Reviews For A Past Reclaimed
Reviewer: mrsdan
Date: 04/18/07 15:17
Chapter: Chapter 5: Building Friendships

Please let Ginny let them go out!!

Author's Response: She'd love to, but she has some personal issues she has to work through first.

Reviewer: mrsdan
Date: 04/17/07 16:15
Chapter: Chapter 4: The Pickpocket

Yay!!!! Tyler's safe!!!

Author's Response: Yup! I'd have been in so much trouble if I'd let anything happen to him. There are quite a lot of Tyler fans out there, you know.

Reviewer: mrsdan
Date: 04/17/07 15:56
Chapter: Chapter 3: Hermioneís Task

Poor harry! he must be really struggling inside!!

Author's Response: Yes, he is. But at least he's back with people that care about him. :-)

Reviewer: mrsdan
Date: 04/16/07 13:11
Chapter: Chapter 1: The Weasley Twins

OMG!! Tyler's in danger???? Why? At least the Weasley's aere taking care of him.

Author's Response: I'm glad to see you decided to read the sequel! Tyler was being followed because the Death Eaters found out he was friends with Harry.

Reviewer: CheddarTrek
Date: 04/15/07 4:32
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Brilliant Story!

I would have reviewed the prequel as well, and a few specific chapters of this one, but it took me a while to figure out how to leave a Review. Silly me, didn't realize I had to make an account first.

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading your story. Tyler is a great original character, and you've used him perfectly. One problem most authors run into with OCs is that they try to use them to be everything, all the time. You didn't get lost in that with Tyler, you made a niche for him and he fit right in.

I also enjoyed reading your Dumbledore. You wrote him very well, and I think he's often one of the most difficult characters for people to write. I do wish we had seen his reaction to Harry, Remus, and Sirius being alive there at the very end, but I guess it was more important to your story to show the others instead. I'm just biased because Albus is by far my favorite character. =)

You also did a fine job with the others. Ron, Hermione, Ginny, Luna, Neville, and Hagrid. Some things, like Harry suddenly being in Ginny's classes, seemed a bit weird, but since you did not dwell on it and had a decent explanation, that worked out too. Over explaining things like that rarely comes off well, so Kudos once again.

I really liked how Neville just went to the Ministry with everyone. I loved how you had Hagrid perform the memory reversal. I enjoyed how well you handled Ron, Hermione, and Dumbledore once they realized Harry had lost his memory.

You tied up all of the loose ends quite well, so there aren't any plot lines left lying around, but it does seem a bit like you didn't revisit some things. What is Snape like now that Voldemort is dead? Will the war between him and Harry lighten up? What was Albus' reaction to seeing Harry alive? Will Harry ever run into Mrs. Davies from St. Brutus's again? What will become of Tyler?

Granted, there wasn't a REASON to revisit any of those things, since they aren't crucial to the story. They're just little things I kept wondering about in the back of my head.

KUDOS for two brilliant stories. You write very well, and this fic is certainly in the top tier as far as quality goes.

Thanks for writing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind and well thought-out review. I really appreciate it. This story was a lot of fun to write, and I'm glad it's proven to be fun for you to read as well.

It's possible that I might revisit one or more of those little plot ideas in one or more one-shots at some point, but for the moment I'm working on three chaptered stories, all of which I'm very excited about. Once again, thank you very much for reviewing.

Reviewer: DobbyElf
Date: 04/11/07 18:36
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

That was a very fitting ending...I read this whole story today so Im glad i wasnt wasting my time...lol...it was really good!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 04/06/07 18:43
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

YAY!!!!! Sirius is alive!!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! :-)

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/30/07 17:17
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

It's not easy to make a Hollywood ending work, but generally speaking you did so in this story. One reason is that you had the sense to foreshadow this by Flitwick's and the Moody's lecture and you avoided any type of death foreshadowing. Also your explanation for Lupin and Sirius thriving (not just surviving) is simple enough and ties in with canon as we know it. I think any other author who tried to bring Sirius back and cure Lupin would not necessarily do it well.

But first and foremost you have completed this story. This is impressive as most authors tend to quit. The story did not try to explain every mystery in Harry Potter just the ones you chose to highlight. I think that made this a better than usual story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I've read several stories that bring Sirius back and/or cure Remus, and I agree that most of them are less than plausible. Writing it in a way that would work with canon (mostly, anyway) was one of my main goals when I was writing this. I'm glad you feel I pulled it off.

Reviewer: Igo Retla
Date: 03/29/07 13:00
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Oh yeah...

"Volemort was gone forever,"

He does seem much less threatening as a vole, doesn't he? I think that snakes eat them, too.

Author's Response: Gah! I can't believe I missed a glaring typo like that, and in the concluding paragraph no less. Thank you for catching it. I've edited the chapter to include that runaway 'd'.

Reviewer: Igo Retla
Date: 03/29/07 12:55
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Interesting twists, Nuw. I really liked how you tied things together, and expanded on what we already knew. I had noticed that stray spell vanishing into the veil, and wondered how you would use it. Great! Thanks a lot! 'm looking forward to...an epilogue?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and resolution. I don't currently have anything else planned for this storyline, but I might end up doing some oneshots based on it later on. Right now, though, I'm focusing on a few other stories I'm writing.

Reviewer: The Seeker
Date: 03/27/07 17:21
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Hi Nuw,

I just read the entire story again and had to write another review, because the first one just didn't convey the depth of my appreciation for how well written your story was.

Your story lines, canon-correct characters, dialogue, humor and events were amazingly creative! The feelings shared by Harry and Ginny were so real they JUMPED off the page (er, computer screen).

This last chapter was the proper length for what preceded it. Your combination of the Veil leading into the "Love Room" was inspired, as were Harry meeting up with Remus and Sirius, Harry's blood left after LV disappeared, and how you showed it was the love room by the locked door and melting Sirius's knife. Adding to the excitement was the realization that love had destroyed the evil werewolf curse Remus had. And finally, the return to the Burrow was understated but very powerful. The others had to be dumbfounded by the return of Harry, Remus, and Sirius. We can all imagine the explosion of sound and activity after the group overcame their shock -- it wasn't necessary for you to include it.

Other outstanding elements include the twins developing the squib "magic" tools,
your use of St. Brutus as a springboard for the story, the characters of Tyler and Hassseth, your incredible use of the False Death Charm/Curse, and all of the wonderful lines you created that have been quoted by many of the reviewers.

I continue to look forward to your updates of Myth and anything else you write. You're on my favorite authors list, so I'll be updated whenever you submit anything new.

Thanks for your truly entertaining stories!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. If you enjoyed reading this story half as much as I enjoyed writing it, then I feel it was a success, because I had a blast. It really means a lot to me to get these sorts of reviews. Again, thank you, and I look forward to hearing more from you on my other stories.

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 03/26/07 13:50
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Absolutely wonderful! I love stories that make me smile. I am sooo glad you didn't kill Harry off and managed to save all the good guys/gals. Again, absolutely wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you! I just love happy endings, and I decided a while back that I would try and give this story the happiest one I could pull off with any sort of believability. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 03/25/07 23:57
Chapter: Chapter 24: Private Lessons

Okay, second review tonight, arenít you impressed?

Peeves - letís start there. Indestructible spirit of chaos - PERFECT!

Iím not big on Marauder stuff, so Iím going to skip over the James bit (itís also half past twelve and my reviews were due at twelve). However, I must say it was well-written, as much as I hate James Potter and his cronies. *will be stoned by psychotic fan girls later*

To the Occlumency lesson, with haste, my good man! The lesson was brilliant. Once again, I commend your creativity. The entire thing was so incredible. The highest compliment I can think to give it is that it infuriates me that I didnít think of it first! Not furious with you, of course, but with myself!

Youíve clearly put a lot of thought into how the Occlumency works, and the description was wonderfully done. It makes perfect sense and fills in so many of the loopholes. I know I say this all the time, but itís brilliant.

I think what happened to Ginny was incredibly funny, and Harryís retribution for the whole thing was great! How like a protective boyfriend to do something sly like that. Which brings me to how Ron reacted - perfectly in character - as was Hermioneís reaction. You must be sick of hearing this, but your characterisation is incredible.

I like your style with this fic, and I canít wait to get caught up on the chapters - give me a few weeks, though, because Iím still getting my time sorted out.

~Kasey

Author's Response: Very impressive, Kasey. :-) I actually like the Marauders, but I don't think I could ever write an entire story about them. Little memories inserted here and there like this one are about all I can handle.

You're right to think that I put a lot of thought into how Occlumency works in this story. I've run into so many stories that have wonderful descriptions of Occlumency that make no sense and would be impossible for anyone (no matter how magical they may be) to do, that I decided I wanted to make it at least plausible. Actually, my description of Occlumency is one of the things I am most proud of in this story. It sort of makes me wish I could go back and change all of the Occlumency in my other story to make it match this.

I'm also very pleased that you liked the description of the Apparition lesson. It took me a while to come up with, and in the end just sort of popped into my head out of nowhere. I'm really glad you found it funny (because I sure did). Thanks for taking the time to leave such thoughtful reviews.

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 03/25/07 23:11
Chapter: Chapter 23: The Scar

Nuw, Iím DREADFULLY sorry! Iíve been so far behind on even reading the chapters, that youíve finished the story, and Iím only on chapter 23 for my reviews! Firstly, know that I will finish it soon, AND review each and every chapter Iíve missed, just to let you know what your most critical reader thinks!

Firstly, I love the beginning of this chapter! The interaction between Harry and the others was very in-character for all of them, and you know what a stickler I am for characterisation! Rest assured, hon, as always, youíve done extremely well.

Have I ever told you how much I adore your Dumbledore? Because I do. Madly, in fact. You keep him so perfectly canon that it hurts me - and Iíve often been complimented on my Dumbledore, but you have me in awe. Very well done!

Might I also add that I think it was brilliant to have the whole bit about Harry being Voldemortís sole focus as a key point of your story. How true that a sociopath like Voldemort would be more intent on killing the one who could stop him, rather than create chaos. Brilliant!

I love Dumbledoreís admission of his mistake. AND, I love your plot. One of the things that draws me so much to this story is how well itís written, of course, but the other is that I HAVE to know how it turns out, because youíve written such an intriguing story that I canít not know! Having the Memory Charm block the connection was truly inspired. I would love to be inside your mind as you come up with these stories, sometimes.

I love the Remus/Tonks interaction here - totally inspired. And might I say again that Harryís maturity astonishes me so much - not because itís OOC, quite the opposite, in fact. Itís because Harry is still Harry, but a mature Harry that it is wonderful to read about, that I adore it.

I do worry about Harry being able to halfway perform that charm though - somethingís fishy, and now that the link between he and Voldemort is opened up again, I canít help but think that old Moldy might have something to do with that.

Brava on another fantastic chapter.

~Kasey

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Kasey. I totally understand that real life can interfere with our reading/reviewing, so don't worry about falling behind. This story was posted so much more quickly than anything else I've ever come across that it's not really all that surprising.

I'm very glad that you approve of the direction I went with this, and of my characterization. Hopefully I've been able to maintain that throughout the story. You're not the only one to make that guess about Voldemort somehow affecting Harry's ability to cast that charm, but it really wasn't anything sinister -- it was just Harry learning.

Reviewer: harryginnyforever
Date: 03/25/07 4:39
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

I love it. I LOVE IT!

Moony can now have lots of children with Tonks without worrying, Harry and Ginny can have lots of children (First born of each gender to be named James and Lily, of course), Sirius can find someone, and everyone can live happily ever after!

Now, FINISH MYTHS!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Don't you just love happy endings? :-) As for MM, I'm posting the chapters just as fast as I'm allowed.

Reviewer: chuckoy
Date: 03/24/07 4:21
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

VERY nice story even better than a stolen past

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Snoopygonewilder
Date: 03/22/07 15:42
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

I love how you put in that little detail of the door that melted both Harry's and Sirius' knifes, and also why Sirius couldn't remember being there more than a couple of hours, and what was behind the veil that killed Voldemort. Its true that the most powerful thing in their world, was Harry's love, it was the only thing that stopped Voldemort. Your story is very, very.. okay IMPRESSIVE, for lack of a better word. I loved both of them. Hope to read more of your things.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed the little details, as well as the story overall. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: POTCgirl1337
Date: 03/22/07 15:13
Chapter: Chapter 1: The Weasley Twins

This story had the perfect ending! Most people hate it when authors bring back everyone(including sirius), and I normally do too, but the way you wrote it, was the only way I would have been happy with the ending!!!!
Congrats! (are we going to be seeing a sequel at all)? *wink wink* *nudge nudge*

Author's Response: Thank you! I, too, have been annoyed by authors bringing characters back to life, although what usually annoys me about it is the lack of a plausible explanation of how it's able to happen. When I decided to bring Sirius back, it was on the condition that I have a very good explanation for how it worked. That's why I came up with the False Death Charm and had the whole explanation of the Love Room and the "power the Dark Lord knows not." Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

I have a few other stories planned, but none that continue this storyline. I might, at some point, do some oneshot spinoffs of this story, but probably nothing chaptered. I just feel like it would ruin the ending if I continued it. That, and with Voldemort gone, there's not nearly as much to write about.

Reviewer: Oharachic1
Date: 03/20/07 21:21
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

Nicely done. I wouldn't have changed a thing. I was so hoping that Sirius would somehow get out from that veil and you brought it to life and made it believable. Can't believe you remembered the locked door and the melting knife. I'm proud. Again...nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I worked really hard to include little details like the knife, so I'm glad you appreciated it.

Reviewer: phoenixflyerF22
Date: 03/20/07 20:21
Chapter: Chapter 35: Beyond the Veil

AMAZING
Sooo good!!! I knew you couldn't kill off Harry and it was great that you brought back Sirius!! Such a great ending!!!!
I love how you kept in so many detailes! The characters were portrayed so well. everything fit perfectly!! I loved how you kept the whole love thing and the vail! It was just such a brillent story! there are no words to describe how good the story was!!! Can't wait to read more of your work!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. Hopefully I'll have something else ready to post before too long.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES