Reviews For The Valiant Never
Reviewer: chrisstars1
Date: 11/01/10 11:41
Chapter: Prologue: Through the Love of a Child

confusing!!!! I know you warned us but still? Was sirius trapped as a dog?

Reviewer: Darkness Enshrouds
Date: 09/28/10 16:29
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

I've had this story in my favorites for a while now, but I've never had the chance to finally sit down and read more than the first few chapters.

Last night, I sat down and read the whole thing through in one go. I literally couldn't put it down.

Your writing is simply superb--the plot was so addicting, even from the very first chapter. I adore Hermione/Sirius fics, and at the beginning of every chapter I couldn't help but hope for a little, *ahem*, "interaction" :P.

And I love the way you play with words, like a work of art. It takes a plotline that's already a 10 and makes it a 20. Amazing. Thank you so much for this lovely story. :D

Reviewer: southern_pride
Date: 06/02/09 1:14
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

Hi,
I have just now finished reading your story. It was bloody briliant! I was wondering how you would tie everything together, and I did not expect that very last part at all. I started reading this a while a go but had to drop it for a few weeks because of final exams. I started up on chapter twenty today and couldn't make myself put it down! You are an amazing author, and I love your writing style! Thanks for a look into another realm of the characters that we all know and love! I can't wait to see more from you.

All the best,
Emmlan

Author's Response: Thank you!!! :~) It's wonderful to hear - well, read - such lovely reviews; definitely good for the writer's ego. lol I'm happy you found time and motivation to come back to the story, and that it hopefully met your expectations. If you're interested in Regulus' story, my current project The Voice of All the Gods is posted up through Chapter 9. Thanks again for such an encouraging and personal review. You made my day. :D Cheers! kat

Reviewer: southern_pride
Date: 04/21/09 22:02
Chapter: Prologue: Through the Love of a Child

This sounds promising. I'm supprised I'd not found your story earlier!

S_P

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope it lives up to your expectations; sometimes it turns out to be rather different than some anticipate. Here's to hoping it's the story you've been searching for, eh? *grins*

Reviewer: KristiannaMalfoy
Date: 06/10/08 19:10
Chapter: Chapter 2: Conversations Left Unsaid

Raj? Wow, that's a cool name. And Raj MacGregor is really, REALLY cool. Yet another brilliant chapter! 10/10 -Kristianna

Author's Response: *grins* Raj you'll see much more of. Glad you like the name; it just sort of came to me. The chapters will get longer from here on out, so I hope you're ready with some huge chunks of time. ;-)

Reviewer: KristiannaMalfoy
Date: 06/10/08 18:59
Chapter: Chapter 1: Fringes of Reality

Oooooh, that's fantastic, a 10/10. I love the language you use, it really ornaments words that would normally be boring. Good job! -Kristianna

Author's Response: Thank you! Flowery in some aspects, but I think that sometimes nowadays we just don't use the resources of the English language like we could. Too often we fall back on quick and easy, and forget the thousands of other words or combinations out there that can turn a boring, raggedly old statement into a painted scene.

Hope you still find the rest of the story as enjoyable. Thanks, again!

Reviewer: KristiannaMalfoy
Date: 06/10/08 18:26
Chapter: Prologue: Through the Love of a Child

That's a confusing beginning, but I really like it. Poor Donovan! And poor Captain! It's a great start, I love your style. -Kristianna

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, it is meant to be confusing, as it will clarify itself over a period of time. Well, at SOME point it will all be clear. ;-)

It's a heavier style than most people are used to (unless you read a lot of older English or European literature), but I'm very glad you like it; it's an acquired taste.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story - it's a long one! *grins*

Reviewer: DCP
Date: 05/28/08 19:52
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

No Fair........ I want more (grinz) really this has been an awesome and well written story

Author's Response: lol... thank you. One of the greatest compliments is when readers want more, even when there isn't any. ;-)

I'm now working on the next story, and have just completed the first chapter (short though it may be). If you're interested, you're welcome to check it out once it's approved. It's of course about the 'other brother'... *grins*

Thanks, again for following the story and the lovely review. Cheers!

Reviewer: buffy_lover
Date: 05/24/08 22:30
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

I must say, I have followed this story since the beginning and have not been disappointed. You're a very talented writer, and I hope you continue writing for a long time. This story was amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you! On all counts, that is. For following continuously, for the compliments, for reviewing. Yes, I intend to keep writing (I write original material as well, but am currently not posting it, as I hope to procur an agent for such), and have more than halfway finished the first chapter to the companion story 'The Voice of All the Gods' - Reg and Tia's story.

Thanks, again. Cheers!

Reviewer: Changeling
Date: 05/24/08 15:09
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

Good job! You've written an engaging story with plenty of action and plot twists. I commend you on your dedication to the literary craft and also on your bravery for posting online; I'm still trying to get up the courage to submit my writing.

I've never posted a review before; you'll be my first.

I followed this story from the beginning and, while I didn't always like it, I always kept coming back for more. Your style of writing is a little too abstract for my tastes (I lean more toward concise prose - think Hemingway or Lee Child), but I loved the way you developed your characters. You made them leap out of the paragraphs and live and breathe in my imagination, just like J.K. -- only better because you allowed two of my favorite characters live.

I was a tad disappointed when Hermione chose Sirius (even though I knew that was the ship), because you had made Regulus so sympathetic -- I actually started rooting for him as the underdog. I'm glad you're giving Regulus his own story and I look forward to reading it soon.

Thanks for feeding my need for more stories from the world of Harry Potter. I appreciate it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you have enjoyed it, in spite of its difficulty of style. Trust me; I'm well aware the style used in this particular piece can be of a hard pressed nature to read. It's taxing to write! *grins* You'll be pleased, then, to know that for the next story, it will not be quite so abstract. A reilef to myself, as well!

lol... yes, actually, a number of people have felt the same way. Even myself, really, as Regulus does grow on one. But his own story will find him happiness (eventually), so in the end, both brothers can live (against JK's sadistic pen plot), and live happily.

Your first review? I am indeed honored. I know what it can be like to take a step into the unknown, even something as seemingly simple as leaving a review. For that, thank you! Your comments are honest and in-depth, and can greatly help a writer either by literary effort, or the simple act of encouragement. You are most welcome for the story (the next will not be so grand, but hopefully enjoyable nonetheless), and I look forward to any further comments you may have.

Thanks, again! Cheers1

Reviewer: tokiolover123
Date: 05/23/08 22:22
Chapter: Prologue: Through the Love of a Child

wow that was wonderful i didnt realy like the idea of sirus and hermione but after your story i liked the pair now well thank for writting a awesome story

Author's Response: Thank you! That is a high compliment, indeed. I'm glad you both enjoyed the story and now have an appreciation for the pairing as well. Thank you for the lovely review. Cheers!

Reviewer: Wicked Wench
Date: 05/23/08 3:31
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

I have really enjoyed this story quite a bit.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. And thank you for sticking with it to the very long awaited ending. Your thoughts and opinions have been most lovely to read. Cheers :-)

Reviewer: aub_1344
Date: 05/23/08 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 3: Misconceptions & Other Half-Truths

Usually I don't review a story until I'm caught up with the updates, but seeing as I have 30+ chapters to go, I thought I'd tell you how much I love it so far. I recently took a class on Arthurian legend and I love how you've incorporated it into the story. Really spectacular interpretation and I can't wait to read more. It doesn't bother me at all that some things don't make any sense right now because I have supreme confidence that they will eventually. I also really appreciate the fact that you didn't dismiss Hermione's and Ron's relationship throughout the books, and instead gave a reason for it's ending. After all, how many teenage romances last? You're writing style is so interesting and I can't wait to read more.
As a side note, I'd like to thank you for responding to those who review your story when you obviously get so many. When you want to let an author know how much you appreciate their writing it's so much more encouraging to know that they do the same. Thanks for that!

Author's Response: lol... um, yes, you've a very long way to the end ;-) I love thought-out reviews, ones that include a little something about what you do/do not like, perhaps what makes sense or questions you may have. This is quite lovely, thank you! * * * I'm very happy you are enjoying it thus far, and only on the fourth 'chapter,' too. I love the Authurian legends, and there is so much that is interpreted that it leaves it open for further expansion and different combinations of the many options of ''facts'' and theories. You'll see more of it as time goes on. * * * hahaha... I couldn't very well ignore what JK has put our faces through subtle hints along the way, but I had to change Hermione's mind for her, I'll say that! But yes, it had to make sense, had to be credible, had to be a natural transition as with any broken relationship. You're right; most of those teenage romances don't last, and that's sort of what I was trying for here, how she's outgrown their relationship. * * * I have to laugh - my writing style turns some people off, as it can be a bit difficult to follow at times, but this story begged for it that way, and just wouldn't allow itself to be written differently. My next story is not quite so succinct and stingy with the pronouns! ;-P * * * Oh, I completely believe in responding to reviews - if someone has taken the time to comment on your story, you should be courteous enough to reply. Besides, I LOVE 'conversing' with some of the reviewers, as they bring up such relevant and interesting points.

* * * Thanks, again for your wonderful review. I hope you continue to enjoy the story, and meets any expectations you have regarding the legends.

Cheers!

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 05/23/08 0:25
Chapter: Epilogue: Of What Dreams May Come

Quick update, indeed. nice.

OOHHHHH!!!! OH! it was david's boy! oh! time to reread the first chapter...done. wow. wow. so I'm guessing donovan is going to be one powerful kid later on. what caused him to dream about sirius in the first place, I wonder?

thank you! what a wonderful story! I can't wait for the new one about regulus and tia. *big smiles with gold star*

Author's Response: lol... yes, David's nephew. He missed his dog so much (who just happened to look like Sirius in animagus form), that he dreamt about him... but in a magical sort of way. Love is a powerful, ancient magic, remember. He loved and missed Captain, and in the realm of magic, dreamt of saving him - but it was Sirius. How and why, we may never know *grins*. * * * Most likely, yes, Donovan will be an exceptional talent with healing, at least. Recall, he'd done the same thing to the broken stalks in the garden (it was he and not some random wizard trailing Hermione that day of the concert). * * * Thank you so much for such loyalty and lovely reviews! I'm currently working on Chapter 1 of VAG, and hope to post it sometime soon. It will not be quite as long as TVN, nor the writing quite as difficult. And it will primarily be romance/drama, with little to no mystery/suspense/action/adventure. It is being written as a gift to a friend, and that is what she wanted (just romance/drama). Hope you will enjoy it! (For notification purposes, you may need to mark me as a favorite author, I think. I'm a bit unclear on MNN's procedure on that.)

Reviewer: Wicked Wench
Date: 05/22/08 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 34: Unnatural Expectations

Wow!

Author's Response: lol... thank you! ;-)

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 05/21/08 21:31
Chapter: Chapter 34: Unnatural Expectations

how do I say this without sounding like a sex-crazed, plot-ignoring, Gossip-Girl-reading fan from smut alley? I don't know.

FINALLY!!!!!!!

okay, now that's out of my system. god I love this story. I know I've said that already.

you know, it's funny--I haven't found much sirius/hermione besides this story, and what I have found is not really worth reading. I wonder why that is. I wouldn't mind reading more. that said, I think some ships, such as hermione/snape, are so overdone there's a lot coming out that isn't really original anymore. so. I thank you for this well-plotted, well-conceived, and well-excecuted story.

honestly, if there's only one chapter left...I guess they'll have to go back home. and tell everyone? and will you explain who that boy at the beginning was? there was a boy at the beginning, right? god, I guess I'll have to go back and reread this for the THIRD time when you're done....

you are fabulous. :) there will be cake. somehow.

Author's Response: HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! I have to laugh at that. Yes, that seems to be the sentiment of everyone, really. FINALLY. ;-) Of course, I say that as well, as I finished the last chapter a couple days ago, and have been waiting for this one to be approved before I could submit the last. The latter, of course, shall be done the moment I finish with this response. Let us hope for a quick approval, eh? And I do believe it does answer all your questions, really. If anything was left out, please let me know. I have it posted elsewhere, and the general concensus tends to be that it does. I just hope it also meets your expectations. * * * Thank you for such a wonderful review, too! I do see many Hermione/Snape stories, and on occasion see a really well done, original one for them. I could point you in a few directions, there. * * * Cake sounds lovely, thank you. *grins*

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 05/21/08 21:01
Chapter: Chapter 33: But Once

Aiyaaahh! I didn't have time to read this whole chapter last time...only made it to the author's note, really...silly me. and now! my god! noooo...
but at least I understand the title now. tho that makes it all very confusing--was sirius black ever really dead to begin with? or is he a coward then? or is this all some metaphor I have yet to figure out? omg omg omg I am SO glad the next chapter has already been posted.

Author's Response: Well... I've never really thought he was dead, as he was 'behind the Veil,' regardless of what JK says on that. But that's just me. The reference, however, is that he 'was' dead, and because of that - her reasoning being a literary reference and out of pure fear of losing him - he could not die on her. Sirius was valiant, and 'the valiant never taste of death but once.' Conveluted with regard to reality, but when one is afraid.... * * * Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Dissendio
Date: 05/05/08 15:55
Chapter: Chapter 2: Conversations Left Unsaid

Uh... to be honest your story hasn't really got me hanging on the edge. I feel that it is not descriptive enough. But I did like Hermione's dream. That was very well written. And why on earth is everyone talking like they come from the 16th century? This is set in the 1990s not the Tudor era. Some of the time I didn't have a clue what these people were on about. Hermione shouldn't have questioned this Raj MacGregor's name. Apart from it being quite rude, it isn't unusual for people who have Scottish names to not have a Scottish accent. And where on earth is Calcutta? At one point you say that Hermione '...wasn’t expecting his answer a’tall' I think that you meant "She wasn't expecting his answer AT ALL" they are two words. The use of an apostrophe means that something is missing eg. ''wasn't'' means "was not" the letter that is missing is the "o".

Author's Response: I’m sorry that you are not enjoying the story thus far. Like all stories, it is not for everyone. Not descriptive enough? Apparently you have not yet looked at the following chapters, whereas I have been accused of sometimes becoming ‘overly’ descriptive. But thank you regarding the dream; that is one of the few places I was allowed within the story to use more flowery prose.* * * rnrnNot everyone is speaking as though they are from the Sixteenth Century – only Raj, and for plot-devised reasons. As far as being confusing, in these first few chapters that is quite intentional. * * * rnrnHermione’s troubled state of mind didn’t allow much for any surprises, and though it is not at all surprising to find someone of Scottish decent without a Scots accent, it can be a bit surprising within the first few moments of meeting a man of Raj’s coloring to learn his immediate Scottish heritage. Under normal circumstances, it might not have fazed her, but it was not normal emotional / mental circumstances in this case. * * * rnrnCalcutta (later officially renamed ‘Kolkata’ in 2001) is the capital city of the state of West Bengal, India. It was the former capital of British India until the British moved the capital in 1912 to Delhi.* * *rnrn“a’tall” is not a contraction in the typical grammatical sense; it is a dialect reference – often used – to denote the pronunciation. I’m quite familiar with how grammatical contractions work; this did not fall into that category. * * * rnrnThank you, however, for taking the time to review. Many people, if they do not like something, do not do so and simply stop reading. It is good to see you cared enough to at least tell me what you did not like. Thank you.rn

Reviewer: FaithintheFutur
Date: 05/03/08 0:03
Chapter: Chapter 33: But Once

This is a really great story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ;-)

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 05/02/08 23:48
Chapter: Chapter 33: But Once

just fyi, I've read the book The Mists of Avalon, and i didn't like it. but I have found that it is a very polarizing book--you either love it or you hate it. I think you have to be both prepared for the subject material (I wasn't) and prepared for the fact that it's about 800 pages long and covers approximately 100 years (I wasn't prepared for that either--the copy i had was printed on dictionary paper and looked like it was about 400 pages long). you feel old by the time you're done reading it.

but if you like that sort of thing...I am told it is some of the best. personally, I like the king arthur stuff written for the younger set better. perhaps I'm just a wuss.

anyway.

Author's Response: lol... thanks. Don't know if I'll ever get to it or not, but it had been pointed out to me about my vivid imagery and how it reminded a reader of the book, so I wanted to note that a certain specific scene in the film was what had encouraged me. Thanks!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Crofter and The Snake by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
During the perilous school year of 1997-1998, when Muggleborns are on the run...
Lily and Alice by Wenlock 3rd-5th Years
Alice defied the odds when she became the first woman Auror in the 20th century.Lily...
Time, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma by teh tarik 3rd-5th Years
On the very last day of his life, Sirius Black was bored. Bored, bored, bored.
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES