Reviewer: GryffindorGoddess
Date: 11/15/08 22:08
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

Thank you!

Reviewer: witch6
Date: 08/22/08 15:08
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

You have given a very interesting account of how the Chamber of Secrets was founded. Although it is accurate according to cannon, I think it is still interesting. All the four founders seemed very much n character. Gryffindor was brave, impatient, and impulsive. Ravenclaw was intelligent, wise and didn't hurry into decisions. Helga was motherly, helpful and forgiving. Even though Salzar seemed to be in character, I would have liked to see more emphasis on him and his thoughts. Your main focus was understandably on Godric, but an example of what you called Salzar's 'ambition' would have been good to see.

What bothered me in your story is some of the expressions and phrases you used. Expressions like ‘Bollocks’ and ‘Bloody hell’ sound completely out of place. I know you can’t possibly use the language used at that time, but such blatant use of Americanisms can be avoided.

All in all I would say your story is very interesting and a good read. Your descriptions and narrations are good and I will look forward to reading more stories of yours.

:)

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 02/03/07 15:46
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

I really liked how although Godric had that dream and although there was evidence of something foul afoot, the other Founders were reluctant to change their opinion of Slytherin, and instead gave him the same credit as themselves.

I think that Gryffindor was quite impulsive like the members of the House to follow him. I think Helga and Rowena were in character as well.

I just can't see Slytherin so passively leaving the school. It seems to me that he would fight to stay in a school that he worked so hard on.

Also, it wasn't the Chamber that drove the Founders apart according to canon. It was the fact that Slytherin only wanted purebloods to be students at Hogwarts. ;)

So the story isn't quite canonically accurate. You may want to put an AU warning on it. :)

Good luck in the challenge!

Kumy

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the compliments and advice, Kumy.I probably will put that warning on there for other readers to be aware of. I really appreciate you reading my story and taking the time to leave a review!

~GG

Reviewer: kxlayton
Date: 01/19/07 20:55
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

This is good! I usually don't like founder fanfics but of course your the exception. I suppose its your beautiful imagination and graceful style of writing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I usually don't writer founder fics either because it's so hard to characterize them, but as this was a challenge and for some reason this plot just popped into my head, I had to write it. I really appreciate the compliments about my writing. As always, you're such a great reviewer! ~GG

Reviewer: Dee Dee
Date: 01/18/07 12:20
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

wow! how do you do it? i mean:

1) how do you have time to update your other stories aswell as write seperate ones AND attend school or college or wherever it is you go (sorry if that sounded like im not bothered or something lol)???

2) how do you make the readers of your stories fell like they're actually there!?!

seriously you could even give jk a run for her money!! in fact sometimes i think you might be her in disguise!! lol

I loved how you described the intesity of the 'dream' and the dangers that come with it! if that makes the slightest bit of sense to you!

'Intermittent snowflakes glided down like fallen angels, reluctant to hit the ground but unable to prevent it.' - LOVED this line!!!!! what in the world makes you think of sentences like this? (i probably sound like a bimbo now right? and you're thinking 'it's just a simple sentence' lol)

Anyway, loved the story, one of the only founders ones i've actually enjoyed so good work :D

Dee Dee xx

Author's Response: Well, Dee Dee...

1) Some of these extra little one-shots I write were ones I had written a while ago and just adapted, though the rest are recent originals, so that saves *a little* time. (Lol, and don't worry about offending me ;). As far as juggling college and writing, well..... There are times when I definitely should be studying or working on projects and I just choose (wrongly) to play with stories instead. Shame on me. Though sometimes I am a good student and finish my work ahead of time, so that then on weekends I can stay in bed and write as much as I want. :)

2)Let's see, I guess it just takes practice and a little thought. I'm sure you've read my earlier stories and noticed they're not quite as great as the newer stuff, and that just comes from doing it a lot and developing my skills. As a writer I like to think about what readers would enjoy or how I would rmake something fun to read, and go from there. :)

But seriously, you must stop flattering me by comparing me to Jo like that, lol. I'm deeply flattered and totally appreciate it!

As for your comments on the story.... Yes, your statement about the dream did make sense, and I'm glad you feel that way because that's exactly what I intended. And that sentence is TOTALLY my favorite part in the whole story! You and I must think very similarly, dear friend. You don't sound like a bimbo, either---that sentence is loaded with symbolism and emotional meaning, and though it wasn't very hard for me to come up with, it's definitely far from a simple sentence. It's probably one of my favorite sentences I've ever written....ever.

Thanks so much for your review! It honestly couldn't have been more perfect or meaningful. :) You're a rockstar.

Reviewer: TheMadMugggle
Date: 01/15/07 19:05
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

This is just one of those fics that make me feel like writing a founders era fiction myself. It was inspired. I just have one little nit to pick and I may be wrong.
I think that Salazar was a teacher at the school for a little while. At least that's the impression I got CoS and Professor Binn's lecture.

Author's Response: Hey thanks for the review. You know, it's been such an awfully long time since I read CoS (shame on me) that I totally didn't remember anything like that. You have some amazing memory for details! Thanks for letting me know about that--I'll have to go check it out! :D ~GG

Reviewer: stareyed_in_LA
Date: 01/15/07 12:28
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

I think this is a great piece of writting. I loved how you described the dream and the intense mood that was set in in the later parts.

Author's Response: Thank you! That's really what I was going for since the Chamber of Secrets and the plotline that goes with is really frightening and intense, so I wanted to show that foreshadowing. I really appreciate the review!! ~GG

Reviewer: hsmfanatic
Date: 01/15/07 11:08
Chapter: Godric Gryffindor and the Chamber of Secrets

Wow, that was amazing!!! I could really feel the intensity of emotions and danger. This is the first fic I've read that really developed the founders' characters in an interesting and believable way. infinity/10

Author's Response: Thanks! I've never written one about the founders before so it was really fun for me to explore their personalities. That's quite a marvelous rating you gave, hehe. I appreciate it! ~GG

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES