Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 8:43
Chapter: Birthday Boy

Nice birthday but according to the Lexicon it is Jan 9 not the 7th.

Good contrast between Sev being jealous of his next door neighbors party, the humor thinking that his mother might sign the next letter with love, Sev's annoyance at babies and their gushing parents in general, Eris present of the Holocaust cloak. Yes it's a birthday present given with love, but when one thinks why he would need it. Right now Sev is surrounded with innocence, Eris' love, his master's trust, an innocent babe just born yet we know something bad is eventually going to come.

Author's Response: It reads ninth of January now. Thanks! The 'bad' eventually to come is dealt with in the one shot following the story, Into the Dark although it's foreshadowed here. You'll get to see how he 'earns' his right to join the inner circle. In this story, he and Eris commit to facing what lies ahead together.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 8:15
Chapter: Father Christmas

This chapter and the last were excellant. Severus isn't exactly a giving guy but he managed to give his mother exactly what she needed for Christmas.

What few insights you gave us of Tobias shows him to be a man who feels entitled to more and is bitter when he doesn't recieve it. I suppose it shows the folly of depending on others to make us happy when it is something that is within that determines our attitude.

The irony of this is that Severus does depend on Eris for his happiness. But is his dependance on Eris the same as Tobias' dependance on Eileen. Right now Sev seems to accept that Eris loves him for who he is but will he expect her family money at some point in the future.

Another parallel. In the last story Eris did decieve Sev by not telling him she was an Animagus and he felt she was playing with his emotions. Like wise Tobias was decieved by Eileen actually tampering with his emotions.

What might have been missing in this chapter would be that fact that Tobias and Severus should have had at least one good moment in spite of Tobias' abusiveness. But this is a minor thing.

Also I am impressed that Eilleen figured out who Epis is. Aren't moms clever or what? But is making her secret keeper such a good idea? Sev knew that if Voldemort suspected him of hiding Eris and that a Fidelus charm was used, that his mother would be a natural secret keeper. Eileen may be willing to die for her son, but would she be strong enough to resist Voldemort's mind penetration? So much for nit picking. On to the next chapter

Author's Response: You'll see by the end that Severus expects to get nothing from Eris but her companionship and love. She's totally cut off from her family...and very likely cut from the will, too!

I thought the grudging acceptance of a 'last meal' was their good moment. :D

Severus is so profficient at Occlumency that Voldemort would never suspect that he's other than a good and faithful servant. Mouldy-shorts isn't infallible, heh.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 7:37
Chapter: Home for the Holidays

Good subtle humor although it took a while to figure out the swearing on your parents grave. My mind was out to lunch when I first read it but when I read it the second time I got it. ... not enough snow to make Spinners End festive... the comparison of the house to a sullen child ... a bunch of Muggles buy gifts they can't afford for people who don't deserve them.

I like also when Eileen told Severus to use the bathroom and take a mint. Typical mom stuff that is difficult to out grow. There are nice moments when Severus can deliberately holds back from yelling at his mother

The story shows that when a person recieves loves for who he is he is more capable of giving it to others.

One thing that is incomplete. Mrs Nesmith asks why Tobias hates the holidays. She doesn't get an answer. It's not certain that she is still in the same room when Eileen says she was married on Christmas.

Author's Response: Yay for you having an eye for humour, subtle and unsubtle, lol. Mrs. Nesmith is a nosy neighbour. She wouldn't be told the truth. That was something for Severus to discover. :) Snape is very capable of love...he just doesn't express it like a bold Gryffindor. Sometimes, holding back your feelings in consideration for someone else's is a show of love.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 6:30
Chapter: Fenrir vs. Loki

Fenrir's character is nicely done. One can see at this point in his life or earlier his tenderness and his hurt. Not easy to do for a character who is known for killing children.

Author's Response: I thought he was only known for biting them! I thought his idea was to target children so they would grow up hating wizards and want to overthrow the Ministry. Twisted as that is, I can see a glimpse of humanity there.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 6:00
Chapter: The Accidental Tourist

The master does insist that Severus mingle with the Muggles doesn't he?

Author's Response: Probably thinks Snape despises what he doesn't know, so let him get some exposure to Muggles...didn't work, did it? :D

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/15/07 5:45
Chapter: The Slytherin in the Dell

Is there a signifigance to the dream sequence? As usual good sense of place.

Author's Response: The only signifigance is a subconscious one, that Severus feels a kinship with the defiant Welsh, and is determined to protect his 'wife' from the English, whether her family or his friend. :)

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/14/07 14:40
Chapter: Popping Bubbles

Clever beginning, every Death Eater looking for Eris. Does make me wonder about Tom Wilkes.

Author's Response: Hey, you're reading! I'm officially thrilled! I think Tom can't see the forest for the trees, or doesn't have the emotional depth himself to understand how Eris could give up her supposedly priveledged life for Severus.

Reviewer: _heavensent_
Date: 03/03/07 10:19
Chapter: A Wedding and a Funeral

Oh yay! I've been waiting for this. I liked how you ended it, very appropriate for the story. I'm sad that it's over though. This was a very interesting read... but now I guess I have your one-shot to look forward to right? Keep up the incredible work ^__^

Author's Response: Thank you! Severus is an interesting character, to say the least, complex and snarky, which women with good taste find attractive, lol. I think you'll really like the one shot- it takes place at Christmas. (which brings to mind a weird MasterCard commercial...Slytherin Alumni scarf, 15 Galleons, Boomslang skin, 10 Galleons....Dark Mark, priceless.) Sad how excited he must have been to receive it, and how all those ambitious dreams ended so badly. Sigh.

Reviewer: VeniaTaint
Date: 02/23/07 13:09
Chapter: Dealing with Dragons

YAY! Rather good, and I would like more with the dragons, with them showing deeper philosophy and notion than Severus origionally saw...Mordred is reat, I quite like him so keep developing!
~The Tainted One

Author's Response: Maybe I should write a Charlie one shot from a dragon's point of view, lol. I'm very fond of Mordred, but next chapter will find Snape in London with "a real job" and realising it does not exceed expectations! :)

Reviewer: _heavensent_
Date: 02/23/07 8:45
Chapter: Dealing with Dragons

I love the LOTR reference and everything about this story! You're a very talented writer and I'm curious to see how you're gonna end this. Update soon :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Can't you 'see' Severus reading The Hobbit and hoping Smaug will eat a few dwarves before the end? Or thinking the Dark Lord would love to have Orcs and Wargs on his side? :D

Reviewer: Athene713
Date: 02/22/07 14:30
Chapter: Dealing with Dragons

I loved The Hobbit reference. LOTR rox my purple pink fuzzy socks. Great job! I love this story so much, Severus's character is so great. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! If they don't read LOTR in Muggle Studies, they darn well should! :D Next chapter is a little angsty, since it's the last one, but I think you'll like the ending, and there is a one shot to follow! :)

Reviewer: ElspethBates
Date: 02/22/07 11:42
Chapter: Bad Moon on the Rise

You know, it shows a real talent to be able to write a character that the reader truly loathes.... an you certainly hit that mark with Bellatrix!

As always... loved this chapter... now... on with the next!

Author's Response: Bellatrix and that baby-voice taunting of hers makes a non-violent type like me want to go Buffy and kick the crap out of her in Muggle duelling! LOL Thank you for the compliment. :)

Reviewer: _heavensent_
Date: 02/18/07 22:16
Chapter: Bad Moon on the Rise

Brilliant... as usual. I'm sad to hear that there'll onlly be 2 chapters left. Well... you've done an amazing job with this story...keep up the great work! Oh... by the way... are Severus and Eris married? Cuz I could never really tell :P

Author's Response: Thank you for being sad its ending. That's a great compliment! No, they're not married, except in the eyes of God. :) Too risky!

Reviewer: Leukhendian
Date: 02/13/07 11:37
Chapter: Bad Moon on the Rise

Oh no... Just hearing you mention Prince of Egypt put the song in MY brain! Damn you. Lol, anyways, loved the chapter. Can't believe this is almost over... :(

Author's Response: Thank you, and when it's over, at least there's a one shot! ^_^

Reviewer: Leukhendian
Date: 02/13/07 11:35
Chapter: Bad Moon on the Rise

Oh no... just hearing you mention the Prince of Egypt song put it in MY brain! Damn you. Lol, anyways, loved the chapter. Can't believe this is almost over... >_

Author's Response: You're playing with the big boys now

Playing with the big boys now

Ev'ry spell and gesture

Tells you who's the best, you're

Playing with the big boys now

You mean that song? :D

Reviewer: _heavensent_
Date: 02/08/07 15:28
Chapter: Birthday Boy

Wow, I can't believe how fast you updated! Did I mention how much I love your story? It's weird cuz I never liked stories with Severus Snape as the main protagonist but yours has got me hooked. Keep up the good work! Can't wait for the next bit !

Author's Response: This is my only story in the Marauder Era cat now, so it doesn't have any competition for posting, lol. I'm glad you like quick updates, and the story with Severus as the protagonist! I think a lot of readers will be surprised he's not a bad guy in book 7. ^^

Reviewer: Athene713
Date: 02/07/07 20:19
Chapter: Birthday Boy

haha. Loved the Boullibase (sp?) line. I remeber Baudwin (but then I used to be quite King Arthur obsessed). You've got a lot of names from King Arthur, Baudwin, Mordred, and in TA Barron's version, Merlin's name is Emrys. I loved the Music Man refrence in the AN. Cuz I trouble with a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for pool :) Update soon.

Author's Response: We've surely got trouble!

Right here in River City!

Remember the Maine, Plymouth Rock and the Golden Rule!

Oh, we've got trouble.

We're in terrible, terrible trouble.

That game with the fifteen numbered balls is a devil's tool!

Oh yes we got trouble, trouble, trouble!

With a "T"! Gotta rhyme it with "P"!

And that stands for Pool!!!

I heart that song and you too! :)

Reviewer: Athene713
Date: 02/07/07 20:18
Chapter: Birthday Boy

haha. Loved the Boullibase (sp?) line. I remeber Baudwin (but then I used to be quite King Arthur obsessed). You've got a lot of names from King Arthur, Baudwin, Mordred, and in TA Barron's version, Merlin's name is Emrys. I loved the Music Man refrence in the AN. Cuz I trouble with a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for pool :) Update soon.

Author's Response: Yay for being King Arthur obsessed! ^_^

Reviewer: Leukhendian
Date: 02/07/07 12:50
Chapter: Birthday Boy

Ick, the wench is back... uhh, I mean witch! Eheheheh, either way, it'll be interesting to see what's she's got in store for Severus. Hopefully nothing that'll cause a catfight...
Wish me good luck! The show's on tomorrow... You know, the cowboy comedy I mentioned? Aaaahh, I'm so nervous!

Author's Response: Break a leg! I know you'll be fab and steal the show! ^_^

Reviewer: A House Elf
Date: 02/06/07 20:05
Chapter: Birthday Boy

"And of course Bellatrix starts with B that rhymes with T, and that stands for Trouble!" Well, that's a rather roundabout way of getting that message across. How many chapters is this fic going to be? Will we get to see Snape turn spy for Dumbledore? Which reminds me, do you think Snape was really bad when he killed Dumbledore?

Author's Response: I was having fun with a line from The Music Man, :D, and this fic will only be ten chapters. It goes through his Apprenticeship. Then there's a follow-up one shot when he's on the brink of becoming a Death Eater. So no, I don't write about him turning spy, but I don't think he was being evil when he killed Dumbledore. I think they planned it that way, or rather Dumbledore in his Gandalf-ness planned it, Severus reluctantly agreed to it, and at the end of HBP, I would not have been surprised if Albus would've said, "Fly, you fools!"

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES