library to stalk a Quidditch player. I can also see how she would be annoyed with Viktor for being the cause of the disturbance. And I really thought bringing up Hermione’s annoyance several times in the story was amusing

Viktor was written in character, which was something that made me appreciate the story even more. In the movies and in fan fiction, he is portrayed as stupid, but we know he has to be very smart in canon. I think the scene you wrote through his point of view did show him as more of the smart character that he is, and not the stereotype Viktor that the movies and other fanfics display him as. I really liked how he wasn’t attracted to the stupid girls and was slightly annoyed by them. This is how I would imagine him to be in canon. When you mentioned at the beginning of the scene how he was a coward for not asking Hermione, I thought you brought out a character trait that made him seem very real, and I liked that a lot. You wrote the scene from his point of view very well.

Now I have some constructive criticism to share…

As much as I enjoyed the scene from Viktor’s point of view, I thought you could have added something about why he likes Hermione. We know in canon that he likes her, but giving us some reasons why would really add to his character and help make the romance more believable. Why is he so attracted to her? Is it her passion for learning? Her sharp wit? Her devotion to studying? Those are just a few examples, but you can get really creative with this. There are a lot of reasons you could use that would be believable. Writing a paragraph with a bit on why he likes her would really add to this story.

Stealing a glance at him, however, she had to admit that there was something about him that intrigued her.

I would cut ‘however’ out of this sentence. It’s not necessary and sounds a bit awkward.

Trying to pinpoint it, she nearly gasped out loud when she realized- it was the way he looked at her that made her want to look back.

I noticed that you used British spelling in other parts of the story, but not here. I would suggest changing ‘realize’ to ‘realise’ to match the rest of the British spelling.

Watching him, she saw him speak for the first time, and while she couldn’t understand what he was saying, it must have been rather offensive, for the once-giggling girls stormed off in a huff.

Hermione didn’t see him speak; she heard him speak. ;-)


For a first attempt at romance, I thought this was very well written. You made it cute, but it was still believable, and you avoided the typical clichés that a lot of authors run into when writing a first romance story. The ending was really sweet! I loved the way Viktor asked Hermione to the Yule Ball, and you nailed his dialogue. Another thing that really made me want to read this story was the title you had. It added just a touch of humor and I liked the way it tied in with the ending. I tend to avoid these types of romance stories, but I really enjoyed yours. This was really good for a first romance story. Great work!

Katty – Knight of the Turnip Table


Author's Response: *GASPSQUEEYAY!* Thank you so much for your review! This was such a lovely confidence boost... *hugs* I'm glad you thought Hermione was in character; she's my favourite, so I know her well. ;- ) I agree with you about Viktor in the movies- he seemed too stupid and self-absorbed. I love his character, too- I hope he comes into the 7th book. Thanks for the CC, too- those British spellings always get me. And "saw him speak?" My inner madness is revealed at last, mwahahahah....... no. Just kidding. I was probably asleep when I wrote this, as my computer kept logging me out of MNFF by itself, and I didn't have this story saved on Word, so... I had to type it over and over and over. It wasn't fun. Anyways, thanks again for your review! ~megan~

Reviewer: zonkoslover
Date: 04/03/07 20:58
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Wow! Impressive.......very impressive!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ~megan~

Reviewer: LoOnY_for_Harry
Date: 03/30/07 14:30
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Very good story! Though I'm a steadfast R/H shipper, this was an excellent tale of what happened when Krum asked Hermione to the Yule Ball and the feelings that ensued. The flow of this story was great! The only thing was, I was.... annoyed.... that it was so short (the "annoyed" thing was really funny by the way! :D )! Good work!

~~**LoOnY**~~

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *blushes* What a lovely review! ....Yes, it is very short- the first time I submitted it, it got rejected for being too short, so this is actually the "long" version! Thanks so much again! :-D ~megan~

Reviewer: Chaser921
Date: 03/26/07 22:25
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Very cute, I think you did a good job. I like the way Hermione stays true to character in being annoyed and thinking Krum isn't that good looking, but you still manage to get her to like him! It's great. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you thought Hermione was in character, she's my favourite! Thanks again! ~megan~

Reviewer: Chaser921
Date: 03/26/07 22:24
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Very cute, I think you did a good job. I like the way Hermione stays true to character in being annoyed and thinking Krum isn't that good looking, but you still manage to get her to like him! It's great. Excellent job.

Author's Response:

Reviewer: LacewingFlies
Date: 02/26/07 15:29
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Nice story! I find few Hermione/Krum stories enjoyable, but this was a very nice one. I applaud your good usage of grammar and the general correctness of the story- I can never enjoy stories that have lots of mistakes in them, and yours was exceptionally good!

Author's Response:

Reviewer: LacewingFlies
Date: 02/26/07 15:28
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Nice story! I find few Hermione/Krum stories enjoyable, but this was a very nice one. I applaud your good usage of grammar and the general correctness of the story- I can never enjoy stories that have lots of mistakes in them, and yours was exceptionally good!

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't usually like Hermione/Krum either- I totally ship Hermione/Ron! Thanks so much again for all the lovely compliments! ~megan~

Reviewer: Angel Feathers
Date: 02/04/07 4:40
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Wow! This is really sweet - I am an avid Ron/Hermione shipper, but I think I like Krum/Hermione now!

Anyway, really good! 1000/10!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! *blushes* 1000/10? That is high praise! Thanks again for the review. :-) ~megan~

Reviewer: cajunspice
Date: 01/30/07 5:19
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Yay! The world needs more victor/hermione fanfics!

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't ship Viktor/Hermione, but this idea snuck up on me and I couldn't resist it! ~megan~

Reviewer: DogLover4Life
Date: 01/27/07 2:26
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Aw, this was so cute! I really don't understand why people have a death wish for Kum. Yes his head master was a death eater, and yes he stole Hermione from Ron. But it is only a fling! In the storybooks when people are meant for each other they somehow end up together.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Honestly, I'm not a big fan of Krum myself, and I ship Hermione/Ron, but I don't want JK to kill him off or something. I don't know where the idea for this came from, but it sort of just came to me and I couldn't say no to writing it... thanks for the review. ~megan~

Reviewer: lucilla_pauie
Date: 01/23/07 0:36
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

were you one of the giggling girls beside krum? you kew waht happened!
hehe! :)

nicely done, megan! very right. hermione's enthusiasm must be due to the fact that no one else had asked her yet and ron was being a git, right? adn tis krum, a champion, she'll be in the limelight as she deserves, by merlin!

~joanna, a badger. :)

Author's Response: hmmmm... was I a giggling girl... I never thought of that! ; ) No, my heart belongs to another... Anyways, back to the point, thank you so much for the lovely review. ~megan, a lion~

Reviewer: MJ_Padfoot
Date: 01/22/07 19:10
Chapter: Shh... it's a library!

Yeah! First review! Okay, besides the point...I love this! I've always wondered how Krum asked Hermione out. Keep writing-you're really good! MJ

Author's Response: Yay! I was kind of worried... didn't know how the sappy romance stuff would work out. Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it. ~megan~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES