Reviews For "Goodbye..."
Reviewer: Englaroma
Date: 01/07/08 15:07
Chapter: ...Hello

Wow. That was beautiful (and beautifully sad, too). I love your style, you create a wonderful flow with all the memories weaving in.
Harry's letting go in order to face Voldemort is realistic and the different goodbyes get across a feeling of closure.

I didn't acutally pay much attention to the song lyrics, because the fic was perfect as it was, but theyfit nevertheless.

Author's Response: Thanks! It's always great hear reviews about my writing style in general (especially good ones). To tell you the truth, I really thought that the fic kinda needed something to pull it all together and offer a kind of transition between each memory. Then I had some controversy over the song and wether or not it was right. But it's really fantastic to hear that I actually suceeeded in creating a fic that is not dependant on another person's lyrics. ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: Shortone
Date: 12/17/07 21:02
Chapter: ...Hello

Wow, that was fantastic, I love your description at the end of Dumbledore's ode, about beards and lemon drops, and redemption, it brought tears to my eyes!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! To tell you the truth, I'm most fond and proud of that bit too ;) ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: Shortone
Date: 12/17/07 21:01
Chapter: ...Hello

Wow, that was fantastic, I love your description at the end of Dumbledore's ode, about beards and lemon drops, and redemption, it brought tears to my eyes!

Author's Response: Why thank you, I especcially love hearing people's opinions on specific things. (I am rather fond of that part as well, personally) ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: HeirOfGryffindor
Date: 11/24/07 21:43
Chapter: ...Hello

Wow. That was truly amazing. I haven't been this moved by a piece of writing since... well, the other day in English class when we did the last book of The Iliad, but that's not my point. Just that it was really amazing, well written and it truly, truly moved me. This is SOO going on my favorites :)

Author's Response: AWW! :D Thank you sooo much! I always appretiate positive (and occassionally absolutley WONDERFUL) reviews! ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: Ghoul In Pajamas
Date: 10/12/07 17:12
Chapter: ...Hello

I really liked this! I think you captured Harry's reactions to the deaths very well. The song was a great choice, too; also very sad.

I didn't understand why he hugged Aunt Petunia, though, because she wasn't really ever a member of his family. I would expect the last people he would go to would be Ron and Hermoine.

Author's Response: Well, Harry had been with Ginny, Ron, and Hermionie before, and he had already left them so that they could not be hurt in his final battle with Voldemort. He also watned to see aunt Petunia, uncle Vernon, and Dudly one last time because they did keep a roof over his head and (occasional) food in his stomache; they also made him stronger by teaching valuble lessons about human nature, and how not to love...they were also the closest living people to his mother and father, so he wanted to be with them one last time. ~Venia Taint

Reviewer: Sing Hallelujah
Date: 08/10/07 13:58
Chapter: ...Hello

I love that song ♥

*SH*

Author's Response: I love it too! Thanks for taking the time to review, and I hope you liked the story just as much as the lyrical choice! ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: bonbon_13
Date: 07/05/07 23:33
Chapter: ...Hello

.....oooh. Spooky. That was really good in a chilly way...great job!

Author's Response: why, thank you...and, I'm sorry for any involuntary shivering ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 07/01/07 7:24
Chapter: ...Hello

Ok, I have a lot to say about this one. First of all, let me start off by saying it was good. There were several things I liked, and a few things I didn't. Which would you like to hear first? Well, I'll start with bad. There were a few spelling mistakes, mostly in names. A few example are here.


Albus Pervical Wolfric BrianDumbledore…Goodbye.

If you look in the books, it is spelled Wulfric.

Another one that isn't as much spelling as it is improper canon, is this.

Lily Evans Potter and James Harry Potter…Goodbye

James's middle name isn't Harry, according to the lexicon. Then, there names would be very alike.

I also felt that you could have chosen a better song, but this one was o.k. There are several songs dealing with the concept of saying goodbye.

Now for the good things! I'm excited! O.k., I loved the references you made of the characters.

Dumbledore:No, the worst part…the worst bit was knowing that there would never be anymore lemon drops, or wisdom, or half-moon spectacles, or snowy beards…or redemption.
That was one of my favorite lines in the whole piece. Great job! The sentence was so..beautiful! I also loved this:

Harry had never even gotten the chance to thank him for…everything. (for keeping his father’s cloak, for saving his life, for holding his secrets, for teaching him magic, for always being there, and gazing into Harry’s eyes with love only a father could have for a son) None of that crazy old man’s mistakes mattered anymore.

Amazing! It almost made my cry, to tell you the truth. Making me cry is a hard thing to do..but you did it. You showed a great connection with your readers.

*sniff sniff*

Author's Response: WOW! thank you so much for taking the time to give such a long and well-thought review. I'll try to get in there and fix up some of the spelling/grammer errors you've pointed out. As for the song, in hindsigh I am very much aware of the seemingly poor choice in lyrics. But when this song first appered, I was simply smitten with it and it was the initial insperation for this piece (which is seeming a little wordy re-reading it now). I imagined this song as being played while this scene was acted out with dark undertones of coor to emphesis the erie, music-box elegance of this song. I really felt that this song had a truly deep and ringing feeling that lingers with the listener, much how I imagined Harry Potter would linger in the hearts and minds of every witch and wizard. And try not cry too hard, afterall, Harry does get to say hello those he loves, once he finally grows strong and wise enough to be able to say goodbye. Thank you so much for the compliments! I can't tell you enough how much it means to me that you complimented my 'connection' with my readers! I'm glad you appreciated my work...thanx agian! ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: bertiebott12
Date: 06/30/07 18:46
Chapter: ...Hello

Ok, I have a lot to say about this one. First of all, let me start off by saying it was good. There were several things I liked, and a few things I didn't. Which would you like to hear first? Well, I'll start with bad. There were a few spelling mistakes, mostly in names. A few example are here.


Albus Pervical Wolfric BrianDumbledore…Goodbye.

If you look in the books, it is spelled Wulfric.

Another one that isn't as much spelling as it is improper canon, is this.

Lily Evans Potter and James Harry Potter…Goodbye

James's middle name isn't Harry, according to the lexicon. Then, there names would be very alike.

I also felt that you could have chosen a better song, but this one was o.k. There are several songs dealing with the concept of saying goodbye.

Now for the good things! I'm excited! O.k., I loved the references you made of the characters.

Dumbledore:No, the worst part…the worst bit was knowing that there would never be anymore lemon drops, or wisdom, or half-moon spectacles, or snowy beards…or redemption.
That was one of my favorite lines in the whole piece. Great job! The sentence was so..beautiful! I also loved this:

Harry had never even gotten the chance to thank him for…everything. (for keeping his father’s cloak, for saving his life, for holding his secrets, for teaching him magic, for always being there, and gazing into Harry’s eyes with love only a father could have for a son) None of that crazy old man’s mistakes mattered anymore.

Amazing! It almost made my cry, to tell you the truth. Making me cry is a hard thing to do..but you did it. You showed a great connection with your readers.

*sniff sniff*

Reviewer: Muirn Beatha Dan
Date: 06/15/07 14:39
Chapter: ...Hello

As a new member I was just wandering about the site and I stumbled onto your story. I have to say, I don't think I've ever been more impressed with the writing of someone else my age. I was truly blow away by your amazingly effective use of imagery to describe even the tiniest details. I commend you on your crazy writing skills. Now i'm gunna go read more!

Author's Response: Wow, great!! I really appreciate the comments and welcome to the site! I hope you get some of your own work up soon so that I can review/comment! :) ~Venia Taint

Reviewer: StunnaBaby
Date: 06/12/07 17:58
Chapter: ...Hello

i thought it was cheesy personally.

Author's Response: Huh, yeah...looking back on this piece I feel like I kinda (alot) over did it...thanks for the comment ~Venia Taint

Reviewer: Jonny Homicide
Date: 06/12/07 12:05
Chapter: ...Hello

That was wanderful... I REALLY like it.

Author's Response: Hey, Thanks! 'wanderful'? ~Venia Taint

Reviewer: michieceramic
Date: 05/16/07 11:54
Chapter: ...Hello

sad...very sad...
~michie~

Author's Response: okay...thanks...it's supposed to be sad

Reviewer: superstitious
Date: 05/12/07 4:31
Chapter: ...Hello

so.. sad.

Author's Response: yes, it is...*passes some kleenex* thank you, and I'll dedicate a happy story to you and others who were so depressed by this...thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: asifloveisit
Date: 05/11/07 20:16
Chapter: ...Hello

So I just read this for my third time probably, and it's been a while since I last read it. It made me cry!
Seriosly, it's been in my favorites for a while now. It's so incredibly great! I don't know what else to say...you captured who i thought Harry would be in a situation like that, so well.
Excellent!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I luv to glowing reviews! So many people don't understand all of the hidden metaphors, but it looks like you do :) I'm so glad this is in your favs, and I hope to be writing more soon!

Reviewer: BringPadfootBack
Date: 04/08/07 19:14
Chapter: ...Hello

I didnt really understand it.

Author's Response: :( sorry...*snifles* sadness...If you could please maybe list some issues you have, I'll see if I can fix it!

Reviewer: leftside1234
Date: 02/03/07 9:10
Chapter: ...Hello

very creepy

Author's Response: Not exactly the impression I was going for, but, what ever leaves a lasting impression! Thanks for the review :) ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: chica91
Date: 02/02/07 22:08
Chapter: ...Hello

oooo mann! I love that song soo much and this story was jsut amazing, I could just like feel the emotion, this was one of the best stories I have ever read, and a good idea for a one-shot, not too over develpoped, jsut right. It was amazing.

Author's Response: aww, gracias, chica! I luv that song too, and I am THRILLED that it has been such a hit! ~The Tainted One

Reviewer: scotlandizdabest
Date: 01/24/07 14:10
Chapter: ...Hello

What a beautiful and saddeneing story! That was incredibly written! I swear my heart is in my throat right know after reading it! Excellent, Well Done xx

Author's Response: xx you too! *pats on back* but don't sad! *hands over kleenex* Your keyboard will become angered at your leaking all over it and do something evil, like shock or electricut... ~The Tianted One

Reviewer: ravenclawhero
Date: 01/20/07 19:42
Chapter: ...Hello

awwww

Author's Response: Thanks, agian! but, umm, I'm pretty sure double submitting is breaking a law of some sort, so NOTE TO ALL: you only need to click the 'Submit' button once. ~The Tainted One

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES