Reviews For Crown of the North
Reviewer: bibliophileballetbaby17
Date: 11/04/11 15:50
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

aww love it. U r an awesome writer with quite  a lot of talent! I am really enjoying reading ur stories

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry I didn't write earlier - I've only just found this review. I am so flattered that this story is still being read.

Reviewer: Kaity
Date: 07/03/08 3:37
Chapter: The Good Shepherd and the Ravening Wolf

Hi - This is a lovely chapter! Very sweet, and I love the way Ariadne is just so knowing of what's happening between Remus and herself, even if Remus didn't want to acknowledge it. Just to let you know - there is a formatting error on this page: all the text is italicised. I don't know whether it was a mistake or something is wrong with the page, but I just thought I'd let you know, if you didn't already :)

Author's Response: Dear Kaity, Thanks for the hint about the formatting. I've now fixed it. And I love this chapter too! Thank you so much for appreciating both Ariadne and my take on Remus. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/04/08 22:43
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

I'm so glad they finally got there, even if it was a huge struggle. I almost don't want to read the next fic in the series because i'm frightened it'll all fall apart, but I don't think I can not read it. Oh, and I loved the C S Lewis quotes, and what Severus said to Ariadne in the fire. Excellent fic!

Author's Response: Dear Binka, Thanks for reviewing. I'm afraid it's very easy for me to write Severus: I just appeal to my own inner Snape. I wish I also had an inner C. S. Lewis, but since I don't, I have to settle for plagiarising him. Does it help if I mention that Part III has a happy ending? I'm far too flattered by your attention to remind you that it's only a story and not real! Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Georgiana
Date: 12/19/07 17:33
Chapter: A Professional Distance

While waiting for the fourth installment to appear (do you have an ETA on that yet?), I've gone back to read the first three stories again.

Even though I had read this chapter a few months ago, I was literally floored. You know, it's one thing to read something for the first time--it's another to read it all over again once you've fallen in love with the characters and story and invested so much time and emotion in the story as a whole. This chapter just moved me to no end. The letters were beautifully written. Remus' struggle to surrender his heart even though he's almost sure it will get broken is poignant and heartrending. Ariadne's persistence and eagerness for him is truly refreshing and sweet.

And the end...oh, the end. With all the magical beautiful flowers covering the whole lab...it's just one of the most beautiful literary images I've ever had the good fortune to come across. Perfect. How do you come up with these images and emotions and feelings? I'm in awe. The white flowers symbolizing not only the start of something new and the surrender of his heart, but also the delicate nature of their relationship, the fragility of love in general, and of their love, particularly. I can't say I've ever read anything more romantic!

Author's Response: Dear Georgiana, This review has made me so happy! I couldn't imagine anyone liking my story so much that she bothered to review the re-read. I am so overwhelmed to have this old chapter (written in early 2005) reviewed at such a late date. But this is one of my favourite chapters too. The vivid image of all the letters debating the nature of love, and the argument ending with all those white flowers, was one of the early flashbulbs around which the whole story was structured. I couldn't tell you how I thought of it; I just knew it had to happen! As for Part IV, I am tossing up about whether to bother posting it here, because there are several details that deviate from "Deathly Hallows". I think I would like to edit the whole to bring it in line with new canon before I post stuff that I now know to be wrong. Do you trust me enough to give me your private e-mail? If you do, I can send you a personal copy of Part IV.

Reviewer: _dep_
Date: 06/18/07 22:27
Chapter: The Black Thorns of Rejection

awwwww........ so sad. but i did want to say that the remus part of the story reminds me of the song by three doors down, the one withthe line " and when the night falls in around me and i dont think ill make it through i need your love to guide me cuz all i think about is you"

Author's Response: Dear dep, I don't know that song, but it certainly sounds as if it would hit the right note. Remus is too honourable to beg for love, but I hardly need tell you that the game isn't over yet. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 04/29/07 21:01
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

Ohhhh.....double Ohhhhh....
I wish I could say more than just I love this story...
That part with Ernie was so cute and funny. I loved the way she made him feel better without even realizing it! They're so cute! Can't wait for the sequels. This is a beautiful story! Fantastic job! I'll miss it.

Author's Response: Dear GD, Thank you so much. After all their troubles, I thought they deserved some romance - and some humour too. And I like Ernie too! Thank you for all your reviews throughout this story. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 04/29/07 20:55
Chapter: The Girl who Lived

Lol, I like Ariadne's family...well, some of them. If I had parents like those I would thoroughly depressed. A thing I never want to experience again. But I think it's so cute how firm she is!

Author's Response: Dear GD, I had depression for years, and it was indirectly due to family problems. But Ariadne is made of sterner stuff than I am - she just accepts that her parents don't know any better and that they can't actually stop her marrying Remus. She isn't at all sorry to lose the Malfoy connection, however. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 04/29/07 20:53
Chapter: The Risk of Heartbreak

Those quotes are beautiful...this was so sweet! I loved it! I can't believe it's over! That makes me sad! Lol, I'm okay. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you, GD. But it is far from over! Remus and Ariadne will risk a great deal in order to be together. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Jander Fili
Date: 04/11/07 23:50
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

Oh my goodness! I adored how understated and lovely the wedding was! Ariadne is so headstrong in such a subtle way - I really admire her as a character. When will the next sequel be coming out? Also, is this the last that we'll see of Veleta?

Author's Response: Dear JF, Thanks for reviewing. Yes, the sweet Ariadne is extremely stubborn - I'm glad you noticed that! You will see plenty more of Veleta, and I will post more when I have finished writing my lightweights. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 04/11/07 20:21
Chapter: The Green Shoots of Assault

wow...it's been a long time since I've read this. Well, I got the egyptian fever I think it's called. I'm just getting better...happy to see there are quite a few chapters to look forward to! Well, that's certainly unnerving about Veleta. 'Jane Smith' just like Mr. and Mrs. Smith...the evil Macnairs. I can tell something bad'll happen to either Ivor or Hestia...poor things....hope I'm wrong...

Author's Response: Dear GD, Sorry to hear you've been sick. I hope you're taking it easy now. The Macnairs will continue to be evil, but the Joneses can expect a very short reprieve. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: pollyanna614
Date: 04/10/07 12:11
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

I really enjoyed both of your stories. I hope you will continue because I'm thoroughly involved now. I especially liked the fact that I didn't have to wait long for your next chapter.

Author's Response: Dear Pollyanna, Thanks for reviewing. I have written two sequels, which will be posted here in due course. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: dragonwings
Date: 04/08/07 20:33
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

Aww! They finally got married! I love Ariadne's character and the say you portray her. This is a great story- really innocent and sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you, Dragonwings. They are very married now, but I can't promise that their life together will be "sweet". GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 04/05/07 16:18
Chapter: The Red Flowers of Celebration

Yay! They're married! And this is only the beginning! Does that mean... *gasp* sequels to come? I can't wait!
Anyway... I really loved this chapter! I liked seeing how they could have a perfectly good wedding without spending too much money, and, though it was kind of sad that some people didn't accept it, Ariadne's right in the end. The people who matter always will! :D
In fact, this whole story has really gotten that point across in a brilliant and wonderfully romantic way! I've really enjoyed reading this masterpiece and I hope there's more too come!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Thanks for keeping up the reviews so faithfully. Ariadne's wedding was somewhat reminiscent of my own, since we had a point to prove about emphasising the spiritual over the material. That was 18 years ago, and we're still married! Fortunately our families aren't nearly as difficult as Ariadne's. Yes, I have written two sequels. See you then? GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 04/02/07 15:19
Chapter: The Girl who Lived

Poor Ariadne. It must be really hard dealing with her parents, even if her mind is already made up. And I'm glad it is! *sigh* Ariadne and Remus are a wonderful couple! :D And all of Ariadne's "family visits" were great - ranging from rather sad to rather ridiculous to quite funny! :) As usual, this was a great chapter! I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Family problems... don't we all suffer from that? Ariadne's heart has been utterly set at least since chapter 2 of this story - perhaps since chapter 1. Whether she loves wisely depends on your point of view (but who cares what Lucius Malfoy thinks?). Final chapter is on the way. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 03/24/07 15:18
Chapter: The Risk of Heartbreak

Aw. I love that in between the action and mystery chapters there's always some focused only on Ariadne and Remus. Their "discussion" and how they're arguing about something they both want, really was great. Plus, the ending made me grin. I don't know how you manage to incorporate humor and romance and mystery and action and everything a good fic needs. :D Great chapter, as always, can't wait for the next update! I hope Remus comes to his senses...

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Remus and Ariadne will always find something to talk about. And I specialise in white-hot chastity! Thank you for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: Jander Fili
Date: 03/21/07 20:57
Chapter: The Green Shoots of Assault

Wonderful! But children...? If my guess is correct, she would have started to have children at fourteen or fifteen. Is this normal in the wizarding world and not to be considered odd? Anyhow, I love your stories. Each chapter keeps me coming back for more!

Author's Response: Dear Jander Fili, I am so pleased that you keep coming back for more! The wizarding Age of Consent is 17, and most wizards would complete NEWTs before marrying. So are you SURE you have surmised Veleta's situation correctly? Ariadne certainly finds the set-up odd. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 03/21/07 18:41
Chapter: The Green Shoots of Assault

Yay, progress on the Veleta front! I wonder what they've done to her!! ... Children... wow...! I can't wait to find out what happens next with this mystery! Still, I also always enjoy seeing Ariadne and Remus just interacting - as always, they're very sweet. I hope you update soon! I must have answers... :D

Author's Response: Dear Vaelntinia, Thanks for keeping up with the reviews. I'm not giving any advance clues about Veleta! Remus and Ariadne will continue in their own unique style, for better or for worse. GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 03/17/07 18:17
Chapter: The White Flowers of Surrender

Wait... which one isn't? The yellow folder or the red? If it's the yellow then it's about him, isn't it? :D
This chapter was sweet, too. Remus taking her out was so nice, and I'm glad they're friends again. Also, it's great seeing the interactions between Ariadne and all of her friends... it's so life-like. I especially love Sarah... she's so... Sarah. :D Great chapter! I can't wait for the next to be validated!

Author's Response: Well spotted - the yellow folder is indeed about Remus. And one day Ariadne will tell you what is inside it. Ariadne is a devoted lover, as you can see among all her friends, and Remus is now back in her circle permanently. Sarah was loosely based on one of my own friends, but very quickly took on a life of her own - she's now nothing like her prototype! Sarah will always be around too. Thanks for keeping up the reviews, GhV

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 03/17/07 17:57
Chapter: A Professional Distance

Awww. I loved reading the letters; I'm so glad Remus decided to write!!! And the ending was so sweet. Sending her white flowers for surrender. It doesn't sound romantic, I suppose, but in this case it is! :D Also, seeing the huge change in Ariadne after she got his letter was brilliant. Really showed her character. Anyway... great chapter! I can't wait to read the next!!

Author's Response: Dear Valentinia, Flowers are always romantic. It's a great surrender for Remus to allow himself to be selfish for a change. He will never fully understand that Ariadne is a far more dangerous person than himself, and that by surrendering to her orbit he will never live safely again. But safety isn't everything. Thank you for reviewing. I knew Ariadne would love the letters, because some thing just have to be stated verbally. GhV

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 03/15/07 20:27
Chapter: The White Flowers of Surrender

I really hope that somehow Veleta is okay...
Well, I find Sarah to be very amusing. Ariadne is very patient with her, poor thing. Can't wait to see more of Remus...

Author's Response: Dear GD, There will be plenty more of Remus. I'm glad you like Sarah, even though she will never understand Ariadne the way Ariadne understands her. I'm afraid Veleta is NOT okay, but you will hear more about her in due course. Regards, GhV

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES