Reviews For The Valiant Never
Reviewer: VAhoneybee
Date: 09/27/07 17:10
Chapter: Prologue: Through the Love of a Child

Okay, I just have to say that I love this story--read the whole thing in one day! (Wish I could say it was without interruption) I admit that it took me a little while to get really into it, but once I did there was no stopping until I finished! The whole amnesiac Sirius impersonating Stubby was brilliant! Who else could have pulled of impersonating a rock and roll star? And then that was topped with the REAL Stubby who is really Regulus--wicked brilliant!! I love stories where I never see it coming! I can't wait to see how the whole thing comes together--you've got so many threads going that are obviously connected, but how exactly? How are they going to help Harry and Ron? How do Harry and Ron know what they know? Is Sirius about to be jealous of Regulus' attentions to Hermione, or does he remain clueless about her? How do Blue's talents fit into all this? What's up with David? I think that there is more to his involvement in this story. And let's not get into that Raj character! I'm not sure if it is my personal prejudice against OC or your superior writing style, but I'm with Hermione that I just can't quite seem to like him--he's just a little too charming.

I love the artistic license in your writing style. I have to stop and think sometimes--or maybe I'm simply sleep deprived! This story is definitely more British than most and I like that. (It's a personal joke, but I nearly died laughing when Chelsea said she was pants at research!) Now for my one and only criticism: when you would change scenes, just a little too often I was left wondering just a little too long whose perspective it was. I almost hate to mention it as it is the only one MINOR thing that prevented perfection. It's a good literary device, but I personally found it very slightly overused--much like some complain that Rowling overused the penseive to explain things. Please don't take this the wrong way as it is intended in the most well-meaning and constructive way. It is my only critique, and minor at that. Personally, I find that reviews which simply gush are not always the most beneficial.

That said, I'm gushing!! Wonderful Story!! Keep it up, and I will be furious if you get bored with it and don't finish it! Can't wait to see what's next!

Author's Response: Wow... thank you! First off, I'm glad you are enjoying it so much - especially enough so that you waded through the slower beginning and stayed with it even with interruptions! ;-) And I am grateful for your review having specific thoughts in it - those are most helpful in knowing what one enjoys and what aspects they find less appealing. * * * Along those same lines, I'm quite happy you added in your critique - really! As I don't read through large chunks of the story together (I'm more find info I've previously written, then perhaps read a chapter or two prior to get back into the 'flow'), I often won't catch something like that. Thank you for letting me know - I'll pay a bit more attention to that technique. There will be times when I need to do that for dramatic purposes, but there are also times I think it just winds up that way because I get so engrossed in what I'm describing, that I simply fail to specify the 'who'! I know the next chapter begins in such a way - and very intentionally, but I shall monitor that more closely in the future. Your words are quite helpful - thank you! * * * I will say this - you will soon learn a great deal more about Raj; who he is, what his plans are. I just hope they are both a surprise and yet credible at the same time. That and NOT anti-climatic! :-P * * * It's a hard writing style for some to read, so I thank you again for wading through it. No, I have no intention of abandoning it. In fact, I may actually finish the next chapter tonight. It takes a while for MNFF to approve it, though, so that could be another week. I post on FFN immediately, though, as it is not moderated (though sometimes I think it *should* be!) * * * Regarding the other considerations... um, some you may be onto something. I shall leave it at that. And for it being more British than most - that is a wonderful compliment! As I'm not British, I have to research a number of things, and don't feel I always quite get it. If you've ideas, please, let me know! * * * All right, must cease now so that I can work on Chapter 22, which is definitely nearly done. Cheers!

Reviewer: Illyra Borealis
Date: 09/23/07 17:02
Chapter: Chapter 21: Fragments Vague

So excited when I saw your story was updated! It took me an agonizing few days to get to reading it - relief! and what a chapter it is. Very clever, letting us know how the Order can hide anyone beyond what we can imagine. (Oooh foreshadowing!) Regulus is a great twist in the plot. Should be interesting seeing the evolving relationship between the brothers (& with Hermione). My interest is also piqued about who Blue really is and where he fits into the whole story. Fabulous descriptive way of writing, it's always very interesting & really paints a picture for me. Great story, looking forward to what happens next!

Author's Response: Wow - buildup such as that should be properly rewarded with an amazing chapter; I can't say I felt this one was that, but I do hope it was worth the wait! Thank you for such a wonderful compliment. ;-) * * * lol... well, I DID use Dumbledore's actual reference in HBP that JK never did use; I myself really thought it would lead to something, and personally felt that Regulus would have been a perfect 'something'! * * * Blue... he's important more as a catalyst. I don't have "big" plans for him, but I do have plans, and he will be quite helpful in their execution. * * * Thanks, again!

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 09/21/07 22:34
Chapter: Chapter 21: Fragments Vague

OH MY GOD!!!!! YOU DID NOT JUST SAY THAT REGULUS IS STUBBY BOARDMAN!!!! Now I'm going to have to go back and reread this whole darn story from the beginning. I don't have time for this. Why are you so darn clever? The least you can do is publish something like this, so I can have it in print.

good gravy, what is going on with that frickin raj mcgregor?!?!?! ahhhahahahahahahaaaaaa!!!!!

Author's Response: heheheheheheheheh..... *chuckles with slight maniacle humour* * * Um, yes, I did. I *reminded* you all (in the previous chapter) that Dumbledore had said the Order could hide anyone better than could possibly be imagined... :-P And thus... And yes, there are numerous references/clues throughout about the stalker 'Stubby' being Reg, all starting from the time Hermione saw him in the Bank. Trust me. * * * Clever, am I? Excellent! Means I've done my job. It shall get a bit more complicated before it becomes clear, but hopefully it will be a pleasing complication. * * * You can always copy to Word and print it out (after reformating!) ;-) * * * lol... You're about to learn a bit more about Raj this coming chapter. Already partially written. * * * Thanks for the wonderful review! Cheers!!!

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 09/21/07 21:07
Chapter: Chapter 21: Fragments Vague

........wooowwww...... I've been waiting for this new chapter with almost as much anticipation as the release of Deathly Hallows! And it did not disappoint! Neither of them! :) To say I love this story is..... * glances desperatly around my surroundings for a fitting word, and comes up with none * an understatement! I can so vividly see Hermione falling to sleep and ending up laying on Sirius! :) * grins evil grin * And then to find out that Sirius is 'petting' her face...... ooohhhhh!!!!!! I hope that the next chapter isn't as long a wait, but if it is as good as this one then the agony of the wait will be worth it! Wonderful chapter! Please update soon!

Author's Response: *blushing furiously* * * Wow; thank you. What a review (I love these kinds - specific in highpoints ;-)) * * * To be compared to JK's work in the sense of anticipation... well, that's quite the compliment, thus the blushing. I'm really happy you enjoyed the chapter. I figured with a wait like that, it might have disappointed for its brevity and succinctness. * * * I apologize for the wait on this chapter, but there were a number of RL things going on that hampered time and mindstate. But hopefully things are looking up, and I have already begun the next chapter. You may well enjoy at least part of it *hint hint* * * * Thanks, again!

Reviewer: For the Love of Fru
Date: 09/21/07 20:27
Chapter: Chapter 21: Fragments Vague

Things just keep getting crazier, it's great. I'm so glad you updated finally! After reading DH, I've become so disheartened I haven't even looked at the fanfic I was writing. I hope the next chapter comes soon!

Author's Response: Um, yes, a bit crazier, but just wait - the plot thickens and more revelations will really have you going, 'what???' ;-) ** Thank you much for the review - I'm glad you're still enjoying it. Yes, DH was disheartening, thus the reason I really wanted to get back into this story. Sometimes I prefer my own stuff! ;-P

Reviewer: Wicked Wench
Date: 09/21/07 17:17
Chapter: Chapter 21: Fragments Vague

Nice cliffie!

Author's Response: Thanks; the plot thickens, eh? ;-P

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 09/10/07 21:01
Chapter: Chapter 20: Broken Child Reborn

really really interesting idea of how voldy was semi-defeated. wow. kinda interesting when compared to the seventh book, and how neville faced voldy...

nuh uh! you did not just throw in regulus! crazy! I love this story...

Author's Response: lol... why, thank you. I'm glad you liked Neville's little heroic episode. Some of it is a bit scary when compared to the actual book. ** ** Hah! WHy, yes, I DID just throw in Reg... gotta love 'im. ;-) Cheers! **

Reviewer: saknicole
Date: 08/02/07 2:26
Chapter: Chapter 6: To Fear the Unknown

Im still not completly sure whats happening but I like it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it, in spite of its oddities. *** lol... if you have any specific questions, just drop me an e-mail and I'll explain anything you still find confusing. *** Cheers!

Reviewer: saknicole
Date: 08/02/07 2:04
Chapter: Chapter 1: Fringes of Reality

HUH? I like the consept which in its self confuses me but Im confused. I'm going to read it but I dont quite understand it yet.

Author's Response: lol... the story at first usually confuses people (which, to an extent, it is *supposed* to do). You'll be fine with it. As the chapters go on, they will make more sense. ;-)

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/20/07 12:55
Chapter: Chapter 20: Broken Child Reborn

OH MY MERLIN!!!!! AAAAHHHH!!!! I loved it! wow! Hermione's rant at Sirius! priceless!!! And then when it looked like Sirius was going to rescue her(oh how I was picturing such a scene!) BAM! You kicked Sirius in the gut(so to speak!) Regulus!? Oh my I loved it! I hope you enjoy Deathly Hallows, I know I will, but I'll be looking for your next update with held breath! Great Job!

Author's Response: hahahaha.... Thank you! Yes, Hermione was having a bit of a meltdown emotionally, and Sirius was sort of the cause, even though he did nothing actually to cause it, nor did he know quite why. ** ** Yep, Regulus. Sirius is now in a bit of a shock, too. And considering that it was dear younger brother who saved her and not himself... that may cause a bit of strife later on. Not sure, yet. ;-) Hope, however, you noticed the clues set down along the way (the nicked chin, the 'brother' reference at the cafe, the freaking out Reg/Stubby had at the cafe seeing Ted Tonks...). ** ** Glad you liked the chapter. I'm excited but saddened and nervous at reading DH. But even in the end, HP and his world will live on through the fans!!!! ** ** I'll get an update posted most likely within a few weeks. Happy reading!

Reviewer: For the Love of Fru
Date: 07/20/07 0:02
Chapter: Chapter 20: Broken Child Reborn

AH! That's crazy! I'm on the edge of my seat every time I finish one of your chapters. I can't wait for your next one, but of course Deathly Hallows takes precedent. By the way, I watched True Romance for the first time today. By far the creepiest I have ever seen Gary Oldman look. And sound. And act. Anyway, I hope your next update isn't too far away!

Author's Response: I've only seen part of TR, but yes, Gary does pull off an interesting and wicked character! Ah, such talent... ** ** Thank you; it was meant to catch you off your guard if you didn't catch the subtle hints throughout (the scar on his chin, his reaction at the cafe - which was NOT to Sirius, but to Ted - the 'brother' reference at the cafe...) lol... ** ** Probably sometime within a few weeks after DH is released (tomorrow!!!), I'll get the next chapter up. Until then, happy reading!

Reviewer: For the Love of Fru
Date: 07/14/07 1:30
Chapter: Chapter 19: A Tale of Two

All this intrigue is killing me! Ah well, I'll just be waiting here impatiently for the next chapter and of course, Gary Oldman reference.

Author's Response: *chuckles* Yes; hoping to get that next chapter in before the queue closes. Nothing pops into my head at the moment for a GO reference, but that could well change before I finish Chp. 20. You did catch the reference way back in Chp 1 and later on of "The Rose and Guild" pub, right? If not, send me a message and I'll tell you.** ** Thanks for the review! Cheers! - kat

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/13/07 20:47
Chapter: Chapter 19: A Tale of Two

....Fingers chewed to the bone... AAAHHHHH!!!! I hate/love cliffies!!!! Again another wonderful chapter! I love how you write Hermione's longing over Sirius. I hope he will come to love her too! Maybe he needs to save her to help him along those lines? Forgive me I'm a hopeless romantic! I have added this story to my favorites. I can't say enough good things about this fic! Please update asap! I'll be waiting!

Author's Response: hahahahah!!! Well.... glad you are at least interested still, eh? ;-P ** ** Just wait until the next chapter. I am trying DESPERATELY to get it done and up before they close the queue for DH. The ending of that chatper is definitely one to make you go, 'what?!' if you haven't been paying VERY close attention to clues. If you have been, then you will already be waiting for the 'revelation'. ** ** After that, I'm reading DH, then will probably take a bit of time before updating again. Want to do the story justice. ** ** Thank you so much for the very inspiring reviews! They are quite appreciated. (Besides; I"m a hopeless romantic, too, so there's hope for Sirius!)

Reviewer: Wicked Wench
Date: 07/13/07 16:37
Chapter: Chapter 19: A Tale of Two

Looking forward to your next post!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/12/07 21:38
Chapter: Chapter 17: Truth Be Thy Name

AHHHH!!!! I've just got to say it again I love this story! I love how you move from one situation to another! And now I know what happened to Remus! This is the most well written story I've read on Mugglenet, bar none! Great Job!

Author's Response: Oh, my... thank you! What beautiful compliments! Much appreciation - I love reviews, and yours have been so wonderful. Thanks again. Cheers!

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/12/07 20:53
Chapter: Chapter 16: Crisis by Identity

Oh How I LOVE/HATE these cliffhangers! I just can't stop reading this fic! What a great job you've done writing it! One question though, what happened to Remus?

Author's Response: lol... yes, well, I'm apparently famous now for those cliffhangers. I'm glad you are enjoying my little tale. *** Ah, Remus... you'll soon learn. ;-)

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/12/07 14:29
Chapter: Chapter 12: Tangents Unrelated

Oh Wow! I love your writing! A bit confusing at times but wonderfully written! and your attention to detail.... Just incredible. Keep up the good work and I'll keep reading for sure!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. It's always lovely to hear such compliments. Yes, it is a bit confusing at times, but that is what helps to keep you on your toes and attentive to the details... especially those that come into play later. ;-) ** ** Hope to get chapter 20 up before DH is released, but that will depend on the queue. After that, it's a bit of time off to read DH and then recuperate after its finality. Then it's back to the story. ;-) ** ** Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: For the Love of Fru
Date: 07/07/07 15:31
Chapter: Chapter 18: Conjecture

Oh great, a giant cliffhanger. I hope you post the next chapter soon! If you need any help or feedback or anything I'd be glad to lend a hand, even if it's just to throw in another Gary reference. Don't leave me hanging for too long!

Author's Response: lol... yes, another cliffhanger. Sadly, I'm having a few issues with this current chapter, but hopefully plan to have it up soon. ** ** Thank you; I may take you up on it sometime. I love to put Gary references in - love him dearly. ;-) ** ** LOVE feedback - thank you!

Reviewer: For the Love of Fru
Date: 07/07/07 1:46
Chapter: Chapter 15: Inconsistent Variables

haha... Drexil Zorg... as if the Sid Vicious reference wasn't enough.

I love your story! The plot's quite involved, and that's the way I like it. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm thrilled you caught that, really. So few people do. In fact, I don't think anyone else caught the Drexil Zorg reference, though quite a few did with Sid Vicious. ;-) ** ** Oh, yes, it's quite involved. Am fighting a bit with the current chapter due to time constraints, but it's getting there. Hope you continue to enjoy the story. ** ** Thank you so much for the review!

Reviewer: JulietMalfoy
Date: 07/05/07 23:20
Chapter: Chapter 18: Conjecture

Love this chapter! This is one of my very favorite stories. I am not familiar with the Arthur legends, however the style of the writing and integration of small details from the HP books make for a very intriging read. Keep up the good work! Thanks!

Author's Response: *grins* Thank you! On both accounts (chapter and entire story). The Arthur legend is worth reading up on a bit, if only for the interesting ties with HP. There were parts I was originally going to use that increased dramatically as, in the research, even MORE came up that were amazingly close with HP stuff (Lion and Serpent in Cheitan's work). ** ** Thanks, again!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES