Reviewer: PICHA
Date: 12/26/06 4:34
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

Excellent

Reviewer: harryandginny1165
Date: 12/17/06 20:03
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

very nice
this story gives a good description of what i believed would have worried mamy parents
great read and do more

Reviewer: whomovedmyquil
Date: 12/16/06 19:04
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

aww. I really liked this one, especially the end.

Author's Response: Thank you very much =)

Reviewer: MaraudersWolf
Date: 12/16/06 7:07
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

Wonderfully written! It is hard for me to find written work that evokes emotion, but you have managed and that is an accomplishment to be proud of!

Many of the sentiments already expressed here I share, but this story did touch me deeply for personal reasons. I am a teacher now working with the primary-age students in a school where the students like Harry are in every grade and every room. I see them every day and wish I could make things better. No hats or mittens when it's freezing outside. Ill-fitting or worn out clothes - or just plain wrong for the season. No school supplies. Yet, every day, I let them know that they are cared about at school - that they are a person and they can be better. If nothing else, I want the students I come in contact with to feel good about school and about learning.

It is frustrating being a teacher, something I comment on at least weekly and/or daily, but the students, in the end, make it all worthwhile. Thank you for a great story.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, and I am truly flattered to know you enjoyed it so much.

I have mentioned before how much I love it when actual teachers leave such positive reviews on this, as I had no personal experience to draw on when writing, so it is relieveing to know it worked out. I guess sometimes all you can do in this situation is be there for the children though. I admire you for being able to work in what I consider to be a very tough place.

Thank you, again, for leaving so many lovely comments. I appreciate everything you have said, and it must be frustrating suffering this in real life.

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 12/16/06 1:43
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

this is so sad. I really like miss morrison. is there any way you could be pursuaded to write more about her?

Author's Response: No need to purssuade, as I all ready have a sequel to this piece which I will be posting soon. Miss Morrison isn't the central focus of it, but she does have small role that works off her part in this.

Reviewer: jcc
Date: 12/15/06 8:09
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

Wow! I really enjoyed that. What an interesting point of view. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review =)

Reviewer: music_is_magic
Date: 12/15/06 0:04
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

wow. This is such a good story! So well written and interesting! I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I am very pleased to know you enjoyed!

Reviewer: Sly Severus
Date: 12/14/06 23:07
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

I have never read anything like this before. Actually, I have never thought much about what Harry's life was like before Hogwarts. This is a really interesting concept. I also liked how it could play out so true to real life. There are so many children out there who don't get the care they deserve and so many people who do nothing about it. This story was truly amazing.

Author's Response: I've thought quite a lot about Harry's life before Hogwarts, although it took me a while to get round to writing this. It really didn't seem to add up that no one noticed. I'm especially glad you think it worked out true to life =) Thank you for the lovely review.

Reviewer: Masked One
Date: 12/14/06 22:38
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

I like it. A lot. Nice, clean writing - good concept. It meshes well with canon, and itís nice to see that somebody noticed and cared about Harry, and that the world didnít like the Dursleys as well as the Dursleys think it did.

Iíd be curious to find out if Harry ever makes the Muggle news in any way - and if Mrs. Morrison remembers him. But then, I like closure for my fics.

Author's Response: I am very glad to know you liked this, and that you think it fits well with canon, not to mention finding someone who cared. Your closure will be pleased to konw that there is a sequel to this I will be posting soon. Whilst Miss. Morrison isn't the central focus of it, she does have a small role to tie up a few loose ends from this.

Reviewer: flower_child500
Date: 12/14/06 21:48
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

This is such a creative story. I love how you managed to put a new twist on harry's upbringing.

Great work!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I am pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Reviewer: ginevra715
Date: 12/14/06 21:27
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

that was really cool and extremely well-written. you fit in all the details we know about harry's young life seamlessly.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, I am especially glad you think it fits in so well.

Reviewer: HJPCATI
Date: 12/14/06 19:56
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

wow, this is SO sweet. I love it.
It was so heart felt and you could see the teacher's dilemma. I always wonder hoe no teacher or any one confronted the Dursleys when it sounded like abuse was so obvious.

Author's Response: The abuse always looked obvious to us readers, especially given how Dudley was obviously favoured. They'd have had to be blind to miss it, and I never really thought they were. Just incapable of doing anything about it. Thank you for taking the time to read and review.

Reviewer: fire_angel_love
Date: 12/14/06 18:03
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

Very sweet. I liked how you portrayed Harry. He wasn't the loudest one in the group, he wasn't the shyest, he was Harry and I think you captured him perfectly. Other than a few grammar errors, this was a nice pleasant read.

Author's Response: Thank you for all your comments. I tried to make him as 'Harry-ish' as possible instead of writing him more as a comparison to the other children. He didn't need to be the shyest, he just needed to be himself. Thanks again

Reviewer: ChrissyOfGryffindor
Date: 12/14/06 17:48
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

This was a beautiful, touching, and heart-wrenching story. Your portrayal of Harry was just as I would expect, and I loved that there was a teacher who actually cared about him. You are a wonderful writer with a true talent.

Author's Response: Thank you from the very bottom of my heart for this wonderful review. I am veyr pleased to know you enjoyed it, and that you too liked knowing there was someone at some point who cared for Harry =)

Reviewer: Crows
Date: 12/14/06 17:27
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

That's amazing. I think that your story would definitely fit into the canon of the series. You need to work on mechanics though. (You dont need to add a period after"Miss" just "Ms.")

Author's Response: I'm very glad you think it would fit in with canon. Although there is a lot of leeway on this issue, it is still limited by what we all ready know. Thank you for al your helpful comments.

Reviewer: Adonia
Date: 12/14/06 17:17
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

This was lovely. I'm so glad I read this now, it makes me feel both sad(for the teacher and Harry) and happy(that he's no longer with the Dursleys) at the same time. Beautiful writing, I really admire this look on his childhood.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you read it too! I also like that you said it make you feel somewhat confilicting emotions on the whole ting, as that was the intention. It's nice to know it worked =)

Reviewer: WheezyWeasley
Date: 12/14/06 16:56
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

great job!

Author's Response: Thanks =)

Reviewer: jenn508
Date: 12/14/06 15:59
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

Thank you from the bottom of a teacher's heart for making some kind of explanation for the primary school teachers who sat back and did nothing with such miserable evidence in front of them. I have to admit, it had always irritated me that no one had ever apparently question the Dursleys' questionable child-rearing practices, even if it had to be that way for the story.

Author's Response: I have been especially touched by the reviews I have received from various teachers on this piece. When I was writing I worried about how I represented the angle I chose in comparison to real life. Having nothing to base it on it was a bit of a shot in the dark, working purely from a more logical basis of what could have happened to explain the lack of wuestioning of the Dursley's. It irritated me too how overlooked the whole thing was. Thank you for taking the time to leave such an encouraging review, I appreciate all your comments.

Reviewer: smiley10792
Date: 12/14/06 14:33
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

This is an interesting look into Harry's childhood.
It is very different from what we think of when we read the books- we don't see any good people in Harry's life, but when youe think about it, there had to be some. Thanks for a thought provoking and interesting read.

Author's Response: As you said, there has to have been some good people in Harry's life. I think the series mentions a teacher Harry liked, and this was kind of an expansion on that (vague) memory. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: KitKat517
Date: 12/14/06 14:23
Chapter: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

I loved this story. I never thought anything of Harry's life before the beginning of SS/PS. I think it's sweet that he had a teacher who really cared.
~KitKat

Author's Response: Harry's homelife has been woefully ignored in the actual series, and I struggled to believe no one noticed Harry before he went to Hogwarts. Someone had to have cared, and this seemed to work. Thanks for reviewing =)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES