Reviewer: Invisibility Cloak
Date: 07/07/12 19:57
Chapter: One-Shot

Hi Gina! I think a thanks for another great piece is in order, early though it is (or late thought the reader reviews!). Knowing what a great Lily/James writer you are, I can't believe I'd neglected this one until now! It is rather different in substance from your current works in some ways: for example, I think that in present stories you allow the meant-to-be pair the chance to work out their differences in a much more drawn out, gritty (though perhaps realistic) manner.

As for technique, I love how you can affect a detachment one moment, so as to give the happenings a humorous angle (He was met with an assortment of blank stares, raised eyebrows, and brazen guffaws ), yet instantly and seamlessly present what the protagonist is feeling the next (On one hand he found it exhilarating, but on the other he was surprised to find that her remarks were actually getting to him this time ).
The prose flows fantastically well. I must also show my appreciation for your fantastic sense of humor, particularly in, but not limited to, J/L's sparring. My favorite crack? Probably one you gave to Lily:

“I think you look better covered in green slime, Potter,” she called rather brightly. “It makes your big head look smaller.”

“Go stick your nose back in your cauldron, Evans. I’m tired of entertaining you with my exceptional wit and talent.” Even when hes not trying to call attention to himself, James can be quite witty- or toe-rag-ish. It totally shows why Lily would still be ..er.. aware of him after a month of silence. Really, all your characters are spot on- Which makes me wonder why we see virtually no Peter... But anyhow, a very enjoyable read, and, of course, with a signature Gmariam clever move at the end in the form of the socks!

Author's Response: Hi there! Oh I have to admit when I saw this story had a review I went "EEP!" It is an early piece of mine and quite different from how I write James and Lily now. This was total fluff; now I try to give them a bit more substance. It was still fun, though, and I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for the lovely review. I really appreciate all the comments and will try to live up to them next time I write a James and Lily story. ;) As for Peter...he does appear more in my later stories. He just didn't fit in here, nor does he *always* fit in elsewhere. He was a bit of a hanger-on, after all. And he's hard to write, knowing he turns out to be such a horrible person. Anyway-didn't realize I had a signature move either, that's awesome. Something else to include in my next one, lol! Thanks again for looking this up, I appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ginny96
Date: 05/19/12 17:05
Chapter: One-Shot

i liked it. what do they do to get back at the others?

Author's Response: Oh, who knows! I have left so many of my stories open-ended like this, especially when it comes to pranks, that I have long forgotten what I might have had in mind. Probably nothing-I sort of like to tease readers and leave it up to them. Hee hee. I'm glad you enjoyed it, thank you for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 10/01/11 19:40
Chapter: One-Shot

*Swoon*

Oh, Gina, this has me absolutely dazed. :) You see, there is this OTHER story with James and Lily, and it seems they will NEVER get their act together and realize how much they adore one another... and this was just the resolution I needed until another chapter of that one comes along... haha.

Siriusly, your James is as great as ever. I especially liked how he tried to keep from participating in the verbal sparring at first, and really loved the line about "entertaining you with my exceptional wit and talent." So clever. Loved the end, and how they came together rather easily (well, for them, anyway) this time. "I already like you."

You are the James/Lily queen, my friend. Loved this!

Author's Response: Good heavens, Lori - I wrote this ages ago, how did you find it?? Thank you so much for the amazing review. This was my first James/Lily story, you know. 'Twas fun. Who knew back then it would spiral into an obsession? ;) What is this other story you speak of? Sounds bloody awful. I'd wonder about that author for sure. Hee hee. Thanks again dear! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyfan
Date: 09/26/10 16:56
Chapter: One-Shot

hmm...i thought Lily Evans was supposed to be a GOOD roe model for james hotty potter! :))

Author's Response: I imagine she had her moments as well. ;) Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 04/24/10 4:38
Chapter: One-Shot

OOOOH GINA!

I loved this! I mean, it'st just...this is what I was trying to convey in my duel, y'know. There's something magical and fun about their coming together. I also love how you showed James being vulnerable and Lily being fun! OMP! I am actually gonna - SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

~Love,
Natalie.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks, Natalie! I enjoyed our little J/L swap, lol! I'm glad you found it squeeworthy. I absolutely think James had to show some vulnerability to win Lily - I guess I find that sort of attractive in some of these HP guys since we don't get that from JKR much. Thanks for reading this, I appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 06/09/08 17:13
Chapter: One-Shot

Gina!!! This was bloody brilliant! I can;t believe it! Well, atually, I can believe it, but it's great! I loved the 'Potter and Evans, working as one' part. That was so, I dunno, James-ish. I like the ending because it's not like a lot of stories where James just stops his pranks all together. In this one, when James and Lily agree to plot against Sirius, Peter, and Remus, it was just nice for a change of pace. I also am inclined to agree that, if it weren't for JK's vagueness on the James/Lily romance, it wouldn't be as fun to write. This was awesome! {BeccA}

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story so much - it can be tough to write a J/L piece that is original, so I hope I succeeded with this one. It was tons of fun, I love writing them. Thanks for reading it and leaving such a wonderful review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ezhil
Date: 12/14/07 9:13
Chapter: One-Shot

gud one

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: marvelousmeg
Date: 09/26/07 20:31
Chapter: One-Shot

I loved it!!!!!!!! I hope you write one about the Potter evans pranks cuz' you're the only one who talks about them!


Author's Response: I really should write a good sequel about that prank someday. However, I have several other stories I'd like to put to paper, so I probably won't anytime soon. Thanks for the review, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hpfreak101
Date: 08/24/07 15:58
Chapter: One-Shot

I found this lovely. I adored their little encounter after potions. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love this couple and hope I did them justice - a bit of humor, a bit of romance, a bit of what might have happened one day. Thanks for reading and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love this couple and hope I did them justice - a bit of humor, a bit of romance, a bit of what might have happened one day. Thanks for reading and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Aura_light
Date: 08/19/07 2:39
Chapter: One-Shot

lol! :D

Author's Response: I'll take that as a compliment - guess you liked it! Thanks for reading! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: BertieBotsBeans741
Date: 08/13/07 12:00
Chapter: One-Shot

I enjoy reading your pieces...just thought I'd let you know.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I appreciate you not only reading my stories, but leaving a note about them. I'm glad you liked this one, I just started another J/L story and am finding them very fun to write. Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Pixie Flite
Date: 06/15/07 12:13
Chapter: One-Shot

You should make a sequel. I hate one-shots.

Author's Response: I hope you liked this one (I am assuming that is why you requested a sequel, after all?) I have written some other Marauder stories, and am sort of hoping to return to a James/Lily story this summer. Thanks for reading this story! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 06/01/07 7:19
Chapter: One-Shot

OH.....that was so sweet! It was realistic, and romantic at the same time. For James/Lily, that's sort of rare. I love your writing, and I love this story...

Author's Response: Hi Gin Drinka! Thanks so much for reading this story, it was my first James/Lily story and I really enjoyed writing it. I even have a plot bunny for another, so we'll see if I get to write them again. I'm so glad it was realistic and not over the top mushy. ;) Thanks again for the compliments and lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: pottergurl92
Date: 03/08/07 17:18
Chapter: One-Shot

Loved it!!!!!!

Author's Response: I'm very glad you did! Thanks for reading this story and leaving a review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: pheonixflame
Date: 12/26/06 20:36
Chapter: One-Shot

Adorable.

It was all smiles and a warm heart for me. :]

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! What a lovely response, thank you very much for reading this story and for leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: babekitty_92
Date: 12/02/06 4:31
Chapter: One-Shot

That was so cool!!!! loved it, awesome work, 10/10

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, a 10 out of 10 - thank you for the lovely score. ;) I am glad you liked it! Thank you for reading this story and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: loony_lily
Date: 11/30/06 12:44
Chapter: One-Shot

Isn't writting J/L fics so much fun? You can use so much more imagination than with the other fics.... but anyways... I love the imagination and huror! I'm gonna look && see if you have other stories... so if u don't...then write 1!!

Author's Response: Hi! I quite enjoyed writing this story, particularly the humorous bits. Thank you for reading it, I'm glad you liked it! I have many other stories, I hope you find one you are interested in. Thank you much for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Mylee
Date: 11/28/06 21:10
Chapter: One-Shot

I think that this is a great story! Keep writing!!!!


Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reading this story, I'm glad you liked it! I have written many other stories already and don't see myself stopping anytime soon, so I hope you will read more! Thanks for leaving such a nice review, I appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: tonksosme
Date: 11/28/06 19:13
Chapter: One-Shot

very good, you developed the characters very well for such a short piece. i loved it!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the compliment on the characters, I really appreciate it! This was my first time writing James and Lily and I really enjoyed it. I'm glad you liked it as well - thank you for reading this story and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: NeLLyRaE
Date: 11/27/06 20:19
Chapter: One-Shot

I loved it! It was very good and very romantic!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked this story. :) Thank you for leaving such a nice review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES