Reviews For Private Lessons
Reviewer: leahsm2
Date: 06/16/08 20:15
Chapter: Chapter 15: Lessons

I am really enjoying your story and all the different elements you are blending into it. I like the musical component, and the potions component, and the setting the time so far into the future is very unusual for fan fiction.

I also like the way you have the curse's effects being not just mental and physical, but also affecting Pendragon on a very magical plane i.e. the way she sometimes dissapears in the dark and how her name and other aspects of her personality have been forever altered, not just within her, but also to the world at large. It was very different for her to have be given a new name that can be remembered since the curse had erased that aspect of her from the face of the Earth.

I thought the way you gradually let the reader in on how her personality has been shattered by the spell is moving. I was also pleasantly surprised that she and Harry were never really an item.

Snape's depiction seems spot on, and having Harry as Head of Slytherin House is downright subversive!

Finally, I liked you description of the tea brewing, which seems very traditional and British for two people to sit down to drink some fancy tea while discussing such a brutal subject.

"You incredible idiot! How in seven hells can you be immersed in the culture of Slytherin House, yet remain ignorant of such a simple process as taking the piss out of someone?"

This portion was also very fine because you take a very British idea of putting someone on, and have Harry breakdown for Snape why his idea of it has gone way overboard!

I am looking forward to seeing how this turns out!

Author's Response: Thanks for the thoughtful review! I had a lot of fun coming up with this story and I hope to finish it soon, once I get Heirs printed.

Reviewer: Poppy
Date: 05/16/08 16:20
Chapter: Chapter 16: Lifting the Blindness

Welcome back!! I was afraid there wouldn't be an update. I love the progress they are making together.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yah, I hope to finish this fic next.

Reviewer: testingt
Date: 12/18/07 0:29
Chapter: Chapter 15: Lessons

Dammit, update! Okay, please update, pretty please? Whichever works--this is a story I want to read more of. At your convenience, of course--no pressure.

Author's Response: Trying...I've had a major setback, a friend was killed in a mountain avalanche and I'm not coping well at the mo. But I'll get to it, promise.

Reviewer: chasing_willow
Date: 10/09/07 19:51
Chapter: Chapter 3: A Proper Introduction

"Pot, meet Kettle" I love that!!
I want it on a shirt, can I?
-- Willow

Author's Response: *snerk* Go for it, but I don't think I made it up. It might have been my friend Maureen. Or maybe I made it up About her... eh, it's just words.

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 10/05/07 1:53
Chapter: Chapter 15: Lessons

Ooo, I didn't realize you had posted this story here, as well. I wrote a couple of comments over at LJ, which has a few more chapters. It seems almost finished there...or am I just imagining that?

I do have trouble imagining Snape as a 90-year-old man. Couldn't it be 25 years in Azkaban instead of 50? I know wizards live a long time, but still...

Incidentally, is there a crossover with "Fair Exchanges"? The scene where Severus gives Albus the burn potion makes me think of blue lightning. (or is it purple? Been a while since I've read that one.)

Author's Response: Hee hee. All my stories have little internal crossovers here and there, it's fun that way. I picked 50 years because it seems that murder would carry a harsh sentence and for wizards, 25 years didn't seem long enough.

Reviewer: Veneficus Verus
Date: 08/19/07 0:48
Chapter: Chapter 10: Conspiracy

I quite love the ending to this chapter...in fact this whole story is intriguing. Just as I think Snape is too out of his water (thoughts wise) you put out a dialogue that cements him back together into some snarky post war vet/verbal jousting genious. I also think the progress of your ancient curse, its a good plot device, allowing your oc imporance, interest, but most of all credibility thanks to your plot and dovetails into the canonverse (pre DH). Thanks for your nice work! : )

Author's Response: Thanks! I still haven't read DH but I've heard that most of my fics are going to have to be AU from now on... Anyway, yah, I always thought Snape had a lot more to him than he necessarily shows, so the hidden thoughts vs. the spoken words are always fun to compare for him.

Reviewer: 7574117
Date: 06/06/07 0:04
Chapter: Chapter 1: A Bitter Man

well this is the fourth fic i'm reading of yours i loved when the cat's away it had me in stitches my mum thought i was crazy laughing and coughing spit all over the laptop lmao

Author's Response: *grin* This one's very different from the rest--all the moody broody stuff without much Funneh.

Reviewer: hokiesis
Date: 04/08/07 0:27
Chapter: Chapter 15: Lessons

I have to laugh, because I'm sitting here, drinking jasmine tea :)

I've really been enjoying this story. I love the pace, and Snape is really growing on me. I especially like how Snape is constantly playing mind games with Harry, and I like how you write Harry reacting as we know he would now, then apologizing for "slipping into adolescence." I think what sticks out for me throughout this story is that you have Snape and Harry interacting in a way not unlike what one could expect in Book 7, but it's many years later, so you throw in things to explain why their relationship is still the same and has not changed over time. I really like that.

Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Hee hee! That's the best tea, isn't it? I do think Harry has come a long way in 50 years. But he's never had any reason NOT to hate Snape, right? Until now--which would naturally throw off his groove. Next chapter may be a while as I'm currently cooking on "Heirs of Slytherin," but it'll come!

Reviewer: BatSenecal
Date: 03/27/07 23:44
Chapter: Chapter 3: A Proper Introduction

I like the idea behind that curse. It is very interesting.

Author's Response: There's more detail in later chapters.

Reviewer: BatSenecal
Date: 03/27/07 23:35
Chapter: Chapter 2: A Bitter Woman

I like Pendragon. She is going to make Snape at least remotly happy, and after being in Azkaban for fifty years, he needs a little happiness. Harry head of Slytherine is still really bizarre for me. Not in a bad way, just odd.

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: BatSenecal
Date: 03/27/07 23:30
Chapter: Chapter 1: A Bitter Man

Its deffinatly something different. I haven't read a fic so far in the future after the war. And Harry as head of Slytherine is just bizarre. Especially since he was, you know, in Gryfindor. But I haven't read the entire story so I am deffinatly going to give it a shot.

Author's Response: Yah, well, he was almost sorted into Slytherin, remember?

Reviewer: darkprophetess
Date: 03/17/07 11:03
Chapter: Chapter 14: Trial and Error

i loved it!it made me cry for some odd reason....i feel so sorry for severus, without actually likeing him that much, you're very clever. one thing though-
"grinding her hips against his ribs"
i would give my first born son (if i wasnt 14 and didnt have a son) to find out what position they were in!
please upadte soon! love this story!

Author's Response: Haha. I imagined her sort of draped obliquely across him, but use your imagination!

Reviewer: wishingforthehallows
Date: 03/05/07 1:26
Chapter: Chapter 14: Trial and Error

I usually do not like stories about snape but this one has really caught my attention. I guess because its a "new" snape, but one that's believable. Please keep updating!!! Its great!


Author's Response: Thanks! I'm working on 3 fics so it's taking a while to update, but I will!

Reviewer: Khaos Afekt
Date: 02/15/07 7:28
Chapter: Chapter 13: The Rate of Exchange

I really love your story, its gr8. This was a gr8 chapter and I like how you have the battle going with Snape & Potter. It is fairly obvious that from your writing, that we have similar thoughts about Snape and how is a victim of circumstance and was never evil or mean but did what was necessary for his & people he "cared" about. I like that. I hope in your story the "truth" as you see Snape's past will be discussed and he can get some modicum of recompence from those that have berated him for so long.

Author's Response: Hee hee hee. You ought to read Fair Exchanges (if you're old enough), it's got the Beleagured!Snape in spades.

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/14/07 18:35
Chapter: Chapter 13: The Rate of Exchange

Awesome! The tension in this chapter was incredible! I just loved reading it. Snape had some truly great lines, particularly the one about compassion. I was very surprised to see Harry kneel in front of him at the end, and even more surprised to hear that Harry had fallen in love with Pendragon. And here I had been thinking you were going to pair her up with Snape! So are we to assume Harry is not married at this point? What happened to Harry that Pendragon "restored his will to live?" Will we get that story when we learn how Harry came to be the HoH for Slytherin?? Pretty please? =)
Great writing! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: All will be revealed...or at least most. Heh. Almost got a little Snarry action in, too.

Reviewer: Sdogg
Date: 02/03/07 14:36
Chapter: Chapter 12: The Lightning Curse

YAY! She remebers...a bit. I do hope she regains all of her memories, I especially liked this chapter because of this. Not so much the chapter before, but it was kind of essential for this chapter. Anyways, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/02/07 20:05
Chapter: Chapter 12: The Lightning Curse

Very interesting! I was wrong about why Snape grabbed Pendragon like that, but your explanation was great. I am getting a big confused by all the different colored Lightning curses, but I think including the Dark Mark as a form of it was a really great idea, as well as connecting it to Salazar.
I noticed Snape referred to the Dark Lord as Voldemort; in canon the Death Eaters never call Voldemort by his name, only the Dark Lord. So is Snape over the name-game after fifty years in prison?
And I wonder what price he expects from Pendragon. I imagine that's coming up next, so I'll finish with this instead: will we see Ron and Hermione at all in this story?
Great job!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Well, think of a rainbow. There's a Lightning curse for each color: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. Then there's the Black, which is ultraviolet and invisible to the human eye. UV light has the highest energy of that spectrum so it would be the most powerful, with Red the weakest (ok, I confess, I'm a science nerd). Voldy: I think after 50 years, yeah, it's safe to call him by name. I'd imagine Snape's been cursing him every day during that time anyway... What price, indeed. Harry sounds suspicious that it will be something inappropriate, don't you think? We'll see. Finally, not sure about R and H, hadn't planned on a visit, but I suppose if Snape does manage to cure Pen, they ought to come for a visit.

Reviewer: Poppy
Date: 02/02/07 19:55
Chapter: Chapter 12: The Lightning Curse

Thank you for a wonderful and intriguing story - you leave me on pins and needles for the next chapter. Snape is my favorite fan fic character, and you are portraying him wonderfully.

Author's Response: Awesome! I think I have one more chapter done, then I need some time to write more...

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 01/27/07 14:00
Chapter: Chapter 11: A Bitter Potion

I am *so* curious as to why he grabs her like that to calm her down. I think it's Occlumency so I can't wait to see the next chapter and hear what Snape has to say for himself. For a while I did wonder why Snape Apparated to Diagon Alley and then took the Hogwarts Express back, but you explained that very well. It's nice to see Pendragon feeling a bit better.
Lovely job - and your answers in the Dueling Club were great fun to read!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I wanted it to seem like dragon parts were very delicate materials, that shouldn't be subjected to rough handling like Apparating. And he'll explain his reasoning in due time...

Reviewer: tjbkv9
Date: 01/25/07 11:20
Chapter: Chapter 11: A Bitter Potion

I look forward to your updates as your story is one of my top two.

Author's Response: Awesome! I have some more chapters but I've got 3 large fanfics I'm working on at once and there's only so many hours in a day...

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES