Reviews For Blood Ties
Reviewer: hermione210
Date: 12/15/07 11:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, this is really wonderful. I haven’t read a lot of fics that were centered on the dynamics between Bellatrix and Andromeda, and I’m really glad I read this one. When we see Bella later in her life, most of the human element is gone, but she must have had it some time, and it’s great to read a story about one of those times.

A few nitpicks- When she finally spoke all the warmth had left her voice. I’d put a comma between ‘spoke’ and ‘voice’ here.

“You’re welcome,” Bellatrix replied as she walked off to the nearest store to buy her niece’s presents. Erm… St. Mungo’s isn’t in Diagon Alley. I don’t think it’s even located near there. And I doubt there are random wizarding shops sprinkled around London where Bellatrix could buy a toy broomstick, among other things. Maybe she Apparated to Diagon Alley? I don’t know, but this just wasn’t making sense to me the way it is now.

“I didn’t even know you had a daughter. With the Mudblood, I suppose. What’s wrong with her?” I love how you have Bella being insulting and caring at the same time. It suits her.

She may be the daughter of a Mudblood but that’s not her fault. She’s still my niece. Aw! Bella does have heart.

Overall, very well written. I truly enjoyed reading this story. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: tatjanablack
Date: 08/08/07 5:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey Sly!

Been a long time since I have been here, but you see I try to advoid HP fansites and things like that - because the Danish Harry Potter book first comes 10 november 07. And I don't want to be spoiled very much.

And now for the rewiew: I have seen this story many times when I have been looking though your page, but never read it before. I think this was such a touching story and I think it has become of my favoruties. I think this was a very realitic story and as you know I simply love the way you write Bella. I am glad that there is fan out there who not only see her as a heartless monster :)

I really enjoyed this story.

- Tatiana Black

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review. I really enjoyed writing this story. I liked to believe that Bella could never abadon her family if they really needed her.

Reviewer: hollyberries
Date: 04/07/07 10:10
Chapter: Chapter 1

that was a very nice story. I don't think Bellatrix is that kind, but... it was still a nice story :)

Author's Response: *huggles Bella* I believe she has a kind side.

Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you liked the story.

Reviewer: ginny_potter72
Date: 01/06/07 22:30
Chapter: Chapter 1

awwwwwwwwww.......so touching!! i never thought of bellatrix that way, always as a cold blooded murderer...but this is a great new way to look at her...made me cry thouh..

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad that you liked it. I'm a huge Bellatrix fan. I just love her. *huggles Bella*

Reviewer: Masked One
Date: 12/21/06 23:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

I’m not sure this was the best of your stories for me to start with. With no background on Bella, I’m having a hard time buying her apparent niceness. I was very relieved at the end, when marched out of the hospital. My point - I’m going to go read your other stories, and come back to this one when I have some background.

Author's Response: *giggles* This one doesn't offer a lot of background. Some of them do and some of them don't. I knew this would be hard for non-Bella fans to swallow.

The idea is that she and Andromeda have a bond and there is nothing that can be done about it. When it comes down to something as serious as life or death one sister can not turn her back on the other. My theory is and always has been that the Black sister were very close. They share a bond that can never be completely broken.

And I was wondering which of my Bella stories you were reading. :D Thanks for leaving a review.

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 12/21/06 21:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

Poor Bella. I really like how you portray her as not being heartless, just caught up in ideals and a life she can't escape. But she's still Bella, a Death Eater, even if she regrets her choice! This story was really well-written, too! The problem was realistic as were all the feelings involved. I really enojyed reading this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I actually wondered if the problem would be considered realistic in the wizarding world, but it seems to going over pretty well. :D I was actually very proud of this little gem when I finished it.

As for Bella, yes, she is still Bella. Regardless of how she feels about it or why she did it, she has done horrible things. But I believe she has paid a heavy price for her mistakes and will continue to pay that price. I think she has suffered enough.

Thanks so much for the review. :D

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 12/21/06 17:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was nice. I don't like Bellatrix, but I could see her doing this for her sister and niece.
"She may be the daughter of a Mudblood but that’s not her fault."
I really liked that line. I probably wasn't supposed to find it funny, but I kind of did in a grim humor sort of way.... Nice job! :)

Author's Response: Hmmm...don't like Bellatrix, huh? I'm a little obessed. But you might have already known about that.

Anyway, thanks for the review and I'm glad that you enjoyed my story.

Reviewer: VeniaTaint
Date: 12/21/06 10:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

Awww...*sniffles*...that *sniffles* is so *sniffles* sweet! *blows nose hard...eww...* a very different take on your part, and the transitions between the points of view of your characters were seamless, and eloquently placed...congratulations *curtsies* agian *rolls eyes at lack of better words*...

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Kantaka
Date: 12/18/06 10:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

okay, i'm literally crying because of your story now!!!
You do write marvellously! What a Christmas tale!!
*snif snif*

Author's Response: Thanks so much. This is another of my favorites. :D

Reviewer: crazy_purple_hp_freak
Date: 12/10/06 15:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww bless! Now that’s one side of Bella that I’ve never seen before…I’ve not read a lot of your Bella fics, only this and Blinded I think, but in both I love the way that you show a human and believable side to her character.

Throughout this fic, I really liked the ‘transitions’ that Bella’s character made, and how this contrasted to Andromeda’s opinions of her. It really was so moving (and so “grrrrr”) to see Bella be all warm and carefree at the beginning, and change to such a cruel character on seeing her sister.

“Please, leave me alone, Bellatrix. I’m sobbing on the ground, exactly where you think I belong. What more could you want?”

I really felt for Andromeda when I read this. It must have been so hard for her to break away from her family, and the mere thought that her family looked at her in such a way must have made her life so much more depressing and difficult. L *sniff*

My only nitpick that I saw a few times…is that “pureblood” according to the Lexicon, should be spelt “pure-blood”. Heh heh you wouldn’t believe how many times I was made to correct that in my Gauntlet..lol

Like in Danielle’s review, I love the quote about the island too! Along with the part about… “It wasn’t as if Rodolphus would be missing her. By the time Lucius got a few firewhiskeys in him, he would forget who she was.” …it really does show the nature of the relationships; and in a way it makes the miracle more believable by emphasising the sort of world that Bella sometimes might want to get away from. Another thing that I loved was Andy’s nickname for Tonks: “Nympy”. That kind of made me laugh despite the fact that it was in a serious sentence. I mean, Nymphadora is bad enough…lol

My favourite lines in this story, however, are probably the ones that show Bella’s “human” side…we don’t see that much, do we? I only wish she was more like that in DeathEater!Bella-ness, instead of “I love death/torture/pain/Voldemort” etc…lol

She might not be the nicest person in the world, but she still clung to humanity.
Some things were just more important than family honor and pureblood beliefs.


Loved those lines…I’m looking forward to reading the rest of your challenge fics! Good luck! ~Suzie xx



Author's Response: Wow Suzie! I think this is the longest review I have ever gotten. *huggles*

Thank you so much for all your compliments. I am really glad you liked my one liners. You picked out my two favorites. “Please, leave me alone, Bellatrix. I’m sobbing on the ground, exactly where you think I belong. What more could you want?” and Rodolphus wouldn't notice if I purchased a small island. :D

As for Nympy, I came up with it awhile ago. I figured there was no way any parent was going to say Nymphadora every time they spoke to their child. I came up with Nympy, but since then I have read a fic with the much nicer nickname of Dora. By then I was attached to Nympy.

Thanks so much for the review. They really do mean a lot. :D

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 12/10/06 14:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was wonderful! Absolutely heartwarming. I love that you let Bellatrix connect with her family in such a touching way. Having her leave at the end and then explain why to Andromeda was really sad, but also kept her in character. This was a really well-written and emotional story. What a great entry for the challenge - good luck!! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

I love writing stories where Bellatrix gets to reconnect with Andromeda. It's a bond that I really enjoy working with. I don't believe that bond could ever go away, regardless of what they might tell others.

As for her leaving, she would have prefered to slip unnoticed into the night, but that wasn't really far to my readers. I thought more clousure was needed there so Andromeda caught up with her. I think this scene was my favorite to write though. I love writing emotionally charged scenes.

Thanks so much for the review and I'm glad that you enjoyed my story. :D

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 12/10/06 12:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was a very touching story!! I had tears rolling down my face a few times (but since I'm pregnant that isn't hard to make happen, hehe). I wasn't surprised at all that Bella chose not to meet her niece. It was great that she decided to help her live though. Thanks for that wonderful story!
Cyns

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks for the review, Cyns.

And you were right to think that Bella wouldn't meet her niece. It just wasn't the right thing to do. She understood that she could never have a relationship with the child and that having a bond with her could prove dangerous. She knew it would be better for Tonks is she never knew what her Aunt Bella had done for her. But, although, she didn't show it, it was hard for Bella to walk away from her sister and her niece. It was just the way it had to be.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I had the bunny long before I read the challenge, but it fit so well with the challenge and Christmas, I decided this was where it belonged. I wrote the whole thing in one setting. I was so excited about it.

Right, I'm rambling. As you probably know, I do that. Anyway, thanks so much for the review. *huggles to my fellow snake*

Reviewer: pinktat
Date: 12/10/06 10:43
Chapter: Chapter 1

Brilliant as usual! I love the way you make Bella nasty but nice, your stories are a refeshing change from the usual 'type' :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

But I have to admit, as much as I love Bella, the first words out of her mouth when she sees her sister are not going to be, "Awww, sweetie, what's wrong?" But I really do believe that she would come around when she realized that the situation was dire. She wouldn't let her four year old niece die. I believe there will always be a bond between the three Black sisters, no matter how well hidden it may sometimes be.

Again, thanks so much for the review! :D

Reviewer: NikkiSue
Date: 12/09/06 20:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow... I think you have broekn through my wall of stubbornness and opened me up to reading more Bellatrix stories! She is quite the compelling character and the angle she is seen in your fic was refreshing from others I have read. I was VERY impressed with the direction you took this challenge. Holy cow. Best of luck in this. You did a great job.

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you, Nicole! I really had no idea how this would be received. I mean, anyone who has read many of my stories wouldn't be surprised by Bellatrix, but I didn't know how well incorporating Muggle medicine would go over. Of course, it was done in OotP.

Anyway, I'm really glad to hear that you're starting to warm up to Bella, as I am sure you are well aware, I love her!

Thanks so much for the review and I'm glad you liked the story. *huggles*

Reviewer: FeatherTrader
Date: 12/09/06 14:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love your plot bunny. It’s really something different from what I’ve read in the other entries. It’s really unique. I would have thought brining Adromeda and Bella together on Christmas would have been a difficult and complicated thing, but you made it seem so simple!

First, a few nit-picks I picked up on. I know we’re not close anymore and we never will be again. Since this is a compound sentence, you need a comma before the and. Second, Andromeda through her arms around her sister’s shoulders. Through should be threw. But overall, the fanfic was pretty much blemish free.

My favourite line was “Rodolphus wouldn’t notice if I purchased a small island. He’s not much of financial manager.” Firstly because it’s humourous. Secondly because it gives up a glimpse at Bella and Rodolphus’ relationship. But I mainly like it because I can see Bella saying it. . . and it’s funny.

Best of luck in the challenge. Go Slytherins!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks so much for leaving a review. *huggles* I'm glad you liked it.

To me, bringing Bella and Andromeda together at Christmas is simple. I know they have more than there fair share of problems and differences, but they are sisters, and I believe that they do love each other. I don't think Bella could really hurt her family.

Thanks for pointing out me errors. I'll correct those. I hate having little things like that in my stroy so I always like to know when they're there to get rid of them.

Hehe! I'm glad you liked my small island line. It's one of my favorite lines too.br>
Thanks so much for the review! :D

Reviewer: Gonz
Date: 12/07/06 22:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Good message, good story. Not your typical Bella, but that doesn't matter, its a miracle.

You know we write these stories and dream of being like Harry, being a hero. Sly just reminded us how we all can be a hero many times over. I have donated blood many times, it is really easy. If you qualify go do it.

Thanks for the reminder and good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! This actually isn't too off from my typical Bella. I tend to write her differently than most people. :D

And thank you for the reminder to everyone to donate blood. After all, it is the season for giving.

Again, thanks so much for the review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
CATEGORIES